Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are the Gardaí?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭KaneToad

bubblypop wrote: »
    I know 'someone' over 20 years in & earns 52k
    In order to make more they work weekends, nights, bank holidays, Xmas etc. But still don't make 67k a year though! .

If they are 20 years in they are earning €53,401. That excludes allowances. Including allowances they will be earning between €66,751 and €69,421.

They don't work weekends/nights/bank holidays etc because they want to make more. They work those days because they have to! It's part of the job! It's why they get their unsocial hours. The job is 24hr, 365 days job - I assume they knew that before starting.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,567 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

KaneToad wrote: »
    If they are 20 years in they are earning €53,401. That excludes allowances. Including allowances they will be earning between €66,751 and €69,421.

They don't work weekends/nights/bank holidays etc because they want to make more. They work those days because they have to! It's part of the job! It's why they get their unsocial hours. The job is 24hr, 365 days job - I assume they knew that before starting.

no its not, very few jobs on this planet are

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Therefore, renumeration for a first year guard is between 37,870 and 39,384. Not bad for an entry level job that only requires a leaving certificate (grade D3 minimum in five subjects at ordinary level).

Jaysus that's a bit scary. Surely those minimum entry criteria need to be increased.

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    no its not, very few jobs on this planet are

Ok, to be precise, the service is 24hr - 365 days (366 in leap years)...

this is of course correct, but gardai are also humans, so they need adequate time off, like everybody else

Jaysus that's a bit scary. Surely those minimum entry criteria need to be increased.

Obviously there are plenty that exceed that minimum. However, they are the educational qualifications deemed suitable for applying for the position of guard.

this is of course correct, but gardai are also humans, so they need adequate time off, like everybody else

Are you suggesting that they don't get their time off?? I'm not sure what point you are trying to make.

id imagine some dont get adequate time off, possibly some younger recruits

Have you any proof? Or is it just imagination?

no proof, but its common in both public and private sectors, that younger/newer employees have poorer positions than their older counterparts, this is common knowledge nowadays, id 'imagine' very few sectors have different outcomes

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

Yep because thats how you decide on whether to do a job or not.
    The odds of dying are so puny
    Pathetic, go back & get some more sleep

But the odds are puny. I suspect far more Gardaí die from stuffing their faces with doughnuts than they do from defending us from bad people. Speaking of bad people, have the Gardaí who faked the breath tests been disciplined yet?

Therefore, renumeration for a first year guard is between 37,870 and 39,384. Not bad for an entry level job that only requires a leaving certificate (grade D3 minimum in five subjects at ordinary level).

they undergo training after they are accepted.
    also, as stated, the majority of gardai joining now already have third level qualifications.
    the renumeration including allowances is fair enough, don't you think?
    who would want to work nights, weekends and holidays for any less?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

But the odds are puny. I suspect far more Gardaí die from stuffing their faces with doughnuts than they do from defending us from bad people. Speaking of bad people, have the Gardaí who faked the breath tests been disciplined yet?

You have a a real obsession with doughnuts lad, did you want to be a guard but couldn't reach the paltry entry requirements?

they undergo training after they are accepted.
    also, as stated, the majority of gardai joining now already have third level qualifications.
    the renumeration including allowances is fair enough, don't you think?
    who would want to work nights, weekends and holidays for any less?

I wouldn't like to work nights, weekends or holidays. That's true. What's not true is that guards only earn approx 30k. There is no, full time guard, getting paid this.

I think the renumeration is quite generous, but not outlandish, considering the entry requirements. The fact that many applicants have third level qualifications is irrelevant if the job only requires 5 D3's at ordinary level Leaving Cert.

A degree holder applying for a job as a cashier in Tesco doesn't get compensated for being over the minimum requirement. ( I'm not comparing guards to Tesco cashier's before anyone goes off on one! Two entirely different jobs but the point is both are entry level jobs with clear minimum requirements).

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭Rmgblue

It's true that a pass leaving cert is a minimum requirement when joining the guards. But it doesn't secure you a place in templemore. I'm not sure or the exact recruitment process but they undergo a number of stages - fitness test, medical, some competency based exams and and interview. Some guards I know boast years of life experience with a good head on their shoulder as a result. Others I know with PHD's have no cop on and are really not street smart. Why does an out dated exam process worry you so much?

I wouldn't like to work nights, weekends or holidays. That's true. What's not true is that guards only earn approx 30k. There is no, full time guard, getting paid this.

I think the renumeration is quite generous, but not outlandish, considering the entry requirements. The fact that many applicants have third level qualifications is irrelevant if the job only requires 5 D3's at ordinary level Leaving Cert.

A degree holder applying for a job as a cashier in Tesco doesn't get compensated for being over the minimum requirement. ( I'm not comparing guards to Tesco cashier's before anyone goes off on one! Two entirely different jobs but the point is both are entry level jobs with clear minimum requirements).

oh yeah, i agree with you, people are not being compensated for having degrees, but what I mean is that more older, qualified, people are being taken on. Which is a good thing imo. But it also means that people with just 5 D3's will find it harder to get in, if more qualified people are applying.

the salary of approx 30k, is the salary. Yes there are allowances for working unsocial hours etc, but it really does depend on where the guard is working.
    not all jobs work unsocial hours, not all divisions have many hours overtime.
    But 37k or 38k is not huge money for what they do starting out, but yes, probably more than 30k for most.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭LoughNeagh2017

If Dublin thugs pushed me around I would go at them like a wild dog with teeth, i think i could handle 2 of them but 3 would be a stretch, providing they didn't have a knife of course.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

The Gardaí are in their stations, stuffing themselves with doughnuts and watching telly. The cyclist was no doubt a major inconvenience to them as the call out probably meant less time on the toilet and missing the second half of the weakest link. Needless to say, the Gardaí did not rush to the scene. They would have finish their tea and flossed a bit before strolling out to the car. Besides, if they got there to soon, the gang might still be around and that would never do. To be fair, the new Commission from the north is doing a great job but he cannot go into Garda stations armed with an electric prod to zap some fat arsed Gardaí much as he might like to. The culture must change.

I work in a Garda station and we don't watch The Weakest Link. We watch The Chase!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭enricoh

Between a few family businesses, houses n farm etc I'd safely say our family had 20 break ins, robberies etc in the last decade. I don't even bother ringing the cops anymore unless putting in an insurance claim. The oul lad said we'd be better off getting the dog to investigate in future!

It's just an annoyance for the cops to have to do anything. Even going down to get gun license renewed takes 4 or 5 trips to the station. The blinds are pulled, the doorbell disconnected you can hear the cops chatting away. We're under resourced is all they ever say in the local paper. I'm not convinced!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Dick_Swiveller

I got stopped by a Garda last night for speeding.

What are the chances??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

There is a bloke on the telly now who says he is Gard., oh it's Crime Call.

That girl using the bank card on CCTV in Monaghan looks phucked.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Killinator

Ive had to be first on scene for a female pedestrian being crushed by a tipper lorry and another suicide where animals had started biting the poor chaps face after the branch he hung himself off of snapped.
    Im regularly the only member (sorry I know that's offensive to some) in a town with over 10,000 people.

I should think I'd be entitled to eat a doughnut now and again, although I'm more partial to chocolate rolls.
    And I wish I was making 1300 a week, try dividing that by half and your alot closer!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭salonfire

The only thing at the top of the Garda agenda is their pay, pensions and allowances.

Nothing else comes close to it.

salonfire wrote: »
    The only thing at the top of the Garda agenda is their pay, pensions and allowances.

Nothing else comes close to it.

If you say so

Private sector employees are known for not giving a crap about pay and conditions, tis knowb

Killinator wrote: »
    Ive had to be first on scene for a female pedestrian being crushed by a tipper lorry and another suicide where animals had started buying the poor chaps face after the branch he hung himself off of snapped.
    Im regularly the only member (sorry I know that's offensive to some) in a town with over 10,000 people.

I should think I'd be entitled to eat a doughnut now and again, although I'm more partial to chocolate rolls.
    And I wish I was making 1300 a week, try dividing that by half and your alot closer!

Ah the old tugging at the heart strings move.

I don't see your sympathy extend to the undertaker in these stories; just me, me, me.

What did the local undertaker do on ya?

They have to deal with the mess as well, more so than the guard does.

Ah the old tugging at the heart strings move.

I don't see your sympathy extend to the undertaker in these stories; just me, me, me.

What did the local undertaker do on ya?

They have to deal with the mess as well, more so than the guard does.

I've every sympathy for them, incredibly tough job, couldn't do it.

But sure as you might say yourself, they're well paid right/they knew what they signed up for

And as a small side, people aren't on here attacking undertaker's so there's no I didn't think there was a need to defend them really

Killinator wrote: »
    If you say so

Private sector employees are known for not giving a crap about pay and conditions, tis knowb

Exactly my point.

Those employees that are paid far less rarely if ever go on strike and continue to work in the likes food distribution warehouses and van deliveries that ensures we don't go hungry due to union driven greed.

Exactly my point.

Those employees that are paid far less rarely if ever go on strike and continue to work in the likes food distribution warehouses and van deliveries that ensures we don't go hungry due to union driven greed.

Heroes everyone of them.

I'll be honest I don't actually give a sh*the what faceless people on the internet think.
    I go by the people I deal with face to face, and I'm doing ok by their reckoning, so you can spit and rant away.

I should know better than to think some input from someone who's being bitched about would actually be warranted

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

If Dublin thugs pushed me around I would go at them like a wild dog with teeth, i think i could handle 2 of them but 3 would be a stretch, providing they didn't have a knife of course.

No, two on one is a nightmare. Three on one is a massacre.

You’d have to really go to town on them to win, be bigger/stronger/fitter and have a tonne of “luck”.

Also violence doesn’t happen in a bubble. Those useless Gardaí would become surprisingly efficient and you’d be looking at a manslaughter charge. Say goodbye to yer nice middle class life.

Best bet is to high tail it out of dodge.

Ya don’t win a street fight, you survive it.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

Samsgirl wrote: »
    I work in a Garda station and we don't watch The Weakest Link. We watch The Chase!!

I stand corrected.