Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

new coronavirus outbreak China, Korea, USA - mod warnings in OP (updated 24/02/20)

(or maybe he's dead? who knows?? he doesn't seem to be moving at all...)

That's how photos work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭creditcarder

fritzelly wrote: »
    Video is over 10 days old

Weird...thank god USATODAY is publishing fresh material :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

The veil is being lifted for a generation of chinese people here. I will be surprised if Xi survives this, will the reformers be enough of a change in the eyes of the people? Even with the strictest censorship, the internet is still a game-changer when we're talking about things of this scale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭creditcarder

That's how photos work.

I imagine he is alive. I could be wrong, but I think a sleeping body has more 'rigidity' than a dead body. So, a dead body would probably have slumped from it's position to the floor.

Again, lads, we all need to settle down here a little bit. I mean my replies are really absurd when I was reading through them :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,789 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

I didn't think it'd be necessary to add an /s to that post...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

SeaBreezes wrote: »
    Hold a minute there, stop putting your filter on my comments. You seem determined to put a racist spin on this.

Maybe 'you' hold a minute there, stop putting your filter on my comments. You seem determined to put a racist spin on this.

The virus started in a huge city in China, at a wet (illegal) market, the authorities failed to act in time, so then is it any surprise now that so many Chinese have it? Basic math bro'.

Also you keep refering to a single (non-peer and non-reviewd) study which looked at a total of 8 donors, and exactly one of them was Asian. An N factor of 1.
    On top of it you have linked to some randomer dude on the twitter aka 'HarmlessYardDog?' not even worthy of a mouse click.

https://mobile.twitter.com/HarmlessYardDog/status/1223275121403662337
    Like I said, you're hardly building a case here, and he's hardly the Lancet.

Not to mention your constant references and filters to males only, so females and youngsters (as well of course as non-Chinese) can't catch this flu?
    Again, bizzare ideas, indeed classic conspiracy soup material:

Your insinuations of this being a Chinese (or even Male Asian) 'only' flu is simply unfounded, unproven and indeed racist. It's simply the virus basin source location, nothing more and nothing less, so stop the spin.

The way things are going it could turn easily into a global situation, then it won't matter one bit which nation has the most cases as it spreads, it will be a problem for humanity as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Latest from BNO

EP5Go9IX0AAjIcE?format=png&name=medium

EP5GrjeX4AAtTOW?format=png&name=medium

EP5GsfqXkAE1KwZ?format=png&name=medium

EP5GqHfWoAENQvp?format=png&name=medium

So those graphs are good news if accurate. For a while last week, it felt like it was growing exponentially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,679 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

So those graphs are good news if accurate. For a while last week, it felt like it was growing exponentially.

Exponentially is a bad way to look at it - when the per day numbers are increasing it is not good
    Today is the biggest increase in infections and deaths

Exponentially is a bad way to look at it
    Today is the biggest increase in infections and deaths

It's an infectious disease. I care about percentage increases.

• Registered Users Posts: 466 ✭✭imfml

Agree but China doesn't appear to have the capacity to test all those presenting at hospital. Even if they did without WHO verification the numbers are meaningless IMHO

I'm just glad it's not doubling every day like it felt for a few days last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Channel 4 on our man in the Wirrel currently under quarantine in the UK

See description under Video - for links to all his videos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,679 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Tis grand then - as long as its not increasing by 50% everyday there is nothing to worry about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

The American couples condition has worsened and they have been transferred to a new facility in SF capable of caring for them

Tis grand then - as long as its not increasing by 50% everyday there is nothing to worry about

I didn't say there's nothing to worry about. I said it's good news the percentage increase is dropping. If I thought there was nothing to worry about, I wouldn't think that was good news, would I.

We need new emojis

EPdB5ZMWkAYsnR6?format=jpg&name=medium

We need new emojis

ukbnE00.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,789 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

We need new emojis

seems to predominantly affect yellow emojis....

This forced extra week off work because of the virus is giving me way too much free time.

Reports of first death in Hong Kong.

If true expect the border to be completely shut under the mounting public protests to have them shut.

Hong Kong has already shut 10 of the 13 border entry points.

China, in the round, is going to pay a severe price on so many levels for this outbreak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

If yer wan in charge on behalf of the CCP does not close the border she will be run out with pitchforks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Fcuk the Hong Kong Death, he was only 39 years old and had an underlying illness.

Yes, the old and people with an underlying illness are very high risk.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5302810/

Another potential transmission method, in the event of outbreaks in Ireland beware communal toilets

There are now 12 confirmed cases in Australia.

They are considering a second evacuation from Wuhan.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2020/feb/04/coronavirus-live-updates-china-wuhan-outbreak-death-toll-latest-news-update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5302810/

Another potential transmission method, in the event of outbreaks in Ireland beware communal toilets

Very interesting.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

President Xi warns virus 'directly affects' economic and social stability of China

The Chinese state news agency Xinhau reports that China’s President Xi has made an important speech to the Standing Committee of the Political Bureau of the Communist Party of China Central Committee on Monday to address the coronavirus outbreak.

The outcome of the epidemic prevention and control directly affects people’s lives and health, the overall economic and social stability and the country’s opening-up, Xinhau says.

Xinhau says Xi demanded “resolute opposition against bureaucratism and the practice of formalities for formalities’ sake in the prevention work”.

Those who disobey the unified command or shirk off responsibilities will be punished, Xi said. The report said that the party and government leaders supervising them would also be held accountable in severe cases.

Chinese Communist Party and their leader is looking mighty weak

• Registered Users Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭SeaBreezes

Maybe 'you' hold a minute there, stop putting your filter on my comments. You seem determined to put a racist spin on this.

The virus started in a huge city in China, at a wet (illegal) market, the authorities failed to act in time, so then is it any surprise now that so many Chinese have it? Basic math bro'.

Also you keep refering to a single (non-peer and non-reviewd) study which looked at a total of 8 donors, and exactly one of them was Asian. An N factor of 1.
    On top of it you have linked to some randomer dude on the twitter aka 'HarmlessYardDog?' not even worthy of a mouse click.

https://mobile.twitter.com/HarmlessYardDog/status/1223275121403662337
    Like I said, you're hardly building a case here, and he's hardly the Lancet.

Not to mention your constant references and filters to males only, so females and youngsters (as well of course as non-Chinese) can't catch this flu?
    Again, bizzare ideas, indeed classic conspiracy soup material:

Your insinuations of this being a Chinese (or even Male Asian) 'only' flu is simply unfounded, unproven and indeed racist. It's simply the virus basin source location, nothing more and nothing less, so stop the spin.

The way things are going it could turn easily into a global situation, then it won't matter one bit which nation has the most cases as it spreads, it will be a problem for humanity as a whole.

Yet again YOU are saying this, and suggesting racism not me.
    I am not suggesting anything of the kind. This is a serious virus which Can affect ANYONE. And I agree it has a global pandemic possibility just like Spanish flu.

It is similar to SARS with the ACE2 component (as per the lancet journal)
    https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lancet/article/PIIS0140-6736(20)30183-5/fulltext

with that ability to use human ACE2 as a receptor, thus having replication potentials in human cells.

Are you saying the lancet is now to be ignored because someone retweeted it on twitter?

And yes, there are many non peer reviewed papers out there. Thanks be to god, as soon as anything new is known about this virus it's published immediately so the global community can learn and help.

If your genetic makeup includes more ACE2, then you are MORE susceptible to to complications from this awful virus.

South Korean airlines suspending more than half of their flights to China (55 out of 100). Other routes to China reduced including Beijing.

9 now in Vietnam. Another from the group who went to Wuhan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

South Korean airlines suspending more than half of their flights to China (55 out of 100). Other routes to China reduced including Beijing.

Probably more commercial considerations than anything. No point in flying 20% full planes around and losing money hand over fist.

That said, this has the potential to mangle the regional economy if it rumbles on. I saw on CNN that a motorbike factory in Korea had to cease production because they couldn't source just 1 part from China.

China is in the process of being isolated from the rest of the world because no one believes them. They don't believe the origin, they don't believe the numbers and they certainly don't believe the CCP politburo propaganda.

This is far worse than the CCP allows the world to know.

In fairness you can understand it - their survival depends on internal belief.

If they can protect Beijing and Shanghai from the worst of the epidemic then they live (severely weakened) to go on and that's the game now for the CCP. Do what they can inland but protect the coastal cities at all cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

China is in the process of being isolated from the rest of the world because no one believes them. They don't believe the origin, they don't believe the numbers and they certainly don't believe the CCP politburo propaganda.

This is far worse than the CCP allows the world to know.

In fairness you can understand it - their survival depends on internal belief.

If they can protect Beijing and Shanghai from the worst of the epidemic then they live (severely weakened) to go on and that's the game now for the CCP. Do what they can inland but protect the coastal cities at all cost.

Agreed. Was watching a video of the 'new hospital' by a worker on the site. It's a place to die in quarantine, not a place to recover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Macau have ordered all their casinos to be shut for 2 weeks. Considering gaming makes up 70% of their economy that's huge. They had also began temperature scanning staff and guests back at the beginning of January over fears about the "unknown kind of pneumonia" from Wuhan. Interesting. That's a lot earlier than it became known to the rest of the world. Here is an article from then

https://www.casino.org/news/macau-casinos-to-install-body-scanners-as-pneumonia-fears-grow/

I cant imagine if all the casinos here in Vegas closed. If that happens ****s definitely serious and we're probably all dying.

Yurt! wrote: »

Agreed. Was watching a video of the 'new hospital' by a worker on the site. It's a place to die in quarantine, not a place to recover.

I wouldn't go that far. They are evidently trying their very best.

It's that nobody believes them. That the problem is far more severe and out of control than the rest of the world knows.

That is principally why countries are taking actions that many think are over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Yurt! wrote: »

I wouldn't go that far either. Could be of genuine use a place like that. I came home a few months ago to me folks with a bug. I didn't want to pass it on to them. But what could I do really. I had nowhere to go at the drop of a hat. Hope your neighbors are playing ok with you spiritually there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Chinese Communist Party and their leader is looking mighty weak

They just don't get it, by controlling media, by instituting totalitarian control, you erode any trust. What appears like strength is a great weakness when trust is required. Now noone will voluntarily present for treatment because they have created a culture of fear and distrust, this is why authoritarianism in any form without consent will always fail the people. I don't think this will be contained. they should go back to military parades and revisionism.

I would not mistake the WHO support of China as an endorsement, they are essentially forced to support, it's our best hope, to contain it there and criticising their administration is not a way to influence them to improve.

In fairness I think the underfunded WHO is doing well, they need to call more attention to 3rd world asian and african countries, where it will spread exponentially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I wouldn't go that far. They are evidently trying their very best.

It's that nobody believes them. That the problem is far more severe and out of control than the rest of the world knows.

That is principally why countries are taking actions that many think are over the top.[/QUOTE]

I honestly do not think any precautions are over the top in a situation like this. We live in a world where travel is easy and efficient so the danger of a rapid spread is very real.

Are folk here worried? Taking precautions? My remoteness and isolation out here are safe, and I keep good stocks of food in anyways as we can be cut off in bad weather..

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/south-asia/kerala-declares-coronavirus-state-calamity-to-intensify-efforts-to-contain-virus-in

Some 2,239 Indians have returned to Kerala from Wuhan, of whom 2,155 have been quarantined at home and 84 admitted to isolation wards in hospitals.

Now does anyone know of this is a reliable website, its in Chinese I think but chrome auto translates. Take with a grain of salt if it's not verifiable but if it is then this Is certainly no normal head cold

China is now threatening those ‘spreading rumors’ about the virus with the death penalty.
    http://www.bjnews.com.cn/news/2020/02/03/683860.html
    “To crack down on virus-related “crimes”, the People’s Supreme Court in Heilongjang province issued a notice to warn the public that spreading rumors about the virus could receive death penalty on the grounds of “endangering public security”, and those found guilty of making “subversive” or exaggerated comments could receive 15 years.

Edit : Just adding that it seems to be legit but I'd like a second opinion or third or fourth because this is crazy

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Beijing_News

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/south-asia/kerala-declares-coronavirus-state-calamity-to-intensify-efforts-to-contain-virus-in

Some 2,239 Indians have returned to Kerala from Wuhan, of whom 2,155 have been quarantined at home and 84 admitted to isolation wards in hospitals.

I am 3 hours from Kerala, there are people with leprosy here, how long before it spreads do you think?

Here until the end of the month.....

I am 3 hours from Kerala, there are people with leprosy here, how long before it spreads do you think?

Here until the end of the month.....

Look at the numbers for individual Chinese cities and see how long it took to go from a number comparable to Kerala to a number you're not comfortable to go near an airport etc.

Spouse is working in a major hospital here also, I am actually not so concerned about contracting this virus as I am about the measures that could be imposed on those infected or even those potentially infected. I've never been sick in my life. Maybe that's hubris.

I do not want to be trapped so far away or spread to vulnerable people.

I will wait and see for another week.

SA = South Australia in this case not South Africa
    https://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/real-estate-agency-closed-after-confirmed-sa-coronavirus-victims-attended-firle-house-auction/news-story/437540c6ad432abc0dddeb4e4fabc1dd
    SA coronavirus victims’ phones taken by SA Police and SA Health to identify their movements since landing
    It is known the Chinese couple attended an auction at 4 Pam St Firle at 6.30pm the following day and authorities are contacting up to 30 people who were at the event, while auctioneer Ray White Real Estate at Dulwich has temporarily closed as a precaution.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-02-04/real-estate-firm-says-coronavirus-victims-attended-auction/11927622

a few days earlier:

South Australia's chief public health officer Nicola Spurrier said they believed no one else in the state had been exposed to the pair.

"All of the right procedures were undertaken so we're not concerned about spread during that time and they have self-isolated in their home awaiting the results of the test," Dr Spurrier said.

"I can reassure people that we do not think there has been any contact with anybody else in the state," she said.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-02-01/coronavirus-confirmed-in-south-australia-and-victoria/11920754

basically they landed in australia and the very next day were bidding at an auction, did a couple of days sightseeing then got sick and pretended that they had self isolated the whole time.

People cannot be trusted to self isolate. Not when the stakes are so high.

Ok, I guess those numbers in Kerala make sense now. People were very concerned when they declared an emergency over three infections.