Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did Ireland get so pretentious?

Seriously your New Years resolution should be to get professional help for that chip. I'm not going to read your posts from now on. Bye.

He’s 100% right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,664 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

blade1 wrote: »
    When Jambons could be bought at petrol stations.

Ah here.
    Jambons are about as posh as sliced pan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,710 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Ah here.
    Sliced pans??
    Mr fancy pants!!!

Ah here.

I remember the first night I had a jambon..It was two in the morning outside a nightclub in Galway in 2004/5..Had never seen such a thing..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭Millicently

It started when I got a stove top espresso pot for my 21st in 1990 - along with a little cup.
    Then one day, my dad bought those croissants in a cardboard tin that you cook at home.
    All went to shlte after that.
    Suddenly supermarkets were selling fresh chillies.
    There was a concerted effort to pull things back in 1995 with the invention of the breakfast roll but it was too late - olives and anchovies had taken hold and werent going to let go. It was all over when sun-dried tomatoes came in 1996.

Dearbhla and Sinead, that was a very irresponsible gift to buy me. Look what you started!
    Na, I think the rot set in with Neapolitan ice cream, before that it was vanilla ice cream only, a tin of pears or mixed tinned fruit with it on special occasions if you were lucky. We started to get notions then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 301 ✭✭puppieperson1

Guys its normally the social climbing bitch wife who tends to turn reasonable fellows into **** and aspiring poshheads with 10 bathrooms in the house and his back broken trying to keep up the payments they probably dont even use the bathrooms `and only flash the cash at home at xmas but in reality live horrendous lives trying to keep up with posh pals they have made doing without to pretend they fit in .....sad bit true. let it go over your head and be grateful you can laugh and walk upright with good health. Happy new year we are all different some more than others,

Guys its normally the social climbing bitch wife who tends to turn reasonable fellows into **** and aspiring poshheads with 10 bathrooms in the house and his back broken trying to keep up the payments they probably dont even use the bathrooms `and only flash the cash at home at xmas but in reality live horrendous lives trying to keep up with posh pals they have made doing without to pretend they fit in .....sad bit true.
    Mr Misogyny has entered the room.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    Classic West Britism. Not based in any reality but a national self loathing which is ingrained as a result of internalized colonial status. Being self confident in yourself and your nation means that you call out people who are actually programmed to denigrate it for the benefit of foreign interests.

To be honest, being confident about something would generally mean that you dont have to keep labelling them as that, as it would already be self-evident.
    I dont understand why people label others as west brits instead of just a g*bsh*te or whatever. For starters being a brit of any description these days would generally make someone, in fact, vehemently nationalistic... Has it not occurred to you that your own opinions are far more 'west brit' of late?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭NSAman

Guys its normally the social climbing bitch wife who tends to turn reasonable fellows into **** and aspiring poshheads with 10 bathrooms in the house and his back broken trying to keep up the payments they probably dont even use the bathrooms `and only flash the cash at home at xmas but in reality live horrendous lives trying to keep up with posh pals they have made doing without to pretend they fit in .....sad bit true.

Could it also be that we leave the trappings of being success at the airport and rent a normal car, don’t flash the cash (apart from mammy pressies) can afford the ten bedroomed house and lifestyle, but come home and don’t live horrendous lives?

I can only speak for myself, but I live and interesting life, which I really enjoy. I have friends in most corners of the world, not just Irish friends. I like the life I have created for myself.

Yet, I feel sad when leaving Ireland after Christmas. Not because I hate living abroad, not because Ireland is the best place in the world (in my opinion it is certainly up there), not because I feel a reject (which I dont) .. it is simply because I have an elderly parent who I never know if I am going to see them again.

Maybe, but he could have a point! One of the few things capable of changing someones outlooks or opinions is the person they have hitched up to and spend most of their time with.

NSAman wrote: »
    Could it also be that we leave the trappings of being success at the airport and rent a normal car, don’t flash the cash (apart from mammy pressies) can afford the ten bedroomed house and lifestyle, but come home and don’t live horrendous lives?

I can only speak for myself, but I live and interesting life, which I really enjoy. I have friends in most corners of the world, not just Irish friends. I like the life I have created for myself.

Yet, I feel sad when leaving Ireland after Christmas. Not because I hate living abroad, not because Ireland is the best place in the world (in my opinion it is certainly up there), not because I feel a reject (which I dont) .. it is simply because I have an elderly parent who I never know if I am going to see them again.

Not really sure what point you are making here, relevant to what you responded to. If you dont do as the guy described then it isnt you he was taking issue with...

Point being everyone is different, not everyone is the same. Someone already pointed out the misogyny in the post, I was calling out the other side of the “successful” person living abroad.

Pretension can be a double sided coin, those that are and those that aren’t who want to be..;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 301 ✭✭puppieperson1

Maybe, but he could have a point! One of the few things capable of changing someones outlooks or opinions is the person they have hitched up to and spend most of their time with.

Very true ask any divorced dad trying to see his kids at Christmas but he cant cos he doesnt have 10 bathrooms anymore he gave the gaff to her....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

There is a debate to be had here , is consumerism driven by the ladies or men ; are men more prone to make the purchases which may endanger the economy while the woman may spend on smaller ticket items much more regularly giving the impression of higher consumption .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Ciaranis

KWAG2019 wrote:
    No it’s not. It recognizes the insidious and ongoing threat of shoneenism, West Brits, quislings and unionists to the state won in blood and sacrifice 100 years ago. All of that promoted through BOD with his Lambeg, FG with a Minister of Justice upholding the RIC/DMP in the War of Independence and the media and politically correct revisionism of inclusion misapplied to those who oppressed ordinary Irish people. Nationalism is under attack from many sides and some of the posters here are part of it. And we know it.

KWAG2019 wrote:
    No it’s not. It recognizes the insidious and ongoing threat of shoneenism, West Brits, quislings and unionists to the state won in blood and sacrifice 100 years ago. All of that promoted through BOD with his Lambeg, FG with a Minister of Justice upholding the RIC/DMP in the War of Independence and the media and politically correct revisionism of inclusion misapplied to those who oppressed ordinary Irish people. Nationalism is under attack from many sides and some of the posters here are part of it. And we know it.

Ya big paranoid weirdo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Ciaranis wrote: »
    Ya big paranoid weirdo.

The innocent will always be with us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

I think that poster is actually a woman. Worse again.

I think it depends on the couple really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,913 ✭✭✭v638sg7k1a92bx

Why is it that the past has to be looked at through rose tinted glasses by people who have had no experience or knowledge of it?

All those things happened in my lifetime, the last laundry only closed in the 1990s.
    Perhaps if people weren't so easily led they might have their "culture". What is it that you are doing to halt this decline, hmm?

You must have been six months old at the time and you give the impression the laundries were in full swing up to that point. This is a form of stolen valor or “stolen victim hood” in you case. Trying to connect yourself to events which had nothing to do with you or inject yourself into the storyline somehow. Millennials are desperate for doing this, particularly when they talk to people who aren’t from Ireland making out what a tough childhood they had and how “Magdalene laundries we’re still open when I was growing up, life in Ireland was so hard”.

Most people on here have never met or even come across anyone who was in those institutions and if you have you have you wouldn’t even know it because most likely they are from a different socio economic background that they would look down their noses at them. What you’ve done in the last post by trying to link yourself to industrial homes is extremely insulting to people who had the misfortune of being institutionalised because they didn’t come from the same privileged background as you sitting on your PlayStation telling everyone how hard it was growing up in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭HBC08

pgj2015 wrote: »
    its not that they like rugby, its the way they go on about it, they way they dress, talk etc like a poor mans D4 head, I saw one knob driving a convertible to tag rugby, the only thing was it was a micra and about 20 years old, he had his shades on and a jumper around his shoulders:(

Im not even sure what your issue is..

The fact hes driving a convertible or that it's an old car or hes wearing sunglasses? or you suspect hes trying to be a d4 head because hes playing rugby?

You need to ask yourself whos the d1ckhead in this scenario?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,975 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

You must have been six months old at the time and you give the impression the laundries were in full swing up to that point. This is a form of stolen valor or “stolen victim hood” in you case. Trying to connect yourself to events which had nothing to do with you or inject yourself into the storyline somehow. Millennials are desperate for doing this, particularly when they talk to people who aren’t from Ireland making out what a tough childhood they had and how “Magdalene laundries we’re still open when I was growing up, life in Ireland was so hard”.

Most people on here have never met or even come across anyone who was in those institutions and if you have you have you wouldn’t even know it because most likely they are from a different socio economic background that they would look down their noses at them. What you’ve done in the last post by trying to link yourself to industrial homes is extremely insulting to people who had the misfortune of being institutionalised because they didn’t come from the same privileged background as you sitting on your PlayStation telling everyone how hard it was growing up in Ireland.

Shut up you tart and crawl back into the hole you came out of. You know **** all about me.

I don't own a PlayStation btw, maybe you'd like to think I do in your ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

Na, I think the rot set in with Neapolitan ice cream, before that it was vanilla ice cream only, a tin of pears or mixed tinned fruit with it on special occasions if you were lucky. We started to get notions then.

Following on from this life of thought... I suspect that country getting uppity correlated strongly with the introduction of the soda stream. Once we started getting "busy with the fizzy" we got airs and graces about having access to carbonated drinks whenever we wanted, thus creating a generation of self entitlement, who then went on to reproduce resulting in a bunch of virtue signalling snow flakes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

Loving this thread, it's segues flawlessly between breakfast rolls to right wing nationalist nutjobs, to neopolitan ice-cream to "**** you, you ***** ##### ****" to soda streams...

Following on from this life of thought... I suspect that country getting uppity correlated strongly with the introduction of the soda stream. Once we started getting "busy with the fizzy" we got airs and graces about having access to carbonated drinks whenever we wanted, thus creating a generation of self entitlement, who then went on to reproduce resulting in a bunch of virtue signalling snow flakes...
    You could argue that the chemicals in the Soda Stream somehow made the DNA passed on from the children who drank the stuff to their own children somehow inferior and that the degrading of DNA somehow led to the offspring of the Soda Stream generation to having a weaker backbone and inability to cope with life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,256 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Soda Stream the yoke made in Gaza?...so, logical conclusion, who's to blame for all of this!? Yep, you guessed it....the Palestinians!! :pac:

Shut up you tart and crawl back into the hole you came out of. You know **** all about me.

I don't own a PlayStation btw, maybe you'd like to think I do in your ignorance.

So basically everything I said about you was true or very close to the bone and now you’ve got annoyed

There is a debate to be had here , is consumerism driven by the ladies or men ; are men more prone to make the purchases which may endanger the economy while the woman may spend on smaller ticket items much more regularly giving the impression of higher consumption .
    Do you remember the media coverage of queues of people queuing to by the latest Iphone or whatever the hottest gadget of the year was? You don't see it so much anymore but most of the people queuing for the gadgets were men. I don't think women have as much interest in the latest gadgets as men, but I could be wrong. I couldn't sleep at night if I had massive debt hanging over my head and I certainly wouldn't put that kind of stress on my husband.
    I can understand a lot of men feel angry with the mothers of their children when they separate for not allowing them to see their children as often as they'd like. I don't blame the guys. But in any relationship there are 2 sides to every story and I don't think most couples break up because the men aren't providing a big enough house for the women. Most men wouldn't want to date a single mum because they don't want the baggage of raising another man's kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,568 ✭✭✭valoren

We all have a drive to want recognition but while there is no issue with or begrudging someone tooting their own horn, if they concurrently look to denigrate others while doing so it is a blatant indication that they are extremely insecure and they lose credibility.

Do you remember the media coverage of queues of people queuing to by the latest Iphone or whatever the hottest gadget of the year was? You don't see it so much anymore but most of the people queuing for the gadgets were men. I don't think women have as much interest in the latest gadgets as men, but I could be wrong. I couldn't sleep at night if I had massive debt hanging over my head and I certainly wouldn't put that kind of stress on my husband.
    I can understand a lot of men feel angry with the mothers of their children when they separate for not allowing them to see their children as often as they'd like. I don't blame the guys. But in any relationship there are 2 sides to every story and I don't think most couples break up because the men aren't providing a big enough house for the women. Most men wouldn't want to date a single mum because they don't want the baggage of raising another man's kids.

Nonsense. This is not a men’s rights thread ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Those aren't just an Irish thing, and while that's wanky I still prefer today's wide variety of foods and drinks to back in the days when this country was in really serious economic trouble. So much so that the emigration was at crazy levels.

The crisps reference was a joke but wanky for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

The average Irish person looks down on the other average person who has a fiver less in his pocket then him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Borgo

Have I stumbled across the Irish version of Its A Wonderful Life?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Sounds like you’re stuck in 2010 OP when you ****ed off to make a few pound down under while your buddies were stuck here on the dole

Now they have jobs money and families and sounds like they have matured into well formed adults

Sorry for your loss, youll have to find new mates to head to Knights with and down your tins of tennents

Why don’t you **** off back to Australia if everything is so perfect there

Ireland isn't so perfect... Australia is miles ahead in urban planning and infrastructure.

The sooner you and the rest of the deniers face up to that maybe we can see real progress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Met a fella home from New Zealand last night, humble bragging about how much he is earning, what a great job he has, how well he is doing.

It comes across as insecure rather than impressive.

Earn far more here than I did abroad. There is not many places abroad that are similar in salary scales to Ireland despite what people say.

Still think the same tbh. Massive value placed on the assets a person in perceived to own here. People base their own self worth and that of others on that. Doesn't go for everyone, but quite a lot of the populace. That is very sad.

Cultural dressing down and reversal needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

I Was VB wrote: »
    The average Irish person looks down on the other average person who has a fiver less in his pocket then him.
    No they don't. So much imagined stuff about "the Irish".

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Ireland isn't so perfect... Australia is miles ahead in urban planning and infrastructure.

The sooner you and the rest of the deniers face up to that maybe we can see real progress.
    In Ireland's favour, most of the wildlife here doesn't want to kill you. I can sit on a toilet without a spider or snake sneaking up the loo and trying to bite me in the ass. I don't need to worry that a huge snake is hiding somewhere in the house and if I want to dispose of a spider I can just cover it with a glass and a bit of paper and safely pop it out in the garden without it trying to kill me and lay it's eggs in me. There won't be a crocodile in the garden either.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

In Ireland's favour, most of the wildlife here doesn't want to kill you. I can sit on a toilet without a spider or snake sneaking up the loo and trying to bite me in the ass. I don't need to worry that a huge snake is hiding somewhere in the house and if I want to dispose of a spider I can just cover it with a glass and a bit of paper and safely pop it out in the garden without it trying to kill me and lay it's eggs in me. There won't be a crocodile in the garden either.:D

Really how often does that really happen? in 15 years I maybe seen 3-4 snakes in the wild and 2 of those were dead. I have never seen a funnel web spider except the zoo and I only seen Red back once.

And I live in a fairly interface area.

Its just tabloid dribble.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Really how often does that really happen? in 15 years I maybe seen 3-4 snakes in the wild and 2 of those were dead. I have never seen a funnel web spider except the zoo and I only seen Red back once.

And I live in a fairly interface area.

Its just tabloid dribble.

I think this happens a lot, tbh. People see viral videos online and yes they're entertaining, funny or whatever - but it's just not reality. I have close friends who live in Australia for 10 years now. During visits home someone inevitably says some version of "I couldn't live there for fear of being eaten alive by all manner of wildlife..." and the answer they give is, haven't seen anything in my home or anyone I know, anyway the size of the Irish house spiders you get is what isn't right, ha ha. :)

Stateofyou wrote: »
    I think this happens a lot, tbh. People see viral videos online and yes they're entertaining, funny or whatever - but it's just not reality. I have close friends who live in Australia for 10 years now. During visits home someone inevitably says some version of "I couldn't live there for fear of being eaten alive by all manner of wildlife..." and the answer they give is, haven't seen anything in my home or anyone I know, anyway the size of the Irish house spiders you get is what isn't right, ha ha. :)

Yep you see the viral videos and pics hit the news... that's because it news... its not an everyday occurrence.

You usually find this rubbish in Daily Mail FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,213 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

FFS all of Australia is not something out of Steve Irwins Australia Zoo. :rolleyes:

PS
    do you know what kills most people in Australia every year ?
    It is actually other people and not any or all animals.

Also why did you leave out the sharks, blue ringed octopus, box jellyfish, camels, red kangaroos as they also kill people?

If you want to see how pretentious some of the Irish have gotten just take a wander into any of the threads on Farming protests, discussion on rural housing, immigration, etc.

Just because some of the plebes have grown up to get well paid jobs with likes of Dell, Microsoft, Facebook, Twitter, Pfizer, Google, PWC, etc they actually think we now own something and it is time to look down their noses at what they deem the ignorant culchies and all that goes with them.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,292 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

As a town planner, I can't really argue with that. But does it have character? I don't think so. Fair enough, it only developed in the last 300 years, but the point stands.

Parts of Australia are also beautiful, but overall its a harsh environment, tough to cultivate and with an over-reliance on outmoded energy and mining types.

The Irish will always be pretentious, sometimes in a reverse psychology type of way, to avoid people knowing their business (and I think thats the key difference with people who emigrate, when you see them again they have diluted their irish caginess and that may come across as pretentious, when really its just the norm where they live now)

Of anywhere in the World to live the rest of my days, I still choose Ireland.

mandrake04 wrote: »
    Yep you see the viral videos and pics hit the news... that's because it news... its not an everyday occurrence.

You usually find this rubbish in Daily Mail FFS

I never lived in Australia. I went there for work for just over 3 weeks. I have Australian cousins so met up with them in Sydney. One day my cousin came to pick me up outside my hotel. He rolled up in a car that looked like it was from the 80's and gestured me to come in. I walk up and there's a massive spider crushed in the door. I signalled to him to roll down the window and tell him. He handed me his flip flop (he was driving in flip flops!) and told me to swipe it away.

Off we went. He asked it it was brown or red. I forget what it was but he said, yeah those are the venomous ones and you get use to it. He lived pretty far out from the city centre but it was still fairly built up. Other than that, the only wildlife I saw was just outside of Cairns.

I encountered a lot more dangerous wildlife living in the US but even so, you go so long without seeing them you get complacent and forget they are even there. We're fairly lucky in Ireland!

In fairness, the progress in Ireland over the last 10-12 years has been pretty impressive. Maybe less so on the urban planning specifically but we've gone from having utter sh1te roads to very good motorways. Meanwhile the lads up in the North went from having far superior roads to us, to having inferior roads and feck all investment.

We're an old country with old towns and cities. We have to work within certain limitations unlike a lot of American, Australian and even certain European cities that got bombed during WW2 and had to rebuild.

Even at that, the LUAS has provided some benefits. The late night bus services for certain routes are an improvement too.

It would be great to see investment in upgrading to high speed trains throughout the country and a push to more work from home to help reduce emissions and traffic in the cities plus to breathe new life to dying towns and villages.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    I never lived in Australia. I went there for work for just over 3 weeks. I have Australian cousins so met up with them in Sydney. One day my cousin came to pick me up outside my hotel. He rolled up in a car that looked like it was from the 80's and gestured me to come in. I walk up and there's a massive spider crushed in the door. I signalled to him to roll down the window and tell him. He handed me his flip flop (he was driving in flip flops!) and told me to swipe it away.

Off we went. He asked it it was brown or red. I forget what it was but he said, yeah those are the venomous ones and you get use to it. He lived pretty far out from the city centre but it was still fairly built up. Other than that, the only wildlife I saw was just outside of Cairns.

I encountered a lot more dangerous wildlife living in the US but even so, you go so long without seeing them you get complacent and forget they are even there. We're fairly lucky in Ireland!

I live in NW suburbs but it’s close to bushland and a creek, I never have anything in the house not even ants which were a problem in my previous house. I do have large trees in my garden that act as a roost for fruit bats that look like a fox with wings make a racket when they fly into trampoline net..had one poor bastard end up in the pool. It not what people make it out to be.

As for flip-flops we call thongs ..,I prefer driving barefoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Haven't the Chinese bought half of Australia. Better start learning mandrin, I'd say the place will be a Chinese colony before long.

Sure they are ones with all the brains and money, the Chinese are one of largest migrant groups granted permanent residency over the last 10 years....during the recession poor old paddy coming with an empty head and empty pockets whinging because he had to do an English test to get a couple more points and kept failing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Things have been tigering up since 2015 or there about. Don't worry they'll all change their tune once the recesh comes along again.

In my social group I noticed this from about 1999/2000 - I had moved to London in 1996. It continued to a zenith around 2007 before a short sharp shock to reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

It's bad out there alright. I met a girl that I know for donkeys years there awhile ago. Fcuk me but her accent has changed and notions have grown. From nowhere either, she was dragged up as bad as I was.
    Now I also don't like the crowd that come back from Australia saying how great it is over there and pretending to care about the environment. Sure they were all burning their rubbish out the back before they left the same as the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Wrong, People never change, despite the ones in here protesting too much on this thread to the contrary, “oh people change, look at me I did well for myself (a guilty conscience needs no accuser).

Btw, taking about a lagr loan to buy an overpriced house does not constitute success.

People grow up and develop. Tastes change, the people who you initially were friends with often change or you find that you simply have nothing in common with them anymore yourself one day.

People and opportunities come and go in life. Some stick around. Many don't.

I'm 32. I can safely say I am completely different to the man I was at 22.

People who whinge about other people changing tend to be the ones stuck in a rut or just never went outside their comfort zone. It's life.

met with friends that I have not seen in nearly 20 years. we have all remained the same people we were when we MUCH younger, same personalities and had a massive laugh.

It was interesting to note that some of these friends have been MAJORLY successful in life and yet have remained the same people without pretence.

We didn’t discuss work as we all “kinda” know what each other does. Yet not wanting to sound like braggers took the P*ss out of each other as we used to do when we were living together in school.

Pretence is not something that friends need to do. Some of us could have bragged about the millions they have made and continue to make, but friendship doesn’t allow that to happen, gentle ribbing of each other about where we all started, old mannerisms and past indiscretions meant no one was free from the group slagging.

When you know people who are secure in their lives, pretence is not needed.