Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump Presidency discussion Thread VII (threadbanned users listed in OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,662 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

@Outlaw Pete.

In so far as the assassination of General Soleimani created the tensed-up military alert situation in Iran, then yes, the Trump Administration bears a strong degree of responsibility for the downing of the Ukrainian Civil airliner. I won't transpose that responsibility onto the US public as a whole, just on to those who follow the fallible Trump Administration through error after error with blinkered vision. Laying responsibility at the door of the deciders is not being leftist, it's being adult. There is one thing that I've noted where it comes to the response from the Trump Admin and that is the lack of the usual tweeting from Don Trump laying blame in a chosen designed way at the door of others.

Sky News, owned by the Australian News Corp, is running a story that Don signed off on the killing of Gen Soliemani in June last year on the basis that he was to be killed if a US person was killed by Iran's increased aggression [presumably in countries where US military were deployed or US contractors were employed]. According to the Sky News report, five (5) present and former Trump Admin officials have confirmed that to be fact. The story, sub-covered by MSN, also carries the bye-lines of Carol E. Lee and Courtney Kube, NBC News from 2 hours ago.

If the decision date of June last last year is correct, it blows the alleged Embassy Attack scenario offered by Don out of the water, something which he and his subordinates have not brought forward any proof of in the 1st case, let alone a 2nd case, to any forum.

https://muckrack.com/courtney-kube

• Registered Users Posts: 14,172 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

But what difference does it make? There is little to no accountability for the constant lies and misleading of the administration.

The voters need to remove the stain from office in November. If they don't, that's fully on them.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users Posts: 33,651 ✭✭✭✭Penn

But what difference does it make? There is little to no accountability for the constant lies and misleading of the administration.

The voters need to remove the stain from office in November. If they don't, that's fully on them.

Agreed. I have to say I'm jaded by the whole Trump presidency at this stage. The checks and balances will not work, he continues to game the media at every turn, and he's going to get away with it all. The only thing to stop him will be the election, but he'll probably win that too whether through manipulation of the media, the electoral college or purge of voter records etc.

As loathe as I am to say it, we're probably looking at four more years. Unless by some miracle the Dems can at least take the Senate rather than the Presidency.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,557 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1216716337822695425?s=19

Anyone want to come on here and say he's not a ****ing liar?

Or we at stage 2 of Trump supporter steps;

1) he didn't say/mean that
    2) it doesn't matter if he did or not, he's right.

Penn wrote: »
    Agreed. I have to say I'm jaded by the whole Trump presidency at this stage. The checks and balances will not work, he continues to game the media at every turn, and he's going to get away with it all. The only thing to stop him will be the election, but he'll probably win that too whether through manipulation of the media, the electoral college or purge of voter records etc.

As loathe as I am to say it, we're probably looking at four more years. Unless by some miracle the Dems can at least take the Senate rather than the Presidency.

There is a lot of Trump fatigue alrighty and I'd imagine plenty in the US too. I would agree that it would be for the best of they have the choice of winning he white house or the senate only the choice should be the senate every day of the week.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

everlast75 wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/1216716337822695425?s=19

Anyone want to come on here and say he's not a ****ing liar?

Or we at stage 2 of Trump supporter steps;

1) he didn't say/mean that
    2) it doesn't matter if he did or not, he's right.

You can't say he's not a liar and retain any credibility yourself. A lot of people are selling their names for a guy who wouldn't piss on them if they were on fire.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,984 ✭✭✭Christy42

Mini Bloomberg? Weird one given how much more successful Bloomberg is as a business man.

More projecting given how insecure he is about size.

Yeah it is an obvious and complete flat out lie that many will believe because they want to.

slight distraction perhaps, but it does make you wonder who is involved..

https://twitter.com/josephabondy/status/1216718465438035970?s=20

It seems, in addition to the cache of WhatsApp and txt messages and photos they turned over to the committee, Mr Bondy & his client also handed over the contents of an iPhone & another Samsung phone to the committee and will be turning over the contents of two other iPhones to the committee as soon as possible. The contents of the first two devices remain under a judges protective order and cannot be revealed publicly. Plus he is asking for permission from a judge to hand over material from another three electronic devices to the committee, apparently making it at least seven electronic devices Mr Parnas used in making contact with others working for the Trump campaign.

I can safely assume that Mr Parnas won't be on the guest list at the next presidential inauguration if Don is the invitee.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Another one of Trump's swampdwellers appears to be getting drained, with former advisor George Nader pleading guilty to child pornography and child sex trafficking.

He really does sound like an absolute monster, to the extent where it's better not to read about the details of his crimes because they're seriously grim.

Fair enough about having fellow travellers in the con-artistry game, like Manafort, Cohen and whatnot, but how they have people like Nader involved in a campaign when he had multiple prior incidences of child sex crimes (**** knows why he wasn't locked up already) really is difficult to wrap your head around.

https://twitter.com/ScottMStedman/status/1216867486471278593?s=19

Of course they did. Anyone care to wager how many Republicans will do anything about it?

Do ye remember when Republicans used to say there was no collusion with the Russians, presumably because it was a bad thing to say in public? Now the levels of acceptance seemed to have moved.

Trump enablers need to take a step back and realise that there is *nothing* he will not do.

He keeps pushing and pushing. His behaviour is only going to get worse. That's what happens when there is no check on him.

Yep, no surprise at all. Like there will be no surprise when you hear the talking heads and others say that there is no evidence linking Trump to this alleged hack and follow it up with the old and surely if Biden has nothing to fear the Russians, or whoever cause obviously you can't just flat out accept it was the Russians won't have found anything.

Barr is now saying the "imminent" threat has nothing to do with why they carried out the assassination. Now they are shifting to it was for deterrence.

If anyone believes that they need help.

Christy42 wrote: »
    Barr is now saying the "imminent" threat has nothing to do with why they carried out the assassination. Now they are shifting to it was for deterrence.

And again, what will be the consequences of the repeated lies and changing stories? What basically amounts to an act of terrorism, of murder on the territory of a sovereign nation?

As I said, too far gone at this point to even realise how far from their idea of what they are they really are.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,544 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Republicans/Trump hitting new low every day

Dems should do a quick photoshop job themselves and depict Trump with a Hitler moustache and SS uniform. The Twitter meltdown would be epic.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,343 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

The red flag for this was the other week when Pompei refused to define what imminent meant when questioned

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

Republicans/Trump hitting new low every day

Dems should do a quick photoshop job themselves and depict Trump with a Hitler moustache and SS uniform. The Twitter meltdown would be epic.

I don't think the reaction would be what you'd expect. I think it would surprise and horrify you. I'm thinking back to the video clip from the Kingsman movie with trump's face superimposed on a mind-controlled secret agent who is in the process of gruesomely butchering a church full of fundamentalist maniacs (possibly also mind controlled) who had a variety of Democratic Party notable faces superimposed on them. Yer man re-tweeted that one himself, and he's not exactly repulsed by the idea of a totalitarian hard man leader either.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

Also, along those lines, I would have thought that Solemani would have been the exact model of a go-getting sociopathic monster that gets things done that trump and his supporters so worships and admires. You start to believe that someone like that could do well in a US election at this point.

Trump breaking off the deal with Iran is having the desired effect (presumably). Iran is now actively working towards having nuclear weapons saying that European companies are not helping enough to mitigate US sanctions. Especially as they hit European countries as well.

Why Trump wants Iran to have nuclear weapons is beyond me but it is the only logical motive I can give to his actions (that may be my issue going for logical).

• Registered Users Posts: 25,544 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Trump breaking off the deal with Iran is having the desired effect (presumably). Iran is now actively working towards having nuclear weapons saying that European companies are not helping enough to mitigate US sanctions. Especially as they hit European countries as well.

Why Trump wants Iran to have nuclear weapons is beyond me but it is the only logical motive I can give to his actions (that may be my issue going for logical).

He needs a "valid" reason to go to war, Like Bush and his W.M.D claims.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

He needs a "valid" reason to go to war, Like Bush and his W.M.D claims.

Iran need to hurry up with getting something that Trump can claim is a viable weapon. Trump needs the war to start in the next 6 months to win the US election by default.

Not really no, he and his ilk have always run on fear, scaremongering scapegoating and exploiting others.

All he needs is an other, an enemy and Iran working toward getting a nuclear weapon plays well into that. It's all theatre with him and those like him, all that matters is the story you tell and knowing what the audience wants. His reality TV career helps him big time as a candidate which when you consider it is the highest office on the land is a very sad indictment of where society has sunk to these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,190 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

robinph wrote: »
    Iran need to hurry up with getting something that Trump can claim is a viable weapon. Trump needs the war to start in the next 6 months to win the US election by default.

Lol, no he doesn't need a war to win. When did he ever need a war to win.
    He had a great reception from the fans in New Orleans last night, all chanting 4 more years and USA, USA.

What did the Democrats and the left want to do, cancel Vince Vaughn. All Trump has to do is not be a bigger clown than the fossets circus to his left.

I'd argue that in fact what he has to do, what he has always had to do and what he will continue to do is BE the biggest clown in the race. Cause that's his thing, that gets the ratings.

Apparently, for now anyway, Boris Johnson is saying that Don Trump's version of the Iran deal should be accepted. One thing is whom is that message aimed at: Iran or the EU? I cant see it being Iran so it's probably for the EU, I see Boris using it to cause splits in the EU position on the deal it and the US had with Iran [pre trump] as he is now allied with Don on creating an alternative international business partnership and wants to destroy the EU as an international business pact. Boris's public position is likely intended to be used by Don to promote his "stable" POTUS image to voters.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

aloyisious wrote: »
    @Outlaw Pete.

In so far as the assassination of General Soleimani created the tensed-up military alert situation in Iran, then yes, the Trump Administration bears a strong degree of responsibility for the downing of the Ukrainian Civil airliner.

Utter nonsense. Many military attacks by the Obama administration resulted in tense situations in the middle east and you can be damn sure had an affected "Government" accidently brought down an airliner in the midst of such situations, you would not have been on here suggesting that the Obama Administration was culpable.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,343 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Utter nonsense. Many military attacks by the Obama administration resulted in tense situations in the middle east and you can be damn sure had an affected "Government" accidently brought down an airliner in the midst of such situations, you would not have been on here suggesting that the Obama Administration was culpable.

When did the Obama administration assassinate such a high level government official? Can you refresh me?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,190 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

It's worrying what the people so upset Trump was elected in the first place will do after Trump is reelected.

This is incitement to terrorism, won't look great for Sanders.

https://twitter.com/bennyjohnson/status/1217111200720400389?s=20

Good to see you think the regional tensions caused by the assassination of the general had nothing to do with the shooting-down of the Ukrainian aircraft. What you say about me not being on here suggesting that the Obama Administration would have been culpable in similar situations is correct. It would be a total misnomer on this thread given that Don Trump now heads the administration.