Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aston Villa Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours/Champions League Thread 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,797 ✭✭✭✭JPA

1 down. Nakamba poor control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

Clear peno

Not gave , another farce , he took him clean out

• Registered Users Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭pavb2

Well done Marvellous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭LeBash

Just home and turned it on, don't know who even crossed the ball, just seen it coming off the boot of the defender

LeBash wrote: »
    Just home and turned it on, don't know who even crossed the ball, just seen it coming off the boot of the defender

It was a marvelous cross.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Nakamba with assists for both goals.

Well done Ollie he had a lot to do to score that

Watkins is absolutely brilliant, chased his own flick on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,136 ✭✭✭Patser

Ollie!!

pavb2 wrote: »
    Well done Ollie he had a lot to do to score that

Made it look routine. Did very well.

We are a diff team with grealish , even all our other players look so much better when he plays

AEG is so frustrating at times should have been 3

Good first half.
    But Spurs are shocking here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭basillarkin

Great work rate from BT for Watkins goal. Should be more ahead

JPA wrote: »
    Good first half.
    But Spurs are shocking here.

Yes we look assured and very comfortable but I think that’s because Kane Son & Ali can’t get in the game.

I would like to see Traore get on the ball a bit more.

We could have had 3 in that half plus Traore had 2 good half chances.

Didn't see the peno claim. A bit robbed?

Wasting chances though, be so much nicer to have 2 goal lead.

Kane really is 'cute' - he grabbed Mings arm to his chest and threw himself to the ground, when he was nowhere near getting that ball. Ref is strange letting a lot go regard niggly tackles but then buying the occasional dive

• Registered Users Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭Panrich

We could have had 3 in that half plus Traore had 2 good half chances.

I hope we don't regret those missed chances.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Blatant penalty not given for you lot.

In the times of Peter Withe etc you’d be embarrassed to get a penalty for that but nowadays by comparison to other decisions . . . stonewall penalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

Playing Jack in the center more is a must going forward (Fair play to Smith for changing something up for a change).

I think we actually lost our momentum when he reverted back to the left wing after the Man Utd game away when we played some great stuff that night.

Should be up by more.

Just saw the replay of Reguilon ‘S OG that was a great finish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭circadian

Gonna stick on the second half, don't blame me if we lose.

pavb2 wrote: »
    In the times of Peter Withe etc you’d be embarrassed to get a penalty for that but nowadays by comparison to other decisions . . . stonewall penalty

The ball was gone so did he deny a goal scoring opportunity?
    Or is it just a case of foul in the box = pen?

Jesus El Ghazi, great run, so much space, sooooooo long to shoot

And Martinez a hero again, unreal

edit: and again.

No one bothering to defend in this game

Martinez brilliant we need a third goal

Lads are playing like we're 7-1 up in an exhibition match.

Some trick by McGinn though

If we don't win this...

Traore 3 chances now where hes just taken an extra touch.

Jesus Christ lads!!! Stop messing!!!

Traore dancing into box again and again, afraid to shoot.

I know it was offside in the end, but Watkins 1 v 1 decides to go full Brazil trick mode (and fails)

As much as he’s very skilful there’s Just no end product with Traore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Esse85

Ollies finishing is so poor. Him and Traore are so sloppy with taking chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭rebelomar

Christ there's a chance. Traore and Watkins have to finish

We've had about 10 great chances this half and haven't tested LLoris once due to messing.

Sours have had 3, and Martinez had to pull off a great save each time

Chukmuemeka debut

I think that's a bad call. Nakamba has broken up so much play today. AEG or Traore would have been safer imho

Traore .....come on man

Mings has been outstanding today

Another debut - he looks 12

edit: Philogene-Bidace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,247 ✭✭✭Esse85

That's a really good 3 points.

Young lads did very well. Well done. Great result.

We should have scored 3 or 4.

Great to see Grealish back.

Villa wil make a fortune if these guys make it, through letter sales on named jersies.

Chukwuemeka just hit post too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,137 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Solid enough. Disappointing finishes made spurs look beyond ordinary.

Good result.

But real end of season kick about feel. Sours actually had something to play for, but somehow were even more casual than our guys. Traore could have had 6

Don’t think any of our players had a bad game but we should have taken more of our chances

Great to see us playing in their half that last 5 minutes, a nerve wracking end but one of our most enjoyable wins particularly when we don’t usually do well against Spurs.

Great result and performance. Was like early season Villa. There was energy that has been missing lately. Could have scored 5 at least.

20 shots, only 4 on target though.

Was it the Grealish effect?
    Or maybe the Nakamba affect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

Played very well. McGinn was great tonight and the defense looked very solid.

Both youngsters did really well when they came on with very little time.

If we can make sure we have proper upgrades on both Traore and AEG for next season the improvement in our side will be huge just from that alone as both are miles away from being good enough to push us on from here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭Panrich

Chukwuemeka could save us a lot of money. He looks like he is a special talent.