Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aston Villa Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours/Champions League Thread 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

Mcginn so much better playing up the field higher.

El ghazi doesnt look at races today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭rebelomar

It's like playing with 10 men with El Ghazi at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,557 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Jaysus, remember those few months when we were good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

WTF was Traore at?

This is awful again.

Fulham the better side.

Nakamba on for Sanson looking possible due to injury.
    Might take the pressure off Luiz having to make a tackle who's already on a yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭Patser

Peno!

VARed out! Feck, very close call, 50/50

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Panrich

That's a tough decision if it stands. Thought he got the ball.

Not given. I think that's fair.

Big teams get that peno all day

There is no way you can call that a clear and obvious error. We are continually screwed on the margins of that definition.

One angle looked like a pen, the other it didn't. They didn't show the ref both angles on the monitor. 50/50 call

Can't imagine Harry Kane not getting that decision.
    Watkins didn't complaint too much.

Hope it doesn't deflect from another poor performance lacking ideas.

It's so frustrating to watch.

Individually each player is having good moments and some bad moments, but collectively it's all breaking down.

Usual issues, Watkins is isolated and alone in box, being marked out of game, El Ghazi and Traore offer little except dancing on the corner of the box and inviting 3 defenders to crowd them out - only alternative is when Cash or Targett get forward and into proper crossing position into.... Watkins isolated and alone and marked out of game......

Luiz is having a poor run of form. Looks like a player thinking his stock is high enough he should be playing at a bigger club, and going through motions - simultaneously arrogant, frustarted, flashy and lazy and still best player in our midfield. McGinn started off on fire, full of confidence from Scottish games but has seemed to go missing as half wore on.

Defence is still good though

Luiz reminds me a little of Trent Alexander Arnold, he's had a dip in form for 6 months having been in amazing form, both are only 22, dips in form at that age are to be expected.

Was hoping Nakamba came on for Sanson, hasn't happened yet.

Getting Keinan on for El Ghazi feels like a must here. Push Watkins out wide where he is basically playing today anyway.

Please don't wait till we go 1-0 before making a much needed change

It's amazing the lack of quality without Jack.

Panrich wrote: »
    It's amazing the lack of quality without Jack.

Scarey isn't it. Despite all the money spent.

Horrible from El Ghazi again.
    I'd have Barkley/Ramsey on ahead of him now.

Esse85 wrote: »
    Scarey isn't it. Despite all the money spent.

Maybe shows the ceiling of our management too?

Shock horror mings again

Look at Mings again. My God...

And there is is. Horrible from Mings.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

So poor.

Ohhhh good sweet Jesus.....

Mings again, we always do it to ourselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Christ.

rebelomar wrote: »
    Please don't wait till we go 1-0 before making a much needed change

Why on earth does he wait so long

I'm starting to think this is the case.

Il say it again , how is mings a international and konsa not

Still silver lining is Newcastle into relegation zone

Davies on ffs , a premier league team with 1 striker , imagine watkins got bad injury

Absolutely disgusting performance again so far, zero shots on target. None the previous match either.

And here comes Davis now.

Traore goes down way too easy, that's twice he's coughed it up by diving while we were forward.

Bring on Davis now! Fulham are going to park the bus, so midfield will have to ball more anywa, but we need options in box

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,797 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Here's Davis now to shore things up for Fulham.

We are reaching the point of starting to ask questions about Smith now. Its not necessarily a 'Smith out' conversation just yet, rather a conversation of why we're completely unable to function without Grealish.

Smith had no plan without Grealish in the Championship, and has none without him now.

Come on Keinan, prove me right, just once prove me right

This bad run is a big test for Smith. We were sleepwalking towards relegation last season until he had a few months to take stock and go with a new more defensive setup for which he was rightly praised.

Now we have been on a bad run since our Covid break even before Jack got injured and yet every week we see the same setup and same faces doing the same things. We have no discernible plan to cause the opposition any problems and we need Smith to provide some form of lift to the team. It's what really good managers can do.

0 shots on target in 70 minutes against Fulham. We have scored more than 1 goal once in the last 15 games and that looks likely to be 1 in 16 after today unless I'm eating these words

CSF wrote: »
    We are reaching the point of starting to ask questions about Smith now. Its not necessarily a 'Smith out' conversation just yet, rather a conversation of why we're completely unable to function without Grealish.

Smith had no plan without Grealish in the Championship, and has none without him now.

For how long now are we a one man team?

Bringing Davis on and pushing Watkins out wide has never ever worked.

Fulham look like getting a second.

Smith is blessed the fans aren't in the stadium.

What I can't understand is whatever about general play and creating chances, why are we still so poor in corners/frees etc.

Even terrible teams will eventually score a goal from a corner just be having their defenders up, but we just never seem to score anymore

As somebody already said...the amount of money spent and look at the subs we have to bring on to change the game.

Serious questions will start being asked imo.

It's been dire for a couple of months now.

Our owners seem like smart businessmen. You don't accumulate that wealth without being ruthless. It's an interesting few months ahead for sure.

That was actually a great chance for Trez, that he butchered

...... I take it back, I take it back!!!

Lovely finish Trez, actually showed composure

Id say barkley is happy still sat on his but

Panrich wrote: »
    0 shots on target in 70 minutes against Fulham. We have scored more than 1 goal once in the last 15 games and that looks likely to be 1 in 16 after today unless I'm eating these words

:D:D

Haha brilliant subs haha.

Well done. Fair play to them both. Credit where it's due

2-1 DAVIS with a great assist to TREZ!!!!!

Scenes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

That was very good from Davis. Easy ball was to try to play it to Watkins but he went for the more difficult (and right) pass.

It's great to be ahead but we certainly don't deserve it.

Need to show leadership now and see this out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

I left the room for 5 minutes at 0-1 and came back to see 2-1

Am i dreaming

Brilliant from Traore. Fulham's heads are gone.

Watkins now!

3-1