Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GE2020: Kildare North

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

L1011 wrote: »
    Frank in the Champion is ensuring he won't have a chance at the next whenever it is, blaming Celbridge voters for not voting for him on geographic grounds!

One of the many reasons he wont get in next time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Scoundrel wrote: »
    Will you go away out of that <SNIP>

Thats the North Kildare voter for you. They dont like anti israeli opinions but dont mind voting for a fella shagging lads in the phoeno.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Irish people and north kildare people want Healthcare and housing reform. When is the going to sink that most normal people dont care about Readas opinion of Hitler or Israel.

do they care about her conspiracy theories about the water supply, or judges being part of paedo rings?
    It speaks volumes about her lack of intelligence really.

<SNIP>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

do they care about her conspiracy theories about the water supply, or judges being part of paedo rings?

Whatever about the water supply she might not be to far off the mark about the judges. Some of the sentences would back it up.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,947 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Whatever about the water supply she might not be to far off the mark about the judges. Some of the sentences would back it up.

Stop making excuses.

<SNIP>

Even mentioning Hitler is wrong.

Will add nothing to the Constituency, only make its voters look like idiots.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Regional North Mods, Regional West Moderators, Regional South East Moderators, Regional North East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 8,032 CMod ✭✭✭✭Gaspode

Folks we've some pretty libellous slurs getting thrown around here. Thats not on, please cut it out. No name-calling or unfounded accusations please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭a very cool kid

Gaspode wrote: »
    Folks we've some pretty libellous slurs getting thrown around here. Thats not on, please cut it out. No name-calling or unfounded accusations please

Are you referring to the anti semetic slurs?

• Registered Users Posts: 772 ✭✭✭baaba maal

Sure look what were FFG's solutions. Allow vast numbers of new builds to be bought up by investment funds. That worked.

It is entirely possible to hold the opinion (as I do) that FFG have repeatedly failed in their times in government across a wide range of policy areas, including housing etc. AND also hold the view that a tinfoil hat wearing nutter is not a viable replacement.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

baaba maal wrote: »
    It is entirely possible to hold the opinion (as I do) that FFG have repeatedly failed in their times in government across a wide range of policy areas, including housing etc. AND also hold the view that a tinfoil hat wearing nutter is not a viable replacement.

But people wanted change... they didn't care if it was better or worse, once it was change :pac:

I see her account is completely deleted now, SF HQ must have found all sorts of craziness on there.

She joined twitter in Aug 2011, and had over 125,000 tweets. That averages over 40 tweets a day, every single day, for 8 and a half years :eek:

Probably just as well she's deleted the account now, rather than spending half the day dicking around on twitter.

I see her account is completely deleted now, SF HQ must have found all sorts of craziness on there.

She joined twitter in Aug 2011, and had over 125,000 tweets. That averages over 40 tweets a day, every single day. :eek:

Probably just as well she's deleted the account now, rather than spending half the day dicking around on twitter.

I'd imagine some work placement student had spent the last 2 days trying to scrub the account of all offensive content... before giving up

• Registered Users Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

She has 30 days (I think) to undelete it, and afaik she deleted (and undeleted) when this craic first started.
    She joined twitter in Aug 2011, and had over 125,000 tweets. That averages over 40 tweets a day, every single day, for 8 and a half years :eek:

Anyone know if she had a job other than her local council one?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭scheister

mloc123 wrote: »
    I'd imagine some work placement student had spent the last 2 days trying to scrub the account of all offensive content... before giving up

More likely they deleted 100k of the tweets only for someone to walk in and say "sure would be easier just to delete the account"

n97 mini wrote: »
    She has 30 days (I think) to undelete it, and afaik she deleted (and undeleted) when this craic first started.

She set it to private initially, although I'd imagine with so many followers there were plenty of journalists that could still dig through it.

Fully deleted now

She set it to private initially, although I'd imagine with so many followers there were plenty of journalists that could still dig through it.

Fully deleted now

I know she set it to private, but I'm pretty sure she deleted it for a while before she set it to private.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,792 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Not the actions of someone who thinks their tweets are defensible

• Registered Users Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭granturismo

But people wanted change... they didn't care if it was better or worse, once it was change :pac:

Approx 50% of the dail seats went to FF, FG and Labour. The other 50% voted for the other parties and independents, so not everyone wanted change.

a lot of those independents were re-elected too.

most of the Dail make-up is unchanged really.

Reada in the news again today

https://extra.ie/2020/02/23/news/politics/sinn-fein-reada-cronin-planning-permission

I actually remember this. I didn't make the connection though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

https://extra.ie/2020/02/23/news/politics/sinn-fein-reada-cronin-planning-permission

RC in the news here.
    RC in the news during the week
    Read in the Indo during the week that Adams is part of the negotiating team.
    Adams interviewedthe day the results came in on RTÉ. Ahd here I was thinking Adams had retired? Too much of Adams makes me wonder just who is calling the shots in their heirarchy - certainly casts a doubt over Mary Lou.
    Here in Kildare South, the shinner went on holidays during the build-up to the election. Madness!

I don't know- far too much controversy when it comes to SF to take them seriously.

I only wish Doherty & Ó'Broin were in some other party, perhaps the SD's.

That's a fair point.

anewme wrote: »
    That's a fair point.

SF have about 3-4 'decent' members, they are the ones that are rolled out for all TV appearances. But, the rest are a rag tag team of ex IRA bomb makers, anti vaxers, conspiracy theorists etc...

I love how they are the working class party... Cronin and her million euro house, Mary Lou - daughter of a property developer and went to private school, O'Broin went to private school etc.. etc..

SF have about 3-4 'decent' members, they are the ones that are rolled out for all TV appearances. But, the rest are a rag tag team of ex IRA bomb makers, anti vaxers, conspiracy theorists etc...

I love how they are the working class party... Cronin and her million euro house, Mary Lou - daughter of a property developer and went to private school, O'Broin went to private school etc.. etc..

I'd say in fairness theres only about the same in every party plus a few decent Independents.

O"Broin, irrespective of private school, comes across as a serious politician, who you could trust to be involved in Policies, etc.

Hes as different as chalk and cheese to Mark Ward, who's in the same constituency.

As for anyone who voted Cronin, I wonder do they feel foolish now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

anewme wrote: »
    I'd say in fairness theres only about the same in every party plus a few decent Independents.

O"Broin, irrespective of private school, comes across as a serious politician, who you could trust to be involved in Policies, etc.

Hes as different as chalk and cheese to Mark Ward, who's in the same constituency.

As for anyone who voted Cronin, I wonder do they feel foolish now.

Extract from the link above:

‘As a public representative, I will always answer for matters relevant to my role, but matters relating to my family and my personal life are not relevant to my role as a TD. I would have thought that recent discourse surrounding personal issues would have made the media more cognisant of its role in this regard.’

Someone ought to tell this pretentious specimen that when they are public representatives, ALL their matters are open to scrutiny, or at least I think they ( the matters ) should.

Another champagne socialist. I didnt realise she was so well off on her average industrial wage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Another champagne socialist. I didnt realise she was so well off on her average industrial wage.

If you've no money they call you a parasite ; if you've money they call you a hypocrite.

It's tediously transparent.

Maybe some of these blue shirt loser begrudgers should take responsibility for their own lives. Qualify as solicitors maybe?

Blueshirts think money is something you inherit.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭buffalo

If you've no money they call you a parasite ; if you've money they call you a hypocrite.

It's tediously transparent.

Maybe some of these blue shirt loser begrudgers should take responsibility for their own lives. Qualify as solicitors maybe?

Are the people who refer to FG as Blueshirts the same people who refer to SF as terrorists? Both are quite tedious and a tiresome way of trying to shut down debate rather than discuss the matter at hand.

Thats quite the insight into today's FG membership.

The blueshirts are a legacy of the 1930's. Thats 80 years ago, not all current FG TD's can trace their political ancestry to a great/grand parent who supported Franco. The blueshirts were procatholic, anti communist - not exactly the demographic of today's FG. In fact it might describe more accurately some of those who resigned from SF in recent years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Extra.ie :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

"currently lives in a gentrified estate" - it's Moyglare Abbey ffs. And she rents the house she's in. Hardly a "gentrified estate".

• Registered Users Posts: 68,792 ✭✭✭✭L1011

All these things have been reported by other media sources too so you can't write everything off due to where it's been printed