Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US take out Suleimani - mod warning in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭pearcider

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    What a ridiculously ill informed post. Take a look at the US. Probably one of the most unequal societies on the planet with inadequate healthcare and social protection befitting a “hyperpower”.
    Look at the regimes the US has supported over the years in it’s national interests. Do you thing the American puppet the Shah of Iran didn’t have secret police? Read a book.

Yeah it’s an awful place. That’s why millions of people try and smuggle themselves in every year. Contrast that with Iran or any backward country where people are trying to get the hell out of it. More whataboutery about the Shah. Get over it. He had secret police in the 70s. The ayatollahs have them today.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Aegir wrote: »
    And I didn’t say the Americans were, so I guess we're quits.

Iran has been getting increasingly aggressive in its position, culminating in rocket attacks killing and injuring American personnel and what was clearly a well organised attack on the US embassy.

The US hit the monkies first, but then had the chance to take out the organ grinder himself.

Hold on. An attack on the US embassy? How many died? This was in response to the killing of 27 people by the US. You might be too young to remember the burning of the British embassy in Dublin in 1972 but imagine for a moment if the British response was the assassination of the tanaiste and some high ranking Irish civil servants.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

threeball wrote: »
    Ya shur the yanks haven't done anything in the last 60yrs to warrant any animosity towards them.

America has been at war for 222 years out of its 239 year history....thats some fcuking record!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,539 ✭✭✭jmreire

US2 wrote: »
    How many ordinary joe Iranians have you spoken to?
    Some boy to spout ****e you are.

He is right though, you would be very surprised just how many of the "ordinary Joe Iranian, just like Joe Syrian" just want an ordinary Life, without the problems that war inevitably brings. The have enough to cope with in ordinary everyday life...getting a job, getting married, finding a house, looking after the grand parents, worrying about the costs of fixing car..... same things we are concerned about here in Ireland. But much more difficult for them. But these People are not the ones shown on TV, or media...instead you get the ones screaming for blood and shouting "Death to the Unbeliever's"

pearcider wrote: »
    Yeah it’s an awful place. That’s why millions of people try and smuggle themselves in every year. Contrast that with Iran or any backward country where people are trying to get the hell out of it. More whataboutery about the Shah. Get over it. He had secret police in the 70s. The ayatollahs have them today.

I don’t know where you are getting your figures of “millions of people try and smuggle themselves in every year”. But of course, it has economic opportunity. That does not mean it is a paragon of morality.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭rockatansky

Christ, those latest tweets from Trump are freightening. You'd wonder who is actually around him in the oval office these days. Would love to know what the US Generals make of all this.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,227 ✭✭✭threeball

Well you can have animosity towards them. Just don’t expect to get anywhere as a country in terms of economic development or progress if you do. And don’t be surprised if they hit your military leaders with hellfire missiles occasionally.

A minute ago you were criticising them for holding a grudge since the 1950s, you changed you tune pretty quickly. Everything is good in your eyes once the Americans are calling the shots and writing the narrative.
    As others said, this might be the first time we see a play caller personally affected when the other side come after them rather than the soldiers they send out as cannon fodder.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

Christ, those latest tweets from Trump are freightening. You'd wonder who is actually around him in the oval office these days. Would love to know what the US Generals make of all this.

https://www.theatlantic.com/politics/archive/2019/11/trump-generals/601348/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

jmreire wrote: »
    He is right though, you would be very surprised just how many of the "ordinary Joe Iranian, just like Joe Syrian" just want an ordinary Life, without the problems that war inevitably brings. The have enough to cope with in ordinary everyday life...getting a job, getting married, finding a house, looking after the grand parents, worrying about the costs of fixing car..... same things we are concerned about here in Ireland. But much more difficult for them. But these People are not the ones shown on TV, or media...instead you get the ones screaming for blood and shouting "Death to the Unbeliever's"

Could say the exact same about the US.watched that show Flint on Netflix and it was an eye-opener. Couldn't believe the state of the place.some parts of the US are third world.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,302 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

He must have another job lined up .. lol
    Yeah, had to double check that this was coming from a Fox News dude.
    All that being said, the Iranians are in a very difficult spot as if they retaliate directly against Americans they will reign down fire on them with warplanes and the us could kill a lot more of their leaders etc, I can see them taking a longer approach to get revenge possibly directly at Trump and his family. Scary to think where this can all go.
    I'm hoping they don't off Trump, but only because Pence is even worse. If they could whack Pence as well, then I'd be grand with that :pac:

smurgen wrote: »
    Could say the exact same about the US.watched that show Flint on Netflix and it was an eye-opener. Couldn't believe the state of the place.some parts of the US are third world.

Imagine playing war games in a working city in a supposed first world country and give the inhabitants no warning or information. Crazy stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 5,290 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Hold on. An attack on the US embassy? How many died? This was in response to the killing of 27 people by the US. You might be too young to remember the burning of the British embassy in Dublin in 1972 but imagine for a moment if the British response was the assassination of the tanaiste and some high ranking Irish civil servants.

Well if the tanaiste had organised the burning of the embassy and had planned and orchestrated others attacks against British costing hundreds of lives then he'd most certainly be a target

RoryMac wrote: »
    Well if the tanaiste had organised the burning of the embassy and had planned and orchestrated others attacks against British costing hundreds of lives then he'd most certainly be a target

So who in the American administration do you consider legitimate targets in that case?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

It happened in 1953. How long are the mad mullahs gonna hold a grudge?

You expect a country to forget something like that in a couple of generations, you should read a few history books on recent conflicts and the stories behind them including our own very recent history

RoryMac wrote: »

Ha! By your logic Haughey would have been targeted by a British attack helicopter, following the arms trial rather than being congratulated on his election as Taoiseach by prime minister Margaret Thatcher.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭AllForIt

A lot of ppl making the point that the shenanigans going on in Iran over the last few years - are going under the radar in terms of western media attention.

I've noticed that as well. Some of the media reports regarding Iranian incidents over the last few years that I have inadvertently come across seem really serious to me. Yet they don't make prominence in western media.

The net result of this is that in the West one would think that this latest incident is a completely unwarranted attack. I really think that a lot of ppl who are castigating trump for this action, and I get the timeliness of it, aren't really that well informed, for said reason.

The issue of whether the US should police the middle east is a completely different question altogether. The way I like to think about it is this - what it there were no USA at all. I just don't see than in that scenario we wouldn't have any problems at all in regard to the middle east. I think our problems would be worse, actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 mickdoocey

Obama and Hillary Clinton watched via camera in their war room as bin laden was shot dead - he was a terrorist who organised 9/11
    whats the difference here - suleimani is long suspected of terrorism and murder against americans

Its weird to see many of trumps opponents in America criticise this strike, whatever valid reason they think they may have goes out the window because these same people never criticised Obama for killing bin laden - a decision that I thought was very controversial.
    for me he should have been extracted to face trial.

I just think there is a huge double standard - also witnessed when al-Baghdadi was taken out.

AllForIt wrote: »
    A lot of ppl making the point that the shenanigans going on in Iran over the last few years - are going under the radar in terms of western media attention.

I've noticed that as well. Some of the media reports regarding Iranian incidents over the last few years that I have inadvertently come across seem really serious to me. Yet they don't make prominence in western media.

The net result of this is that in the West one would think that this latest incident is a completely unwarranted attack. I really think that a lot of ppl who are castigating trump for this action, and I get the timeliness of it, aren't really that well informed, for said reason.

The issue of whether the US should police the middle east is a completely different question altogether. The way I like to think about it is this - what it there were no USA at all. I just don't see than in that scenario we wouldn't have any problems at all in regard to the middle east. I think our problems would be worse, actually.

If there were no USA at all involved in the Middle East Iran May well be the largest democracy in the area now, instead of just a belligerent Israel.

mickdoocey wrote: »
    Obama and Hillary Clinton watched via camera in their war room as bin laden was shot dead - he was a terrorist who organised 9/11
    whats the difference here - suleimani is long suspected of terrorism and murder against americans

Its weird to see many of trumps opponents in America criticise this strike, whatever valid reason they think they may have goes out the window because these same people never criticised Obama for killing bin laden - a decision that I thought was very controversial.

I just think there is a huge double standard - also witnessed when al-Baghdadi was taken out.

The difference with bin laden and al Baghdadi is that they were not senior representatives of a sovereign state.

You expect a country to forget something like that in a couple of generations, you should read a few history books on recent conflicts and the stories behind them including our own very recent history

You’re buying the mullahs propaganda. It’s sad really. Iran is backwards not because of some perceived interference 60 years ago. It’s backwards because their leaders act like it’s still 600AD.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

It's like what a kid would come out with if let loose. Absurd. I know its nothing new for him but threatening countries on twitter. Jesus ****ing christ.

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1213593975732527112

Coupled with all this being stuff he literally used to attack Obama with years ago.(on twitter too of course)

If there were no USA at all involved in the Middle East Iran May well be the largest democracy in the area now, instead of just a belligerent Israel.

Hilarious. Where exactly does democracy flourish except in the west? Nearly every Muslim country is a dictatorship. That’s why the birthplace of democracy fought them for three thousand years. And still fights them if you count Cyprus.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭rockatansky

You’re buying the mullahs propaganda. It’s sad really. Iran is backwards not because of some perceived interference 60 years ago. It’s backwards because their leaders act like it’s still 600AD.

You sound like your typical redneck who drives around in the back of his buddies pick up truck shooting at Gators at the weekend. A bit simple.

These anti Trumpers are the same type of people who supported the USSR during the Cold War. These guardian readers and champagne socialists are communist sympathizers who hate the fact that their ideology fails miserably wherever it is implemented.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,290 ✭✭✭RoryMac

The difference with bin laden and al Baghdadi is that they were not senior representatives of a sovereign state.

So you can be as active in terrorism as you like responsible for the killing and maiming of hundreds of US soldiers once you are a non-elected representative of Iran?

Seems a strange way to look at it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

He helped Iraqi's in their legitimate fight against foreign invaders and also fought Islamic State and Al-Qaeda.

You make it sound like invading American troops were innocent tourists in Iraq :rolleyes:

You sound like your typical redneck who drives around in the back of his buddies pick up truck shooting at Gators at the weekend. A bit simple.

Your typical redneck built the greatest, richest and most progressive republic the world has ever known. So thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Bunch of fatuous sycophants seems like. He is out of control. I think the impeachment may have put him over the edge. The bloody evangelical maniacs fawning over him doesn't help his egomania/ god complex. This is a very dangerous time, it is scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Maybe Baba Vangas 2020 predictions are right...
    "Also, the American President, Donald Trump, will become sick with a mysterious disease that will leave him deaf, and he will suffer brain trauma, according to the clairvoyant"

Lol the old Vanga, she was a bit of a gloomster, she also forecast:
    "The European continent could reach "the end of its existence" at the hands of Muslims" also: "In 2023 the Earth's orbit will change, in 2066 the US will unleash a climate change weapon on Muslim-controlled Rome"
    http://www.baba-vanga.com / https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/weird-news/blind-mystic-baba-vangas-predictions-21151259

Nostra is probably a bit accurate/better, e.g. https://nostradamus2020.com/
    I.e. Trump wins again in 2020, Aussie wid fires, and a 7.0 quake for the Turks in '20.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 mickdoocey

saddam Hussein was the head of a sovereign state - I personally believe he should have been tried in court - but he was taken out.
    again there was no outrage from the majority of people inc the same people who are now outraged by this strike.

its a double standard.