Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RIC and DMP to be commemorated this month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

There was no will of the Irish people for 1916 yet that is celebrated they were spat at in the streets by the Irish people.

Incorrect they were spat on by some Irish people. The colonial power then by their stupidity turned the men of 16 into heroes and martyrs.
    I suspect some here would still spit on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,184 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

There was no will of the Irish people for 1916 yet that is celebrated they were spat at in the streets by the Irish people.

Why are you surprised that it took time to persuade people and why are you surprised (and why have you not got over) that the people were persuaded?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,835 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Jesus, this is pathetic. This lie has been tried, variously by Charlie Flanagan, Leo Varadkar, and on here by blanch and markodaly.
    It's rubbish and not even Leo is still trying to cling on to it. They ignored the all party committee too and bypassed it.

Scroll to the appendix and there you will see the recommendations for formal state events

Well it seems your idea is to acknowledge the RIC/DMP but do so in a manner so it will not be noticed by the general populace. Only by academics/historians etc that is a cod.

Fair play to Flanagan for bringing attention to the reality.
    If people get thier wish and he loses his seat - he will be following in the republican 'martyrdom' tradition. History will treat him kindly like Pearse/Tone/Emmett.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭fundi

Correct. We were part of the UK at that time too, not a colony.

Well it seems your idea is to acknowledge the RIC/DMP but do so in a manner so it will not be noticed by the general populace. Only by academics/historians etc that is a cod.

Fair play to Flanagan for bringing attention to the reality.
    If people get thier wish and he loses his seat - he will be following in the republican 'martyrdom' tradition. History will treat him kindly like Pearse/Tone/Emmett.

We'll leave it to the 'future' then. For the present, he has been emphatically told to stick to the advice of the experts.

If people wish to commemorate these men there is ample uncontested opportunity for them to do it at the annual commemoration that is held every year. The one you don't seem to be aware of.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

There was no will of the Irish people for 1916

How do you know?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,124 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Rubbish it was not all opression as other posters have pointed out.

Part of their assigned duties was the targeting of nationalists.

Odhinn wrote: »
    Part of their assigned duties was the targeting of nationalists.

Far more nationalists and Catholics were killed by Republicans than by the black n tans.

fundi wrote: »
    Far more nationalists and Catholics were killed by Republicans than by the black n tans.
    How many Irish people were killed by agents of the crown?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

The RIC upheld British rule that presided over the famine in Ireland. Want to add that couple of million deaths in?

So you are quite open now in your mission here, you wish to vindicate the B&T's by playing a warped numbers game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

They were cheered in other parts of Dublin when moved to Kilmainham. You don't have enough historical knowledge to debate many issues on this thread.

Despite all your bombast.

Naggdefy wrote: »
    They were cheered in other parts of Dublin when moved to Kilmainham. You don't have enough historical knowledge to debate many issues on this thread.

Despite all your bombast.
    If you do your research using only 'media of time' accounts then you will think that they were hated. However the media at the time was voiciferously anti the rebels.

There is actually no definite data on how the rising was received but the fact that opinion changed so massively suggests a people in fear of having an open opinion.
    Open support could get you brutally killed.

If you manipulate the timeframe to suit your narrative.

Keep beating that marching drum down the cul de sac.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Look at this thread.

Will we ever just move on??

If you do your research using only 'media of time' accounts then you will think that they were hated. However the media at the time was voiciferously anti the rebels.

And the people at the time in Dublin were very against the rebels too, by all accounts.

There is actually no definite data on how the rising was received but the fact that opinion changed so massively suggests a people in fear of having an open opinion.
    Open support could get you brutally killed.

They, rebels, were cheered when captured units were brought through North King Street.

Look at this thread.

We had. Under the guidance of educated and sensible people we had come up with appropriate commemoration.
    Until Charlie made a right charlie of himself and the secret agenda of some.

Interestingly the media fell quickly out of step with the public's attitude to the 1916 leaders . The Daily express and Times being staunchly unionist even the Indo calling for executions.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/1916/words-of-the-rising/out-of-step-dublin-newspapers-reaction-to-the-rising-34452956.html

And the people at the time in Dublin were very against the rebels too, by all accounts.

By all accounts..

I've studied the period and this simply isn't true, I'll quote eminent historians like JJ Lee, Brian Hanley and the late David Fitzpatrick.

As Francie has pointed out William Martin Murphy's 'Independent' was a pro British rag. Not a lot has changed.

The 'accounts' of the Irish Times and Independent primarily if you do proper research. Both newspapers were anti the rebels calling for the death penalty.

There is no or very little data available outside of that.

Look at this thread.

That's easy to say. Would you like a commemoration of people involved in killing grand uncles etc who wanted to gain independence from Britain?

You are forgetting many people witnessed it, and told their families. After independence it was not popular or profitable to express such opinions in public though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

How many Irish people were killed by agents of the crown?

The numbers aren't confidential. A good researcher could find them on google I am sure. I would only remember them if specific numbers mattered. What matters for me is that a lot of people died.

Look at this thread.

We had until idiots in FG wanted to comemorate the RIC/DMP/ Black and Tans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Naggdefy wrote: »
    They, rebels, were cheered when captured units were brought through North King Street.

How is it known whether the cheering was for the captured or the capturers ?

You are forgetting many people witnessed it, and told their families. After independence it was not popular or profitable to express such opinions in public though.

And many witnessed the support for the rebels immediately after the 30 April 1916 surrender. It was recorded immediately afterwards.

The numbers aren't confidential. A good researcher could find them on google I am sure. I would only remember them if specific numbers mattered. What matters for me is that a lot of people died.

753 years of occupation I'm sure the numbers are enormous. The Gorta More alone due to British policy is staggering.

How is it known whether the cheering was for the captured or the capturers ?

When people shout up the republic. I think most people of any intellect could decipher who they were cheering TROL.

:D Nobody 'witnessed' the majority of the country, that was physically impossible.

What they probably did witness is some people protesting the rebels (because some did and some still are) and extrapolated from that that the whole country felt the same.