Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RIC and DMP to be commemorated this month

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

The great re-education program was thwarted.

Demolish certain historic buildings from Moore Street, the rebels used during the rising.

The removal of history as a core subject in schools.

State commemoration for the black and tans.

FG seem to be ashamed of our nation's history.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,386 ✭✭✭corner of hells

My father was a pig in the Boer War.

Trust you to ham it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭fundi

Trust you to ham it up.

No surprise he thinks his father was in the Boer war. Sure after the dogs dinner of an Irish school education, hundreds of thousands of kids think their fathers had their snouts in the GPO.

fundi wrote: »
    No surprise he thinks his father was in the Boer war. Sure after the dogs dinner of an Irish school education, hundreds of thousands of kids think their fathers had their snouts in the GPO.

I can see you have a city and guilds in sarcasm detection.

What's your story?

Loyalist or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,899 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

McMurphy wrote: »

Demolish certain historic buildings from Moore Street, the rebels used during the rising.

Well, their direct lineage is to Michael Collins (and Arthur Griffith etc)....it's FF who are Dev's men.

Strazdas wrote: »
    Well, their direct lineage is to Michael Collins (and Arthur Griffith etc)....it's FF who are Dev's men.

Lads on this thread reckon Collins was a terrorist:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Strazdas wrote: »

Their lineage is more to Eoin O Duffy than Collins thb, especially as Duffy was one of FG's founders.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭jmcc

Their lineage is more to Eoin O Duffy than Collins thb, especially as Duffy was one of FG's founders.
    Michael Collins was only ever a member of Sinn Fein. That seems to upset the Blueshirts.

Regards...jmcc

jmcc wrote: »
    Michael Collins was only ever a member of Sinn Fein. That seems to upset the Blueshirts.

Regards...jmcc

I suppose despite Collins brutal but effective campaign against the occupiers he is more palatable for FG than Duffy.

Yep Collins was a member of Sinn Fein, FG was founded 11 years after Collins death.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/historic_figures/collins_michael.shtml

I suppose despite Collins brutal but effective campaign against the occupiers he is more palatable for FG than Duffy.
    Yep.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eoin_O%27Duffy#/media/File:O'Duffy_Blue_Shirt_Movement_fascist_salute.jpg

Himself and Charlie Tan'agan's father seemed to share a particular love of shirts.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 69,184 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Hey, has anyone ever been found to be lying about a relative being in the GPO? Because this sounds like another one of those self hating urban myths some Irish like to believe. There has been a few rum ones told on the site over the years, like US pilots throwing their poopies out of the planes as they flew over Ireland because Dev wouldn't rescue Churchill.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Em, afaik, that was something that came out of the Dept. of Education while Ruari Quinn was the Minister of Education. It was reversed when FG took back that role.

Also, I do not think individual ministers pick and choose what subjects are taught in schools.

Moore Street was a DCC issue as well really, National governments do not involve themselves in day to day planning application for retail outlets and the like

It makes great Fake News though, gets the angry blood going. :D

markodaly wrote: »
    Em, afaik, that was something that came out of the Dept. of Education while Ruari Quinn was the Minister of Education. It was reversed when FG took back that role.

Also, I do not think individual ministers pick and choose what subjects are taught in schools.

Moore Street was a DCC issue as well really, National governments do not involve themselves in day to day planning application for retail outlets and the like

It makes great Fake News though, gets the angry blood going. :D

Every time.

The Government has decided to appeal the recent High Court ruling that a number of buildings on Dublin’s Moore Street be classified as a national monument.
    Minister for Heritage Heather Humphreys said the decision to appeal was taken due to the wide implications of the judgment for planning and development nationally.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

It'd be bonkers if the Black and Tans caused the collapse of the current government

And nothing there indicates that FG was planning to 'destroy' Moore Street.

From your quote.

From the link.

“If I did not appeal this judgment, I would be ignoring very strong advice from the Attorney General, the Departments of Environment and Transport, the OPW and Transport Infrastructure Ireland that an appeal is necessary in the interests of planning and development projects nationwide,” she said.

That is the problem with Fake News, it's all emotionally based.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,537 ✭✭✭droidman123

Charlie flanagan has done more for fianna fail than anyone! He is a legend.on a more serious note he is yet another "liberal" minister for justice that has let the criminals run riot in this country without any fear of justice .

"DCC wanted to abolish buildings in Moore Street, not FG"

High court says no.

FG appeal against the high court.

FG aren't to blame.

Sweet suffering Jesus. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Michael Collins was in Sinn Fein.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,184 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

And nothing there indicates that FG was planning to 'destroy' Moore Street.

From your quote.

From the link.

Yeh, a Minister would never gild the lily to cover their real intention, like Charlie Flanagan said he was following the recommendation of Maurice Manning and the Expert Group.
    Never mind the buzz phrases like 'Fake News', call that what it was, an outright lie.

"DCC wanted to abolish buildings in Moore Street, not FG"

High court says no.

FG appeal against the high court.

FG aren't to blame.

Sweet suffering Jesus. :D

A very simplistic take on it. I can see now why you are a purveyor of Fake News.

Michael Collins was in Sinn Fein.

Indeed he was.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

That whole Moore St. thing was a disgrace.
    We were supposed to have a Museum in a couple of houses in the terrace back in 2016 until a bunch of 'concerned citizens' decided to occupy the site demanding that every place a rebel moved through needed to be preserved forever (despite the same buildings having long since fallen into disrepair and being totally refurbished in the interim).
    Four years later, those committed protesters have long since gone and we're left with nothing but the bill.

Phoebas wrote: »
    That whole Moore St. thing was a disgrace.
    We were supposed to have a Museum in a couple of houses in the terrace back in 2016 until a bunch of 'concerned citizens' decided to occupy the site demanding that every place a rebel moved through needed to be preserved forever (despite the same buildings having long since fallen into disrepair and being totally refurbished in the interim).
    Four years later, those committed protesters have long since gone and we're left with nothing but the bill.

Links to the siteserv inquiry incoming. Watch. This. Space,..,.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Postponed, not cancelled, according to the government. But then only a fool would believe what an Irish government would say anyway.

One good thing, it shows the country is not ready for a "United Ireland" anyway. It is further away than it was, according to the Taoiseach.

Hmm. Indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

It'd be bonkers if the Black and Tans caused the collapse of the current government

All reports today point to Varadkar calling an election early next week rather than facing no confidence in Harris as FF stick to their guns and refuse to positively vote with the govt and I would guess this FG hand-delivered monumentally stupid doubledown implosion has helped immensely.

Another fantastic move by the clowns in FG.

I cannot wait to get my polling card.
    https://www.independent.ie/opinion/comment/miriam-ocallaghan-a-family-story-shows-why-for-some-time-does-not-heal-38854165.html

"Ironically, the sniffiness at the public rejection of their clearly party-political ceremony, has a distinct whiff of the Superior, Know Better Guardians of Respectability of the broad era we are commemorating."

So a TD from Cork by the name of Michael Collins brings down the Black and Tans supporting government. :) Excellent!

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 13,898 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

If today's Mail front page is true, a lot of TDs are gonna lose their seats over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Only when the ‘CBS, 800 years, kool-aid’ generations have died off will we have a mature debate on matters of remembrance and suchlike.

Too many lads blaming their woes on the Brits, knocking round the country at present.

It’ll be a while yet before unification talks start.

Still the usual 20 years away.

There really isn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭Jackman25

Postponed, not cancelled, according to the government. But then only a fool would believe what an Irish government would say anyway.

One good thing, it shows the country is not ready for a "United Ireland" anyway. It is further away than it was, according to the Taoiseach.

Won't make an iota of difference to a "United Ireland".
    Hardline Unionists like the DUP and their fellow travellers will have to be dragged kicking and screaming into a United Ireland as we saw during Brexit where they would rather burn the place down (in an economic sense) than move closer to the ROI and away from the UK. No amount of spineless, craven sops to this crowd will make any difference to them.
    You would hope moderate Unionists would be smart enough to realise that nonsense like this sort of commemoration is unnecessary and counter-productive.