Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election TV debates

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

L1011 wrote: »
    Thats pretty much guaranteed if he's gone. It'd just be an all-island Renua with a few more councillors.

Somebody here, in the know about his constituency, was saying his seat is in danger.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,037 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Someone ask about the wolf’s.

RioM wrote: »
    Perhaps Ruth should move to China or Russia?

There was a great piece on Pat Kenny's show on news talk yesterday with a guy from a US university talking about China and it's politics from the 60's on. Well worth a listen and had a lot of stuff I wasn't aware of. Ruth would not be accepted there ...she's too socialist even for them :D

David McCullough has looked behind himself twice now. What’s there ?

Accountability ? Jesus Brendan there are people chocking hearing that.

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭CobraClan

Haven't received my voting card yet and tomorrow is Friday! Definitely registered, anyone else not receive their cards yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Coppinger speaks with that inflection when she has no idea how to answer. She's really awful tonight.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

gmisk wrote: »
    I don't think they would at all, it would be pointless running a tonne of candidates...realistically they will maybe get one new TD.
    Going nowhere fast I am afraid which is a pity.

Their main stomping grounds seem to be Dublin, Cork and Galway. Outside of that, they are not running many candidates elsewhere. This might be down to finances, but I do think if they had a bigger presence the seats would follow.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,045 ✭✭✭✭L1011

CobraClan wrote: »
    Haven't received my voting card yet and tomorrow is Friday! Definitely registered, anyone else not receive their cards yet?

Photo ID + proof of address and you're sorted

They have turned off the non-speakers mics tonight it seems.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Actually these days it's more the councils buying up everything for social housing.

Great thing really. Using people's taxes to prevent them from buying a place for themselves. :rolleyes:

Broadband mentioned at 10:08 PM so nearly thirty minutes without it being mentioned.

Good man David asking the wolf’s.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Someone ask about the wolf’s.

Must have read your post

I really, really cannot stand Eamon Ryan.

Every time he opens his mouth it's clear he hasn't a clue about the real issues

I had to laugh at the sheep and deer comment.

mgn wrote: »
    Must have read your post

He looked behind him twice and must have boards open.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,045 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Coppinger can't string a sentence together.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,211 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I thought Ruth was in PBP not solidarity. It’s all getting a bit like the peoples front of judea vs the judean people's front!

Yep that's what the people who pay for everything in this country want - more socialist TD's

Roisin Shorthall answered that question well. She didn’t take the bait.

L1011 wrote: »
    Coppinger can't string a sentence together.

Well not coherently anyway.

Ah FFS. Do we really need this gombeen paddywackery every time there's politics or football on?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

At least we could hear everybody tonight. Fair play to the participants in tonights debate, they got their points across.

It will be an interesting weekend.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Yep that's what the people who pay for everything in this country want - more socialist TD's

Well Ruth coppinger wants us to be like Venezuela. That old socialist paradise.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,401 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Standard rate pension contributions?

Is Eamon Ryan senile?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭quinnd6

Howlin' Brendan is tiny.
    He's like a hobbit gone bad.
    You could pop him up on your knee and give him a slap round the head for being bold :D

• Registered Users Posts: 24,401 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

quinnd6 wrote: »
    Howlin' Brendan is tiny.
    He's like a hobbit gone bad.
    You could pop him up on your knee and give him a slap round the head for being bold :D

That's a bit puerile

lawred2 wrote: »
    Standard rate pension contributions?

Is Eamon Ryan senile?

Just lives in an ideological bubble divorced from reality.

He wasn't the only one up there tonight - which is the only thing I'll give him.

Well that was a short and snappy debate and the candidates got their chance to give a final pitch to the country. I think Brendan Howlin and Rosin shorthall did the best but that’s because they are the most experienced.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,179 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

That was short and uneventful.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Too many immigrants and then cut to Leo. Says all I need to know about that shower.

Indeed in a **** racist backward sandwhich which was that political party message its hard to pick worst that was one of them. I also enjoyed the very emotive shots of cute babies and then the voice over of abortion "too horrific".