Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Probation review 2 months overdue. Q re: rights to reject probation & missed benefits

Options
  • 05-01-2020 9:47pm
    Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hello

I've been working for over 7 months in a job that I'm very unhappy in. I'm actively looking for a job and will hand in my notice as soon as I find the right position, hopefully within the next 6 weeks.

The contract I signed said I'd have my probation review at 6 months at which point I'd be entitled to health insurance and pension contributions.

The probation review should have taken place 5 weeks ago. I never mentioned this to my employer as my notice period increases from 1 month to 3 months upon successful completion of probation. A 3 month notice period wouldn't benefit me in my current circumstances as it hinders my job search.

If I'm to be honest I'm not sure if my boss will extend or sign off my probation.

My question is, when I finally have the probation review if my employer tells me I have passed, do I have the right to reject it or am I effectively tied to giving them three months notice just by my employer saying I passed probation or do both parties need to agree to it for it to become effective?

Also, if I were to pass probation would I have any claim to be compensated for the two months of missed pension and health insurance contributions which I'll have missed out upon as a permanent employee - due to the late probation review?

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 11,788 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp