Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election TV debates

• Registered Users Posts: 82,836 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Free public transport for all is a policy I'd like to see brought in, it was costed at €600 million, would be interesting how it would impact congestion if brought in for a couple of years. At a guess I'd say circa 25% of public transport users are on free travel anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

None of these morons are capable of running this place. Frig off the lot of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,018 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Superficial, self-absorbed, populist eejit more like it.

But they certainly haven't done anything for the "people who get up early" anyway

All talk and no action is leo. Needs to be taken down a peg.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭History Queen

gmisk wrote: »
    Who else could PBP have sent that would be better?

I would have preferred Murphy to shortall though

That's very true in fairness, they hadn't a huge amount of choice

• Registered Users Posts: 33,105 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

John Joe should be on this.
    Who?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Free public transport for all is a policy I'd like to see brought in, it was costed at €600 million, would be interesting how it would impact congestion if brought in for a couple of years. At a guess I'd say circa 25% of public transport users are on free travel anyway.

I think anyone who can take PT on a dry day is doing so already, it being free wouldnt make a tap of difference to the morning and evening rush.

M

I like that there's no rentaclaps in the audience, it ruins the debates.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,537 ✭✭✭This is it

Superficial, self-absorbed, populist eejit more like it.

But they certainly haven't done anything for the "people who get up early" anyway

Aren't they all populist? That's no defence of Varadker, just an observation.

They're all annoying me already.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

What is it with politicians these days talking with their hands, is it the media trainers telling them to do it, or what is the reason behind it.

I think anyone who can take PT on a dry day is doing so already, it being free wouldnt make a tap of difference to the morning and evening rush.
    It would make it even more horrendously packed, terrible idea imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

No RBB, there's a demand for a non-left party that will look after those who are paying for everything

And here's Ryan with his nonsense

Isn't a party that looks after workers left wing?
    I feel right wing folk have co-opted that but no follow through*.

*See FG.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Have to give it to Claire (behave now you lot :p) but she's questioning them fairly well so far

• Registered Users Posts: 12,475 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

That's very true in fairness, they hadn't a huge amount of choice
    Brid Smith? Jesus imagine her up there..
    (I have met her a few times and quite like her but the people on that stage would eat her up)

M

Get them Chinese lads in to lash up the houses, can't be any worse than the bodge jobs that have been built here recently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 345 ✭✭Tea Shock

Pissed off with Martin always claiming to be a hero over how he kept a stable government for the good of the country. If at any stage over the last 4 years, they had felt it was the best time to maximize their vote, they'd have been pulling the rug in a flash

We could do worse!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

It’s already packed to the gills at rush hour. So how will it make any difference?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,018 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Jaysus will someone get brendan howlin a bucket to stand on so he can see out over the podium.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 5,512 ✭✭✭Wheety

Didn't realise how small Howlin was. Looks like a perspective trick.

M

IngazZagni wrote: »
    It’s already packed to the gills at rush hour. So how will it make any difference?

You have a point :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Claire: Who will build the houses Micheál ?

Micheál: Builders Claire

Claire: NO SH*T Micheál

• Registered Users Posts: 11,672 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

They're all as bad as the other. Nobody is winning tonight.

M

How much though is an 'affordable' home now though? €200k for a 3 bed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Fianna fail built loads of houses. Yeah, signed the deals in the tent at the galway races.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭CPTM

Have to give it to Claire (behave now you lot :p) but she's questioning them fairly well so far

Yeah I agree - She's challenging them pretty well. Leo isn't doing great here. This is a weak answer and it's the first time he's spoken in 10 minutes.

M

You need to be targetting the cost of the house, not the finance to buy it with.

In Dublin?! You must be joking.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

180k is the figure I came to with average wages, in Leos mind its 320k though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 iCareNotOneJot

How is Ireland in such a bad way. These guys have all the answers !