Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election TV debates

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

It means it wasn't an issue worth mentioning by FF/FG until very recently, which is my actual point.

Quinn’s mother used the election as an opportunity to highlight how her son was horrifically murdered by men with extremely close links to the PIRA. What would you have had FF and FG do? Ignore it? Tell her to come back after the election? When exactly is a good time to discuss how her son has every bone in his body below his neck broken because he has the temerity to get into a fight with the son of some IRA sociopath?

• Registered Users Posts: 69,184 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The Gardaí response to border smuggling has been insufficient. But focussing on that as a way to defend the people actually doing the smuggling is laughably illogical. Can you not see that?

I'm defending the people doing the smuggling?

Are you serious here?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,835 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

No. The argument is it's nothing to do with ML, or in the Quinn case SF at all, even historically.
    The reasoning for FF/FG being full of it with the faux concern is using victims to score points.

You seen this?

That sounds like a fudge to me based on mimimal infomation at hand 12 years ago.

Why does Paul Quinn's mother say the following so?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/mother-of-alleged-ira-victim-urges-electorate-to-remember-her-son-when-voting-1.4160675

I suppose she is expressing 'faux concern' as well? :rolleyes:

Again these are not the type of discussions people have about normal political parties.
    But of course SF is more than a party...

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

I don't have the names of every minister up north on the tip of my tongue.
    Good for you.

It’s not like his name hasn’t been front and centre in the news and prominent in the debate last night.

Were you watching the debate?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Quinn’s mother used the election as an opportunity to highlight how her son was horrifically murdered by men with extremely close links to the PIRA. What would you have had FF and FG do? Ignore it? Tell her to come back after the election? When exactly is a good time to discuss how her son has every bone in his body below his neck broken because he has the temerity to get into a fight with the son of some IRA sociopath?

Fair play to her. It's sad FF/FG couldn't give two f***s every other time over the years. Not since then leader Bertie Ahern said it was among criminals. Maybe Murphy, (Murphy SS?) got his info off of Ahern.
    From 'extremely close links' to 'some IRA'.
    Look, FF/FG couldn't care less and are using the mother for political points. Great she's getting the attention but unfortunate it means nothing. As I said if he were some criminal in Blanchards town they mightn't even comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭1641

Ouch, you're thinking of Fine Gael and the blueshirts.

No. Just a murder gang and a political party joined at the hip but practising (im)plausible deniability.

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    It’s not like his name hasn’t been front and centre in the news and prominent in the debate last night.

Were you watching the debate?

No. Read about it. Dropped in and out. Not arsed learning all their names up there SS. I don't follow the north past bigger issues relating to the country at large. I couldn't name all the FG ministers either to be honest.

That sounds like a fudge to me based on mimimal infomation at hand 12 years ago.

Why does Paul Quinn's mother say the following so?

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/mother-of-alleged-ira-victim-urges-electorate-to-remember-her-son-when-voting-1.4160675

I suppose she is expressing 'faux concern' as well? :rolleyes:

Again these are not the type of discussions people have about normal political parties.
    But of course SF is more than a party...

SF have an almost 40 year conflict/war in their recent history...where have you been?
    Of course they are not a 'normal party' in the sense the modern FG or FF party are. But they too once emerged from a decade or more of bitter and violent struggle.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Decrying using victims to score points. If he were beaten to death in a working class burb of Dublin it would be news for a day or two and forgotten. I doubt Flanagan would even comment. So no, I don't believe the faux outrage and do not like victims or their families being used so cheaply.
    I hope ML stands firm and does not bow to this politically motivated bull****. Leave these things to the authorities. Maybe if they went after the perpetrators rather than ML Mrs. Quinn might get better closure.

So victims of homelessness shouldn't be used to score points, or is it just victims of the IRA supported by Sinn Fein who shouldn't be used to score points.

1641 wrote: »
    No. Just a murder gang and a political party joined at the hip but practising (im)plausible deniability.

No, that's still Fine Gael. Granted historically.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,145 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Sarcozies wrote: »
    Does anyone else think it's odd that immigration didn't come up once last night? I don't care what side of the aisle your views are on, the fact it was not even up for discussion is so suspicious.

Be a boring topic considering all 3 parties are pro immigration.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭1641

No, that's still Fine Gael. Granted historically.

And Sinn Fein currently. Thank you!

blanch152 wrote: »
    So victims of homelessness shouldn't be used to score points, or is it just victims of the IRA supported by Sinn Fein who shouldn't be used to score points.

Government ministers, like it or not, carry responsibility for how society functions. The homeless are not some social subset different from you or I, they are homeless people. Irish people under the care and authority of the Irish state. Currently run by FF/FG. So FF/FG should be called out on every issue under their remit how ever uncomfortable for their spin merchants.
    You were attacking a homeless charity the other day because they called out FG false figures.
    I'd suggest you contact the proper authorities and the IRA with any gripes you might have. The homeless are FG/FF's responsibility. The Paul Quinn murder has zero to do with ML or SF and Bertie Ahern, when leading Ireland stated nothing to do with the IRA either.

Here's another issue for FF/FG to dodge in this jurisdiction:
    Thousands taking part in protest over childcare 'crisis'
    00138c28-800.jpg
    https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0205/1113244-childcare-funding/

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Government ministers, like it or not, carry responsibility for how society functions. The homeless are not some social subset different from you or I, they are homeless people. Irish people under the care and authority of the Irish state. Currently run by FF/FG. So FF/FG should be called out on every issue under their remit how ever uncomfortable for their spin merchants.
    You were attacking a homeless charity the other day because they called out FG false figures.
    I'd suggest you contact the proper authorities and the IRA with any gripes you might have. The homeless are FG/FF's responsibility. The Paul Quinn murder has zero to do with ML or SF and Bertie Ahern, when leading Ireland stated nothing to do with the IRA either.

Here's another issue for FF/FG to dodge in this jurisdiction:

As I thought, once again, different rules for Sinn Fein.

It is transparently laughable.

blanch152 wrote: »
    As I thought, once again, different rules for Sinn Fein.

It is transparently laughable.

In short, people have every right and duty to call the Irish government out on Irish issues.

I can't wait until the election. If the people win or lose at least we'll hear less crap out of FF/FG and their stooges...until the next Bailey, Farrell, Murphy, state contract etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

I'm hoping they do this more.it's going to backfire.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,211 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

When will the SF supporters on here realise it's time to stop digging! Even poor old Mary Lou has gone to ground over this debacle.

I don't think many care about the issue on the grand scale of things the country is dealing with, including MM and LV.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,668 ✭✭✭✭maccored

1641 wrote: »
    Absolutely - In just the same way as the National Socialist Party had no links to the Brownshirts.

So you say sf are linked to the murder? Jaysus - one couldnt make it up

She is just after doing an interview on it ffs. Murphy has issued the apology.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

If Murphy has issued the apology that should be the end of it.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

The sad thing is that because it has been turned into a political football, by people with agenda's other than the welfare of the victims, the truth of it just gets murkier and murkier.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

The sad thing is that because it has been turned into a political football, by people with agenda's other than the welfare of the victims, the truth of it just gets murkier and murkier.

Like Jonathan Corrie who SF constantly bring up for political football?

I will give you a few minutes to produce ... 3 examples of them using his name in this election campaign. If they 'constantly' use him then it should be easy to produce links.

Your time starts now......1...2....3....

TBF, Jonathan Corrie and Paul Quinn are completely different issues, what ever their merit in being raised politically.

Of course they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,211 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

He's talking to Tommy Orman on drive time now. He's actually making a bigger bollocking of it THAN ML did!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Nobody cares. Its a 13 year old story brought up in order to sling mud at SF. An undesirable got mixed in with other undesirables and it led to an undesirable situation.

Also didnt the media at the time mention the victim was involved in criminality?