Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

General Premier League Thread 2019-20

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Ikozma

This season will be finished even if it means the next starts much later, it's gonna make it a million times sweeter if that's possible when liverpool finally lift that trophy because it is gonna happen whether all the begrudgers on here like it or not, suck it up lads, it's happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭jacool

This season was started under a specific set of rules, with the fixture list laid out in full.
    Nothing has been setup for any future season yet, so there may well be a way of dealing with future season(s) without this "at the expense of" and "ruination" being bandied about. If this season can be finished, then all the Champions, Champions League, Eurpoa League and Relegation decisions can be resolved, and the format for 2020/21 can be decided as required. The teams in the 2020/21 Premier League can then agree on whatever format is proposed.
    I have already forgotten how the leagues planned to deal with the winter World Cup in 2022, but they must have been prepared to adapt for that unique situation.

On a personal note, after the Karren Brady comments, (more selfish than most of the stuff on here) it would be nice if the Hammers went down at the end of all this.
    Their last 4 games were supposed to be Norwich (A), Watford(H), Man Utd(A) and finally Aston Villa (H).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Martin Tyler AgueroooOO

The 3/4 Utd fans that have been posting none stop over the last week now the news the league will be finished.

giphy.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

I'm a Liverpool fan and hope it goes ahead but I stil can't see it

I can't see it starting at the end of April England will be rampant right about then ,

If it goes a month or two beyond that start date how can they finish it up and give lads holidays and a preseason ?,

What happens to the transfer window ?

I hope im wrong ,

They are effectively in a much extended preseason now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

England's football authorities will delay the start of the 2020-21 season until the last ball has been kicked in the 2019-20 campaign, with sources telling ESPN that this year's Premier League and EFL seasons will "absolutely finish before the next one begins."

The decision, announced following a video conference involving all 20 Premier League clubs on Thursday in which it was agreed to extend the football shutdown until April 30 at the earliest, has raised the prospect of Liverpool having to wait until the autumn, or even later, to secure their first league title in 30 years.

- Ogden: UEFA's biggest challenge is easing the economic impact
    - Jones: Coronavirus void makes you appreciate football
    - Ogden: Why rescheduling the UCL could be impossible

All professional football in England was halted last Friday, initially until April 3, due to the coronavirus pandemic that has led to many nations across the globe imposing strict lockdown measures in an effort to delay the spread of the COVID-19 virus.

The pandemic has already resulted in the postponement of Euro 2020 for 12 months.

Sources have told ESPN that there is a hope within the English game that fixtures could resume in early May, although it is likely that those would be played behind closed doors.

TOP FOOTBALL NEWS

• Prem suspended until April 30
    • Neymar returns to Brazil over virus
    • Neville: Hotels free for hospital staff
    • La Liga clubs reject coronavirus testing
    • Chelsea offer hotel to NHS staff fighting virus
    • Milan's Rafael Leao to pay Sporting €16.5m

But with relegation and promotion issues still to be resolved throughout the professional game in England, as well as the FA Cup, which has been suspended at the quarterfinal stage, the Football Association, Premier League and EFL have accepted that next season cannot begin until this campaign has been concluded.

However, with no end in sight to the crisis, the FA Board has now taken the unprecedented step of extending "indefinitely" the June 1 deadline for all leagues to be concluded this season.

In a joint statement, the FA, Premier League and EFL said: "We are united in our commitment to finding ways of resuming the 2019-20 football season and ensuring all domestic and European club league and cup matches are played as soon as it is safe and possible to do so.

"We have collectively supported UEFA in postponing Euro 2020 to create space in the calendar to ensure domestic and European club league and cup matches have an increased opportunity to be played and, in doing so, maintain the integrity of each competition.

"The FA's Rules and Regulations state that "the season shall terminate not later than the June 1" and "each competition shall, within the limit laid down by The FA, determine the length of its own playing season.

"However, the FA's board has agreed for this limit to be extended indefinitely for the 2019-20 season in relation to professional football. Additionally, we have collectively agreed that the professional game in England will be further postponed until no earlier than April 30.

"We will continue to follow government advice and work collaboratively to keep the situation under review and explore all options available to find ways of resuming the season when the conditions allow."

Clubs within the EFL have been advised by the league to stop training until April 3, with sources telling ESPN that a return to training after that date could make it possible for games to be played in May.

There is now an acceptance that next season will be delayed by the coronavirus pandemic, but sources have told ESPN that the sporting integrity of the professional game makes it a necessity to finish this season before attentions are turned to the next one.

"Who knows when next season will start and how many games clubs will we be able to play?" a club source told ESPN. "But this is the only way. We have to end this season first.
    "

There may be no 20/21 season

https://www.espn.co.uk/football/english-premier-league/story/4076278/coronavirus-premier-league-extends-suspension-until-april-30

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

jacool wrote: »
    This season was started under a specific set of rules, with the fixture list laid out in full.
    Nothing has been setup for any future season yet, so there may well be a way of dealing with future season(s) without this "at the expense of" and "ruination" being bandied about. If this season can be finished, then all the Champions, Champions League, Eurpoa League and Relegation decisions can be resolved, and the format for 2020/21 can be decided as required. The teams in the 2020/21 Premier League can then agree on whatever format is proposed.
    I have already forgotten how the leagues planned to deal with the winter World Cup in 2022, but they must have been prepared to adapt for that unique situation.

On a personal note, after the Karren Brady comments, (more selfish than most of the stuff on here) it would be nice if the Hammers went down at the end of all this.
    Their last 4 games were supposed to be Norwich (A), Watford(H), Man Utd(A) and finally Aston Villa (H).

Before this complete ****show started I was of the opinion that the Hammers will go down along with Norwich and Villa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Hahahaha

Ye all reckon they're going to be back by the 30th of April. There's more hope an asteroid hits the Earth in April

Do you still believe Santa, the tooth fairy and the Easter Bunny too lads.

The peak off this won't even have hit Britain by April.

But keep dreaming your little fantasies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Benimar

Earliest Latest Premier League Champions Ever :D

ozzy jr wrote:
    I would guess, that regardless of what the PL have said, that the English football season will still have to fall in line with the rest of the European big leagues.

I think UEFA may have the final say.

Excellent point well made sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

brinty wrote: »
    Hahahaha

Ye all reckon they're going to be back by the 30th of April. There's more hope an asteroid hits the Earth in April

It may go ahead behind closed doors, horse racing is still going ahead. Very unlikely it will but there is a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Hahahaha

I don't think it'll be back on April 30th.

But I do think the season will be finished. No point starting a new one before knowing who wins this one. Play it out.

Hahahaha

your underlying feelings exposed.

Patetic not much more to be said

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭DVDM93

Hahahaha

the league will finish indefinitely, that's the news that is breaking hearts all over the world right now, no matter what, this season will finish & Liverpool will become champions.

I agree with you regarding April 30th mind, can't see football being back by then, but that's just sh1t for every football fan, not just the ones who wanted the season cancelled & made null & void to stop Liverpool winning the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭jacool

Hahahaha

"The FA, Premier League, EFL and women’s professional game, together with the PFA and LMA, understand we are in unprecedented times and our thoughts are with everyone affected by COVID-19. We are united in our commitment to finding ways of resuming the 2019/20 football season and ensuring all domestic and European club league and cup matches are played as soon as it is safe and possible to do so. We have collectively supported UEFA in postponing EURO 2020 to create space in the calendar to ensure domestic and European club league and cup matches have an increased opportunity to be played and, in doing so, maintain the integrity of each competition. The FA's Rules and Regulations state that "the season shall terminate not later than the 1 June" and "each competition shall, within the limit laid down by The FA, determine the length of its own playing season".
    However, The FA’s Board has agreed for this limit to be extended indefinitely for the 2019/20 season in relation to Professional Football.

Additionally, we have collectively agreed that the professional game in England will be further postponed until no earlier than 30 April."

Ah, no. I think this statement says that there won't be any games earlier than April 30th. The league will be resolved after that, and without the need to be completed before June 1st. Liverpool will win the title at some point in the calendar year. Its just a little vague as to when exactly.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,492 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Possible outcomes if the virus lasts for another few months.

1. PL and all European Leagues seasons resume on August 1st, finishes on Sep 30th with CL final.
    2. 4 week transfer window and preparation, seasons start again on Nov 1st.

3. Euro 2020 (2021) is cancelled;
    Seasons will run until June 30th 2021, all cups to be played, 6 week break until seasons recommence ca. Aug 15th 2021. Most clubs will have an 8 week rest period as they will not be involved in cup finals.

4. Euro 2021 is not cancelled;
    All leagues will play on a 1.5 basis. In case of PL, they will play each team once; home or away (19 matches).
    2nd part of season is to take the Scottish model; league is split into two groups of 10 and they play each other once, home or away (9 matches). Total of 28 matches.
    Domestic cups may be cancelled at any stage. CL and EL will continue. Potential to reduce CL/EL to a straight knock out tournament to reduce number of matches (9 instead of 13).

This option will give some more leeway if there is another virus outbreak in winter 2020/21.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Hahahaha

The bitterness in this post is somehow so so sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Hahahaha

If a proper lockdown was put in place it would.

Wuhan went into lockdown on January 23rd, rest of Hubei two days later.

There was no reported cases internally within China on March 18th, just handful of imported cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭ozzy jr

KevRossi wrote: »

4. Euro 2021 is not cancelled;
    All leagues will play on a 1.5 basis. In case of PL, they will play each team once; home or away (19 matches).
    2nd part of season is to take the Scottish model; league is split into two groups of 10 and they play each other once, home or away (9 matches). Total of 28 matches.

I would hate a season like that. A league should be play each team home and away.

Imagine being a football fan, on a football forum, being so furious at the thought of football resuming at some stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Hahahaha

how old are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,290 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

monkey9 wrote: »
    Imagine being a football fan, on a football forum, being so furious at the thought of football resuming at some stage.

it read to me more like amusement at people who think it will resume at the end of april

No one thinks the league will be back.
    Its been suspended indefinitely for a reason.

The amusement is at some posters in here who just dont want to accept the league will finish at some point.

They dont want football to come back so Liverpool dont win the league. Sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

niallo27 wrote: »
    It may go ahead behind closed doors, horse racing is still going ahead. Very unlikely it will but there is a chance.

Only in Ireland. It's been halted in the UK.

MD1990 wrote: »
    No one thinks the league will be back.
    Its been suspended indefinitely for a reason.

The amusement is at some posters in here who just dont want to accept the league will finish at some point.

They dont want football to come back so Liverpool dont win the league. Sad.

i dunno. most of this is utd vs pool fans. both want the league to finish...pool to win it, and utd cos good chance of top 4.

my position is clear. if next season is shorted to accommodate this season, i think thats the wrong decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

This thread is literally

Well I'm guessing XYZ

Well I'M GUESSING ABC

Nobody has a clue what's going to happen. It's a day by day basis. Currently the days are getting worse. Unless there is some mircle turnaround within a month which I highly doubt based on the growing evidence of COVID19 the people who think the league will just magically return on April 30th are in for some shock.

They just picked a date in the future that's far enough that something MIGHT change, but also not too far in the future to fck up everything else. They're literally just buying time to see how things go over the next month.

• it read to me more like amusement at people who think it will resume at the end of april

Needs to happen by June to get it completed from the statement

In fairness all they can do is take it week by week and reassess as the situation continues to develop

I don't suspect anything in the next couple of months given how poorly the outbrake is being handled by UK government

"The FA's rules and regulations state that "the season shall terminate not later than the 1 June" and "each competition shall, within the limit laid down by The FA, determine the length of its own playing season".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Ah bollix I posted the same thing on my two accounts.

Then that’s a lot of investment of emotion into something everyone is aware of.

Wait until he finds out we all know two and two equals four. He’ll have a complete meltdown!!

This thread is literally

Well I'm guessing XYZ

Well I'M GUESSING ABC

Nobody has a clue what's going to happen. It's a day by day basis. Currently the days are getting worse. Unless there is some mircle turnaround within a month which I highly doubt based on the growing evidence of COVID19 the people who think the league will just magically return on April 30th are in for some shock.

They just picked a date in the future that's far enough that something MIGHT change, but also not too far in the future to fck up everything else. They're literally just buying time to see how things go over the next month.

of course no one knows, but we have nothing else to discuss. and the bit of needle is fun reading in this ****show

Needs to happen by June to get it completed from the statement

In fairness all they can do is take it week by week and reassess as the situation continues to develop

I don't suspect anything in the next couple of months given how poorly the outbrake is being handled by UK government

"The FA's rules and regulations state that "the season shall terminate not later than the 1 June" and "each competition shall, within the limit laid down by The FA, determine the length of its own playing season".

The FA’s Rules and Regulations state that "the season shall terminate not later than the 1 June" and "each competition shall, within the limit laid down by The FA, determine the length of its own playing season".

However, The FA’s Board has agreed for this limit to be extended indefinitely for the 2019/20 season in relation to Professional Football.
    https://www.premierleague.com/news/1646728

read that very slowly some Man Utd fans.

It is still not registering for some

• Ah bollix I posted the same thing on my two accounts.

giphy.gif

MD1990 wrote: »
    https://www.premierleague.com/news/1646728

read that very slowly some Man Utd fans.

It is still not registering for some

makes the rules seems a bit redundant.

had a look at them there. there is a rule where you must field your strongest team. remember when wolves were fined for that? wonder what happened that rule?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

This thread is literally

Well I'm guessing XYZ

Well I'M GUESSING ABC

I don't think many think they will be back playing on May 1 but it's clear the season will be finished when it's possible to do so. Rather than voided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

the police wont police any sporting events until cvid is contained ,so unless they resume behind closed doors it will be quite a while for any games to be played,my guess is next year. and so be it.

i dunno. most of this is utd vs pool fans. both want the league to finish...pool to win it, and utd cos good chance of top 4.

my position is clear. if next season is shorted to accommodate this season, i think thats the wrong decision.

You have that the wrong way round. This season needs to complete to allow next season to start.

At least, if everyone knows that next season is condensed, everyone will know where they stand.

The idea of voiding this season and therefore every team stays in the same division next year and the same teams participate in Europe is too ridiculous, too complicated to genuinely consider.

There is no next season until this one finishes which is why this season is more important and takes more relevance.

monkey9 wrote: »
    [/B]

You have that the wrong way round. This season needs to complete to allow next season to start.

At least, if everyone knows that next season is condensed, everyone will know where they stand.

The idea of voiding this season and therefore every team stays in the same division next year and the same teams participate in Europe is too ridiculous, too complicated to genuinely consider.

There is no next season until this one finishes which is why this season is more important and takes more relevance.

i guess we have 2 different point of views. i already think this season is somewhat ruined, thereby becoming expendable versus next season.

not voiding this season. abandoning all remaining fixtures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,182 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Its more likely that there will be no European competition for English clubs in the 20/21 season then. I imagine Italy will also be in no state for any Euro comp either.

• This thread is literally

Well I'm guessing XYZ

Well I'M GUESSING ABC

Really is all up in the air.
    Can't stress enough how badly this is being handled in the UK at the moment imo.

Again it's just a game of ball but for some who are taking it way too seriously may need to re evaluate what's important in their lives.

All that can be done from a footballing perspective as you say is buy some time and asses it as the situation develops.

UEFA have the final say regardless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

the season will be finished, i have no doubts about it.

Liverpool will be be champions and rightly so

miss all the football at the moment and the craic that goes with it

the police wont police any sporting events until cvid is contained ,so unless they resume behind closed doors it will be quite a while for any games to be played,my guess is next year. and so be it.

Let's say next season kicks off in September,the first game is on a Saturday,then on the Wednesday the teams are playing one of this season's games,rinse and repeat until the 9 or 10 outstanding games are done.

Another hypothetical scenario in a growing list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Why do people insist on making silly definite statements when they have no more info on a situation than anyone else?

Saying things like "it definitely won't be finished " , especially minutes before footballing bodies are meeting to discuss it.

Jesus lads, give opinions but don't try to pretend you know the future. It just makes you look stupid, even if you turn out to be right in 6 months, it's very much a stopped clock scenario.

Let's say next season kicks off in September,the first game is on a Saturday,then on the Wednesday the teams are playing one of this season's games,rinse and repeat until the 9 or 10 outstanding games are done.

Another hypothetical scenario in a growing list.

per league there would be 6 teams in limbo though. 3 relegation + 3 promotion so dont think thats feasible

i think whats interesting is if the UK try to recruit team doctors to help treat patients on the front line what would happen then. i suppose it would be the same as if the police were not available. not allowed due to H & S

per league there would be 6 teams in limbo though. 3 relegation + 3 promotion so dont think thats feasible

Yeah, just another scenario for the pile, that's all.

Next it'll be The Hunger games where teams nominate someone to fight on their behalf and the winners get a title/promotion/stay up.

Stop talking sense like that, you're ruining the fantasy for our Liverpool supporting cousins

Can't believe you posted simultaneously on both accounts BTW, how'd you manage that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Why do people insist on making silly definite statements when they have no more info on a situation than anyone else?

Saying things like "it definitely won't be finished " , especially minutes before footballing bodies are meeting to discuss it.

Jesus lads, give opinions but don't try to pretend you know the future. It just makes you look stupid, even if you turn out to be right in 6 months, it's very much a stopped clock scenario.

Spot on. Like it will either be completed or it won’t. You aren’t being Nostradamus making a call either side.

There will be gloating either way though. It’s already happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

adox wrote: »
    Spot on. Like it will either be completed or it won’t. You aren’t being Nostradamus making a call either side.

There will be gloating either way though. It’s already happening.

It's bad enough when there's actual football to debate. Think everybody's going mad without it

Fair play lads. This is glorious reading when all the other news is depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,182 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

6 wrote: »
    Fair play lads. This is glorious reading when all the other news is depressing.

As long as you ignore the Whittingham news.