Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are the Gardaí?

• 14-12-2019 10:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭

I was listening to a repeat of one of Joe Duffy's programmes today (yes, I have nothing better to be doing) and they were discussing an incident involving a cyclist near the Blackhorse Luas stop in Inchicore/Drimnagh. The cyclist was attacked by a bunch of youths who bashed him around for a bit and then proceeded to nick his bike.

As it happens, I travel on the Luas every weekday for work and have often seen gangs of marauding, grim faced young lads hanging around the various Drimnagh stops, intimidating ordinary law abiding citizens.

What struck me about the chap's testimony was that he had rung the Gardaí after the incident; yet they didn't arrive for 45 minutes.

So my question is:where are the Gardaí? I've been living in Dublin for 30 years and I can count on my fingers the number of times I've seen one walking about the place. It's not as if there's a shortage of gurriers around here who delight in making the lives of ordinary people a misery.

Any thoughts?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

I was listening to a repeat of one of Joe Duffy's programmes today (yes, I have nothing better to be doing) and they were discussing an incident involving a cyclist near the Blackhorse Luas stop in Inchicore/Drimnagh. The cyclist was attacked by a bunch of youths who bashed him around for a bit and then proceeded to nick his bike.

As it happens, I travel on the Luas every weekday for work and have often seen gangs of marauding, grim faced young lads hanging around the various Drimnagh stops, intimidating ordinary law abiding citizens.

What struck me about the chap's testimony was that he had rung the Gardaí after the incident; yet they didn't arrive for 45 minutes.

So my question is:where are the Gardaí? I've been living in Dublin for 30 years and I can count on my fingers the number of times I've seen one walking about the place. It's not as if there's a shortage of gurriers around here who delight in making the lives of ordinary people a misery.

Any thoughts?

A huge chunk of Guards retired between 2009 and 2014 and were never replaced. Add in all the specialised units and the paperwork which they are now forced to do, they spend more time in front of a computer screen than out on the street where they are needed. On average, there are roughly 1500 uniformed guards working at any one time in the whole country. A sad fact but a true fact

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Guards earn an average of 1300 euro a week (IPA report). If we're going to pay such big salaries, we can't afford to have lots of Guards. Same with nurses, teachers etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 396 ✭✭cal naughton

Far away!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Tippsman

Krispy Kreme.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,990 ✭✭✭✭listermint

hmmm wrote: »
    Guards earn an average of 1300 euro a week (IPA report). If we're going to pay such big salaries, we can't afford to have lots of Guards. Same with nurses, teachers etc.

Would love to see you knock on a door late at night delivering news to parents that their son or daughter died in a car accident or was found hanging from some tree .

Big salary ... N all...

I'd say you think a CEO salary of half a mill is worth it.

listermint wrote: »
    Would love to see you knock on a door late at night delivering news to parents that their son or daughter died in a car accident or was found hanging from some tree .

Big salary ... N all...

Add to that the families of Guards who have lost their lives on duty. I'm sure they don't see a €1300 average as being worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Sitting in court waiting for judges to let scrotes off with 100 quid fine?

Big salary ... N all...

Get a different job than.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Allinall

Tippsman wrote: »

Why?

Allinall wrote: »
    Why?

Their job is to deliver bad news at times they're paid for it.

Relax yourself. It's a simple point I'm making - we can't afford to employ more, which is why the Guards in particular are so thin on the ground. It's not the fault of the Guards there are so few of them, and it's also difficult to hire lots more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Dick_Swiveller

Gerry G wrote: »
    A huge chunk of Guards retired between 2009 and 2014 and were never replaced. Add in all the specialised units and the paperwork which they are now forced to do, they spend more time in front of a computer screen than out on the street where they are needed. On average, there are roughly 1500 uniformed guards working at any one time in the whole country. A sad fact but a true fact

Very interesting. Clearly more Gardaí are needed, but also a complete rethink when it comes to priorities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Must tell my son, he's a guard and earns nowhere near that figure.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

1500 guards ÷ 26 counties = 57 per county approx. Take into account station/desk duty and all other duties that may be secondary but necessary to patrolling and it doesnt leave many extra bodies

That amount alone is what should be just dealing with a section of Dublin City never mind an entire county

• Registered Users Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Has there ever been a time when gangs of young males didn't cause hassle? Many eventually grow out of it.

To answer your question, I think there's just a lack of Gardai to deal with every incident reported.

Ninthlife wrote: »
    1500 guards ÷ 26 counties = 57 per county approx. Take into account station/desk duty and all other duties that may be secondary but necessary to patrolling and it doesnt leave many extra bodies

That amount alone is what should be just dealing with a section of Dublin City never mind an entire county

There are some counties that woukd be lucky to have between 10 and 15 guards out in patrol cars at any given time. The media won't tell the public that though, they much rather spit it that we have loads of Guards and don't need any more

Get a guards job then. If you want what head the ball is saying is average pay.

Since apparently you seem to think it's handy . You know delivering bad news the odd time.

I dare ya.

Relax yourself. It's a simple point I'm making - we can't afford to employ more, which is why the Guards in particular are so thin on the ground. It's not the fault of the Guards there are so few of them, and it's also difficult to hire lots more.

Well then the service is underfunded.

Simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Allinall

Their job is to deliver bad news at times they're paid for it.

I didn’t hear any guards complaining.

Did you?

Must tell my son, he's a guard and earns nowhere near that figure.

It's an average figure. Some guards will earn 80 grand pet year but they do massive overtime to achieve that. Some younger Guards will only earn 30 grand pet year as they are just starting off. The average wage of these two guards is 55 grand per year. Averages are only figures used to suit a narrative at a given time

There are some counties that woukd be lucky to have between 10 and 15 guards out in patrol cars at any given time. The media won't tell the public that though, they much rather spit it that we have loads of Guards and don't need any more

Not only loads of them but all on 1300 plus per week..

Ive zero affiliation or connection with any political party but would strongly support one who put policing and a zero tolerance no bull**** stand against crime and a total restructure of our legal system as their #1 political promise if elected

Get a guards job then. If you want what head the ball is saying is average pay.

Since apparently you seem to think it's handy . You know delivering bad news the odd time.

I dare ya.

I don't want a guards job nor would do it, it's handy,

The organisation is so bad a nordie had to be brought in FFS.

Simple.
    Of course it is, but then there's only so much tax to go around - so decisions have to be made as to how we allocate tax. Personally I don't know why more isn't spent on policing, prisons etc, because the public are crying out for more Guards and more criminals being taken off the streets.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,852 ✭✭✭Odelay

Simple.

And they should fund it with the money tree t the back of Leinster House?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Dick_Swiveller

Odelay wrote: »
    And they should fund it with the money tree t the back of Leinster House?

There's plenty of money in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,018 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

67k is serious bucks salary for guards. If they weren't paid so much we'd surely have more numbers.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I don’t know

Maybe if I was in charge I would send the cops down to the canal dressed as cyclists for a few weeks

I would call it an undercover operation

Crazy I know

But it just might work

• Registered Users Posts: 16 MaryKon

Ninthlife wrote: »
    Not only loads of them but all on 1300 plus per week..

Ive zero affiliation or connection with any political party but would strongly support one who put policing and a zero tolerance no bull**** stand against crime and a total restructure of our legal system as their #1 political promise if elected

No matter what guards do, it's partially up to the judges. And the judges can't do much, as the law requires them to give anybody the most leniency possible. Plus current political and social setting. The prisons are already overcrowded so a jail sentence would only be given as a last resort. It is what it is. And in the end it's down to available money and pleasing the voting masses.

67k is serious bucks salary for guards. If they weren't paid so much we'd surely have more numbers.

Where did that figure come from?

I don’t know

Maybe if I was in charge I would send the cops down to the canal dressed as cyclists for a few weeks

I would call it an undercover operation

Crazy I know

But it just might work

Youd need a real cyclepath to do that..