Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Share Picks 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Shedite27 wrote: »
    What a mental year, portfolio is up 61% for the year. My annual bonus in work gets paid in March, which coincided with the crash this year. It was nervy adding them to stocks but the shares I bought around Paddy's Day are up crazy numbers for 9 months, Trade Desk, Pinterest and Peloton all up nearly 4x.

Here's where my money is as we turn the year.

End-2020.png

Onto 2021

Thats a pretty neat pie chart (Excel?)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,395 ✭✭✭Shedite27

bcklschaps wrote: »
    Thats a pretty neat pie chart (Excel?)

Yeah, exported portfolio from Degiro, created pie chart in excel. Find it a good exercise every so often to see what stocks you have more or less invested in. Wouldn’t have guessed Docusign and Shopify would be in my bottom quadrant

Augeo wrote: »
    https://pharmafield.co.uk/pharma_news/mhra_fast_track_nod_for_uk_pharma_companys_covid-19_study/

4d Pharma PLC

currently under 60p, was £1 prior to a placing in Feb that was at 50p, RNS yesterday regarding Phase II study in COVID-19.

Company is funded for the short term after the recent placing, they are working on a treatment not a vaccine........ as folk likely know, a vaccine being developed isn't at all guaranteed.

I'd put this one as low risk but potential high reward, and it'll be sooner rather then later :)

My share pick from April, closed at 129p yesterday and none of that rise is covid fuelled :D

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭outonawing

My share pick from April, closed at 129p yesterday and none of that rise is covid fuelled :D

I bought 4 tranches during November at an average of 94.5p. Looking forward to the merger with LOAC, in what could be an epic year for the company.

A big thanks to you and the other guys who championed 4D.

I think the potential upside in 2021 is x3 x5 ish from current SP but things can sour or stagnate very quickly too.

Either an IBS phase 3 partner / trial or the cancer treatment pairing with MSDs keytruda will do wonders for it. The UK AIM market is volatile so another rise pre NASDAQ is likely as well of course.... A last hooray for some in the know profit taking :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Logged in today to notice massive jumps in my Degiro, looks like a big shift in the EUR/USD fx rate but when i looked elsewhere it doesnt seem to have moved that much, is there an annual rebalance of the FX or something?:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

freyners wrote: »
    Logged in today to notice massive jumps in my Degiro, looks like a big shift in the EUR/USD fx rate but when i looked elsewhere it doesnt seem to have moved that much, is there an annual rebalance of the FX or something?:confused:

I see it too. I hope it's not a mistake cause I could do with the 350euro it's giving me :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭One More Toy

bfa1509 wrote: »
    I see it too. I hope it's not a mistake cause I could do with the 350euro it's giving me :pac:

What TF is going on? Seems to be usd only for me acting up

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Hi! Do you mind me asking you why you like Canadian stocks so much? I live in Canada but have less than 5% of my portfolio in canadian stocks. Seem to be mainly banking and oil. The individual companies I like, I just buy them but would love to hear a different perspective!

Snap for living in Canada, not there presently.

Yes banking and resources are the bigger ones but there's also utilities, telecoms, reits too.

I saw the inner workings of some of the resource companies and was quite impressed by the grown up and mature way Canadians behaved and ran things.

Dividends are nice, distributed 4 times a year smoothing the swing, hold some listings for that reason, but buy others after the drop to build a position.

Everyone is after the fast, easy money forgetting that it's a casino and this is how you loose your shirt. I don't have time to be watching the market every second of the day. My day job is always potentially a life or death scenario so a mature market generating 6 - 10% is good for me.

Saying all the above I expect the 20's to be roaring and what comes after that I don't really want to think about.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

99nsr125 wrote: »
    Snap for living in Canada, not there presently.

Yes banking and resources are the bigger ones but there's also utilities, telecoms, reits too.

I saw the inner workings of some of the resource companies and was quite impressed by the grown up and mature way Canadians behaved and ran things.

Dividends are nice, distributed 4 times a year smoothing the swing, hold some listings for that reason, but buy others after the drop to build a position.

Everyone is after the fast, easy money forgetting that it's a casino and this is how you loose your shirt. I don't have time to be watching the market every second of the day. My day job is always potentially a life or death scenario so a mature market generating 6 - 10% is good for me.

Saying all the above I expect the 20's to be roaring and what comes after that I don't really want to think about.

True, I mainly focus on riskier growth stocks for my individual stock portfolio and keep the slower, steadier growth for my main one (I hold XIC in this for Canadian exposure). Dividend investing is something I want to learn more about in 2021, been spending the past while learning the Canadian system (ETFs, different account types, taxes etc).

Crazy year here too! Individual stock portfolio is up 69% for 2020 (nice)

I also got very lucky with timing - decided to pick up some part-time delivery work to give me extra money to invest, did that from feb-sept so was adding heavily to my positions during this time.

Biggest winners were:

TSLA 295%
    TTD 293%
    ZM 199%
    LSPD 140%
    SHOP 127%
    LIT (etf) 107%
    DRIV (etf) 104%

and a shout out to ALB 76%, DIS 74%, BUD 73%, SNSR (etf) 68%, Z 65%, LYFT 56%

The losers I still hold are NKLA -75%, GMBL -22%, and GAN -9%.

I do very little selling, mainly buying companies I think will be worth more in 3-5+ years with a focus on growth and new technologies. Have money on the side to be invested next week and looking at getting more SQ, DOCU, NET, DIS, Z and TWLO

All of the above is about 12-15% of my overall portfolio with the rest currently made up of low-cost global ETFs (70-75%) and crypto (12-15%) which I track separately.

Thanks for the advice this past year and best of luck to everyone in 2021!

PS: Tried to upload a pie chart image of my end of year holdings but I couldn't figure it out on boards :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭timetogo1

I was just looking up Driv & Lit.
    They're not on degiro for me. What platform do you use?

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Any thoughts on TTd, it had a great year but a bit of pull back recently. Need to really grow to their valuation. In saying that still lots of potential in ctv/ ad space with digitisation etc. Also think they plan to try and get more busines in China so may (not) be a positive there. Downside is government regs on data and also the big players trying to corner the market Google etc.. I also own a bit of magnite and trmr on the LSE. Will probably sell TTd and mgni early next year and seem like their a bit froty in a bubble. Still think upside on tremor but very high risk so will hold for while.

timetogo1 wrote: »
    I was just looking up Driv & Lit.
    They're not on degiro for me. What platform do you use?

Sorry, I'm in Canada so I bought them here. Not sure what the euro equivalents would be. LIT is a lithium and battery etf and DRIV is an electric vehicle etf

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Thinking of making my first investment of 2021 in Longview Acquisitions Corporation (LGVW). My understanding is that it's merging with Medical Imaging Provider Butterfly Network (its ticker will become "BFLY") and has been invested in by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation with the aim of selling medical imaging at affordable prices.

Any opinions?

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭outonawing

Thinking of making my first investment of 2021 in Longview Acquisitions Corporation (LGVW). My understanding is that it's merging with Medical Imaging Provider Butterfly Network (its ticker will become "BFLY") and has been invested in by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation with the aim of selling medical imaging at affordable prices.

Any opinions?

Haven't read the investor presentation, but from Butterfly's website, it appears that they only have one portable machine.

Beyond that I have no knowledge of the company.

Any opinions?

What do you think of the current valuation and what do you reckon will shift share price upwards?

Is it the bill & Melinda bit that's the appeal?

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭Hibrasil

LGVW share price just under $20.00. Based on a value computed from forecasted earnings per share, forecasted earnings growth, profitability, interest, and inflation rates the value per share is $6.70. If this is correct the shares are overvalued. The upside potential and safety are both poor. Shares are rated a HOLD (not a Buy or Strong Buy). With No income Statement or Balance Sheet to look at - buying is like sticking a pin on the runners in the Aintree Grand National. Hope this helps.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Cpfm

Shedite27 wrote: »
    I didn't go for QS myself either. To be honest, this lat Chris Perruna has such a following at the moment that it seems he can move stocks on his own. He doesn't even own Fubo himself yet. While up 70% or whatever in a week is great, part of me is a little disappointed as I wanted to buy more at $30. First world problems.

I've a feeling CURI may follow a simialr trajectory. It's a streaming dervice for documentaries, Discovery Channel, History Channel etc. Got a 25% jump today but is still only a $13 stock ($500mn cap). Seems to be the next darling of Twitter and Reddit

Good call Shedite27... +19% as I type. I didn't pick any up - I had one punt and went in for PLTR at 23..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

Ouch, very red day for me today. Are we in the midst of a March2020-like crash I wonder?

bfa1509 wrote: »
    Ouch, very red day for me today. Are we in the midst of a March2020-like crash I wonder?

S&P500 down 2% ish so we aren't in the midst of any crash IMO :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Cpfm wrote: »
    Good call Shedite27... +19% as I type. I didn't pick any up - I had one punt and went in for PLTR at 23..

Fair play for PLTR nudge. I doubled down on it as well at $23

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Stormington

S&P500 down 2% ish so we aren't in the midst of any crash IMO
    Big bull flag on the DXY - might be a small correction coming in the near future.
    Have cash on the sideline.

Timing the markets it something I don't put much faith in, truth be told. To each their own etc but it's just gambling.

"might be a small correction coming in the near future"

What's a small correction? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭DutchYurt

Timing the markets it something I don't put much faith in, truth be told. To each their own etc but it's just gambling.

"might be a small correction coming in the near future"

What's a small correction? :)

My "Fomo" & "buy high, panic, watch it drop, panic some more, wait a while, it comes even, 10% return then bail - afterwards it climbs 40%+" strategy is going prettty good.

But I agree, better to be in the market then trying to time into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Cpfm

DutchYurt wrote: »
    My "Fomo" & "buy high, panic, watch it drop, panic some more, wait a while, it comes even, 10% return then bail - afterwards it climbs 40%+" strategy is going prettty good.

:pac::pac::pac: sounds very familiar ... I think thats my playbook too :):pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭pitrn

Someone here suggested Genius Brand International as a buy. Any further thoughts? Is it good share to buy? Googled it a bit and did not hear very positive news on this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭AmberGold

pitrn wrote: »
    Someone here suggested Genius Brand International as a buy. Any further thoughts? Is it good share to buy? Googled it a bit and did not hear very positive news on this one.

Forget about it. Was a Wall Street Bets meme. Lots lost their shirts on this Pump and Dump.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,395 ✭✭✭Shedite27

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭Hibrasil

pitrn wrote: »
    Earnings have declined by 87% over the past 5 years - does not have meaningful revenue at present - Share price $1.35 Value 0.25 cents - says it all.