Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election TV debates

• Registered Users Posts: 11,672 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

After a funny start, Mary Lou has taken the lead imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 iCareNotOneJot

Leo just needs to get out without getting hit too hard. He hasnt a leg to stand on really

• Registered Users Posts: 82,837 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Now some action.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,018 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

What I can't understand is who is in all these social houses?

I thought social houses were for people without jobs. But then I thought we had record low unemployment.
    Also 1 million medical cards? WTF.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

This is great craic

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm loving Claire tonight I have to say. Taking no messing!

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

This is quite a ding dong. Claire doing much better than I thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Both of them walked into that :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Martin led with his chin there. "You can't pretend you weren't there."

• Registered Users Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Who's this tree hugger with the wrinkly shirt?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

these people will clap for just about anything to do with a free gaf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 iCareNotOneJot

Are people going to seriously vote for any of these ?

Why encourage them ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

Can’t stand him but boyd Barrett is bc winning this hands down

• Registered Users Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

What a woman.

M

Far better tonight than the Presidential Debates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Stupid garda question. Modern policing has changed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Underground

Everyone clamouring for Mary Lou to be involved in the debate over the last week. Have to say she's been extremely disappointing here.

I've no love for FF but MM is totally right about extending the confidence and supply whilst the no deal brexit was on the cards. But no, she's there talking about the kid eating on the street etc, piss poor argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,057 ✭✭✭✭L1011

sdanseo wrote: »
    1. Interest rates are the highest in Europe despite the banks offering them being owned, at least in part, by the state

Because houses are basically non repossessable so they have no security forcing them to borrow at much higher rates.

Varadkar is trying to use preprepared statements all the way. He's using the method he used to get the ~580 or whatever points in his Leaving to get Medicine by remembering soundbites, cliches and algorithms isn't he? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nah he's just hitting the obvious easy answers.

Anyone can do that

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Rural crime bureau : Traveller Taskforce sounds way cooler.

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Same as myself but hes having a stormer.

M

Rural crime is rather easy to solve.

Jesus - Claire looking well again tonight !

• Registered Users Posts: 10,770 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Frank is a retired Garda I suspect.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,110 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

sdanseo wrote: »
    I deplore socialism but RBB has made three very reasonable points.
    1. Interest rates are the highest in Europe despite the banks offering them being owned, at least in part, by the state
    2. The state made woeful decisions to sell off public assets at poor prices
    3. European models of renting state owned housing regardless of status, the only thing that changes is the means tested rent.

The state providing subsidy for housing is not a bad thing, but it needs to be tightly controlled so as not to disincentivise work. Delicate balance.
    1. I would think a large part of that is the fact that people cant be evicted for years and sit paying feck all?
    2. True ridiculously cheaply to vulture funds as well.
    3. Tennants are not paying state owned rents and they are a pittance (more than half are behind in rent, 20% more than 6 months behind).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

- You were shit in government

- Yeah, well you were shitter in government so there

Bunch of fucking kids

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

People deciding to have kids without a house over their head should have a touch of responsibility too.

If any of them even suggest people were accountable for their actions they would have my vote

• Registered Users Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

The aul rural garda and he sat in the station all day.

Sure why would he attend the scene of an armed robbery where his life could be in danger

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

In sound bites yes but dig into the policies a bit deeper and that will change quickly.

Nah he's just hitting the obvious easy answers.

Anyone can do that

But there not , he’s stating facts the sell off of cheap housing was a disgrace , turn around trying to built them again !
    How thick can u get after that !
    Or is it just a case of brown envelopes!