Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Pope slapping the randy birds away !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Shumtimes they need a shlap.

quote-it-s-not-the-worst-thing-to-slap-a-woman-now-and-then-sean-connery-62-34-60.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,158 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Jaysus is it animal magnetism? He’ll need a stick to beat them off next !

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/pope-apologises-for-slapping-arm-of-pilgrim-who-grabbed-him-1.4128239?mode=amp

She was trying to give him a wee tug ! Naughty lass !

I would have slapped her too , she could have dislocated his shoulder or torn a ligament .He is 82 years old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

FFS in all fairness that was more like an assault.. she deserved what she got,.he nearly fell or done his back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

She lured him into her web of sin. But don't go in.

Too late...

893471a0ee636b3631b11f95ba4d542b25d9dbbede69c7b9dc3cf607b6b183b1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

He apologised for the slap on the hand, he's an old man and I read somewhere he has arthritis so he probably felt it when she pulled his arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,041 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

bishop-brennan.png

She owes him an apology , she yanked his arm and pulled him .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

He apologised for the slap on the hand, he's an old man and I read somewhere he has arthritis so he probably felt it when she pulled his arm.

Surely if you cay pray away the gay, god should have no issue clearing up a bit of arthritis.

Its odd that people so devoted suffer from the same illnesses as us lowly peasants. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

Wondering if it was El Papa's new aftershave 'Breadcrumbs'?

....the birds go wild for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Watched the video and knew straight off which one was going to be the problem. She's lucky the security guy didn't get to her first but also he should probably have been closer anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

To be fair, he visibly winced in pain when she suddenly grabbed him.
    Arthritis can be agonising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

It's a little frustrating to see him apologise. I'm the first in line for a bit of Pope bashing, but she basically assaulted him, a little slap on her hand to make her let go is the least she deserved. Try grabbing the head of state for any major country like that and you'll have a team of goons tackling you.

Surely if you cay pray away the gay, god should have no issue clearing up a bit of arthritis.

Its odd that people so devoted suffer from the same illnesses as us lowly peasants. :)

No idea why you quoted me or even what that post means, he is human just like the 7 billion of the rest of us so yes he would feel pain from arthritis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Marhay70

What happened to "turn the other cheek".It's only a couple of days since he was spouting on about all the violence in the world and now he can't control himself.
    Sickening to see all the sycophants rushing to his defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

he is human just like the 7 billion of the rest of us so yes he would feel pain from arthritis.

So the praying fixes nothing?

No idea.

Take a trip over to christianity if you want to know instead of asking a random poster on AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

We’ve all seen the footage and it’s not really that bad. But in a lot of jobs if you slap out at another person you would not be kept. Should the pope be sacked??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Marhay70 wrote: »
    What happened to "turn the other cheek".It's only a couple of days since he was spouting on about all the violence in the world and now he can't control himself.
    Sickening to see all the sycophants rushing to his defence.

It wasn't violence. He very gently slapped her hand because he grabbed him and wouldn't let go. He has a right to bodily autonomy, even if he seeks to deny that right to others.

BS, making excuses for him, she should sue him for assault. He, above anybody should be expected to restrain himself and you could see in his face afterwards that he was fuming.
    If he was a professional football player he'd be sent off the field and banned for even feinting to strike somebody. Bloody hypocrite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,004 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Security was abysmal. The woman was obsessed.

Il Papa was right.

He was assaulted by a hyper woman. Guessing Korean but no matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Suffering is sharing in the passion of the christ.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

BS, making excuses for him, she should sue him for assault. He, above anybody should be expected to restrain himself and you could see in his face afterwards that he was fuming.
    If he was a professional football player he'd be sent off the field and banned for even feinting to strike somebody. Bloody hypocrite.
    Not sure if poor satire or just something worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭mountai

Get a life .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭iano.p

Wouldn't be a big fan of the pope or the church in general. But he done nothing wrong look at his face when she tugged him. He is an old man that could have done damage to him. More serious where his protection.

Imagine if Il Papa was accosted like that and was another Head of State?

Security were useless. I don’t blame him, but he took the blame.

Security was abysmal. The woman was obsessed.

Il Papa was right.

He was assaulted by a hyper woman. Guessing Korean but no matter.

He was putting his hand out for people to take it and she did, she just held it a bit more enthusiastically. Hardly a capital offence.
    What about all the usual c**p he spouts about tolerance, didn't show much of it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

He's 83 and looked like it was very painful for him.

His reaction is understandable.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

He was putting his hand out for people to take it and she did, she just held it a bit more enthusiastically. Hardly a capital offence.
    What about all the usual c**p he spouts about tolerance, didn't show much of it there.

You need glasses, he had his back to her.

Have you seen the clip? He had moved away but The woman grabbed him and would not let go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

If he was a professional football player, he'd be sent off the field for wearing those shoes. And she would have been sent off for grabbing him in the first instance.

Retaliation is the bigger crime, isn't that what the Bible says? Good Christians should take the blow and allow for another.

He had his back to her and walking away , she yanked his arm painfully and he winched .He was damn right to slap her hand off him .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Must be a bummer to be Gods representative on earth and then as a way of thanks God gives you arthritis. The Lord works in mysterious ways.

If you have a bad shoulder arthritis a sudden tug can be immensely painful and cause one to react like that without the mind giving thought to it. I remember my mother used to freak out if you pulled on her arm unexpectedly.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    He had his back to her and walking away , she yanked his arm painfully and he winched .

He left his hand out. Take a look at the actions of the woman as he approached her, she is obviously overcome with emotion at the prospect of touching him.
    Him being taken by surprise in no excuse for his reaction which goes against a basic tenet of Christianity, that you should not strike back, no matter what the provocation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

The wan looked like one of the N'Korea ladies you don't ever want bumping into you in busy public spaces.

By all accounts he did the proper thing, the fault lies with his security team and the shakey-grab-hand woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Must be a bummer to be Gods representative on earth and then as a way of thanks God gives you arthritis. The Lord works in mysterious ways.

He's only human, I'd get pretty p*ssed off if people were trying to paw me for a lucky touch every time I stepped outside the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Watched the video and knew straight off which one was going to be the problem. She's lucky the security guy didn't get to her first but also he should probably have been closer anyway.

Saw it earlier. There was something up with her alright. Everyone else is smiling, she's stern faced. Even blessing herself looks staged. She looks at the camera when doing it - it's like to blend in. She continues to shout after he gets away from her. Haven't seen any of the media reports translate what she shouts but it'd be interesting.

Koreans and Catholicism. Where did that come from?

Met SO many (with their rice cookers lol) on the Camino. Nice folk but a tad obsessed with Il Papa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭antix80

We’ve all seen the footage and it’s not really that bad. But in a lot of jobs if you slap out at another person you would not be kept. Should the pope be sacked??

There's threads in AH.. Off you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

The woman who physically attacked an elderly octogenarian should be arrested for assault.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Love the people saying he was wrong to retaliate - if she'd punched him was he supposed to stand there and take it? Pure poppycock.

He has nothing to apologise for, perfectly natural reaction to being grabbed unexpectedly

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Moved from work and jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Telly

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

She was out of order.
    Bad luck he’d obviously turned away to greet people on the other side of the aisle.
    She grabbed him, pulled him back and insisted on holding onto him when she shouldn’t. She was lucky he slapped her hand off, can clearly see a bodyguard in the background was just about to step in and I doubt he would have been as kind to her.

Love the people saying he was wrong to retaliate - if she'd punched him was he supposed to stand there and take it? Pure poppycock.

Exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Pope can’t be sacked.
    He’s infallible so he obviously did no wrong.

But seriously, she was bang out of order and a slap on the hand was light compared to what would have happened if the bodyguard behind had stepped in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Rose of Lima

Retaliation is the bigger crime, isn't that what the Bible says? Good Christians should take the blow and allow for another.

The Pope was walking away when she grabbed him, he wasn't expecting it. He looked as though it surprised him and hurt him. He batted her hand to release his hand. Calling that retaliation is absurd.

Your very obvious gripe with the Pope is skewing any hope of you looking at this situation in a reasonable way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

She likely didn't need his services other that a quick howya, cherry-bye wave, nod or smile.

Unlike this other lad, that he wanted to spend a bit longer with when strolling by, and manage to (possibly) bang out an quick aul 'exorcizāre' for free.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RcHJp-BKAuY

If you have a bad shoulder arthritis a sudden tug can be immensely painful and cause one to react like that without the mind giving thought to it. I remember my mother used to freak out if you pulled on her arm unexpectedly.

Did Jesus call down murder and mayhem on those who were crucifying him? No, his plea was that they be forgiven. Francis is supposed to be the nearest thing you can get to Jesus on this earth, he ceased to be a "normal person" when he took on the mantle of Pope.