Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election TV debates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Idbatterim wrote: »
    I did, the SDZ is madness, massively capping nonsensical heights! So you think they should apply the law, that is insane? and a massive part of this crisis?

Of course they should apply the law, what are you proposing a wild west of build whatever the f**k you like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,447 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Of course they should apply the law, what are you proposing a wild west of build whatever the f**k you like?

you think DCC creating much of this crisis is acceptable? do you think 6-7 floor buildings and ridiculous height caps imposed by DCC in the docklands is acceptable?

I am voting SF, FG are leading this change, I voted for them previously. You can expect the working masses to be robbed on property, given as good as no tax cuts and what? wait another nine years? LOL!

One new party to the centre right and the SF surge and this near century FFG farce, could come crashing down! I pray to god it does!

I say centre right as a lazy generalisation. I mean a party that will actually reward workers, you already have every other base here covered. It would actually give people a choice and stop some of the delusionment!

Seriously lad, I doubt if anyone cares how you are voting . Early this week you were converted back to voting for FG now it's to SF. I know it's an anonymous forum but surely you would like to have some credibility?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I am voting SF, FG are leading this change, I voted for them previously. You can expect the working masses to be robbed on property, given as good as no tax cuts and what? wait another nine years? LOL!

One new party to the centre right and the SF surge and this near century FFG farce, could come crashing down! I pray to god it does!

I say centre right as a lazy generalisation. I mean a party that will actually reward workers, you already have every other base here covered. It would actually give people a choice and stop some of the delusionment!

Dude, you’ve changed your mind on who you are voting for about 7000 times in the last year. Nobody cares at this stage.

you think DCC creating much of this crisis is acceptable? do you think 6-7 floor buildings and ridiculous height caps imposed by DCC in the docklands is acceptable?

The link you supplied outlined their position, they are keeping within the agreed SDZ. It can be changed once it has undergone public consultation. Typical of the Irish attitude we make up rules and then decide f**k it we don't like them let's ignore them.

public consultation LOL? here is how it will go, local residents living in there single story cottages "no 5 floor high rise" here... But yes, wonder why we have a housing crisis! LOL! lets throw in several public consulations, with the local experts, cant wait to be discussing the exact same issues the next election... When SF will likely be able to win the most seats... i mean, lets hope FFG get to grips with this, but they wont, because of paralysis, endless public consultations and waffling...

Dude, you’ve changed your mind on who you are voting for about 7000 times in the last year. Nobody cares at this stage.

that is due to the fact that I dont think there is a clear cut answer to this farce. But if you wonder why FG voters are deflecting, well I am one of them and you have my reasons...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,782 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

those height limits have been exceeded multiple times in the Docklands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Some **** on this thread about SF, I have been a SF supporter since the early 80s. and would never vote for any of the thugs that are FG or FF.

Since the early 80s right, ballot box in one hand, armalite in the other, which that means you would have supported Provisional IRA bombings, murders etc, right :mad:

Nothing to be proud of, that's for sure.

At least the young folk nowadays are voting for SF because they are mostly ignorant or indifferent to what went on before, but you have no excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,788 ✭✭✭✭maccored

Early 80s, ballot box in one hand, armalite in the other!

that was mid 80s.

maccored wrote: »
    that was mid 80s.

82, 83, 84...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

that is due to the fact that I dont think there is a clear cut answer to this farce. But if you wonder why FG voters are deflecting, well I am one of them and you have my reasons...
    I thought it was the Greens earlier in the week?

votecounts wrote: »
    So much respect for a murdered victim, you don't even know his name:(

I said Paul Murphy instead of Conor Murphy (who I was referring to), you sound like a Sinn Fein supporter, are you?

It's what you call a 'typo' which is hardly a crime.

is_that_so wrote: »
    I thought it was the Greens earlier in the week?

yeah I dont mention them though, as they arent the ones arousing the controversy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

yeah I dont mention them though, as they arent the ones arousing the controversy....

Are you even registered to vote? 🤔

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Are you even registered to vote? 🀔

At this stage i'd be wondering is he old enough to vote.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Are you even registered to vote? 🤔

ha! yes...

Plumbthedepths right you tell me your position, go on, tell me which party are so fantastic, that I am an idiot for not considering them, please go ahead....

ha! yes...

Plumbthedepths right you tell me your position, go on, tell me which party are so fantastic, that I am an idiot for not considering them, please go ahead....

Not my place to tell you who it's best to vote for. Simply vote for someone whose values align to yours. But I do suggest you grow up and stop with the nonsensical ranting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

A lady was just on Joooooeeee Duffy.
    I didn't hear the beginning of what she was speaking about, it sounded like local teens causing trouble. Joe asked would she not speak to her local TD about it when they come knocking, she said that nobody has knocked yet, and anyway, she is sick of all the false promises and lies from them, at this stage she is thinking of voting SF.
    She's not the only one, there are thousands out there.

FG and FF can go on about Paul Quinn until they are blue in the face, and they can talk about SF's paramilitary links and that they are not a normal party etc..
    Basically, they can keep reminding everyone where SF came from and their past, all they like.
    The one thing that they themselves need to realise, is that most of people that plan to vote SF this weekend already know that. They are well aware of all of those things and more, yet are still going to vote for them, and these aren't the SF loyal.
    They are the average person at home.

Why will they be likely to vote for them?
    Because FF and FG have driven them to it.
    It is as simple as that. So instead of looking around and giving out about the other parties, maybe they should be looking at the massive f*ck up they themselves have put themselves in, and what they can do (really do, actually physically make happen) about it to win them back.
    A good start would be to end the lies, the false promises, the cronyism and the 'loyal to us' benefits.
    The easy stuff, that doesn't cost anything to fix.
    If they are lucky enough to get the chance again, those should be the first things to be addressed. Not mentioned, just proven.

Suckit wrote: »
    I didn't hear the beginning of what she was speaking about, it sounded like local teens causing trouble. Joe asked would she not speak to her local TD about it when they come knocking, she said that nobody has knocked yet, and anyway, she is sick of all the false promises and lies from them, at this stage she is thinking of voting SF.

FG and FF can go on about Paul Quinn until they are blue in the face, and they can talk about SF's paramilitary links and that they are not a normal party etc..
    Basically, they can keep reminding everyone where SF came from and their past, all they like.
    The one thing that they themselves need to realise, is that most of people that plan to vote SF this weekend already know that. They are well aware of all of those things and more, yet are still going to vote for them, and these aren't the SF loyal.

It is as simple as that. So instead of looking around and giving out about the other parties, maybe they should be looking at the massive f*ck up they themselves have put themselves in, and what they can do (really do, actually physically make happen) about it to win them back.
    A good start would be to end the lies, the false promises, the cronyism and the 'loyal to us' benefits.
    If they are lucky enough to get the chance again, those should be the first things to be addressed. Not mentioned, just proven.

This! It is that simple, they have driven many people to SF, FFG have done it, nobody else :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭Billcarson

People are starting to really cop on to ff and fg,just a pity it took so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Suckit wrote: »

Sweet Jesus! You couldn't make this up.The lady on Joooee Duffy is thinking of voting SF so that's your mind made up so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Sweet Jesus! You couldn't make this up.The lady on Joooee Duffy is thinking of voting SF so that's your mind made up so!

Yeah. I heard one lady on Joe Duffy talking about something and that made my mind up about it.. :rolleyes:

I take it you are unaware of the surge in the polls that showed SF on top early this week?

It’s true though, real. Voting for FG or FF is giving them and all politicians the thumbs up to carry on with their dodgy ways. If whoever forms a government turn out to have dodgy expenses, insurance claims, backhanders, etc, I think they won’t last more than one turn. What really should happen is these people should resign immediately when caught.

Hopefully, in 5 years time we will have a better calibre of politicians to choose from who think better than to stick two fingers up at the electorate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Again not true. Tommy O Gorman asked him had he any evidence that he was involved in criminality. Murphy said no. The worrying thing about you is that a young fella beaten to death with iron bars doesn't seem to disturb you at all. So you can stick with that crowd ye seen well suited.
    What’s worrying is that so many have suddenly become disturbed by this murder, I’m just curious will you all be as disturbed this time next week or will that all depend on the outcome from Saturday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Billcarson wrote: »
    People are starting to really cop on to ff and fg,just a pity it took so long.

I dunno, FF was ~20 seats 2011, ~40 seats 2016 and ~50 seats 2020.

They run back pretty fast when they are in opposition.

SF not having enough candidates to capitalise on their popularity will be the story of the election.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,012 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

easypazz wrote: »
    I dunno, FF was ~20 seats 2011, ~40 seats 2016 and ~50 seats 2020.

They run back pretty fast when they are in opposition.

SF not having enough candidates to capitalise on their popularity will be the story of the election.

I think they'll do well but unlikely all running will get in as is.
    Hopefully the 'had enough of FF/FG' translates to other parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,970 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

easypazz wrote: »

Are SF being criticised for this 'lack of ambition' or is it just seen as one of those things. Is anyone calling for parties to be allowed to adjust their tickets closer to the election?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,691 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

armaghlad wrote: »
    What’s worrying is that so many have suddenly become disturbed by this murder, I’m just curious will you all be as disturbed this time next week or will that all depend on the outcome from Saturday?

Well now that Conor Murphy has in effect acknowledged that he made the whole thing up and apologised for it that may well be the end of it for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

I really hope for the Quinn that they have got some sort of closure because after Saturday their phonecalls to the media, ff, fg, rte will go unanswered. Surely people can see they are being used.

Want house price increases?
    Want to pay more rent?
    Want hopspital waiting lists to be bigger?
    Want the USC to remain?
    Want the rich get richer?
    If yes, then vote FG/FF