Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aston Villa Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours/Champions League Thread 2024/25

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Was convinced they were going to score there!

There will be more chances for Villa in this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Jesus Christ.

Watkins gets it stuck under his feet and then Trez has two goes and still can’t score. So frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭rebelomar

We're a shambles at the back again today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭Patser

Brave save by Martinez outside box, but yeah defence is all over the place

This high line defense definitely gets looks dodgy, that said I like the look of cash/Martínez more and more every time I see thrm play

This is the Leeds game all over again. Smith can't change it when it goes wrong.

Ball is moving very slow when they pass it along the ground, I wonder is the grass too long......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭Brian201888

I have no idea what game you are all watching, we're playing very well and should be at least level. Nothing like the Leeds game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

We are the better team but the high line defense is a cause for concern

I have no idea what game you are all watching, we're playing very well and should be at least level. Nothing like the Leeds game

I'd say we all agree with that, except that we are coughing up easy chances to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

How have we not scored. By far the better team but Brighton do look capable of catching us again on the break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

International break does us no favours with main players and alot of travelling.

Traore doesnt look like he fits for us at the minute

sc86 wrote: »
    International break does us no favours with main players and alot of travelling.

Traore doesnt look like he fits for us at the minute

Traore has been ok. McGinn has been poor. He's had a few poor passes and given the ball away in dangerous areas.

Targett and McGinn want all day in the ball and both playing very poorly.

Our defensive line is far too high.

Watkins obsessed with playing wide again today.

All that being said we've had some good chances and will create a few more before the end of the game. Whether we can keep them out is a huge concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

Mings has been a joke. Every time he comes back from playing with England he strolls around the games, chewing gum acting totally over confident and far too relaxed. I can't believe his positioning for that goal. It was as bad as I've ever seen in football. How he plays for England is beyond me.

McGinn also as usual is totally inconsistent and i feel will cost us a goal in the second half.

Tezeguet has missed some good chances, but its be the best I've ever seen him play. Probably been our best player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭circadian

Aye looking very good going forward, amazed we haven't scored yet. Back line is too high though, they've lobbed a few long balls in and gotten very close to scoring. All the possession and high prices swing is great but very easy to make a balls of it.

Brighton look like they could take advantage of our defense when they play quick ball behind our defenders but otherwise they don't look that dangerous and Villa have mostly been in control and if the 2nd half was to continue in the same way you would hope Villa could take one of the chances that they are bound to get. Brighton are shaky enough themselves in defense and got a bit lucky with the Barkley injury as I think he would be thriving in the AM positions players like Traore are finding themselves in.

Big issue is we obviously don't have a whole lot in terms of game changers on the bench if continuing along this way (which Smith will do for at least the next 20m) does not bring rewards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,791 ✭✭✭✭JPA

matrim wrote: »
    We are the better team but the high line defense is a cause for concern

A couple of touches or a flick and they are through. We could lose 3-0 or win 3-1.

I want to see more from Targett, Mings and McGinn in particular in the 2nd half. Those 3 are the ones I would say underperformed in the first half.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Panrich

McGinn must have put a bet on Lamptey for a goal or an assist. He's given him the ball several times already in dangerous situations.

EZRI!!!!!!!

Konsa

He's in my FF team

Konza!

Lovely delivery from Traore

Game 100% there for the winning now!

JPA wrote: »
    A couple of touches or a flick and they are through. We could lose 3-0 or win 3-1.

Exactly this. We could be 3-1 up as it is. I'd be surprised if there's no more goals in the second half but it could be either side at this rate.

Ah bollocks I don't have the second half on yet!

How can Mings be so good some games and then do bollocks like that in others

Targett was pathetic for that goal. Block the cross man!

A feck!!

Terrible defending again!

How a low pass can go right across packed box and arrive to an unchallenged player to pick his spot, again no intensity in defence

Looking at replay Cash ducked under shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

rebelomar wrote: »
    Targett was pathetic for that goal. Block the cross man!

That was pure lazy lazy lazy

Gotta say that was a good finish but the defending simply needs to be better. Still think the team is good enough to win this game but they (the likes of Targett and Mings) are not making it easy for themselves. Lamptey is good but they are making him look great

If we're going to keep crossing, bring on Davis to offer something

Luiz hasn't been great, I wonder is he jst lagged or just plain tired from Internationals

Ah lads. Targett again cant stop the cross and March again had a chance far post.

The man is very very lackadaisical.

El Ghazi and Hourihane on, Troare and Luiz off (both looked v tired)

But no Davis...

Not sure who will be doing the defending in the center (maybe McGinn asked to sit deeper) but we gotta go for it. Hourihane and El Ghazi on

Grealish looking very tired now. He needs to move the ball faster and let others try put in the cross

Grealish has made a few silly errors today, not his mercurial best it'd seem (prove me wrong Jack still some time ;) )

So many tired legs out there that El Ghazi is actually looking a threat

Poor old Trez, he runs his bollix off, gets into positions, makes space, just can't finsh at all.

Remember that brief period after league resumption when he couldn't miss...

Well 3 mins vs 10 men... maybe but we've little good hostory vs 10

PENO!!!!

Ref is doing us a few favours here

He did kick him but Jaysus I'd be going nuts at the ref if I was a Brighton fan now.... cmon put it in the net

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Varred out.

I'm lost what's going on

surprised that was ruled out based off the reaction by the Brighton lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

What the **** is that? He went down like he was shot but he still clattered him.

Not given. think ref is saying he got the ball first

matrim wrote: »
    Not given. think ref is saying he got the ball first

Never touched the ball though. He just kicked him in the shin

What...

He definitely clipped him, can't see how its possible to say he didn;t touch him. May have gone down easy but in no way was the ball 'won'!, He hit him

FT now,

That's a bit of a shocker of match, and a lot of critcism of VAR inbound