Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General Premier League Thread 2019-20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭joeguevara

FitzShane wrote: »
    Premier League games will be more likely to go ahead behind closed doors for a few weeks at least IMO, if it gets to that stage, which is probably a few weeks away aswell. Premier League teams rely on TV money to survive more than anything. Ask Bournemouth would they rather play 3 home game with no fans or have 3 less games on TV and I'm sure they will pick the empty stadium. The TV companies pay massive money for the right to show the games, so will be fighting their corner in terms of getting the games shown live on their network.

I think we are a long way away from games being suspended.

Lower down the leagues, and other countries like our own, clubs heavily rely more on matchday revenue over TV money deals. These clubs will be affected more by games being played behind closed doors. Clubs down the leagues are well used to games being called off last minute to be fair, with pitches regularly flooded etc. That never really happens in the Premier League but their games are postponed for the safety of fans more than anything.

Think of all the PL grounds that have a lot of businesses around the grounds such as pubs, shops, food stalls, foodbanks, vendors selling scarves. All of these people will miss out on livelyhoods and depending on the size of the footfall that is reduced, could really suffer.

Would there be insurance to cover lost revenue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

joeguevara wrote: »
    Would there be insurance to cover lost revenue?

Doubt it . What or who would you be claiming against ?

Loss of tv revenue. Actually just read here that they have insurance. Could bankrupt an underwriter if not hedged. https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/51805836

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

I'm amazed games have are not going behind closed doors yet in England.

Way too slow to respond to this.

England are not handling things well. Either are Ireland. And Ireland are using England as an excuse!

tV broadcasters have a lot of power I’d say. Also, why pick on sport. Shopping centres, clubs, tourist spots have large crowds. Tubes in London would have more people going through them than a football match.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭all about the mane

joeguevara wrote: »
    tV broadcasters have a lot of power I’d say. Also, why pick on sport. Shopping centres, clubs, tourist spots have large crowds. Tubes in London would have more people going through them than a football match.

People have to go to shops and use public transport. They don’t have to go attend a match. I dread to think what’s going to come back from Cheltenham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

People have to go to shops and use public transport. They don’t have to go attend a match. I dread to think what’s going to come back from Cheltenham

I can't believe that was allowed to go ahead. That's going to have some knock on effect in Ireland over the next few weeks.

Shame there isn’t a thread to cover the virus and soccer.

Question lads -

I don’t have access to Sky Sports so I’ve had to infer from second hand information and from some stuff I’ve read.

It seems when Jose got the sack at United he went to work with media. It seems he took this opportunity to paint a picture that he had ‘changed’.

That he understood he could have done things differently. So basically advertising that he was now more meek and was employable again.

I think it all related to the things he said in public about his clubs owners or what he said about individual players (whilst he was managing).

So on the basis of that is he is doing it all over again - did I pick up this second hand information correctly ? Did he ever allude to making mistakes in how he handle players publicly ?

I live abroad so don’t have the option of subscribing to sky sports. Is there anyway to get it internationally ? I’ve never cared but if Roy Keane is going to be a regular contributor then I’d like to sign up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

No wins for jose now in 6 games for spurs... utd on sunday, hope we hammer them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,352 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I live abroad so don’t have the option of subscribing to sky sports. Is there anyway to get it internationally ? I’ve never cared but if Roy Keane is going to be a regular contributor then I’d like to sign up.

Think a lot of his punditry was with BEIN sports. Not sure if you can get Sky abroad but check out their YouTube channel. You'll get the best of the analysis/craic on there.

PARlance wrote: »
    Think a lot of his punditry was with BEIN sports. Not sure if you can get Sky abroad but check out their YouTube channel. You'll get the best of the analysis/craic on there.

I’ve watched a couple of bits on YouTube but I don’t like the bite size pieces.

There’s no context of flow. I’d like to be able to watch it all.

I think you’re right. I think Jose and Wenger were on Bein.

So maybe guys on this thread won’t have seen Jose speak on the things I’ve asked about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,038 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Jose definitely did a few matches on Sky, where he did indeed present himself as a calmer man, who had made mistakes and learned from them.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Jose definitely did a few matches on Sky, where he did indeed present himself as a calmer man, who had made mistakes and learned from them.

It is a chalk and cheese comparison between Jose Pundit and Jose Stressed Manager.

The TV studio and the touchline are two completely environments of course, but I was quite surprised that Jose took the Spurs job in the first place...

'Leaves club when relations fester after owner's refusal to back him...take's next job at Daniel Levy's Spurs.'

To me, Jose and Spurs just didn't seem like the best match to begin with.

It is a chalk and cheese comparison between Jose Pundit and Jose Stressed Manager.

The TV studio and the touchline are two completely environments of course, but I was quite surprised that Jose took the Spurs job in the first place...

'Leaves club when relations fester after owner's refusal to back him...take's next job at Daniel Levy's Spurs.'

To me, Jose and Spurs just didn't seem like the best match to begin with.

Not remotely surprised Jose took the job. Why wouldn’t he ?

I was quite shocked Levy offered it to him and I was wondering if his (Jose’s) new image has anything to do with that. Surely Levy has protected himself from any big payouts to Jose if it doesn’t work out.

I’m surprised he doesn’t have a clause that prevents him from badmouthing players in public. No quicker way to lose the whole dressing room unless of course that player is disliked, by the group, which is unlikely.

No one was trying to compare the pundit with the manager. I was trying to find out if he was saying one thing but doing another.

Rebel seems to think that may be the case too.

Not remotely surprised Jose took the job. Why wouldn’t he ?

I was quite shocked Levy offered it to him and I was wondering if his (Jose’s) new image has anything to do with that. Surely Levy has protected himself from any big payouts to Jose if it doesn’t work out.

I’m surprised he doesn’t have a clause that prevents him from badmouthing players in public. No quicker way to lose the whole dressing room unless of course that player is disliked, by the group, which is unlikely.

No one was trying to compare the pundit with the manager. I was trying to find out if he was saying one thing but doing another.

Rebel seems to think thy may be the case too.

Because if he was pissed at the lack of backing he got at United, well it wasn't going to get much better at Spurs. Sure, Jose was out of work and Spurs are a good, London-based club who play in the CL, but I thought he would go back to Spain/Italy next or somewhere not in England. Hence my surprise.

How would he have such a clause put in his contract? Does any football manager have that?

I didn't even happen to read your original comment, so I was chiming in on Rebel's post and not yours. I don't care if people were trying to compare the pundit and the manager or not, I was solely replying to what Rebel said. You are not a mod so don't tell me what the discussion is or isn't, cheers.

Because if he was pissed at the lack of backing he got at United, well it wasn't going to get much better at Spurs. Sure, Jose was out of work and Spurs are a good, London-based club who play in the CL, but I thought he would go back to Spain/Italy next or somewhere not in England. Hence my surprise.

How would he have such a clause put in his contract? Does any football manager have that?

I didn't even happen to read your original comment, so I was chiming in on Rebel's post and not yours. I don't care if people were trying to compare the pundit and the manager or not, I was solely replying to what Rebel said. You are not a mod so don't tell me what the discussion is or isn't, cheers.

Well that seems a like reasonable response.

You out of chill pills ?

Well that seems a like reasonable response.

You out of chill pills ?

Ah, resorting to digs. I'll leave you down there yourself and bow out of whatever this is now.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Ah, resorting to digs. I'll leave you down there yourself and bow out of whatever this is now.

Bow away.

Probably for the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 956 ✭✭✭internelligent

Xenji wrote: »

I don't see how they'll let any games go ahead now.

Arsenal players in self-isolation which would mean West Ham players would have to follow suit?

This could actually be happening!

Arsenal players in self-isolation which would mean West Ham players would have to follow suit?

This could actually be happening!

I don't think so... the issue is the match was due to happen tomorrow, so there wasn't time to thoroughly go through and test everyone before the game.

The West Ham players/staff I'm sure will still be tested, but short of finding positives, I don't see it affecting more games... time was the factor on this one.

At least, so it seems!

Interesting one to keep track of though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Is it possible that the English league is canceled and no one wins the league this season?

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Is it possible that the English league is canceled and no one wins the league this season?

Probably more likely that at worst the final few games are postponed. Next to no chance Euro 2020 can take place really, given the pan-european format, which totally opens up the calendar.

Also, any total league cancellation would have to happen reeeeal soon to stop there being a winner.

• Italy were in the same position as Ireland and England are now only a few weeks ago.

City v Arsenal postponed.

Official statement.

"The decision to postpone tonight's game has been taken as a precautionary measure on medical advice, after it emerged that personnel from Arsenal FC have come into contact with the Olympiacos owner, Evangelos Marinakis, who has been named as a positive case of COVID-19."

Wonder where that leaves Westham who played Arsenal last Saturday,
    Prem could be cancelled now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,329 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Wonder where that leaves Westham who played Arsenal last Saturday,
    Prem could be cancelled now

I guess we'll never know if Liverpool would have been able to hang on at the top and see off the chasing pack. Their history of choking in these situations leaves me sceptical but we'll never know. For that reason, this title "win" will have an asterisk after it forevermore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,293 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I guess we'll never know if Liverpool would have been able to hang on at the top and see off the chasing pack. Their history of choking in these situations leaves me sceptical but we'll never know. For that reason, this title "win" will have an asterisk after it forevermore.

Ha try harder.

The league will be postponed not left as is. England have a better hold of this than Italy, the first European country it popped up in was always going to be destroyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

China has already beaten it (if you can trust the Chinese?) I'll admit though this is a godsend for the anti-Liverpool brigade. You couldn't make it up. By far the most dominant team in the PL over the past 2 years, arguably ever and could end up with nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

gimli2112 wrote: »
    China has already beaten it (if you can trust the Chinese?) I'll admit though this is a godsend for the anti-Liverpool brigade. You couldn't make it up. By far the most dominant team in the PL over the past 2 years, arguably ever and could end up with nothing.

It would be comical and a disgrace if the greatest premier league team of all time were not to lift the title.

I reckon the league will be postponed for a couple of weeks and finished later on.

• ricero wrote: »
    It would be comical if the greatest premier league team of all time were not to lift the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,711 ✭✭✭Glebee

Cant see England getting it under control while Cheltinham is on. Would not belive anything coming out of China either. Cancel the league now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,597 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Well the reason they have "beaten it" is because the country is on complete lockdown.. they are still reporting a couple of hundred cases a day, but you cant be absolutely certain that those figures are misleading or correct.

Still won't be as bad as what happened in May 1989.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

I'm not too worried, games will be postponed and played later or behind closed doors.

The only thing that happened today is that the league can now no longer be won on Saturday, Monday is the earliest it can be won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,597 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

8-10 wrote: »
    I'm not too worried, games will be postponed and played later or behind closed doors.

The only thing that happened today is that the league can now no longer be won on Saturday, Monday is the earliest it can be won.

I think the big deciding factor will be if any of the arsenal players have it, if they do, west ham will have to get tested.. then you have the situations where players socialise together, it could spread through the league rapidly in fairness.

I personally think they could prospone this round of games to see the outcomes of those tests and if all clear , back to business

International break coming up might buy the FA some time and leeway to see how things play out with the spread of the virus. There might be no huge decisions made about the conclusion of the 2019/20 PL league before then.

The Euros are gone though. IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,389 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Trigger wrote: »
    I think the big deciding factor will be if any of the arsenal players have it, if they do, west ham will have to get tested.. then you have the situations where players socialise together, it could spread through the league rapidly in fairness.

I personally think they could prospone this round of games to see the outcomes of those tests and if all clear , back to business

I'd be very surprised if the Arsenal and West Ham players haven't been tested already. Probably waiting on results to come back.

Once Arsenal found out about contact they would have had to notify the Premier League, PGMOL and West Ham.

What officials covered that game on Saturday? They probably had another game on Sunday.

The league won't be cancelled. If they did there would be massive lawsuits from the relegated teams and those who may have missed out on promotion. What will likely happen is this weekend's fixtures will go a head as normal, the next round of games will be behind closed doors and then possibly a postponement until the summer when the last 6-7 games will be played over 3 weeks.

Euros will likely be moved to next summer as there's to much travel involved with the pan European format this time around and the risk of spread will be much higher.

CL and EL games could be played behind closed doors from next round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,060 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

International break coming up might buy the FA some time and leeway to see how things play out with the spread of the virus. There might be no huge decisions made about the conclusion of the 2019/20 PL league before then.

The Euros are gone though. IMO.

100%.

Being held in 12 cities across 12 countries.

Not a chance it'll happen. Fans will decide not to travel in many cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,293 ✭✭✭✭rob316

EL and CL will be gone too, it's a cup competition. The priority will be finishing out the leagues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

TitianGerm wrote: »
    I'd be very surprised if the Arsenal and West Ham players haven't been tested already. Probably waiting on results to come back.

Once Arsenal found out about contact they would have had to notify the Premier League, PGMOL and West Ham.

What officials covered that game on Saturday? They probably had another game on Sunday.

The league won't be cancelled. If they did there would be massive lawsuits from the relegated teams and those who may have missed out on promotion. What will likely happen is this weekend's fixtures will go a head as normal, the next round of games will be behind closed doors and then possibly a postponement until the summer when the last 6-7 games will be played over 3 weeks.

Euros will likely be moved to next summer as there's to much travel involved with the pan European format this time around and the risk of spread will be much higher.

CL and EL games could be played behind closed doors from next round.

Many Cl and EL games are already taking place behind closed doors. The Liverpool--Atletico tie tonight will probably be the last one with fans in the stadium for the foreseeable future. I still think the rest of the PL season will go ahead on schedule but with games behind closed doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I think they should play games behind closed doors until Liverpool reach the point where they have the 2 wins and Utd are in 6th.

And then call a halt to it.

• Echo...... Echo........

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭PhilipsR

rob316 wrote: »
    Ha try harder.

The league will be postponed not left as is. England have a better hold of this than Italy, the first European country it popped up in was always going to be destroyed.

I’m sorry but this is utter tosh. How have England got a better hold of it?! Cheltenham is literally ongoing as I type this. It just hasn’t hit England yet. All sport will be cancelled within the next 2 weeks. There’s no way the PL finishes on time. No chance.

I wonder what take priority , You'd have to think the league over Euro's or Champions league

Premier league itself will want a winner,

I wonder what take priority , You'd have to think the league over Euro's or Champions league

Premier league itself will want a winner,

Somewhat ironically we won it in December by all accounts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Should just stop playing now.
    Cancel the international break too.
    Which will give you about 4 weeks till the leagues resume.
    Rename Euro2020 to Euro2021 and you ll have all the time in the world to finish the current season

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭PhilipsR

inforfun wrote: »
    Should just stop playing now.
    Cancel the international break too.
    Which will give you about 4 weeks till the leagues resume.
    Rename Euro2020 to Euro2021 and you ll have all the time in the world to finish the current season

I think this is probably the best option. Move Euro 2020 to 2021. The players just get a break now rather than in summer so there may only be a 1/2 window of one league season finishing and the other beginning.

What’s going to be a mess is player contracts finishing 30 June. No idea what happens there. It’s gonna be a messy rest of the year and we’ll all be talking about it for decades to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,103 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

PhilipsR wrote: »
    I’m sorry but this is utter tosh. How have England got a better hold of it?! Cheltenham is literally ongoing as I type this. It just hasn’t hit England yet. All sport will be cancelled within the next 2 weeks. There’s no way the PL finishes on time. No chance.

The last thing to stop football going ahead in England was a World War.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,103 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Somewhat ironically we won it in December by all accounts

Same people saying the league was won in November & December will now be saying it should be called off and no winner! :o