Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Worst/Best Radio Ads rerun edition!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

It's the smug brother from the Oakpark Ad with the chip on his shoulder about his Great Granny Brett that drives me mad. Ungrateful little ****er if you ask me - if it hadn't been for Gt.Granny Brett the little bollix wouldn't have a seat in his trousers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I'm really surprised to hear that TJ O'Mahony are using the same gloomy audio bed for their recent advert. It is the exact same gloomy audio bed as used on the AJ Products advert.

Surely someone should have picked up on this, even the studio creating it? I thought that it was the latter brand returning to the radio - but no.

Thank god I'm not the only one who twigged this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

Great minds think alike! :)

Patronising ad for some sort of cure-all miracle tablet or some such referencing covid "some find this hard".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

NufcNavan wrote: »
    I hear that weirdo listening to his deceased mammy while cooking lamb has made its way to the radio.

I understand it's the sequel to the eircode advert.....

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭depaor01

Subtle. Love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭Dickie10

yeah why is he only cooking a leg of lamb once a year? i would think irish sheep farmers were delighted with the ad until some goon put that bit in. should be til next week Mam.

on another note i really dont like when irish people called their mother MAM. e.g "my mam..." just say my mother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,274 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Dickie10 wrote: »
    on another note i really dont like when irish people called their mother MAM. e.g "my mam..." just say my mother

Not as bad as mum. One of the most irritating words in the English language.

Can't see a problem with either myself. English people (and their descendants in Ireland) tend to use mum, mummy and mother, while 'proper' Irish use words like mam, mammy etc. My own grandfather, Dublin (1881-1970), used to refer to his parents as pater and mater - that's something you don't hear every day. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

Patronising ad for some sort of cure-all miracle tablet or some such referencing covid "some find this hard".

"COVID-19 is still stubbornly high"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Cole

Ah here, save the irritation for Irish people who say "mom" (US style). I know mom is pretty standard in Cork and Kerry and that's grand, but I'm talking about the ones who use it with an American twang. Kids can't really help it when they're so influenced by Youtube, social media etc. but when you hear a middle aged woman from Carlow using it ...ah will ye stop Kathryn Thomas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

NufcNavan wrote: »
    I hear that weirdo listening to his deceased mammy while cooking lamb has made its way to the radio.

"Baste your lamb, like a good man" she says to her son.

Can you imagine if the ad roles were reversed and a deceased father was saying to his daughter "Baste your lamb, like a good woman".

there would be uproar. the ad would be axed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭dogmatix

Heard on the radio just this morning : "Future is an attitude". From Audi. So goodbye to the iconic "Vorsprung durch Technik" and hello to another clunky meaning less slogan, as Audi join Peugeot and Opel with crappy slogans. See the following link to see why Audi are dumbing down (warning: article is filled with corporate speak and business buzz-words) - https://www.audi-mediacenter.com/en/press-releases/re-orientation-of-the-brand-takes-shape-audi-starts-a-new-brand-campaign-13249.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Test For Echo

dogmatix wrote: »
    Heard on the radio just this morning : "Future is an attitude". From Audi...[/url].

"Audi is redefining “Vorsprung” and putting people with their values and needs at the heart of the refined brand strategy. Sustainability, digitalization and design continue to be the core themes. The transformation towards sustainable and digital premium mobility is emphasized in the new global brand campaign with the slogan “Future is an Attitude”. Blah blah blah"

Who buys into this sort of crap? Gives me a headache. It's a fxxking car!!

If I see or hear any of this type of garbage at work that person is immediately written off as an asshat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,409 ✭✭✭plodder

That line is just weird.

Mary McEvoy on Newstalk's "Mindful Moments" ad, telling us to go deep into our minds, take "the road to serenity". Sounds like the time she rounded a bend and met a tractor.

Don't find these ads mindful at all tbh.

The ridiculous erectile disfunction Ad for some Viagra product which is dropped in at all sorts of inappropriate times during the day. I'm glad my kids are past the stage where they would ask what it's about.

Just about to have dinner and the Ad for turning pee to gel comes on...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭De Bhál

"Baste your lamb, like a good man"

"until next year mam"

useless fecker makes dinner once a year and thinks he's a great lad, can picture his wife in the background cleaning up the massive mess he makes, teeth grating listening to the mother-in-law she never got on with...as he continues hitting rewind - stop - play 500 times on a Sunday morning. Might be the reason she leaves him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭crazy 88

I'm really surprised to hear that TJ O'Mahony are using the same gloomy audio bed for their recent advert. It is the exact same gloomy audio bed as used on the AJ Products advert.

Where are they going with the background music :confused: they're furniture/hardware companies....not funeral homes

F*cking Brady family ham, I have to mute the radio/tv when it comes on it irritates me that much.

I thought they had killed this ad for good. Next thing they'll start doing the dreadful "I HAM some ham for one ham" ads again

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭All that fandango

"Oh Amy..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Cole

Trocaire ad - until love conquers fear.
    female v/o with a out of breath voice, as if she is getting stuck in to the dirty work in Kenya

Keep hearing this recently. It's one thing having 'correct' diction, but this woman sounds like she's overdone the elocution lessons...trocaire.ooooorg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,646 ✭✭✭RINO87

Theres some ad on for arthritis medication on at the moment. It drives me nuts because the VO keeps calling it arth-A-ritis!!

I'm pretty sure it's the same lady that did the "you can't read the mind of a cyc-A-list" ad, that they actually had to re-record too.

"Nice hands".
    Said no female gym instructor to a guy ever.

"Arthur-itis"

Mindfulness rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭stronglikebull

"Here are some everyday white lies... It's called the Dulux promise".

Refreshing to see such truth in advertisements. Might be a really bad strategy though.

Jonathan Healy's over enthusiastic voice in the carphone warehouse AND curry's ads which are on constantly. The curry's one is also on TV

The supervalu ad with awful cover of "I'm a believer" as background music. Why was that song even chosen....zero imagination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

That D4 kid asking rapid-fire questions is painful.

"How filthy are or or parents?" why do producers put such strange lines in ads now? again another line from an ad where you ask , wtf does it mean?

and yet again irish society banging on about STEM subjects , anything nerdy or science is seen as brilliant and the way forward, but lets get rid of poets and historians

Time to resurrect my geocities page about William Rowan Hamilton I see.

We can do STEM (horrible acronym) and poems, and history. We can chew gum and walk straight. Nobody is "banging on" about one pursuit to the exclusion of another hobby, I suggest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Typer Monkey

"Oh Amy..."

"My little one"....absolute puke. The way she says it gives me the heebie jeebies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Can you imagine if the ad roles were reversed and a deceased father was saying to his daughter "Baste your lamb, like a good woman".

there would be uproar. the ad would be axed.

I don’t even know what baste it like a good man means???

Also - she advises to use loads of garlic

Most women of that generation ran scared of garlic or any strong herb.

Everything was plain plain plain.

Boil or roast the sh1te out of meat and veg

Terrible ad.

I don’t even know what baste it like a good man means???

Also - she advises to use loads of garlic

Most women of that generation ran scared of garlic or any strong herb.

Everything was plain plain plain.

Boil or roast the sh1te out of meat and veg

Terrible ad.

yeah that sprung to mind defintley the garlic thing, "..you can never have enough" said no irish mother of the 70s or 80s ever. more likely to say "oh bless us and save us where would you be going with that stuff, sure i dont think you can buy it around here anyway" they cook steak , like hammer the s****e out of it then fry it slowly for about 40 mins til good and black and dry and you might be eating any type of meat.

Upside down downward facing dog yoga woman is back. Ridiculous ad.
    Who is so busy they have to make a phone call in the middle of yoga?

yeah that sprung to mind defintley the garlic thing, "..you can never have enough" said no irish mother of the 70s or 80s ever. more likely to say "oh bless us and save us where would you be going with that stuff, sure i dont think you can buy it around here anyway" they cook steak , like hammer the s****e out of it then fry it slowly for about 40 mins til good and black and dry and you might be eating any type of meat.

Ah in fairness now on the TV advert the tape is labeled as 'Mammys roast lamb '95' or something to that effect, maybe she was developing notions! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 711 ✭✭✭blackvalley

"Audi is redefining “Vorsprung” and putting people with their values and needs at the heart of the refined brand strategy. Sustainability, digitalization and design continue to be the core themes. The transformation towards sustainable and digital premium mobility is emphasized in the new global brand campaign with the slogan “Future is an Attitude”. Blah blah blah"

Who buys into this sort of crap? Gives me a headache. It's a fxxking car!!

If I see or hear any of this type of garbage at work that person is immediately written off as an asshat.

Couldnt agree more .
    Theres a bunch of these car ads where we are told ( usually in a hushed or breathless voice ) how this latest piece of Japanese / Korean scrap metal is going to " Change your life " :mad:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

The ad for Trin a dee (Trinity) College. Or just any ad where a 'd' is inserted where it doesn't belong. Loddo etc.

Oh no, it's back with a vengeance with Trin-a-dee mentioned over and over again.

Make it stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,516 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Oh good jesus that has outstayed its welcome like all 'hilarious talking animals'. Thankfully we've heard the last of the Bothar goat.

And hopefully the last of Bothar...
    https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2021/0408/1208688-courts-bothar/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Upside down downward facing dog yoga woman is back. Ridiculous ad.
    Who is so busy they have to make a phone call in the middle of yoga?

Only a matter of time then that they start playing the ad where daddy is playing table tennis with daughter while on the phone.

"playing table tennis with your daw-der".

Two more examples of "hilarious taking animals" for a dog food ad recently. Don't ask me what brand. Painfully unfunny, at least Wexford dog was mildly amusing at the outset.

The advert for sexual abuse at home or the workplace, the one where the woman is on the computer and her fella is harassing her trying to get her to come upstairs. I don't get it, the voiceover guy, is he supposed to be there watching this go on? Seems a bit weird. Maybe there's a tv version that makes more sense?!

"playing table tennis with your daw-der".

Two more examples of "hilarious taking animals" for a dog food ad recently. Don't ask me what brand. Painfully unfunny, at least Wexford dog was mildly amusing at the outset.

Thats a terrible ad one of the "dogs" is speaking like a middle class 70 year old english toff, i thought it was an extremely odd times xmas ad, because i thought it was suppossed to be Santy Clause. You know the way they always have him as an old english ex army captain , 19th century voice, even though hes from Norway/Sweden.

Prize for the most unimaginative ad goes to Energia:
    2 lads talking - "umm...ah...so how was your weekend"?
    "Stuck for something to talk about? Why not talk about Energia?"

Was someone paid to come up with that?

crazy 88 wrote: »
    Prize for the most unimaginative ad goes to Energia:
    2 lads talking - "umm...ah...so how was your weekend"?
    "Stuck for something to talk about? Why not talk about Energia?"

Was someone paid to come up with that?

Also sounds like one lad trying to chat up the other - can't wait for the sequel.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭depaor01

"Two more examples of "hilarious taking animals" for a dog food ad recently. Don't ask me what brand. Painfully unfunny, at least Wexford dog was mildly amusing at the outset.

I think the ad also involves cats and the food is "organic". Bloody hell. Organic food for animals when half the world is starving.
    Don't get me started on one of the ingredients described as "Wild Atlantic Herring". ALL HERRING IS WILD!!! although it would be a shame if the manufacturers snuck in some Wild North Sea herring. I bet little Snookums could immediately taste the difference...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

The ad for the visiting hour, the play by Frank McGuinness. The song is annoying enough, even more annoying is that it gets stuck in your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

The McCambridge bread ads. It's the kid's voice that annoys me.'Is that why it tastes so good?'