Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election TV debates

• Registered Users Posts: 24,401 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Zetor19 wrote: »
    A different poll out tonight sf 25 Ff 22 tans 17 😀

Tans never ceases to crack me up

An analogy.

On February 8th you will be given a choice of 2 Circuses. Duffys or Fossetts. Both have same amount of clowns.....Which one will you vote for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

McMurphy wrote: »
    I get the feeling the realdanbreen is a realFFdiehard.

I doubt very much leo will still be leader by Easter if they suffer as big a seat loss as is being predicted.

I'd speculate they will leave him until the time is right. If a FF/SF coalition is formed then they will be in no rush. Let the dust settle first.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,286 ✭✭✭emo72

lawred2 wrote: »
    Himself and Murphy have been buried by FG HQ for this election campaign.. an obvious attempt by FG to try and not talk about where they are failing the most.

Now that you mention it I haven't heard from them in weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,971 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

IMV anyone who votes SF has blood on their hands. Easy enough to Scratch a box, but that is your choice.

No doubt about it, SF is a party of many different voices and opinions.
    Adams and McG were masters at keeping them all onside and on message mostly.
    I think history will look kindly on their achievement there tbh.

I don't get the sense SF were ready for this. I don't think anyone was really.

Fair enough- then they're probably "reacting" rather than "responding", which is not a nice place to be in an election.

Personally speaking, I think this shows up their limitations- they didn't have a vision- they went blindly into this election in their normal mode of "attack the opposition" on the basis they might increase their seats by a few, which was a reasonable expectation- and just didn't know what to do, or how to handle, the surge in support.

Like I said, IMHO, it was a hugely missed opportunity- and I think by your replies, you don't disagree.

Have to say, fair play to you defending the party you love- I don't agree with SF policies so I won't be voting for them. But maybe other parties need to devote time to passionate defending, as you do. The world is changing fast and it's becoming he/she who shouts, not loudest, but with as much simplicity and through the right channels, with the words that resonate most with the voters, that will win elections.

This Leadership debate was one of the blandest i've seen- but the next one, after this election, I'm expecting "fireworks" - because I think all parties will realise, that their current approach is 40 years out of date.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,401 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Charlie Kelly is a looper anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

easypazz wrote: »
    I'd speculate they will leave him until the time is right. If a FF/SF coalition is formed then they will be in no rush. Let the dust settle first.

I've literally my money on a FF minority govt, so we'll see I suppose.

I said ages ago that Varadkar had no hope whatsoever of leading FG back to govt under his own steam when he was shunted into his position over coveney, and I think I'm going to be proven right.

I am also on record of guessing that Madigan could lose her seat as a direct consequence of her and Maria Bailey's shenanigans.

Not long to see how it pans out now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

IMV anyone who votes SF has blood on their hands. Easy enough to Scratch a box, but that is your choice.

FF and FG have stabbed me more times than SF ever could

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Haha that guy was on the Freeman Mega thread. First time seeing him talk, he's certainly living up to his reputation.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,152 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

If Martin refuses to form a Govt with SF then I believe he’ll be ousted. He will definitely change his mind before that happens. He’s not stupid and will want to lead a Govt. There seems to be plenty of FF members in favour of it.

There is another possibility that I don`t think anybody has considered.

If those predictions are anyway close, Martin could go for a minority government with Lab and the Greens and a side deal with a few generic FF TD`s as back-up for tight Dail votes.

All that would require is FG not proposing Varadkar and abstaining from the vote on Martin for Taoiseach.
    Maybe a bit off the wall, but is it not a possibility ?

I said ages ago that Varadkar had no hope whatsoever of leading FG back to govt under his own steam when he was shunted into his position over coveney, and I think I'm going to be proven right.

I am also on record of guessing that Madigan could lose her seat as a direct consequence of her and Maria Bailey's shenanigans.

I don't think you're wrong, and if you are, not by much (in that Leo just might scrape it by the narrowest of margins)- SO! what's your prediction on another General Election in the next 18 months? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 21,526 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Well If MM takes in Soc Dems as well, the number may go over 80. Both Roisin and Catherine are two of the best TDs in the Dail.
    This I hope would be a good, social Govn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,152 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Apologies.
    I thought I was the first to mention the possibility of a minority government.:o

• Registered Users Posts: 69,184 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Fair enough- then they're probably "reacting" rather than "responding", which is not a nice place to be in an election.

Personally speaking, I think this shows up their limitations- they didn't have a vision- they went blindly into this election in their normal mode of "attack the opposition" on the basis they might increase their seats by a few, which was a reasonable expectation- and just didn't know what to do, or how to handle, the surge in support.

Like I said, IMHO, it was a hugely missed opportunity- and I think by your replies, you don't disagree.

Have to say, fair play to you defending the party you love- I don't agree with SF policies so I won't be voting for them. But maybe other parties need to devote time to passionate defending, as you do. The world is changing fast and it's becoming he/she who shouts, not loudest, but with as much simplicity and through the right channels, with the words that resonate most with the voters, that will win elections.

This Leadership debate was one of the blandest i've seen- but the next one, after this election, I'm expecting "fireworks" - because I think all parties will realise, that their current approach is 40 years out of date.

If you think I 'love' any political party then you are sadly mistaken.

I recognise all their foibles and the bluster and the bull****. I also recognise what they achieve and do.

In 4 years time we will be back here arguing and debating the merits and faults of those going forward for election...how many of the manifesto promises of any of the parties do you think will be fulfilled? They will like the ones the last time and the time before that, be forgotten and people will cod themselves that the glossy new ones are relevant and true. :) What do they say about one born every minute?

FF and FG have stabbed me more times than SF ever could

SF haven't had the chance to be in Government to gouge you yet in favour of their REAL core vote who get everything that we pay for their loyal compatriots, And will continue to pay for ad infinitum.

Socialism has never worked worldwide anywhere, Cuba. Venezuela, and so many other countries worldwide. Got to realise that someone has to pay for this largesse. And those who are paying are pissed off now.

Yates and Cooper are just sitting there waiting to butt in on answers.

Wild annoying as they say in Donegal.

SF haven't had the chance to be in Government to gouge you yet in favour of their REAL core vote who get everything that we pay for their loyal compatriots, And will continue to pay for ad infinitum.

Socialism has never worked worldwide anywhere, Cuba. Venezuela, and so many other countries worldwide. Got to realise that someone has to pay for this largesse. And those who are paying are pissed off now.

You are paying because of 100 yrs of FF FG government power swaps.

There isn't much hope for you, honestly.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Are you saying Ireland is in a worst state than Venezuela for its 100 years of FFG oppression?

One of the most fairest and prosperous countries in the world.

Have you eve ventured outside of Ireland?

I don't think you're wrong, and if you are, not by much (in that Leo just might scrape it by the narrowest of margins)- SO! what's your prediction on another General Election in the next 18 months? :P

I think there could be 2 G.Es in 2020.

If you think I 'love' any political party then you are sadly mistaken.

That was MY assumption- apologies.

I just naturally thought that as you are such a prolific poster in favour of that party- Sinn Fein- that you have, at least, some sort of affiliation, or "passion" for that party. Why else would you defend them, as you're doing? Remember, I'm only a poster here debating the issues of the day, so I can only respond, on the basis of how I see others respond.

I've contributed to a number of "election" threads, and i've criticised FG, FF, the Greens and SF, in probably equal measure- funnily enough I haven't criticised Labour, but they're so irrelevant in this election, it reminds me of the David Steel/David Owen spitting image puppets (there, i've slagged off Labour, finally :P)

I just do hope you don't vote Green- please tell me, none of your preferences will be for "Green"? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Socialist policies doing very well in Scandinavia under the Nordic models being employed in Norway Finland Sweden Denmark and Iceland.
    We have crony capitalism here that we're trying to get rid of and FF and FG are part of that.

smurgen wrote: »
    Socialist policies doing very well in Scandinavia under the Nordic models being employed in Norway Finland Sweden Denmark and Iceland.
    We have crony capitalism here that we're trying to get rid of and FF and FG are part of that.

All have more homeless than Ireland bar Iceland.

https://www.humanityinaction.org/knowledge_detail/homelessness-in-a-welfare-state-perspectives-from-copenhagen/

"Experts estimate that there are 10,000 to 15,000 homeless people in Denmark, about half of which live in the Copenhagen metropolitan area. The number of homeless persons continues to increase"

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Life long FG voter but prob gonna vote for SF.

Mind me asking why? I am generally on the fence right now. Have done research and still not 100%.

What has turned a life long FG supporter off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Noonan was out of the traps today endorsing Pascal as Leo's replacement. Couldn't even wait till Sunday the gobsh*te.

Fewer years than than that I think.

Anyway no worries, your beloved SF will come to power one day.

Sure we are paying for your voters anyway. They think it's coming from SF, but in fact it is from those working,contributing and paying.

No medical card for us, or A rated houses within the city limits either. Whether working or not.

Does SF not realise that those struggling are paying for this largesse also?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

All have more homeless than Ireland bar Iceland.

https://www.humanityinaction.org/knowledge_detail/homelessness-in-a-welfare-state-perspectives-from-copenhagen/

"Experts estimate that there are 10,000 to 15,000 homeless people in Denmark, about half of which live in the Copenhagen metropolitan area. The number of homeless persons continues to increase"

Give it time if your friends in FG get back in again they'll surpass the Danes, they do like breaking records.

That was MY assumption- apologies.

I just naturally thought that as you are such a prolific poster in favour of that party- Sinn Fein- that you have, at least, some sort of affiliation, or "passion" for that party. Why else would you defend them, as you're doing? Remember, I'm only a poster here debating the issues of the day, so I can only respond, on the basis of how I see others respond.

I've contributed to a number of "election" threads, and i've criticised FG, FF, the Greens and SF, in probably equal measure- funnily enough I haven't criticised Labour, but they're so irrelevant in this election, it reminds me of the David Steel/David Owen spitting image puppets (there, i've slagged off Labour, finally :P)

I just do hope you don't vote Green- please tell me, none of your preferences will be for "Green"? :D

I've explained why I might seem to be a SF voter many times here. Not getting into it again.
    You won't see me defending all of their policies here including their economic policy which I think is flaky and in need of a stint in a coalition government tbh.

I think they are ready now for coalition. Simple as.

And yes, my local Green is a first time 21 yr old and I will be giving him a preference purely for having the balls to stand up and be counted. He's a good community activist too.
    I have no time for the Irish Green party tbh.

Give it time if your friends in FG get back in again they'll surpass the Danes, they do like breaking records.

So the Nordic way doesnt work as it's worst than Ireland.

Thanks we must be doing something right.

Calhoun wrote: »
    Mind me asking why? I am generally on the fence right now. Have done research and still not 100%.

What has turned a life long FG supporter off?

"Because they've become extremely arrogant and out of touch, having been in power for far too bloody long" was the answer I heard being given to Newstalks Henry McKean by a man with a rather salubrious accent around 2pm today.

Be said he was a life time FG voter and was going to give the shinners a no1 and it was something to do with his 91 Yo mother, who was incapacitated now, in a first floor apartment, who he said he could not get a gp to attend her to give her injections etc, and the chemist wasn't allowed.

That wasn't the only reason, but between being in a crap area and my phone going bananas, that bit stuck out in particular.