Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine Gael - Party of Lawlessness

• 16-01-2020 10:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭

Fine Gael have moved from the party of law and order to the party of lawlessness. They closed most garda stations outside of the Dublin area and the poor people of rural Ireland are been robbed blind by traveller gangs , Fine Gael bestowed special ethnic status on the travelling community to top it all off. The country is awash with cocaine from Cork to Donegal and we have a plethora of murders including beheadings at this stage and all Fine Gael want to do is commemorate the Black and tans!
    All may be ok in Rathgar and Dalkey and other south Dublin FG heartlands but many communities elsewhere are on their knees from crime.
    Anyone who votes Fine Gael in upcoming election deserves to get their house robbed weekly and a good mugging monthly !

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

**Gets Popcorn**

• Registered Users Posts: 15,182 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Well both parties are tbf.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Some amount of FFbots on this site since the election was called.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

They are going to get their ass handed to them in three weeks time.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,602 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

McMurphy wrote: »
    **Gets Popcorn**

I'm here!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I’ll leave it at this. Closing stations etc , it was done to save a pittance. An absolute total and utter irrelevance of cash. They send several hundred million a year up in smoke on welfare increases. 300,000,000 a year on the welfare bonus. No amount is enough to throw into health , budget up billions in recent years. Thousands of millions. So what’s the problem finding a few million to reopen stations etc , the amounts involved aren’t even a drop in the ocean.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

They are going to get their ass handed to them in three weeks time.

Very likely.

And the party who oversaw the greatest economic collapse in the nation's history will probably take over.

This doesn't fill me with much optimism either.

But in the wise words of T. Jefferson, "you get the government you deserve"

• Registered Users Posts: 17,853 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Zeek12 wrote: »
    Very likely.

And the party who oversaw the greatest economic collapse in the nation's history will probably take over.

This doesn't fill me with much optimism either.

But in the wise words of T. Jefferson, "you get the government you deserve"

Non of the parties will do anything differently or change anything. There is a reason it hasnt been done and it’s the reason it won’t be done

• Registered Users Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭buried

Fine Gael are the party of law.
    The law racket anyways.
    Lawlessness is big business for the law racket.
    Solicitors are multi millionaires out of lawlessness.

Fine Gael love to suck off what the British regime left here.
    The law racket is one such pathetic system.
    It is only in existence to feed off trouble.
    And laugh at us while it eats our taxes.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Non of the parties will do anything differently or change anything. There is a reason it hasnt been done and it’s the reason it won’t be done

Fianna Fail would have more of an allegiance to Rural Ireland and wouldnt have closed all the garda stations Fine Gael closed. Fine Gael only seem to be concerned with Dublin. Most key Fine Gaelers arent concerned with crime etc as they live in large houses in South Dublin with a garda station down the road. They dont live 30 miles from a garda station with a hiace van pulling up outside in the dead of night.
    Thats a big difference for those living in rural Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

Mods: Any chance of merging all these party political statements into one election megathread?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,719 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Lets have some evidence based discussion shall we.

Is there an actual correlation between rising crime and the closure of Garda stations?
    Stats please!!

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Fianna Fail would have more of an allegiance to Rural Ireland and wouldnt have closed all the garda stations Fine Gael closed. Fine Gael only seem to be concerned with Dublin. Most key Fine Gaelers arent concerned with crime etc as they live in large houses in South Dublin with a garda station down the road. They dont live 30 miles from a garda station with a hiace van pulling up outside in the dead of night.
    Thats a big difference for those living in rural Ireland.

My understanding was that both parties closed rural Garda stations, directly as a result of the crash, which was caused by FF.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,286 ✭✭✭emo72

FF and FG. Can anyone spot a discernable difference. It's just an illusion of choice. There's none.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I’ll leave it at this. Closing stations etc , it was done to save a pittance. An absolute total and utter irrelevance of cash. They send several hundred million a year up in smoke on welfare increases. 300,000,000 a year on the welfare bonus. No amount is enough to throw into health , budget up billions in recent years. Thousands of millions. So what’s the problem finding a few million to reopen stations etc , the amounts involved aren’t even a drop in the ocean.

The rationale about closing stations is mored driven by making Garda resources more mobile.
    The whole idea that you are safer because there is a garda station in a village is ridiculous. Criminals don't call in to announce their plans to and the guests still have to drive out to the scene.

It's this group think that fear of crime is worse than actual crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

markodaly wrote: »
    Lets have some evidence based discussion shall we.

Is there an actual correlation between rising crime and the closure of Garda stations?
    Stats please!!

That's your contribution to the thread? pathetic.

smurgen wrote: »

What, looking for some facts and evidence is pathetic?

Next up, why being Anti-Vax is OK :pac::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

emo72 wrote: »
    FF and FG. Can anyone spot a discernable difference. It's just an illusion of choice. There's none.

Said it on a different thread, FF and FG should merge and give up the pretence of being different. They worked together for the last 4 years. Time to cop on and allow a proper opposition develope.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,532 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

smurgen wrote: »

A man asking for stats is pathetic?

Ah heyor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Said it on a different thread, FF and FG should merge and give up the pretence of being different. They worked together for the last 4 years. Time to cop on and allow a proper opposition develope.

That would be great for the country.

Perhaps you should advocate, like Micheal Taft said, that the left form a united block?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Do people really think two lads sitting in a station stops any crime? Really?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭efanton

The rationale about closing stations is mored driven by making Garda resources more mobile.
    The whole idea that you are safer because there is a garda station in a village is ridiculous. Criminals don't call in to announce their plans to and the guests still have to drive out to the scene.

It's this group think that fear of crime is worse than actual crime.

Do you live in a rural area? Do you actually understand the problem?

The rational for local Garda stations is quite simple. If you call the guards during the night, how far do the gardai have to travel and how long will it actually take to get to the scene of an incident?

I'll give you a good example. Take a reasonably large town (by rural standards) like Charleville, in North Cork. After 6 pm the local station closes and all call are diverted to Mallow which is 25 minutes away minimum even if the driver was being very very flexible with the speed limits, its a dangerous road to drive fast on even in daylight. Normally its a 35 minute drive (at best) when there is a low volume of traffic.

The gangs robbing the country blind, know this. They dont operate during the day, they only operate at night when the majority of garda stations are closed.
    You might argue that there are mobile units out on patrol, and this is very true, there are only a handful of patrol cars allocated for Charleville and the surrounding towns such as Killmallock, Churchtown, and villages within a 12 mile radius of Charleville. That's only a handful of patrol cars on duty to cover an area of over 450 square miles.

Now you might argue that 25 minutes response is perfectly adequate but its not, not even close. The reason why is most of these crimes take far less than 25 minutes to perpetrate. On top of that many of these gangs are now using spotters, (usually a couple of young lads standing by the side of a road, or in a parked car that in of them self look perfectly innocent) that can give ten minutes warning if a patrol car happens to be responding to the incident. The result is the guards arrive long after these gangs have fled, with no evidence such as a registration number or description of any vehicle involved, a description of the people involved or a direction in which the gang fled, giving the guards nothing to work on meaning the vast majority of these crimes are never solved or even followed up. Also local guards have local knowledge, they will recognise people even from a distance, they will recognise vehicles and know who owns them, if something or someone is out of place they will know that too.

Had there been a local garda station the response time would dramatically reduced. I'm not for one minute suggesting that this would stop all crimes, but it would certainly prevent many or at least provide some evidence for the guards to start an investigation if they arrived sooner and saw the perpetrators escaping or had a description of any vehicles leaving the vicinity of the crime. It would also mean these gangs could no longer act with impunity, there would always be the risk of getting caught in the act.

You might argue that with mobile patrols the chances are that a car will be closer than that 25 minutes. This would be true if these gangs were completely stupid and didnt have spotters. They are not going to carry out a robbery or crime when they know a patrol car is only ten minutes away. They will simply go to a different location. They have the whole night to perpetrate a robbery or two, and the guards cant be everywhere in patrol cars.

Now as it happens because Charelville is a bigger rural town, slightly more resources have been allocated. What of the really rural districts around the country with no major town within ten to fifteen miles.

Shutting the garda stations was nothing to do with improving our police force, nor making them more efficient, it was simply a cynical cost cutting exercise done in full knowledge of the inevitable repercussions and increased crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

markodaly wrote: »
    Perhaps you should advocate, like Micheal Taft said, that the left form a united block?

Oh snap! :rolleyes:
    Chap made a good point.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,578 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

LuasSimon wrote: »
    Anyone who votes Fine Gael in upcoming election deserves to get their house robbed weekly and a good mugging monthly !
    I appreciate posters wish to take potshots at political parties they are unlikely to vote for, but we have plenty of political threads already where election issues can be discussed without pandering to personal gripes with dedicated threads

Thread closed