Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RIC and DMP to be commemorated this month

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

Even the Germans are smart enough to not go commemorating the National Socialists.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    Lord Mayor of Cork is not attending this shameful event.

Fair play to him , 24 counties left or is that 30 to go

• Registered Users Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

No one deserves to be killed for either their political beliefs or simply doing their job.

No one.

Repression and trechery isn't a normal requirement for most jobs. The RIC was an armed paramilitary force, as the saying goes "live by the sword, die by the sword".

🙈🙉🙊

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

Why don't we commemorate the Nazis while we're at it!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    Build a statue of Cromwell while we are at it

A good Republican. ;)

🙈🙉🙊

I couldn’t say what I really want to here, but I just hope people will remember this when it comes to an election. Sickening but not unexpected with FG and Drew Harris running the show.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭corks finest

saabsaab wrote: »
    Nobody knows who killed him and at this stage we probably never will.

Well as my family were all anti free state Collins signed his own death warrant ,end of

I couldn’t say what I really want to here, but I just hope people will remember this when it comes to an election. Sickening but not unexpected with FG and Drew Harris running the show.[/quote leo the Langer is truly am awful leader,who has no cultural, historical,or family toes with Ireland,so it's really not surprising the way he acts

Never heard it called the "hunger' before now!

Not in school, not in college, not anywhere. All references on the internet and reference books call it the Irish Famine (the great famine) primarily caused by potato blight......

Maybe it should be officially renamed?

An gorta mor

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,226 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The ignorance of Irish History in this thread is fantastic.

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭TwoMonthsOff

• Registered Users Posts: 16,360 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It isn't that simple.

'Don't like it, therefore object to it in principle' is a much more decent position to take.

I couldn't care one way or the other but all these people getting triggered sure is funny. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Fine Gael wish we were still part of the United Kingdom , Charlie Flanagan and the South Dublin oligarchs and don’t forget RTÉ ( BBC Donnybrook) and (British )Independent Newspapers

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Well as my family were all anti free state Collins signed his own death warrant ,end of

Michael Collins was the main man who beat British Intelligence at their own game and forced them to the table.

Even De Valera himself said that he was the one man who could have ended the Civil War early. Collins said on signing the peace treaty that he had signed his actual death warrant. R.I.P.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

• Registered Users Posts: 37,302 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Why don't we commemorate the Nazis while we're at it!
    Before Ireland became a republic, all people in Ireland were british... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Fine Gael wish we were still part of the United Kingdom , Charlie Flanagan and the South Dublin oligarchs and don’t forget RTÉ ( BBC Donnybrook) and (British )Independent Newspapers

Its a reasonable position to take, and must be respected. Not everyone wants to be farmers, learn to speak Irish, dance at the cross roads, and go to mass twice a day.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

the_syco wrote: »
    Before Ireland became a republic, all people in Ireland were british... :pac:

....according to the british.'
    Fyp.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Its a reasonable position to take, and must be respected.

Who says I must respect people who wish to reverse our independence?

Fuck that.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Next thing Varadkar will want to hold a commeration for the Black and Tans.

The RIC were traitors who threw people out of their homes to starve when they couldn't pay rent.

• Registered Users Posts: 576 ✭✭✭mick malones mauser

So the state that came into existence in 1922 is to commemorate the force that FOUGHT AGAINST the creation of that state.
    Total madness

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭horsebox1977

LuasSimon wrote: »

Yep.

Frank Feighan and Neale Richmond also looking for Ireland to re-join the Commonwealth.

Charlie Flanagan is one disgusting human being.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Next thing Varadkar will want to hold a commeration for the Black and Tans.

The RIC were traitors who threw people out of their homes to starve when they couldn't pay rent.

The black and tans were part of the RIC.

FG scum are commemorating them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

More wretched behaviour from the sellout party. FG are the party of traitors to this very day.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

dresden8 wrote: »

The Tans were cold blooded murderers, the Government is crazy to be doing this.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,302 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Fann Linn wrote: »
    ....according to the british.'
    Fyp.
    Yeah. And according to the people not wanting the RIC to be commemorated, the RIC were somehow more british than the other british.

If the locals were Irish, than so too were the local people who joined the RIC to gain employment. Heck, they helped maintain order, until the IRA "took over" by force.

=-=

Didn't see anything about commemorating the 'Tans, though.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,202 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

dresden8 wrote: »

No they were not. They were demobbed tommies, the psychos off the Somme.

The RIC existed for 110 years, mostly ordinary Irish catholic men who earned a crust to feed their families in hard times. Unfortunately many Irish people had no choice but to earn the Queens shilling under occupation, but these guys had to balance keeping order on the streets with a decade of political rebellion. 500 of them killed and 700 injured when mostly unarmed.

A commemoration of their work in policing over 110 years in existence is not betraying anyone.

Larbre34 wrote: »

The RIC existed for 110 years, mostly ordinary Irish catholic men who earned a crust to feed their families in hard times. Unfortunately many Irish people had no choice but to earn the Queens shilling under occupation, but these guys had to balance keeping order on the streets with a decade of political rebellion. 500 of them killed and 700 injured when mostly unarmed.

A commemoration of their work in policing over 110 years in existence is not betraying anyone.

They pulled innocent people from their beds and killed them for entertainment.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,124 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Larbre34 wrote: »

Try going to France/Denmark/Czech republic/slovakia and taking the same line about the gestapo.