Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ian Bailey being extradited to France

• 16-12-2019 7:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭

Fukk me he's being arrested

• Registered Users Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The same type of carry on started the protests over in Hong Kong. Maybe we should form a picket outside the French embassy.

🙈🙉🙊

And not a moment too soon. Good riddance.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Why? Was he found guilty of anything here?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

He's out on bail and has a High Court hearing on January 20th.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,385 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Why? Was he found guilty of anything here?

In the eyes of AH , hes guilty of many things including kidnapping and eating Shergar.

I actually think hes been arrested quite a few times over the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭threeball

Bad precedent. If someone in France decides to try you tomorrow and find you guilty I'm sure you'll be happy when the government just hands you over.

Should all our legal cases be subject to second guessing by a European court and quite the kangaroo one at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Did they check what porn him and his mates have in their WhatsApp group?

• Registered Users Posts: 481 ✭✭dekbhoy

Bailey comes across as a bit of a weirdo and without looking into the case i assumed he was guilty based on the way he conducts himself etc. but having read the book West Cork i have changed my mind . The Garda investigation was an absolute shambles and when we look back at a few high profile garda stitch ups the past few years i wouldnt be surprised if this fell under this category.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭blackcard

The DPP in Ireland didn't think that there was enough evidence to charge him so I would be dubious about his extradition

BDI wrote: »
    Did they check what porn him and his mates have in their WhatsApp group?

Are they offering him a rugby contract?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Maybe a contract with Kerrygold for a new ad campaign.

🙈🙉🙊

Right. Provided I don't brutally murder anyone.

Innocent man according to our system. What makes you immune. Maybe Berries horse was holidaying in France and a child disappeared 30yrs ago. Not you you say, tough ****. Your government isn't going to fight your corner.

dekbhoy wrote: »
    Bailey comes across as a bit of a weirdo and without looking into the case i assumed he was guilty based on the way he conducts himself etc. but having read the book West Cork i have changed my mind . The Garda investigation was an absolute shambles and when we look back at a few high profile garda stitch ups the past few years i wouldnt be surprised if this fell under this category.

The case against Bailey was the biggest attempt at a stitch up I could imagine.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

I'm genuinely shocked that they've agreed to extradite him. Madness.

I'm not convinced one way or the other whether he done it or not but the court case in France was a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

There's not a snowball's chance in hell that he'll be sent off to serve 25 years off the back of the kangaroo court, show-trial, shambles that was allowed to happen over in France.
    Not a hope.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I don't understand this at all.

How can France claim jurisdiction over a crime that occurred in Ireland which has gone through due process in the Irish Legal System?

Very dangerous precedent.

pinkyeye wrote: »
    I'm genuinely shocked that they've agreed to extradite him. Madness.

I'm not convinced one way or the other whether he done it or not but the court case in France was a joke.

Exactly he could be as guilty as sin but he wasnt tried her due to lack of evidence yet a french "court" loaded with judges favourable to the Du Plantiers decides hes pretty much guilty in a one day sitting.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭Go Home Paddy Cat!!

There's not a snowball's chance in hell that he'll be sent off to serve 25 years off the back of the kangaroo court, show-trial, shambles that was allowed to happen over in France.
    Not a hope.

What makes you so sure of that out of curiosity?

Not a hope.

I wouldn't bet on it now. The French want to put this to bed right or wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Considering the evidence used in the french “show trial” I, personally, think it’s a disgrace that he’s being extradited.

I wouldn’t have any strong conviction of belief to say whether he is guilty or innocent but I do believe the Gardaí, here, dropped the ball with that case. They coerced witnesses and “lost” evidence.

If he was getting away with murder it was because of the stuff ups here but using “evidence” that was clearly wrong and selling it as clear proof of his guilt in France is just madness. We should not be going along with this at all.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Welcome to Ireland. We will take in isis members and kick out men found not guilty of murder to a country that seems intent on locking him up.

Considering the evidence used in the french “show trial” I, personally, think it’s a disgrace that he’s being extradited.

I wouldn’t have any strong conviction of belief to say whether he is guilty or innocent but I do believe the Gardaí, here, dropped the ball with that case. They coerced witnesses and “lost” evidence.

If he was getting away with murder it was because of the stuff ups here but using “evidence” that was clearly wrong and selling it as clear proof of his guilt in France is just madness. We should not be going along with this at all.

He's not being extradited.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

The 'lost evidence' included a farm yard gate. Not likely to have fallen down the back of a filing cabinet either.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,385 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I'd say the guillotine is being sharpened as we speak.

We should probably grab a French tourists as hostages .

Fann Linn wrote: »
    The 'lost evidence' included a farm yard gate. Not likely to have fallen down the back of a filing cabinet either.

And the coerced witness's included a woman being blackmailed that her extra marital affair would be revealed if she didn't implicate Bailey and a lad being paid off by a Garda with big lumps of hash to implicate him.

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

After listening to the West Cork audible season on the matter I am convinced he did it

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    After listening to the West Cork audible season on the matter I am convinced he did it

Luckily for him your opinion doesn't matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

tomwaits48 wrote: »

No one is arguing about whether he did it or not. The issue is that the evidence against him wasn’t up to a level that warranted a trial here.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 23,933 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

In the eyes of AH , hes guilty of many things including kidnapping and eating Shergar.

I actually think hes been arrested quite a few times over the years.

He was only supposed to take the horse to France!

Losing the gate after the horse bolted.