Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election TV debates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,523 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Free public transport for all is a policy I'd like to see brought in, it was costed at €600 million, would be interesting how it would impact congestion if brought in for a couple of years. At a guess I'd say circa 25% of public transport users are on free travel anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

None of these morons are capable of running this place. Frig off the lot of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,636 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Superficial, self-absorbed, populist eejit more like it.

But they certainly haven't done anything for the "people who get up early" anyway

All talk and no action is leo. Needs to be taken down a peg.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭History Queen

gmisk wrote: »
    Who else could PBP have sent that would be better?

I would have preferred Murphy to shortall though

That's very true in fairness, they hadn't a huge amount of choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,239 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

John Joe should be on this.
    Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Free public transport for all is a policy I'd like to see brought in, it was costed at €600 million, would be interesting how it would impact congestion if brought in for a couple of years. At a guess I'd say circa 25% of public transport users are on free travel anyway.

I think anyone who can take PT on a dry day is doing so already, it being free wouldnt make a tap of difference to the morning and evening rush.

GDY151

I like that there's no rentaclaps in the audience, it ruins the debates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,052 ✭✭✭This is it

Superficial, self-absorbed, populist eejit more like it.

But they certainly haven't done anything for the "people who get up early" anyway

Aren't they all populist? That's no defence of Varadker, just an observation.

They're all annoying me already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

What is it with politicians these days talking with their hands, is it the media trainers telling them to do it, or what is the reason behind it.

I think anyone who can take PT on a dry day is doing so already, it being free wouldnt make a tap of difference to the morning and evening rush.
    It would make it even more horrendously packed, terrible idea imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

No RBB, there's a demand for a non-left party that will look after those who are paying for everything

And here's Ryan with his nonsense

Isn't a party that looks after workers left wing?
    I feel right wing folk have co-opted that but no follow through*.

*See FG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Have to give it to Claire (behave now you lot :p) but she's questioning them fairly well so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,674 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

That's very true in fairness, they hadn't a huge amount of choice
    Brid Smith? Jesus imagine her up there..
    (I have met her a few times and quite like her but the people on that stage would eat her up)

GDY151

Get them Chinese lads in to lash up the houses, can't be any worse than the bodge jobs that have been built here recently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 345 ✭✭Tea Shock

Pissed off with Martin always claiming to be a hero over how he kept a stable government for the good of the country. If at any stage over the last 4 years, they had felt it was the best time to maximize their vote, they'd have been pulling the rug in a flash

We could do worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

It’s already packed to the gills at rush hour. So how will it make any difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,636 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Jaysus will someone get brendan howlin a bucket to stand on so he can see out over the podium.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,521 ✭✭✭Wheety

Didn't realise how small Howlin was. Looks like a perspective trick.

GDY151

IngazZagni wrote: »
    It’s already packed to the gills at rush hour. So how will it make any difference?

You have a point :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,623 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Claire: Who will build the houses Micheál ?

Micheál: Builders Claire

Claire: NO SH*T Micheál

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,727 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

They're all as bad as the other. Nobody is winning tonight.

GDY151

How much though is an 'affordable' home now though? €200k for a 3 bed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Fianna fail built loads of houses. Yeah, signed the deals in the tent at the galway races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭CPTM

Have to give it to Claire (behave now you lot :p) but she's questioning them fairly well so far

Yeah I agree - She's challenging them pretty well. Leo isn't doing great here. This is a weak answer and it's the first time he's spoken in 10 minutes.

GDY151

You need to be targetting the cost of the house, not the finance to buy it with.

In Dublin?! You must be joking.

180k is the figure I came to with average wages, in Leos mind its 320k though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 iCareNotOneJot

How is Ireland in such a bad way. These guys have all the answers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,727 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Even though Eamon Ryan is a complete and utter spacer, at least he's suggesting something even remotely different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Claire looking really well tonight
    And questioner
    Just saying

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

mgn wrote: »
    What is it with politicians these days talking with their hands, is it the media trainers telling them to do it, or what is the reason behind it.

It's the media trainers. Expressive gestures have always been a feature of political speeches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,031 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

How is Ireland in such a bad way. These guys have all the answers !

Ireland isn't in a bad way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,623 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I didn't realize Breanda Howlin was so short. Like Lord of the Rings short.

Does this mean he's going to be our next president?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Always Be Closing

That blonde was fit as f**k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,521 ✭✭✭Wheety

You need to be targetting the cost of the house, not the finance to buy it with.

Exactly. Martin talking about helping people get their deposit together. Fine Gael saying they'll give €30k to first time buyers. Are they really that thick? House prices will just jump €30k instantly and it'll be another gift of public money to private developers.

Pointless incentives to force prices up....is MM solution to the housing problem...Jesus wept

GDY151

gmisk wrote: »
    In Dublin?! You must be joking.

Without the cost of land it should be possible to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

CPTM wrote: »
    Yeah I agree - She's challenging them pretty well. Leo isn't doing great here. This is a weak answer and it's the first time he's spoken in 10 minutes.

He doesn’t have to talk if Martin is fighting with Mary Lou, and the left are fighting amongst themselves.

Ryan is making good points but probably not making enough snappy sound bites to have a big impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

You need to look around a bit more and beyond the soundbites about "the economy"

RBB : ThEyRe BuIlDiNg HoTeLs
    sit down son....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

RBB is the image of his Mammy.

That’s as much as I can say about these debates. Rubbish. From each and every one of them. Imv of course!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Eamonn Ryan doing well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 iCareNotOneJot

Appartantly theres a Health, Housing and quality of life crisis

Sounds pretty bad to me!!

Without the cost of land it should be possible to.

Id agree with that. 40% of the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,847 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Eamonn Ryan is even smugger than his wife.

That's saying something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Hippykitten

Pearse would be better than Mary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,148 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Claire managing to hold them all well so far.

Mary Lou really unable to handle the SCC / remaining IRA links thing which she should have polished perfectly at this stage.

Leo really struggling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Miss Joan Burtons screech "CAN I JUST SAY"

Or Enda Kennys "boom boom"