Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Abduction man charged, "A joke that went wrong"

• Registered Users Posts: 33,105 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

He basically just said "bants!"
    Not the best defence I have ever heard..

• Registered Users Posts: 11,381 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Either he needs a better lawyer or an improved sense of humour.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,867 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Ah, the "It was a prank, bro!" legal defence...

• Registered Users Posts: 52,014 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

He assaults and tries to bundle a 60 year old woman into the boot of his car and his defence is “it was a prank that went wrong”.??
    There should be a sentence for poor excuses alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,642 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

gmisk wrote: »
    He basically just said "bants!"
    Not the best defence I have ever heard..

I would love to hear the words 'next-level banter' used in an Irish courtroom.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Once someone attempted daylight robbery on me on a busy street, saying he had a concealed knife he would use on me. I kind of got away and suddenly his demeanor changed and he said "I was only messing with you" and ran away.

He'll have a hard time using this defence with trying to bungle someone into a car boot though.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 D.Wilmott

His lawyer also added "it was some of the greatest horseplay of all time".

• Registered Users Posts: 56,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

25 to life for the abduction, and 10-15 for the excuse.....to run consecutively!

• Registered Users Posts: 872 ✭✭✭septictank

walshb wrote: »
    25 to life for the abduction, and 10-15 for the excuse.....to run consecutively!

Hours community service, probably.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭wellwhynot

Agreed. Who knows what would have happened had the woman not managed to get away? If the judge goes easy on this one I will be very angry.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

The joke is on the irish people. We have all heard of how lenient the Irish legal system is.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

I believe Larry Murphy tried to use the same defence but the judge in his case saw past that...unfortunately for him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

What defence is even possible? He should be jailed for 20 years. He’ll get 4-6, time served, early release and be out in about 3. She’ll be traumatized for life.

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    What defence is even possible? He should be jailed for 20 years. He’ll get 4-6, time served, early release and be out in about 3. She’ll be traumatized for life.

Yes, and 'even worse'.....he'll be out and about....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,528 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

He had 48 hours to think of any excuse and that was the best he could do???

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Jesus christ, he should be locked away for a very long time, mainly for being too fúcking stupid to be let out by himself!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Just for the 'laugh', he should be made experience being bundled and manhandled into a boot and driven around the city in a confined space in the dark.

To thine own self be true

i wonder is "grabbing" a part of his cultural worldview

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I want to focus on the victim. A sprightly woman out walking innocently keeping herself fit and active or whatever.

Then this happens, and it was a prank? Would ya feck off outta that.

I merely witnessed a criminal act, and I was shaking for a day or two. That poor woman. Victims need a voice toot sweet. But I reckon the poor woman is in bits. Who wouldn't be.

Probably more to the story, but the defence put up is ludicrous and sounds coke filled or other substances to me.

Just for the 'laugh', he should be made experience being bundled and manhandled into a boot and driven around the city in a confined space in the dark.

And what about after that? Up to the mountains top be disposed of, maybe?

He had 48 hours to think of any excuse and that was the best he could do???

Well its kind of indefensible.

In law, nothing is irrefutable or indefensible; that's what makes it so bonkers and infuriating.

This lad gets a shrink to start waffling about this, that and the other, and you'd be surprised what people would believe...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

And what about after that? Up to the mountains top be disposed of, maybe?

Ah no, it was only a joke sure.
    He would have let her out and bought her breakfast as a sorry.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Learn to take a joke bro..

• Boards.ie Employee Posts: 12,597 ✭✭✭✭✭Boards.ie: Niamh
    Boards.ie Community Manager

A person has been charged so I'm closing this up.