Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Underrated words/terms

• 07-01-2020 12:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

dilly-dallying
    dithering

tchotchke
    fouse
    pittle
    sh1tehawk

add your own below..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Giggleshaft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Beeping Kitchen Appliances

Fuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭dobman88

Goatweasled. Referring to being as tired as you've ever been or extremely drunk.

Think cùnt is quite an underrated word. Enjoy using it myself within context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,631 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

blatherskite
    /ˈblaðəskʌɪt/
    Learn to pronounce
    noun:
    a person who talks at great length without making much sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,140 ✭✭✭Odhinn

geebag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Foostering.

C*nt, best word in the English language even better that some people get so wound up by it’s usage (it’s a common everyday word in my part of the country it’s only in recent years I realised how “bad” it’s considered by some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

• Registered Users Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Malingering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭zerosugarbuzz

Affliction- as in he’s a complete affliction. Gob****e is also hard to beat.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Cockwomble. For an insult, it has such a lovely ring to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,975 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Fcukwit .

Clusterfcuk .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Gob****e
    Fcukin eejit
    Cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,409 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Foostering.

I see your foostering and raise you 'chuntering'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Kerfuffle

****-pheasant

Zaph wrote: »
    Cockwomble. For an insult, it has such a lovely ring to it.

Great word. Not sure what type of individual should be described thus .

Could you put it in a sentence for illustrative purposes, please?

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Great word. Not sure what type of individual should be described thus .

Could you put it in a sentence for illustrative purposes, please?

“Jesus, that James Corden is a right cockwomble, isn’t he?“

Omackeral wrote: »
    “Jesus, that James Corden is a right cockwomble, isn’t he?“

Gotcha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Highfalutin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

Loitering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭cryptocurrency

oven ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

defenestrate
    To throw someone out of a window, eg I would like to defenestrate James Corden

• Registered Users Posts: 855 ✭✭✭moonage

Pudenda.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    defenestrate
    To throw someone out of a window, eg I would like to defenestrate James Corden

Because he's a chuntering cockwomble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 whirlwind.

Clusterfukk

Autofelatio. To perform oral sex on oneself.

“I’m pretty sure that James Corden has attempted autofelatio.”

Antepenultimate

Not second last but the one before it. Third last, I suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Wheesht
    Shoogly
    Numptie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Gob5hite!

jaxxx wrote: »
    Gob5hite!

Sh*tehawk is a good substitute if you ever feel the need to mix it up.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Antepenultimate

Not second last but the one before it. Third last, I suppose!

Preantepenultimate = 4th last
    Propreantepenultimate =5th last

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Two that I used to hear a lot when I moved to Donegal that seem to have fallen out of use
    Footering: attempted repair of something to no avail, "why are ya footering around with that? It's banjaxed so it is."
    Poke: a small bag as in "a poke of sweets".

My current favorite word is Barneymugging, a euphemism for the activity with the most euphemisms of all. I love the sound of mountweasel (a deliberate error inserted to test or catch out a reader), fadgadget (something faddy and gadgety), and noceur (a night owl).

I've always thought gobsh*te was an especially satisfying word to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,337 ✭✭✭Archeron

Pug fugly. As in, that James corden is one seriously pug fugly cockwomble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Ye. It's a real word with an actual meaning that won't confuse you and you.

I find Gobshyte, on its own, to be a bit overrated, but if you place the adjective "fucking" just before it, then it really brings it to vibrant life.

Ye. It's a real word with an actual meaning that won't confuse you and you.

Ye. I have no problem with ye, it's when people say "yous" that I scream internally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Arghus wrote: »
    Ye. I have no problem with ye, it's when people say "yous" that I scream internally.

Arah yous can't bee saying tings loike dat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Balter- to dance like a clumsy oaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Miasma

• Registered Users Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

This thread reads like a Tourette sufferers help group.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

Hookemsnivvey. (Like a whajamacallit, only better).

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

This thread reads like a Tourette sufferers help group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

For the occasions cockwomble doesn't work, I find poxbottle to be an excellent substitute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Banjaxed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,681 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
    supercalifeckalistikissmyarseadocious

It's a verb.

I have used it in a sentence recently ;) starting with "you can just..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

dobman88 wrote: »
    Goatweasled. Referring to being as tired as you've ever been or extremely drunk.

Think cùnt is quite an underrated word. Enjoy using it myself within context.
    It's a word that makes me very judgemental about someone's IQ and upbringing!

parsimonious
    spendthrift
    unerring
    chthonic

Deja Boo wrote: »
    Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
    supercalifeckalistikissmyarseadocious

It's a verb.

I have used it in a sentence recently ;) starting with "you can just..."
    I love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Philipx

Discombobulated. Wonderful word.

Twat (although it only really works in an English accent)

Horlicks (my father's euphemism for bollix :P)

Ferocious (as in "He's a ferocious horlicks, that fella")