Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aston Villa Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours/Champions League Thread 2024/25

• Registered Users Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭VillaMad

Hourihane to join Swansea on loan for the rest of the season. One of our best signings from the past few years. Wish him nothing but the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭pavb2

Hourihane to join Swansea on loan for the rest of the season. One of our best signings from the past few years. Wish him nothing but the best.[/QUOTE]

Good article on him here summed up by the last sentence, he does leave with the appreciation of the fan base.

https://www.theavfcfaithful.co.uk/post/conor-hourihane-one-of-the-most-important-players-over-the-past-5-years

Scored some great and crucial goals the one against Albion in the play off semi came off the back of some criticism. The goal against Blues was excellent and he got some bend on the free kicks against Blackburn and Derby.

https://youtu.be/IytJ7EdhRdY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,557 ✭✭✭✭CSF

kilburn wrote: »
    Are we looking at Luiz replacement here if Pep comes calling?

Possibly, but we needed another CM anyway tbh. Nakamba and Hourihane couldn’t be relied on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,557 ✭✭✭✭CSF

pavb2 wrote: »
    Good article on him here summed up by the last sentence, he does leave with the appreciation of the fan base.

https://www.theavfcfaithful.co.uk/post/conor-hourihane-one-of-the-most-important-players-over-the-past-5-years

Scored some great and crucial goals the one against Albion in the play off semi came off the back of some criticism. The goal against Blues was excellent and he got some bend on the free kicks against Blackburn and derby.

https://youtu.be/IytJ7EdhRdY

Ah yeah, I hope he goes there and brings them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

What sums up of current ireland team is one of our best players , when comes available , can only get move to swansea.
    Im sad to see him go , but it shows where we are going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭Patser

If Hourihane goes does that break our 'always have an Irish International' record that stretches back as far as Euro 88 - at least thats when I became old enough to be interested on football.

Sometimes it's been tenuous - Mark Kinsella, Ciaran Clark, Scott Hogan being our sole representatives at times

Sometimes strong- I remember an all Irish 11 available about 10 years ago (including U21s) with Given, Richard Dunne, Ciaran Clark, Stephen Ireland, Grealish (when he was still ours), Enda Stephens (maybe, not sure...)

Sometimes amazing - Staunton, Houghton, Townsend

Even legendary - McGrath

But always there - is there someone lurking in the squad I'm forgetting that can keep that link alive (no not Grealish), has Konsa and Irish grandmother, El Ghazi actually a Mayo name, its actually Ciaran Davis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

Great signing for Swansea. They are second in the league and he'll be a pivitol player in that division with his talent and experience. Thorough professional with a great attitude.

Esse85 wrote: »
    Great signing for Swansea. They are second in the league and he'll be a pivitol player in that division with his talent and experience. Thorough professional with a great attitude.

Aside from his talents that attitude of wanting to play first team football and not just sit back and take the wage is a credit to him unlike some of the wasters we’ve had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

The club are correct to not be open, it's private and personal medical information.

I disagree, other clubs have been open with updates on players.
    JPA wrote: »
    Also a tactical move.

I think this is more the reason myself.

https://twitter.com/AVFCOfficial/status/1351937585036275712

Full strenght

Edit: Barkley back and in for El Ghazi (who was in form), Hause missing on bench with Engels in.

I’d have played El Ghazi and brought Barkley on later . . . anyhow a draw would be a good result tonight.

Traore seems to be on the left now, Grealsih right

Absolute backs to the wall stuff, last ditch all the time. Barkley and Traore not helping out, and then losing the ball too much when trying to dribble out of defence

Maybe understandable, City playing like an inform team, full of fitness, Villa playing like a team that have spent last 2 weeks pleying Fifa in their rooms,

Why are we hit grealish with kick outs?
    Troare defensive wise is useless

0 - 0 HT

Definitely to poorer team out there but not totally overwhelmed. Lots of bodies on the line defending, Targett has been very, very good. Cash is being outnumbered (as usual) without Traore cover (as usual)

Barkley is trying absolutely outrageous tricks all the time, I'm sure if it was to work and he scored I'll be screaming goal of the season, but as they are not I'm just shouting keep it bloody simple.

Watkins a bit off the pace, and since that's his main threat, he's not offering that much up front

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭rebelomar

Traore is killing us defensively

Think hes a player who will be great again teams we are better than , but away again city is not really ideal

Unbelievable take by Traore earlier but then no end product.

City passers are getting so much time outside our box, they can pick out runners and cut our defence apart. Saved by crossbar there. We need Nakamba on to harrass those guys - sacrifice Barkley I reckon, he's too far forward all the time

Mcgin has been a passenger
    How are we not behind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭LeBash

Barkley has had 3 good chances to put through balls on for Watkins with great runs.

Creating chances now too.

El ghazi in for Traore too, Ramsey for Barkley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭circadian

El Ghazi on. Hope he keeps his scoring run up now. I can see City winning this but the performance has been good considering levels of fitness, covid recovery etc.

ooooh crap

Targett off, Taylor on

Dafuq was that from McGinn?!?

Both sides have missed sitters,

McGinn with an airball on peno spot unmarked....feck

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭chases0102

How is this still 0-0

For 0 - 0 this is a crazy game for chances

Everyone's thinking the same thing, over 30 shots between the teams.

****ing Mings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭rebelomar

Mings....He can get lost now seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

It's wet. Super super super wet

Need to drop mings for hause asap

Another Mings cock up.
    What a surprise. Our worst defender this season by miles.

Thinks he’s Maldini or someone playing around at the back.

listermint wrote: »
    It's wet. Super super super wet

It's wet, wet, wet.

What is it that Ming's brings to the table

Mings...... too casual

Smith sent off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭chases0102

Ah Mings! Has been great up to that

What are they all so angry about, replays so little wrong. Was it tackle on Mings

circadian wrote: »
    Smith sent off.

Didn't catch why... Anyone,?

Giving out to the ref.

circadian wrote: »
    Giving out to the ref.

Yeah but yellow then red..

If that goal was for us you can bet var would call it offside

Yeah but yellow then red..

Kept arguing after yellow.

BBC live text seems amazed it was given, even more that it wasn't reviewed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,444 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Off side clear as day, Smith well within his rights to vent his anger. Mings really poor, had been playing well but he is prone to those sort of errors. Might nick a draw.

Its not even up for debate , its clear offside

Another Manchester match, another dodgy VAR call, wonder will we get an apology this time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭LeBash

Absolute joke of a decision. I had no fear that would be allowed until it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Total **** up from ref and VAR.
    He will be dropped for that.

2 bull**** goals.

Sickened.