Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stabbing on Bandon Rd

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,510 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

I just can't understand how someone can put a knife into another person's body, enough to kill them?

The guy who did this was just a teenager. And for something so little, there is no logic to it.

That fella has parents and family, why would he feck things up so badly, and take a life of a great guy, for nothing?

That, I cannot understand.

So sad and pointless.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

No, it's complex as you said and maybe goes beyond what we should discuss in detail in this thread. Soliciters don't create scumbags and I'll leave it at that.

Why not discuss it here? It is not disrespectful to the victim to discuss causes and solutions.
    It's like discussing guns in American after a mass shooting. Those who want nothing done over there about guns say we shouldn't talk about it so soon after something happens. But if not then...when?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,641 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Yup, that's 2 families lives ruined.

Knife crime seems to be out of control. I hope the perpetrator is caught and banged up for a long time.

Sad to see a young man with a good life on front of him ended over something as stupid as not getting into a party.

May he rip

Ludo wrote: »
    Why not discuss it here? It is not disrespectful to the victim to discuss causes and solutions.
    It's like discussing guns in American after a mass shooting. Those who want nothing done over there about guns say we shouldn't talk about it so soon after something happens. But if not then...when?

I agree, it should be discussed on this forum.
    But perhaps this thread is not the right place for it.

I have already said enough here.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭mikeecho

It's awful that a genuine guy got killed by some sumbags on Brandon rd, guys who will never amount to anything other than a burden to the state.

.. now the guy in Drogheda that got chopped up. That's a great saving on free legal aid, dole, children's allowance, Garda and court resources, and an overall improvement to the human race.. now if that guys killer could die, that'll be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MMXX

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    I just can't understand how someone can put a knife into another person's body, enough to kill them?
    I think it's largely nurture, or a lack thereof. The early years of a child's development are desperately important, critical in fact - you know... like socialising them correctly, correcting bad behaviours, instilling manners, ethics - and all that good stuff. I think there are many parents, that can't don't comprehend ...contemplate the importance of these things at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

mikeecho wrote: »
    It's awful that a genuine guy got killed by some sumbags on Brandon rd, guys who will never amount to anything other than a burden to the state.

.. now the guy in Drogheda that got chopped up. That's a great saving on free legal aid, dole, children's allowance, Garda and court resources, and an overall improvement to the human race.. now if that guys killer could die, that'll be great.

While I agree with the sentiment, the issue is people like that who are desensitised to violence will not always distinguish on when to apply it and innocents get hurt. It needs to be nipped in the bud.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

Bad enough to bring a knife in the first place but to stab in the neck just shows it was somewhat thought out to do the most damage possible, really should be getting 20 years plus.

Rumours of another incident tonight in Blackpool

• Registered Users Posts: 2 swiftsection

Word on the street is they were secondary school students.... madness

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,912 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Rumours of another incident tonight in Blackpool

Lots of reports that it's all quiet there. Strange.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Lots of reports that it's all quiet there. Strange.

According to reports on Cork Safety Alerts on FB someone was attacked with a hammer behind the church by the Chinese. Guards on the scene.
    The place has gone mad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,912 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

SusieBlue wrote: »
    According to reports on Cork Safety Alerts on FB someone was attacked with a hammer behind the church by the Chinese. Guards on the scene.
    The place has gone mad.

Apparently that happened around 8pm hence why people saying its quiet there now.
    Never rains...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

MMXX wrote: »
    I do agree wholeheartedly - but ultimately, is this not the politicians fault also?

Do they (genuine question here - not directed to you, but anybody that knows) - do they not have the authority to demand proper sentencing? Why is it that there are people with multiple, multiple, multiple convictions walking around? Is it low prison capacity / lack of funding? If it is - can they not find the money? If not, why not? Do they REALLY give a single sh*t?

Ok let's do a cost analysis, cause it seems it's all these fffg cnuts think about, if it's cheaper to build and imprison these animals than to let crime happen and the insurance industry take the strain then let's do it . But I fear Facebook likes is the currency of this pitiful government

• Registered Users Posts: 6,858 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

NIMAN wrote: »
    Yup, that's 2 families lives ruined.

Knife crime seems to be out of control. I hope the perpetrator is caught and banged up for a long time.

Sad to see a young man with a good life on front of him ended over something as stupid as not getting into a party.

May he rip

exactly this. Such a senseless crime that cannot ever be undone. His mom will never hug him again or give out about his smelly gear. Lives changed forever. As a parent myself my heart goes out to his family. Heartbreaking.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

R.I.P :(

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I think a lot of judges still think we are all good religious people and will observe the rules of life.

Terribly sad for the deceased person and his family.

Sadly it is everywhere now. My he rest in peace.

MMXX wrote: »
    I think it's largely nurture, or a lack thereof. The early years of a child's development are desperately important, critical in fact - you know... like socialising them correctly, correcting bad behaviours, instilling manners, ethics - and all that good stuff. I think there are many parents, that can't don't comprehend ...contemplate the importance of these things at all.

Dunno. When I was a kid, I came home from school and my mam gave me a big bowl of soup and a bit of bread for lunch.

It was good.

Manners? Ethics? Go on.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Dunno. When I was a kid, I came home from school and my mam gave me a big bowl of soup and a bit of bread for lunch.

It was good.

Manners? Ethics? Go on.

A lot of that is taught implicitly with the parents and wider community teaching quietly by good example. Unfortunately this also works the other way.

I hope given the commercial premises nearby with CCTV and with the time it happened on a reasonably busy street that there will be witnesses which will help apprehend the culprit(s) quickly and secure conviction(s).

While convicting the culprit(s) will not be much consolation to Cameron's family and friends but it would make our streets a little safer.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Cameron wouldn't be in the drugs scene at all, nor his friends. All big into sports and clean living. These were three scumbags turned up and were turned away, took umbridge and came back with knives.

Gardai know who they are looking for

I should clarify, I didn't intend to link class A's to this particular incident or the victim - sincere apologies if it read that way. I was moreso trying to understand why fellas carrying knives would be turning up at a student house party but it seems this is a completely non sensical murder with absolutely no rationale or reasoning behind it from posts I've read since

• Registered Users Posts: 779 ✭✭✭bot43

When the 3 boys are caught I’d be fully behind the idea of letting them loose in Cameron’s dressing room with his team mates for 90 seconds. Then what happens happens.

Gardai have launched a murder investigation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

The guy who did this was just a teenager. And for something so little, there is no logic to it.

That fella has parents and family, why would he feck things up so badly, and take a life of a great guy, for nothing?

That, I cannot understand.

So sad and pointless.

If you had a load of cocaine in you , you’d put a knife in your mother not to mind someone who stopped you going into a party . Expect more and more young men stabbed to death in this country from coked up young men .
    Recreational drug use they can it , modern Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 17,038 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

LuasSimon wrote: »
    If you had a load of cocaine in you , you’d put a knife in your mother not to mind someone who stopped you going into a party . Expect more and more young men stabbed to death in this country from coked up young men .

If that was even remotely true, there would be dozens of stabbings daily in every town in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 964 ✭✭✭conor05

D'Agger wrote: »
    I should clarify, I didn't intend to link class A's to this particular incident or the victim - sincere apologies if it read that way. I was moreso trying to understand why fellas carrying knives would be turning up at a student house party but it seems this is a completely non sensical murder with absolutely no rationale or reasoning behind it from posts I've read since

A top class athlete in CIT and his rugby club. Very very popular young man with his whole life ahead of him.

A piece of worthless vermin ends his life because he was denied coming into a house party to sniff coke all night.

Ireland is full of these young wannabes who have severely low levels of self esteem through non contribution to society in any meaningful way so they express their feelings through thuggery to gain what they think is massive street credit among their peers and role models.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MMXX

It was good.

Manners? Ethics? Go on.
    You were nurtured good - others are not nurtured at all, is my point. And instead of getting a bowl of warm soup, served up with a portion of love, and adoration - they might have been thrown a slice of stale bread - with a side of contempt, or indeed not even fed at all. And how we are treated as children, shapes who we become as adults.

And manners, ethics - I get the feeling you're trying to engage in an argument with me? I don't understand. I wasn't attacking you, or your mother - or anyone.

I think it goes without saying, that children should be taught the importance of manners, the differences between right and wrong - and how to conduct oneself in a civilised manner for the benefit of society - and ultimately, for the benefit of the child him/herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭Heckler

Absoulute bull****. I never took cocaine previously but friends of mine some times on a night out would. They are sound fellas and cocaine didn't turn them in to raging assholes ffs. Tried it myself recently. Made me a bit more chatty than usual, talking ****e but sure you'd get that from any fella after 6 guiness.

With all due respect LuasSimon if you think cocaine turns you into a raging lunatic you're wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭beer enigma

Heckler wrote: »
    Absoulute bull****. I never took cocaine previously but friends of mine some times on a night out would. They are sound fellas and cocaine didn't turn them in to raging assholes ffs. Tried it myself recently. Made me a bit more chatty than usual, talking ****e but sure you'd get that from any fella after 6 guiness.

With all due respect LuasSimon if you think cocaine turns you into a raging lunatic you're wrong.

Am I wrong here or is cocaine use still illegal yet you are advocating its use?

Any stimulant can affect people differently so to generalise is just foolish.

Again I find comments like this on a thread about young Cameron deeply offensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Very sad to hear of this young man's death. And his poor family. No one imagines their son or brother going off to college and having him killed in such a terrible way. They must be inconsolable, my thoughts are with them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Heckler wrote: »

Yes I'm sure the women sexually assaulted at the Stryker party were only delighted at how "chatty" the fellas were on coke. Are you for real. And where do you think it comes from? People are tortured and slaughtered for it. The most disgusting violent supply chain imaginable. Get a bloody grip.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Field east

Know nothing about drugs except that they can be mind altering , can have permanent/ undesirable effects, etc, etc ,etc so I have never touched them for that and other reasons.
    One question. This/these fellows who knifed the unfortunate student in Cork, did they start out the morning
    they start out the morning/ day / evening sober from drugs and alcohol and if so why was a knife part of their ‘armoury’. Is that now a must have ‘accessory’ along with your watch, hairstyle, credit card, etc.
    The Gov has brought in laws almost overnight when it suits them

(1)SO why not make it ILLEGAL for anyone to have in their possession any chemical or physical item that can cause injury to another person.
    (2)POLICE the law properly
    (3)Hand out MEANINGFUL prison sentences
    (4)RELEASE anyone in prison that is not a danger to society
    (5) re no (4) above give them a choice re restribution for crime committed - financial ,community/ voluntary work ,’ chain gang’ work , attending courses etc, etc, etc ,etc. restrictions would apply. Eg cannot drive, report to garda station/PC every day
    My heart goes out to the victims family