Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greta Thunberg (Continued...)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

gozunda wrote: »
    The thread title is on the top of the page. Feedback forum thataway =>

Thread title

thread posts

jelem wrote: »
    to lower the tone a little but has there been any "greta porn" lol

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

TBH the whole of boards & online discussion in general has been taken over by hysterics, this forum: Current Affairs/IMHO was designed as a place for those with extreme & entrenched views to go and fling shit at each other. So my view, if you can't beat them - join them.
    The thread title is on the top of the page. Feedback forum thataway =>
    Thread title

thread posts

Mod

I agree; let us all return to the topic at hand.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Thread title

thread posts

Id strongly suggest you yourself set the tone for that comment after your own fairly vile post about men wan*ing. I certainly see no support as you seem to be suggesting.

I'm now going to add you to the ignore list...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

I'm going to go with rightly,

By posting in agreement with the general feel of this thread you participate in the tacit approval of the bile that is routinely posted in here about a child.

Now, if you disagree with the message on climate change, and would like to discuss it in a technical manner - I'm sure there are other threads and forums to do so.

This thread is solely about abusing a child, as you can see.

*Funny - that because I object to this child being objectified, abused, ridiculed & also wished into Porn and whatnot - that makes me a Greta supporter - when I have never even given my position on her message in this thread.. makes ya think
    I think this is low, predictable ad hominem poster bashing, and taking other idiotic posts and bashing me over the head for them, it's really lazy attempt to discredit the "non Greta" view, which (as I said it would be) easily and cheaply enabled by moronic posts about Greta porn. There are plenty of valid posts about Greta and the "climate science" that cannot be coloured by your slander

• Registered Users Posts: 21,685 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Imagine being able to include the following list in a college admissions letter, or CV.
    • TIME'S 25 most influential teens of 2018, December 2018, an annual list compiled by Time magazine of the most influential teenagers in the world that year.
    • Fryshuset scholarship, 2018, for Young Role Model of the Year.
    • 2 x Nobel Peace Prize nomination, 2019, by three deputies of the Norwegian parliament, Again in 2020 by two Swedish lawmakers.
    • Swedish Woman of the Year (Årets Svenska Kvinna), March 2019, awarded by the Swedish Women's Educational Association to "a Swedish woman who, through her accomplishments, has represented and brought attention to the Sweden of today in the greater world".
    • Rachel Carson Prize, March 2019, awarded to a woman who has distinguished herself in outstanding work for the environment in Norway or internationally.
    • Goldene Kamera film and television awards, March 2019, special Climate Action Award. Thunberg dedicated the prize to the activists protesting against the destruction of the Hambach Forest, which is threatened by lignite mining.
    • Fritt Ord Award, April 2019, shared with Natur og Ungdom, which "celebrates freedom of speech". Thunberg donated her share of the prize money to a lawsuit seeking to halt Norwegian oil exploration in the Arctic.
    • TIME 100, April 2019, by Time magazine, an annual list of the 100 most influential people in the world for that year.
    • Laudato si' Prize, April 2019, awarded under the second encyclical of Pope Francis, "on care for our common home"..
    • Doctor honoris causa (honorary doctorate), May 2019, conferred by the Belgian, University of Mons for "contribution...to raising awareness on sustainable development."
    • Ambassador of Conscience Award, June 2019, Amnesty International's most prestigious award, for her leadership in the climate movement, shared with Fridays for Future.
    • The Geddes Environment Medal, July 2019, by the Royal Scottish Geographical Society, for "an outstanding practical, research or communications contribution to conservation and protection of the natural environment and the development of sustainability".
    • Honorary Fellowship of the Royal Scottish Geographical Society, July 2019, automatically conferred with the Geddes award.
    • Right Livelihood Award, September 2019, from the Right Livelihood Foundation and known as Sweden's alternative Nobel Prize, one of four 2019 winners, "for inspiring and amplifying political demands for urgent climate action reflecting scientific facts".
    • Keys to the City of Montréal, September 2019, by Mayor of Montréal Valérie Plante
    • International Children's Peace Prize, October 2019, shared with 14-year-old Divina Maloum from Cameroon, awarded by the KidsRights Foundation.
    • Maphiyata echiyatan hin win (Woman Who Came from the Heavens), Lakota tribal name conferred, October 2019, at Standing Rock Indian Reservation, following support for the Dakota Access pipeline opposition, after being invited by Tokata Iron Eyes, a 16 year old Lakota climate activist.
    • Nordic Council Environment Prize, October 2019. Thunberg declined to accept the award or the prize money of DKK 350,000 (€47,000 as of October 2019) stating that Nordic countries were not doing enough to cut emissions.
    • Time Person of the Year, December 2019, by Time magazine, the first recipient born in the 21st century and the youngest ever. For succeeding in "creating a global attitudinal shift, transforming millions of vague, middle-of-the-night anxieties into a worldwide movement calling for urgent change." And: "For sounding the alarm about humanity's predatory relationship with the only home we have, for bringing to a fragmented world a voice that transcends backgrounds and borders, for showing us all what it might look like when a new generation leads."
    • Glamour Woman of the Year Award 2019, 12 November 2019, by Glamour magazine. Accepted by Jane Fonda, quoting Greta as saying "If a Swedish, teenage, science nerd who has shopstop, refuses to fly and has never worn makeup or been to a hairdresser can be chosen a Woman of the Year by one of the biggest fashion magazines in the world then I think almost nothing is impossible".
    • Nature's 10, 2019, December 2019, an annual list of ten "people who mattered" in science, produced by the scientific journal Nature, specifically, for being a "climate catalyst: A Swedish teenager [who] brought climate science to the fore as she channeled her generation's rage."
    • Forbes list of The World's 100 Most Powerful Women, 2019
    • Human Act Award, on Earth Day, 22 April 2020, by the Human Act Foundation, for "her fearless and determined efforts to mobilize millions of people around the world to fight climate change". The USD100,000 prize money was donated to UNICEF and doubled by the Foundation.
    • Gulbenkian Prize for Humanity, 2020, the first recipient of this prize. Through her foundation, Thunberg donated the €1 million prize money "to charitable projects combatting the climate and ecological crisis and to support people facing the worst impacts, particularly in the Global South".

She really is remarkable young lady and I hope she feels that she is making a difference in what is a very challenging space. It isn't easy, it will continue for a while yet with more negative news than positive, but, she at least can say that she literally tried to help the human race.

At this point, her detractors are helping her because people are looking at her, and the arguments of those against her and realising there is no great puzzle as to which side is to be agreed with.

Imagine being able to include the following list in a college admissions letter, or CV.

She really is remarkable young lady and I hope she feels that she is making a difference in what is a very challenging space. It isn't easy, it will continue for a while yet with more negative news than positive, but, she at least can say that she literally tried to help the human race.

At this point, her detractors are helping her because people are looking at her, and the arguments of those against her and realising there is no great puzzle as to which side is to be agreed with.

OK amongst that she's been given a lot of media and populist awards. What does that prove other than the kid sells a lot of media space and is in the limelight? So yeah well done there l guess. Still not a fan I'm afraid.

Can you spot who got all these awards which also include a noble peace prize nomination and a Time person of the year appearance. Imagine having them on your CV ...

Fought WW1 on the Western Front

• First Battle of Ypres

• Battle of the Somme  (WIA)

• Battle of Arras

• Battle of Passchendaele

Awarded the following in first and second World wars

• Iron Cross 1st Class

• Iron Cross 2nd Class

• Bavarian Medal of Military Service 3rd Class

• Bavarian Cross of Military Merit 3rd Class with Swords

• Regimental Diploma

• Wound Badge in Black

• Cross of Honor with Swords

• Anschluss Medal

• Sudetenland Medal

• Memel Medal

• West Wall Medal

• Wound Badge

• Nuremberg Party Day Badge

• Brunswick Rally Badge

• Coburg Badge

• Golden Party Badge

• Blood Order

• Eagle of Sovereignty Pin

Politics

• Long Service Award

• Gau Badges

• Honour Chevron for the Old Guard

• SS Zivilabzeichen

• SS Long Service Award

• SS-Julleuchter

Post War

• Appointed leader of the NSDAP in 1921.

• German Workers' Party (1919–20)

Other awards

• Time Man of the Year 1938

• Nobel Peace Prize (Nominated by Erik Gottfrid Christian Brandt, member of the Swedish parliament in 1939)

• Olympic Games Decoration and organiser

• Chancellor of Germany

Yeah OK you probably guessed - it was hitler and everything went swimmingly for him up to and including when he made himself Furher and initiated World War II in Europe by invading Poland on 1 September 1939 ...

And no Im not comparing greta with hitler. Just showing that such awards can sometimes mean bugger all.

Lots of people also thought hitler was remarkable and the greatest thing since sliced bread - he wasn't.

Thankfully attaching ideas of greatness to a persona does not equate to "a side" to agree with in reality

^^^
    Godwins Law level 100

^^^
    Godwins Law level 100

Kind of pathetic that's the best response.

^^^
    Godwins Law level 100

Incorrect. Did you really miss the bit where it stated it wasn't a comparison with hitler or is it that your reply is deliberately being obtuse? I can substitute lots of other populist figures for hitler - any you'd like me to pick?

That said I think its that you still don't understand. No matter.

Kind of pathetic that's the best response.

Thanks for the upvote :pac:

Best? Nah I'm sure there'll be plenty more ...

• Registered Users Posts: 83,443 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

A fairly transparent tactic commonly used here these days when that person has no actual argument. I've been told I'm a leftie because I disagree with those holding far-right views recently. Amazing leaps these folks take in order to feel justified.

But if you point out racism or sexism suddenly labels become taboo

• Registered Users Posts: 17,948 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

OK amongst that she's been given a lot of media and populist awards. What does that prove other than the kid sells a lot of media space and is in the limelight? So yeah well done there l guess. Still not a fan I'm afraid.

Can you spot who got all these awards which also include a noble peace prize nomination and a Time person of the year appearance. Imagine having them on your CV ...

• First Battle of Ypres

• Battle of Arras

• Iron Cross 1st Class

• Iron Cross 2nd Class

• Regimental Diploma

• Wound Badge in Black

• Anschluss Medal

• Sudetenland Medal

• Memel Medal

• West Wall Medal

• Wound Badge

• Brunswick Rally Badge

• Coburg Badge

• Golden Party Badge

• Blood Order

Politics

• Long Service Award

• Gau Badges

• SS Zivilabzeichen

• SS Long Service Award

• SS-Julleuchter

Post War

Other awards

• Nobel Peace Prize (Nominated by Erik Gottfrid Christian Brandt, member of the Swedish parliament in 1939)

• Chancellor of Germany

Yeah OK you probably guessed - it was hitler and everything went swimmingly for him up to and including when he made himself Furher and initiated World War II in Europe by invading Poland on 1 September 1939 ...

And no Im not comparing greta with hitler. Just showing that such awards can sometimes mean bugger all.

Lots of people also thought hitler was remarkable and the greatest thing since sliced bread - he wasn't.

Thankfully attaching ideas of greatness to a persona does not equate to "a side" to agree with in reality
    Holy crap just when you thought the one asking for child pornography was pathetic...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

But you kind of do imply a tenuous Greta-Fuhrer comparison by dragging Mr Hitler and his record in!
    Poor auld Greta! She just can't catch a break on this forum.

Anyway, when I noticed some new posts on this thread was wondering what was in the news about her at the moment + saw there's some documentary being released:

I Am Greta: The coming of age movie wrapped up in a super-hero flick

Her fan-club on here must be devastated that Corona will put the kibosh on a night at the cinema learning about their favourite environmentalist!. :(

fly_agaric wrote: »
    But you kind of do imply a tenuous Greta-Fuhrer comparison by dragging Mr Hitler and his record in!
    Poor auld Greta! She just can't catch a break on this forum.

Anyway, when I noticed some new posts on this thread was wondering what was in the news about her at the moment + saw there's some documentary being released:

I Am Greta: The coming of age movie wrapped up in a super-hero flick

Her fan-club on here must be devastated that Corona will put the kibosh on a night at the cinema learning about their favourite environmentalist!. :(

Nope - The post simply details that such awards as the noble peace prize nomination and a Time person of the year mean fuk all when someone like hitler got them.
    But I can substitute any number of populist figures if you'd prefer?

Btw saw a review of that in a newsfeed. Not all of it quite as gushing tbf.

https://www.irishnews.com/arts/2020/10/15/news/film-review-i-am-greta-a-polished-documentary-that-doesn-t-quite-offer-full-picture-2095775/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Nope - The post simply details that such awards as the noble peace prize nomination and a Time person of the year mean fuk all when someone like hitler got them.
    But I can substitute any number of populist figures if you'd prefer?

Btw saw a review of that in a newsfeed. Not all of it quite as gushing tbf.

https://www.irishnews.com/arts/2020/10/15/news/film-review-i-am-greta-a-polished-documentary-that-doesn-t-quite-offer-full-picture-2095775/

You could have run with Harvey Weinstein and all his charity accolades,

Thought of that but reckoned I'd just get stuck with the paedo accusers on here. I think the gist is that you can't make any criticism of anything either said or done by our greta without getting pathetic epithets thrown by way of faux outrage or similar. But there we are eh ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Skeetur

• First Battle of Ypres

• Battle of Arras

• Iron Cross 1st Class

• Iron Cross 2nd Class

• Regimental Diploma

• Wound Badge in Black

• Anschluss Medal

• Sudetenland Medal

• Memel Medal

• West Wall Medal

• Wound Badge

• Brunswick Rally Badge

• Coburg Badge

• Golden Party Badge

• Blood Order

Politics

• Long Service Award

• Gau Badges

• SS Zivilabzeichen

• SS Long Service Award

• SS-Julleuchter

Post War

Other awards

• Chancellor of Germany

What are you when trying to say? That Hitler wasn't remarkable? Or that all his accolades in his early career mean bugger all in relation to what he could achieve because he was a bad egg?

There's no way to cut what you said to make any relevant point. Hitler was a lunatic but a remarkable man who showed he was remarkable in his early career and went on to mobilised a country and conquered half of Europe in the space of a few years.

Like her or not Greta has an incredible C.V for anyone let alone someone her age. So yeah, she's remarkable.

Skeetur wrote: »
    What are you when trying to say? That Hitler wasn't remarkable? Or that all his accolades in his early career mean bugger all in relation to what he could achieve because he was a bad egg?
    There's no way to cut what you said to make any relevant point. Hitler was a lunatic but a remarkable man who showed he was remarkable in his early career and went on to mobilised a country and conquered half of Europe in the space of a few years. Like her or not Greta has an incredible C.V for anyone let alone someone her age. So yeah, she's remarkable.

:D I can tell you're new around here...

Nope. Simply This

Gosh I'm sorry if I insulted hitler. Well no I'm not really ...

Greta all is forgiven - pls come back :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

You have no idea whether she's even literate. Everything you listed is a PR fabrication attached to the PR fabrication "Greta Thunberg" to create a larger PR fabrication on behalf of the new-age eco-fascist totalitarian movement. She "did" none of those things-other people did them and slapped her face on them. Everything about her that we know is manufactured for public consumption but you've bought into it wholesale. "Making a difference in a challenging space"-who the f*ck talks like that? You're just smugly repeating PR speak.

sabat wrote: »
    You have no idea whether she's even literate. Everything you listed is a PR fabrication attached to the PR fabrication "Greta Thunberg" to create a larger PR fabrication on behalf of the new-age eco-fascist totalitarian movement. She "did" none of those things-other people did them and slapped her face on them. Everything about her that we know is manufactured for public consumption but you've bought into it wholesale. "Making a difference in a challenging space"-who the f*ck talks like that? You're just smugly repeating PR speak.

Lol.
    17 years old.
    Some achievements. Could literally walk in to any University of her choosing worldwide on a full ride scholarship should she want to. She has spoken to the UN, the EU, members of the House of Commons, is a fluent communicator in her second language and yet you think she might not be even literate?

But yeah, anonymous keyboard warriors know better that she should have spent last year in school. Have thought about your post and honestly I don't know if it's bitterness or plain old misogyny to try to belittle her in this way, whichever it was, whatever the reason why, it has no basis in evidence. No surprise that you probably hate the idea of listening to science.

Lol.
    17 years old.Some achievements. Could literally walk in to any University of her choosing worldwide on a full ride scholarship should she want to. She has spoken to the UN, the EU, members of the House of Commons, is a fluent communicator in her second language and yet you think she might not be even literate?

But yeah, anonymous keyboard warriors know better that she should have spent last year in school. Have thought about your post and honestly I don't know if it's bitterness or plain old misogyny to try to belittle her in this way, whichever it was, whatever the reason why, it has no basis in evidence. No surprise that you probably hate the idea of listening to science.

Could she indeed? Says who? Id suggest that has no basis in evidence whatsoever other than that rather strange quirk of lionising a troubled teenager with blames adults for ruining her childhood or wtte. Even if she was academically qualified to so - would she be even emotionally mature enough to do so based on her health to date? And the reason she attends a special school. I'd say its something that only time will tell.

And to paraphrase - honestly I don't know if it's stupidity or arrogance for anyone to suggest that these attributes would somehow make her academically gifted. But that would be little better than projection I'd guess ....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,197 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

Could she indeed? Says who? Id suggest that has no basis in evidence whatsoever other than that rather strange quirk of lionising a troubled teenager with blames adults for ruining her childhood or wtte. Even if she was academicly qualified to so - would she be even emotionally mature enough to do so based on her health to date? I'd say thats something that only time will tell.

And to paraphrase - honestly I don't know if it's stupidity or arrogance for anyone to suggest that these attributes which somehow make her gifted. But that would be little better than projection I'd guess ....

Well, you have Chump up there as leader of the most powerful country on earth and he's as vacuous as a silent fart.

Kaybaykwah wrote: »
    Well, you have Chump up there as leader of the most powerful country on earth and he's as vacuous as a silent fart.

Well I don't think anyone is suggesting that he could literally walk in to any University of his choosing worldwide on a full ride scholarship should he want to. 

Though I suppose stranger things have happened!

Maybe they could attend university together :pac:

:D I can tell you're new around here...

Nope. Simply

Gosh I'm sorry if I insulted hitler. Well no I'm not really ...

Greta all is forgiven - pls come back :pac:

And I can tell you haven't a clue what you're talking about. All that linked post does is repeat your "these accolades mean nothing because hitler got them". Which makes absolutely no sense.

You're talking absolute nonsense and bringing up Hitler to try argue a teenage girl being nominated for Nobel prizes, getting voted most influential person, getting to address the U.N etc isn't remarkable.

You're a strange individual.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,303 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

The pettiness from the anti Greta middle aged men losers just keeps getting worse and worse, it's hilarious. Keep it coming lads, v entertaining.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

The pettiness from the anti Greta middle aged men losers just keeps getting worse and worse, it's hilarious. Keep it coming lads, v entertaining.

Do you understand you're talking about the equivalent of Tony the Tiger or the Michelin Man? "Greta Thunberg" was created by a huge media and PR machine in order to sell a product. There's the actual teenage girl somewhere but the version you believe in is not real. Even your lame put-down about her detractors being "stale pale males" comes directly from the media. It's not a fact or even your true opinion but a line you've been fed to steer the debate a certain way.

And I can tell you haven't a clue what you're talking about. All that linked post does is repeat your "these accolades mean nothing because hitler got them". Which makes absolutely no sense. You're talking absolute nonsense and bringing up Hitler to try argue a teenage girl being nominated for Nobel prizes, getting voted most influential person, getting to address the U.N etc isn't remarkable.You're a strange individual.

So you want me to agree with you that greta and hitler are remarkable simply because they were both nominated for the nobel peace prize and were Time person of they year? Really...

As stated I can use any number of populist personas to illustrate the same point if you'd prefer.

Word of advice mein kleiner liebeskind - try coming up with a decent argument before flinging ****e

Coming from the lad trying to discredit a teenage girl on the basis that hitler also got some of the same accolades as her lol.

Like the other poster said. Keep going, it's hilarious.

Coming from the lad trying to discredit a teenage girl on the basis that hitler also got some of the same accolades as her lol.

Like the other poster said. Keep going, it's hilarious.

*Sigh* Missed the point again eh?This is a discussion - you know where things get discussed about public figures including the antics of greta et al. Play the ball ir not at all. And we don't all have to join the I love greta club to do so.

Btw you failed to answer the question asked again

Though no matter - you seem to be in good company with the other poster there ....

I dunno you seem to kinda come across as a middle age man yourself Thelonious. Im confused - Are you saying because you are - it makes that age group losers? That's not very nice is it Thelonious ...