Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General Premier League Thread 2019-20

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,268 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Easiest and most realistic option is to declare all football leagues null and void forbthe 19/20 season. Forget about it.

As Klopp has said just a game.

It is only a game.

I cant see how it's the easiest option as it will throw up as many problems upto and including court cases from loss of revenue, breach of contracts etc A lot of clubs will need the matchday income etc to simply survive. Wages still have to be paid.
    Simply to 'forget it' is a very simplistic view on the sheer complexities involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,568 ✭✭✭✭CSF

bangkok wrote: »
    because over 10000 are infected in the UK and the virus hasnt even peaked yet...

over 1000 are dead in italy already and thats where the uk is heading

What does that have to do with which football you play when football returns?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

A bloke with FALSE in his name. Haha

To be fair to your mockery you wouldn't be expected to know FalseFirmino is a well known ITK type and refers to Bobby's role in the team (False 9).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Woodsie1

DVDM93 wrote: »
    I'm convinced it's one person using two accounts here.

Either that or Otis Agreeable Axe^ obsession with Shanotheslayer is unhealthier than his obsession with Liverpool.

Jesus that's awful paranoia ha

• Woodsie1 wrote: »

Next level

It could start back in October give September as the transfer window. The biggest shambles would be not finishing the season over all other options. Whats worse a 75% completed season not being finished or having to deal with a 2 week transfer window. The season could start on Sept 15 and let all of September be transfers.

2 weeks isn't enough time for teams to get there business done, it might be fine for Premier league teams, but teams in other divisions will have to carefully look at there budgets to see who and what they might bring in, managers and players will be out of contract, players who are on loan to clubs will no longer be eligible to play.

There is a lot of variables (probably loads im not even thinking of)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

CSF wrote: »
    What does that have to do with which football you play when football returns?

they will have to draw a line under this season at some stage. just cannot see them playing any more games this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,294 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Easiest and most realistic option is to declare all football leagues null and void forbthe 19/20 season. Forget about it.

As Klopp has said just a game.

Its neither the easiest or most realistic. Whatever about Liverpool missing out its a mine field dealing with relegation, european places and promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

rob316 wrote: »
    Declaring a league null and void gives zero credibility to the following one. I'll say it again if you can start a new one then you can finish the current one.

As I posted earlier, there's rules. All games have to be completed. If the league is cancelled which is looking more and more likely then the games won't be completed hence no winner.

A league title won't be given out of sympathy.

It's like someone saying that they were the only person in the country who got 5 numbers in the lotto but deserve the jackpot because they were nearer to winning it than anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    It is only a game.

I cant see how it's the easiest option as it will throw up as many problems upto and including court cases from loss of revenue, breach of contracts etc A lot of clubs will need the matchday income etc to simply survive. Wages still have to be paid.
    Simply to 'forget it' is a very simplistic view on the sheer complexities involved.

I would imagine the PL have the power to do what they want in terms of awarding titles and demoting teams. The demotion and promotion is the headache here. Award the title to Liverpool by default. No club will challenege this. But when it comes to money the bottom 3 will take every legal action they can. Every game due to be played would have to be played etc. That could take another 6 months. Do that Math.

That wont happen.

Nullify the leagues now and dont protract this thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Finish the league now. Give the players a long over due break and give pool the league. They're streets ahead of everyone and deserve it.

Suspend the league for as long as is deemed medically wise and then pick up the strand to complete the season and then tweak the next season (whenever that is) if appropriate to do so (ie drop the domestic cups, friendly international breaks)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

I would imagine the PL have the power to do what they want in terms of awarding titles and demoting teams. The demotion and promotion is the headache here. Award the title to Liverpool by default. No club will challenege this. But when it comes to money the bottom 3 will take every legal action they can. Every game due to be played would have to be played etc. That could take another 6 months. Do that Math.

That wont happen.

Nullify the leagues now and dont protract this thing.

**** so narrow minded I didnt even think about the relegation battle or promotion. Yup not as clear as I though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Woodsie1 wrote: »

not at all.

either way it suits the narrative, very unhealthy.

**** so narrow minded I didnt even think about the relegation battle or promotion. Yup not as clear as I though.

Thats the problem here.

Just nullify all divisions. Im sure there similar happened during the wars. Just cant be arsed looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭joeguevara

If a decision is not made, another issue would be clubs planning for next season. Star players could demand a transfer if they don’t know if they will be in a relegated and/or promoted team. Purchase of season tickets would be affected if fans didn’t know what league they are in. Investment would stall too.

There is literally thousands of things to consider.

Thats the problem here.

Just nullify all divisions. Im sure there similar happened during the wars. Just cant be arsed looking.

Ya after about 3 games are played and the financial stakes weren't as high.

You can't just forget about a season that is over 75% done. Clubs will go out of business.

Suspend the league for as long as is deemed medically wise and then pick up the strand to complete the season and then tweak the next season (whenever that is) if appropriate to do so (ie drop the domestic cups, friendly international breaks)

To many games left to be played. It would have an impact on seasons to come not just the next one. Present Liverpool with the trophy for being the best team this season and nullify promotion and relegation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

rob316 wrote:
    Its neither the easiest or most realistic. Whatever about Liverpool missing out its a mine field dealing with relegation, european places and promotion.

You're very strange people

The rules of the season are teams play each other home and away

In these circumstances the lease won't finish

Every top league in Europe is about to declare the 2019/20 season null and void. What is so difficult for you to accept about that.

SKy and BT etc will also want a "freebie" from the league to make up for lost games and revenue.

Ya after about 3 games are played and the financial stakes weren't as high.

You can't just forget about a season that is over 75% done. Clubs will go out of business.

So nullify the season. Split promotion payments and parachute payments amongst the top current 6 championship clubs. Money talks.

brinty wrote: »

Every top league in Europe is about to declare the 2019/20 season null and void. What is so difficult for you to accept about that.

Its a british thing.

brinty wrote: »

Your not very good at making arguments are you? They play each other home and away? Ok.

The other leagues aren't on the verge of it, there's a rumour in Germany and this narrative of the league been voided in England is been driven to deny Liverpool while failing to realize the mess it creates for every other team. There will be zero credibility to the standings of the proceeding season if you don't finish this.

So nullify the season. Split promotion payments and parachute payments amongst the top current 6 championship clubs. Money talks.

What money? Do you think the TV rights holders are going to pay for an incomplete season? They will in their bollox

Here is the telegraph article in full (not a fan of this but exceptional circumstances)
    Liverpool set to be given Premier League title amid coronavirus chaos

Options for next season include a 22-team Premier League, possibly played to dovetail with the winter World Cup
    By Ben Rumsby ; Jason Burt ; Sam Wallace and Matt Law 13 March 2020 • 10:18pm

Liverpool are still likely to be crowned Premier League champions, even if the coronavirus crisis causes the season to be abandoned amid mounting fears it would be ­ impossible to complete it this summer.

As revealed by Telegraph Sport last month, there is no regulation governing what happens if the 2019-20 campaign is curtailed. But a senior club executive revealed on Friday night that there was little ­opposition to awarding Jurgen Klopp’s men their first English title for 30 years following what threatened to be the longest suspension of the professional game since the Second World War.

Leaders Liverpool are 25 points clear of second-placed Manchester City and two more victories for the Anfield club will give them the title. Such is the gap that there is no appetite among their rivals to deny them the crown.

The coronavirus hiatus is in danger of plunging football in England into anarchy, with governing bodies and clubs desperately trying to devise ways to avoid the unprecedented meltdown that could ensue if Government projections over the spread of the deadly disease prove correct.

On a day when more sport fell by the wayside, including the London Marathon, the Masters, Wales’s Six Nations match with Scotland, England’s cricket tour of Sri Lanka, the start of the Formula One season, and the Giro d’Italia, one senior figure at a Premier League team told Telegraph Sport: “There is so much more at stake. There is a focus on whether Liverpool will be champions, but that will be an irrelevance in the scheme of things. There is an intent we will recommence, but will that be possible?”

The Premier League had devised a plan in which the season would finish on schedule provided it resumed on April 3. That was the date to which it, the English Football League and Football Association agreed to suspend the men’s and women’s professional game following crisis talks on Friday. But with the virus forcing seven Premier League clubs yesterday to put players into isolation and the disease not forecast to peak until May or June, an April resumption appeared optimistic in the extreme.

FA chairman Greg Clarke told Premier League clubs it was not “feasible” to expect their remaining matches to be played, while another senior figure told Telegraph Sport: “You tell me whether you think there’s the remotest possibility that anything in the science is going to tell us that it’s going to be safer to play on April 3 than now.”

This summer’s European Championship is expected to be postponed at an emergency meeting of European football stakeholders on Tuesday in order to allow the club season to continue into June and July – and potentially even beyond.

The same senior figure raised the prospect of the calendar being ­redrawn to dovetail with the next World Cup in Qatar, the switch of which to the winter of 2022 had ­already been accommodated by the game.

“One scenario could be that you just work backwards from it and you say, ‘Why don’t we have a calendar season in 2022 and a calendar season in 2021 and we play the rest of this season in October?’” he said.

But many players will be out of contract on June 30 and will also have lost match fitness, raising major questions about the integrity of competitions.

Calling a halt to the season would be no less chaotic. That has resulted in discussions taking place inside some Premier League teams over proposals that could be put forward if the season could not be played to a conclusion. One would be to void the season, but there is an acceptance that would cause many of its own problems with Liverpool so close to winning the ­title.

There would also be the issues of relegation and promotion from the Championship, together with Champions League qualification, which carry huge financial implications for the clubs involved.

One proposal that could be made would be for the top two in the Championship, currently Leeds and West Brom, to be promoted and for 22 teams to compete in next season’s Premier League. The EFL Cup would be postponed for one year to allow extra space in the fixture list and five clubs, instead of three, would be relegated at the end of the season.

One suggestion regarding Champions League qualification would be to allow the teams who qualified for this season’s tournament to keep their places next season and then ­enter any additional sides currently in qualification positions into an ­expanded qualifying phase.

That would mean third-placed Leicester going into a qualifying round for the Champions League, with Liverpool, Manchester City – subject to the Court of Arbitration for Sport hearing – Chelsea and Tottenham holding on to their places in the tournament. But Manchester United, Wolves and Sheffield United, who are all above seventh-placed Spurs, would no doubt object to this.

Christian Purslow, the Aston Villa chief executive, attended Friday's emergency meeting of the Premier League. Asked if he thought the current season will be completed, he ­replied: “We have no idea. Let’s hope so.”

Failure to do so would in turn jeopardise billions of pounds in television money, with Premier League chief executive Richard Masters having already stressed to clubs in an email on Thursday night that “contractual commitments” needed to be taken into consideration.

As revealed by Telegraph Sport, it would also risk sending EFL clubs – who depend on match-day ­revenue – out of business. That might be one reason why the non-League game did not follow the lead of its professional counterpart yesterday by calling off matches.

Your not very good at making arguments are you? They play each other home and away? Ok.

this narrative of the league been voided in England is been driven to deny Liverpool while failing to realize the mess it creates for every other team. There will be zero credibility to the standings of the proceeding season if you don't finish this.

So it's all a conspiracy to stop Liverpool winning the league, that's top tinfoil hat stuff there.
    When the death rates start to spiral, people won't care about football as they bury parents, grandparents and loved ones.

So it's all a conspiracy to stop Liverpool winning the league, that's top tinfoil hat stuff there.
    When the death rates start to spiral, people won't care about football as they bury parents, grandparents and loved ones.

This.
    Give Liverpool their title and lets them enjoy it.

Then football can take a back seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,568 ✭✭✭✭CSF

bangkok wrote: »
    they will have to draw a line under this season at some stage. just cannot see them playing any more games this season.

Why will they HAVE to? They may choose to, but they certainly have other options.

I won't quote Harry's post but the bit about awarding Liverpool the title was pure clickbait in the original tweet.
    The article gives several hypothetical scenarios,none about awarding any titles. That sentence was basically a point of view,no more valid than what any of us might post here.

Nor will I care, I'm just debating something arbitrary like the premier league to take my mind off this.

This.
    Give Liverpool their title and lets them enjoy it.

Then football can take a back seat.

But according to the rules and they were signed up to by Liverpool,they can't be handed the title on the back of an incomplete season.

I won't quote Harry's post but the bit about awarding Liverpool the title was pure clickbait in the original tweet.
    The article gives several hypothetical scenarios,none about awarding any titles. That sentence was basically a point of view,no more valid than what any of us might post here.

And no one has a clue what's going to happen until UEFA have a say. I'm just making points, there will be a future after this in football and the far ranging consequences will still be there.

Still 9 games to go in the championship with no team with a big enough lead to assume they wont be caught. So do they finish this out and the championship playoffs and the same for L1 and L2?? Award Liverpool the title? What about the european qualification places ? Relegation?

If Liverpool were awarded the PL trophy defacto the Leeds would surely bring legal challenges for the same treatment even though they could still be easily caught.

Lads a nullification is surely the lesser evil here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Holy smokes. Make a comment about a person tweeting something that isn't an authorized account and all of a sudden I'm T.Hanks.

For clarity I think it's absolute pony. I can't imagine most clubs agreeing to that because it absolute makes no sense.

"Lads, meeting held today, just to discuss if Liverpool should be champions, can we vote for it , Relegation, CL, Europa League, not really on the agenda despite the money involved but really we just need you guys to vote on the if Liverpool should be champions"

As someone said I believe it was the telegraph he quoted? Has anyone got the article link?

If you think I'm T.Hanks.....

Disagreed last week
    Disagreed in the past
    Just an FYI

I'm actually Niallo as well, I disagree with him sometimes but chat regularly. I'm just a bored person.

I support Everton United and Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,106 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Arbitrarily promoting Leeds and West Brom is much more of an issue than crowning Liverpool Champions. There is (I think 9 matches left in the Championship and it’s extremely tight. The likes of Fulham are only 7 points off top spot. It is tight down to about 10th.

But according to the rules and they were signed up to by Liverpool,they can't be handed the title on the back of an incomplete season.

Yep.

And what about the leaders in the championship , L1 and L2. They should surely get the same treatment even though they can all be caught as there is nothing in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,104 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

DVDM93 wrote: »
    I'm convinced it's one person using two accounts here.

Either that or Otis Agreeable Axe^ obsession with Shanotheslayer is unhealthier than his obsession with Liverpool.

Wait so what you're saying is that if I think that one of them is sound, that I automatically have to think that the other one sound?

My life as I know it will never be the same again??!?!

• Why do people keep ignoring all other teams and situations in the league ha

And not to mention other leagues in the UK and the rest of Europe

Cough cough

No pun intended by the way, me and Shano cough together now according to the tinfoil brigade

Holy smokes. Make a comment about a person tweeting something that isn't an authorized account and all of a sudden I'm T.Hanks.

For clarity I think it's absolute pony. I can't imagine most clubs agreeing to that because it absolute makes no sense.

"Lads, meeting held today, just to discuss if Liverpool should be champions, can we vote for it , Relegation, CL, Europa League, not really on the agenda despite the money involved but really we just need you guys to vote on the if Liverpool should be champions"

As someone said I believe it was the telegraph he quoted? Has anyone got the article link?

Disagreed last week
    Disagreed in the past
    Just an FYI

I'm actually Niallo as well, I disagree with him sometimes but chat regularly. I'm just a bored person.

Otis Agreeable Axe posts agenda driven ****e, while you are one of the best posters on here. Don't know how anyone could mix ye up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Woodsie1

Otis Agreeable Axe posts agenda driven ****e, while you are one of the best posters on here. Don't know how anyone could mix ye up.

Nothings surprising when a Liverpool poster is suggesting to infect all players so liverpool can win the league after 2 weeks recovery.

Woodsie1 wrote: »
    Nothings surprising when a Liverpool poster is suggesting to infect all players so liverpool can win the league after 2 weeks recovery.

There's mad men in every tribe. I haven't seen this post and don't want to. Unless Toby posted and you have to understand his humour.

• rob316 wrote: »

Is this one of those champions league emotional posts at this stage?

Having a mare lads

Is this one of those champions league emotional posts at this stage?

Having a mare lads

Na I'm grand just pointing out your a **** stirrer plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

while you are one of the best posters on here.

Ah Rob. Stop you're embarrassing me.

It's my T.Hanks posts that let me down :pac: alright I'm done with the jokes.

Just can't comprehend how anyone can think that given the United Everton game when me and T.Hanks literally disagreed about the offside goal :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

rob316 wrote:
    There's mad men in every tribe. I haven't seen this post and don't want to. Unless Toby posted and you have to understand his humour.

Better have a chat with Harry Palmr so

Don't think he'll take to kindly to being called a mad man

Harry posted it and was dead serious. It was quoted all over the forum as people couldn't believe it until they saw it.

What he forgot was after the players recovery they'd need time to go to the funerals of vunerable loved ones who also got the virus.

Ah jesus Harry? I expect much better than that, a moment of madness from an otherwise solid poster.

Disagreed last week
    Disagreed in the past
    Just an FYI

I do think myself that PL teams would have to agree on any scenario like the above.

The any team in their right mind that can object to Liverpool being awarded the title are Man City. European spots is more difficult but it comes down to about 5 teams and to me, I think once all teams have played am equal number of games you would have to call that fair, in the current circumstances.

Likewise, let the top 2 of each league be promoted. With exceptions made for teams in equal points. Once off play off game. No teams relegated. Play off leagues next season with extra games and no league cup to make space for the extra games.

FitzShane wrote: »
    I do think myself that PL teams would have to agree on any scenario like the above.

The any team in their right mind that can object to Liverpool being awarded the title are Man City. European spots is more difficult but it comes down to about 5 teams and to me, I think once all teams have played am equal number of games you would have to call that fair, in the current circumstances.

Likewise, let the top 2 of each league be promoted. With exceptions made for teams in equal points. Once off play off game. No teams relegated. Play off leagues next season with extra games and no league cup to make space for the extra games.

Ffs. Have you looked at how tight the championship league 1 and league 2 are? This is bigger the Loverpool. If liverpool were awarded the title without it being won by gaining enough points then the like of Leeds, crewe and Coventry would rightfully expect the same treatment.

To me right now, I am thinking that all leagues should be finished but the worrying thing is that the people who keep saying that it would be "epic" if leagues are made null and void, and are doing it from such a bitter, self-centred and narrow-minded viewpoint.

They are teams like Spurs who are reliant on CL qualification money to pay off their stadium debt. The club wants the league null and void because if they are doing so badly this season, they need to qualify for CL again and get the money after not deserving so after 6 months of crap. They are teams like west ham who have underachieved and are worried about relegation after making the wrong decision in sacking a manger and replacing with another wrong guy. They are fans of a team like man United who cant bear to see their greatest rival loft a trophy that everyone else thinks they deserve.

They think that the season should be null and void because of what teams are in what position and not because of what is happening to the general society we all live in. We are in lockdown in Ireland. The Garda students are getting graduated early in the next two weeks and being deployed across the nation. Schools closed, pubs and restaurants soon to be. Livelihoods at risk across the nation, let alone the world. Time to put the club crests away. Just agree to say that the best teams of the last 6 months are deserving of titles and places in Europe next year, if it goes ahead. That teams are deserving to be where they currently are. Don't be blinded by hate.