Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RIC and DMP to be commemorated this month

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

You are commenting on a thread about the comemoration of the RIC surely its reasonable that you would be expected to have a little fore knowledge.
    You missed prehaps the most prominent ,that is the murder of the mayor of Cork. Did you also miss out on the present mayor stating his reasons as to why he would not attend the ceremony. It was all over the media. The murder got mentioned several times.

I don't think many on this thread claim to be historians and know all about all aspects of history. Many would have assumed that it was the Black and Tans.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

J Mysterio wrote: »
    I just wonder how Coveney is taking all this. He is a staunch republican.

probably rubbing his hands!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Unfortunately none of them were ever charged for any of these murders.

I believe an RIC inspector who took part in the mayor's murder was transferred up to Meath. Under orders from Collins he was tracked down and dealt the same treatment he was happy to commit.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

They didn't, again a little research would enlighten you. Clearly you as an Irish person have no interest in your nations history.

Have just Googled the Lord Mayor's murder, and got to this website .....

https://www.echolive.ie/corklives/Tragedy-death-a-city-in-flames-we-reflect-on-the-historic-events-in-Cork-in-1920-629e2753-a6bb-42c1-ab19-b377a641f6c3-ds

OMG it makes for bleak reading, loads of murders.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭jmcc

you were going to vote FG before this cock up were you? I have stated on this site for years that Leo is a shytehawk btw
    I'm a floating voter and rarely, if ever, vote along party lines.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Sean.3516

This time two days ago, I was against the idea of a commemoration of the RIC on the grounds that it just wasn’t worth the trouble.

However after witnessing the Shinners and the chest thumping republican types losing their minds and going out over their skis in their overblown response to this, I now want a big military parade for the RIC complete with a thirty gun salute and Prince Charles as guest of honour just to spite the Shinners.

Sean.3516 wrote: »
    This time two days ago, I was against the idea of a commemoration of the RIC on the grounds that it just wasn’t worth the trouble.

However after witnessing the Shinners and the chest thumping republican types losing their minds and going out over their skis in their overblown response to this, I now want a big military parade for the RIC complete with a thirty gun salute and Prince Charles as guest of honour just to spite the Shinners.

You were never against it.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Jeffrey Donaldson isn't happy with us either if any of ye follow him on Twitter, oh the irony getting a lecture from the DUP!

None of them showed up for the Commemoration of that "foreign old grubby rebellion" we had in 2016, and they were'nt too concerned about respecting our "Shared History" when they commented on it

I'll give the Brethern one thing, they've necks like a jockeys bollix

1/10 and the 1 is only for the effort of putting that rubbish in print.

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Sean.3516

You were never against it.

I thought they should have been commemorated (which was why I argued so on this thread) but wasn’t in favour of it because it seemed like there was no good to be gotten from it. See on my posts from yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

You completely missed everyone's point obviously.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,208 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Bambi wrote: »
    None of them showed up for the Commemoration of that "foreign old grubby rebellion" we had in 2016, and they were'nt too concerned about respecting our "Shared History" when they commented on it

I'll give the Brethern one thing, they've necks like a jockeys bollix

But if it is to do with WW1 soldiers they are down the road quicker than Paisley could pack a suitcase.

Donaldson was on RTE this morning moralising about it and never once got asked about his leader refusing an invite to what she knew would be an inclusive and respectful commemoration.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

You've a good sense of humor anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Don't tell lies, you were on for it from day zero going by your posts, and as for the spite comment, Leo's maturity statement springs to mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

I thought they should have been commemorated (which was why I argued so on this thread) but wasn’t in favour of it because it seemed like there was no good to be gotten from it. See on my posts from yesterday.

Go on and watch Black 47 and pick out the pieces you'd like commemorated the most.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2HSzedQ77LY

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭bloopy

Such a political powerhouse/

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Have just Googled the Lord Mayor's murder, and got to this website .....

https://www.echolive.ie/corklives/Tragedy-death-a-city-in-flames-we-reflect-on-the-historic-events-in-Cork-in-1920-629e2753-a6bb-42c1-ab19-b377a641f6c3-ds

OMG it makes for bleak reading, loads of murders.

And Varadkar wants to celebrate that.

Interesting article in the Indo Leo talking through his hoop and senior figures in FG trying to lay the blame squarely at Charlie Flanagan's feet, lest they forget Leo fully endorsed the clusterf**k until they were forced into a humiliating climb down.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/taoiseach-believes-united-ireland-is-further-away-after-controversy-over-ric-commemoration-38845084.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭fundi

Varadkar is totally right, if Nationalists & Republicans really WANT a United Ireland, then commemorations must be balanced.

If the brutality & death of the actions of Rebels can be commemorated, then surely the police force can also be commemorated, otherwise why would Unionists be even slightly interested in Uniting with a State that dismisses them & their history outright.

Unionists biggest fear is the takeover of Northern Ireland, both geographically & culturally, with their British identity & history being rewritten in favour of the Irish Nationalist/Republican version....

Therefore we commemorate & celebrate the Rebels & "the old IRA" whilst stamping on the RIC & the DMP. I guess Unionists might forsee the same fate in a hundred years time for the memory of the RUC as the bad guys, with the Provisional IRA being commemorated & celebrated as the good guys and the saviours of the natives!

A every unpleasant prospect for Unionists, indeed a very scary prospect for all of us if the Provo memory is to be celebrated (which is what SF is desperately working towards).

Going forward, commemorations both Irish & British need to be balanced.

Nail on the head there.

fundi wrote: »
    Nail on the head there.

Why would anyone commemorate their oppressors?

Nail on the head there.

As it should be, they should be stamped on. Don’t forget where you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

Do the Germans celebrate the national socialist party?

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Don’t agree with a lot Leo says but he is right a United Ireland is now further away

We just wont listen to the other side of the story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭fundi

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Why would anyone commemorate their oppressors?

To most Dubliners in 1916 the terrorists and oppressors were the insurgents. Only after the executions did the mood change.

Do they commemorate the Baader–Meinhof Group , which was a West German far-left militant organization?

Don’t agree with a lot Leo says but he is right a United Ireland is now further away

We just wont listen to the other side of the story

Its Xs on a ballot box that will decide that issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,208 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Nail on the head there.

It isn't because it ignores something critical here.

We found a 'way' to do it in a respectful and inclusive way with 1916 because the EG and others who contributed were listened to.

In this instance an irresponsible triumvirate (as far as we know) of ministers, led by An Taoiseach decided they knew better and decided that the 'state' would honour these organisations. Everyone knew that was the wrong way to do it. They caused a 'rising' themselves and hopefully caution will be the word in future.

But given that they almost ****ed up the 1916 event by trying to whitewash out the actual Rising from the promo video (and had to withdraw that too) I am not sure they can be trusted going forward.

There’s a good few here should be handing their passports back but at least there seems to be a decent majority of people who are right about this. Boards can be a cesspit for Irish self hatred so any majority on here would at least mean it’s a sizeable one in the real world.

To most Dubliners in 1916 the terrorists and oppressors were the insurgents. Only after the executions did the mood change.

Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭bloopy

A closer analogy may be the East German Stasi.

bloopy wrote: »
    A closer analogy may be the East German Stasi.

It doesn't really matter what analogy is used or what proof is proviided to show the RIC/ Tans/Auxillaries were neck in neck, hand in hand in brutality their supporters still see no wrong in them.