Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aston Villa Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours/Champions League Thread 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭Brian201888

Barry is a good bit down the pecking order, it's all well and good being 17 if you're physically there but he's still a child, I'd hope to see Keisler come in as back up right back next season so hopefully he can get some minutes this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,655 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Barry is a good bit down the pecking order, it's all well and good being 17 if you're physically there but he's still a child, I'd hope to see Keisler come in as back up right back next season so hopefully he can get some minutes this season

Guilbert is apparently doing great in France too though.

I presume Smith doesn't fancy him for whatever reason, wasn't really thinking of him coming back at all but would be nice if he did alright

He may end up wanting to stay there, in which case, at least our fee may have increased.

Either way; good to see him doing well there while he remains a Villa player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭Patser

So if the 'Big 6' get kicked out, and we use our games in hand to overtake Leeds (maybe Everton) - do we get Champions League?:D

Some achievement for Smith, Promotion, Survival, Champions League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,137 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Patser wrote: »
    So if the 'Big 6' get kicked out, and we use our games in hand to overtake Leeds (maybe Everton) - do we get Champions League?:D

Some achievement for Smith, Promotion, Survival, Champions League

Two points off fourth with game in hand .

Just knock Leeds off the spot.

I would assume we would? Get Grealish back quick, the rest of the season is no longer a dead rubber

Also if Chelseas are suspended from all UEFA competitons, can we send Barkley back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Esse85

What's Grealish thinking in relation to all of this I wonder?

Hopefully he's thinking the same as the fans and saying F that, I want to play for my country and win medals etc.

Esse85 wrote: »
    What's Grealish thinking in relation to all of this I wonder?

Hopefully he's thinking the same as the fans and saying F that, I want to play for my country and win medals etc.

Reckon if that league starts up he will be in it. Too good not to be and our ability to move him to the top of our pay scale to compete with those other teams who have many stars to pay, would be gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭gaffmaster

Yep. If the super league goes ahead, we'll be awaiting the return of Trez with the same anticipation we currently have for Grealish.

gaffmaster wrote: »
    Yep. If the super league goes ahead, we'll be awaiting the return of Trez with the same anticipation we currently have for Grealish.

That's depressing.

Feck, looks like we're a mid table team again

We might have another season of Jack so thankfully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭LeBash

I think we will have Jack for a few years yet. Just watched a short on YouTube about the finances of the 12 clubs named. The clubs still in are absolutely rubber ducked and that's will without doubt have a massive knock-on.

The debts won't be allowed get much bigger is my opinion. Banks are going to start reeling in the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Seen this earlier: https://twitter.com/acmilandata/status/1384425456741531650?s=20

Shocking levels of debt and nothing but complete mismanagement. No sympathy for them whatsoever.

https://twitter.com/AVFCOfficial/status/1384933717840474112

Interesting that Ramsey gets nod instead of El Ghazi to replace Trez. Are we going 4-4-2 with Traore as a false 10, or is Ramsey or McGinn being put on a wing

I'm finding it hard to be bothered about this fixture.
    Like the players, think I've checked out for this season.
    You'd have to think Smith has made his mind up on AEG now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭pavb2

I'm finding it hard to be bothered about this fixture.
    Like the players, think I've checked out for this season.
    You'd have to think Smith has made his mind up on AEG now.

Same, the last few matches have just been depressing it’s a pity we couldn’t finish the season as we started it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,797 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Might be going for a 4321 formation. Can't see Ramsey playing wide. We'll see.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,842 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

That was quick...

SJM scores after 20 seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

20 seconds :D

LOL. Nice to see JM get a goal, been a while.

Whay Hay!

mcGinn is playing a more advanced role then I guess

Is that fastest goal of the season

2nd fastest they said.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,842 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

We're finding space in front of their back four.

This game is beyond boring.

What a gulf in class.

It's like City are playing our under 18s

Nakamba is being given a round around here, way off the pace.

1-2. Poor from Martinez

Luiz is so sloppy and casual.

Stones should be off here.

studs up into his knee and at speed. Should be a red

matrim wrote: »
    1-2. Poor from Martinez

Very poor, where was he going.

And how did Mings suddenly find himself alone trying to mark 2. Someone should have tracked Rodrigo

That was an awful attempt at a tackle. Deserved red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭rodge68

Def red..FFS, what is Pep whingeing about ??

Glad Southgate was there to witness his first choice right footed centre back getting sent off.

City are just a level above.

They are moving all the time, pointing, creating spaces, giving options.

Our lads are following set plans, try play down the wings or pick a telegraphed pass to a stationary target.

Against 10 we need to gamble more. Lose Nakamba and bring in Davis my call. Or El Ghazi for more width

Our lads are following set plans, try play down the wings or pick a telegraphed pass to a stationary target.

Against 10 we need to gamble more. Lose Nakamba and bring in Davis my call. Or El Ghazi for more width

Aren't they just brutal options :(

I'd go with Davis, play Watkins close to him.

Davis is a good shout. Dias struggled against a big strong athletic player in Haaland and Davis is very similar...

Ramsey off, David on.

Davis coming on for Ramsey.

Aren't they just brutal options :(

I'd go with Davis, play Watkins close to him.

Yep, our choices to change things...

Davis, El Ghazi or Barkley....

What we need is a second on form Luiz to take control of midfield in the centre, but instead we've 3 fringe players, El Ghazi will stay too wide, Barkley is just shot, at least Davis has shown some sort of passion to get involved but is unluckiest person at Villa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭rebelomar

Not sure why he brought off Ramsey. He was getting in behind City.

Davis gets bundled over there in the box. Only mitigation is that the ball is going out before he could have gotten it but similar have been given recently

matrim wrote: »
    Davis gets bundled over there in the box. Only mitigation is that the ball is going out before he could have gotten it but similar have been given recently

Kane would have got it:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

rebelomar wrote: »
    Not sure why he brought off Ramsey. He was getting in behind City.

Thought the same. Wonder if he got a knock in the red card tackle

Kane would have got it:pac:

If you want a pen you have to sell it

Cash....what a clown after that

Deserved second yellow