Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Shane Shane Show - Friday the 13th.(!) 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭gigantic09

Wtf was Philomena on for anyway? She's basically the oul one Daniel O'Donnell. What's her connection to Shane?

The line in 'a pair of brown eyes', when Ray and philomena sang, of my allusive dream..... No doubt she ****ed up that one as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭CFlat

KatW4 wrote: »
    Philomena Begley absolutely butchered that song!!

Philomena Begley has been butchering songs for decades, just like her Irish C&W brethren.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

Jean Byrne doing the weather post late late is more punk than Philomena Begley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Terrible finish to the show.
    A ramshackle performance of what should have been the showcase of the night.
    I would love to have seen Una Healy or Wallis Bird doing the female part there. I'm actually lost for words.
    The only positive thing I suppose is Philomena made Shane look well together and lucid. Well done that girl ��
    As for The Late Late Show......the very fact that someone thought Philomena Begley (a geriatric country star) was the ideal person to accompany Shane on the Fairytale of New York just shows how bankrupt the show is of direction or creative talent behind the cameras.
    Still a good idea to acknowledge Mr. Mcgowan,
    Good night folks.

She was Shane's choice, I would wager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

KaneToad wrote: »
    Michael Stipe always had to read his lyrics and he wrote the songs!

Bet he knew the words to Fairytale of NY though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭xabi

boggerman1 wrote: »
    Why is this drunkard getting all this attention.rte a ioke

Could say the same for you, he’s a legend, you are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Bet he knew the words to Fairytale of NY though ;)

Touché

• Registered Users Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Good evening all.

I came in late to the show and watched the living wake......

Whoever picked that Philomena woman for the gig should be in the in the dock tomorrow for butchering that song....in all fairness, not knowing the words??

Strange feeling watching it......uncomfortable but relatable....like being stuck in a room with relations you don't know how to react to at an awkward situation....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭dmc17

I looked at her, she looked at me
    All I could do was curse
    While myself and Philomena sang
    Cause she forgot my words :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Philomena needed her squawk at the mic. Took the wrong pills and shat all over an iconic song.

If she was a horse she would be took outside and shot for the greater good.

The vet would say,”it’s time”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Too harsh for me.
    Night night,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Tell us about the London days ....

Me: oh yes Shane you could write a book on this...

Shane: well there was me and Johnny rotten and his brother jimmy

Tubs: let’s bring on pat McCabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

Good evening all.

I came in late to the show and watched the living wake......

Whoever picked that Philomena woman for the gig should be in the in the dock tomorrow for butchering that song....in all fairness, not knowing the words??

Strange feeling watching it......uncomfortable but relatable....like being stuck in a room with relations you don't know how to react to at an awkward situation....

Heeelllloooo GSW :)

I love Shane McGowan. A true poet.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Meanwhile Graham Norton has Hugh Grant, Matthew McConaughey, Jennifer Hudson, Judi Dench

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭MintyMagnum

Hard to say who was more out of it tonite, Shane Magowan or Philomena Begley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Andrew00 wrote: »
    Meanwhile Graham Norton has Hugh Grant, Matthew McConaughey, Jennifer Hudson, Judi Dench

I've my good tape recording that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,526 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Is it just me or is every late late show worse than the last one?

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭Moomoomacshoe

I suPogue it wasn't a bad night after all thanks to this thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,373 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I don't really think you can compare the two shows to be honest...I would think the money spent on guests on the late late show is a fraction of Graham Nortons show...they just can't compete and if they tried RTE would-be even more in the crapper

Lisha wrote: »
    Heeelllloooo GSW :)

I love Shane McGowan. A true poet.

Hiya Lisha,

Hope you're well!

Ah, poor Shane, he's looking like death warmed up, the poor crathúr.......

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭1wizards sleeve

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Caught the last 15 mins or so of the show....did Kirsty MacColl get a mention?
    Who??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Hard to say who was more out of it tonite, Shane Magowan or Philomena Begley.

Philomena wasn't out of it. I was talking to her up to when she went in. She had no drink but she was a ball if nerves.

To those wondering who's idea to have her on, it was Shane's.

Hiya Lisha,

Hope you're well!

Ah, poor Shane, he's looking like death warmed up, the poor crathúr.......

Indeed all is very good. I hope you are well too?

Yeah Shane’s colour was poor. I hope he’s doing ok.

There’s an old man in Lisa o neills video for rock the machine at the start.
    He comes up talking to her in the van.
    She says to him are you out for your walk.
    He says I’m 85 and I’m not up to much.
    Lisa says are you enjoying life?
    Out of the blue he floors her with “not really” before the lads filming the video usher him off the set.
    It’s a strange one.have a look and see what ye think.
    I do often think of him and I hope he’s doing ok for himself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

That governer lad will be back within 2 months.

I personally guarantee that.

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭Moomoomacshoe

MacGowan was coherent, Philomena skipped out of an old folks home. Thankfully she has been found and safely relocated.

Don't be a Philomeanie..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,373 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

You must have missed the Valentines episodes...or the country music ones...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

Just when you think they’ve reached rock bottom each Friday they some how surpass last weeks show and reach new lows.

Having that talentless smarmy beanpole at the helm primarily the reason for this

sligojoek wrote: »
    Philomena wasn't out of it. I was talking to her up to when she went in. She had no drink but she was a ball if nerves.

It’s a pity the nerves got to her. For all the others complaining of the pub type setup... do you think Shane ok’d this and totally wouldn’t be bothered by it?

Think we too easily offended. I suspect Shane is more pragmatic in thst he is who he is and couldn’t give a damn for political correctness.

Cool night to be there I hope you loved it!

How are you sligo? xxx

She was very wooden, surprised she was nervous, sure she's been belting out songs for years.....

Pity, Shane was on the ball for the song all right

Sligo joe is Shane still off the cigarettes?
    He was on a vape last time I saw him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭golondrinas

nannerby wrote: »
    Hopefully it will just be a few b listers talking a few decades old videos, and we wont have to listen to an incoherent drunk spewing rubbish.

Was your daddy an alcoholic and did he beat you or are you just not a nice person

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

The Nell McCafferty tribute will break the 100 page mark.
    she was barely moving at gaybos tribute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,742 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Has it's own place in the firmament. Meanwhile there are other lives and other things.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Who??

Eh...ya know....the one who sang with him on fairytale of New York!!
    No mention of her from what I saw. And her anniversary is next week and all.
    Poor form.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Yeah.thats her.

So why the f... didn't she sing it with Shane. Seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Lisha wrote: »
    It’s a pity the nerves got to her. For all the others complaining of the pub type setup... do you think Shane ok’d this and totally wouldn’t be bothered by it?

Think we too easily offended. I suspect Shane is more pragmatic in thst he is who he is and couldn’t give a damn for political correctness.

Cool night to be there I hope you loved it!
    How are you sligo? xxx

She was very wooden, surprised she was nervous, sure she's been belting out songs for years.....

Pity, Shane was on the ball for the song all right
    Sligo joe is Shane still off the cigarettes?
    He was on a vape last time I saw him.

I'm running to the alehouse for closing time.

I'll get back to these later.

I'm running to the alehouse for closing time.

I'll get back to these later.

Thanks Sligo joe.

M

Who??

If only there was a place you could type in a name and it would give you a history of them, instead of making a fool of yourself on an international network so to speak, if only.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

If only there was a place you could type in a name and it would give you a history of them, instead of making a fool of yourself on an international network so to speak, if only.

Yahoo.

and they are better than shane mcgowan?

M

Gods Gift wrote: »
    Yahoo.

Or Altavista :pac:

There’s an old man in Lisa o neills video for rock the machine at the start.
    He comes up talking to her in the van.
    She says to him are you out for your walk.
    He says I’m 85 and I’m not up to much.
    Lisa says are you enjoying life?
    Out of the blue he floors her with “not really” before the lads filming the video usher him off the set.
    It’s a strange one.have a look and see what ye think.
    I do often think of him and I hope he’s doing ok for himself.

wow just saw it, what a prick to even ask a man of that age to move

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

and they are better than shane mcgowan?

Well they are a million times better than begley.

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Eh...ya know....the one who sang with him on fairytale of New York!!
    No mention of her from what I saw. And her anniversary is next week and all.
    Poor form.

Ya of course I know her every one know she sang on the Eurovision with her brother Joe. Shame on you for doubting me.

Hahahaha ya dont pick up to quickly to a bit of a joke.

For all Shane's perceived faults in the modern day, over the years I don't think he did any harm to anyone except himself, plenty of others in the same position did many wrongs.

He robbed a smokey bacon burger off me once..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Had to go to the pub at 11.15 but seems I have to watch the rest for the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Anyone saying Shane is in a bad way and couldn't sing cant have seen much of him in the last 15-20 years. Compared to plenty of his recent appearances that was borderline miraculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭jim-mcdee

He robbed a smokey bacon burger off me once..

My mam said she met him in some greasy spoon after the night before and shifted him she said his teeth were full of bean skins