Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greta Thunberg (Continued...)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Eh the 20th century had plenty of protest movements that had elements of unruly behaviour. Anti Vietnam War protests, the suffragettes were famous for it. This desire to rewrite protest movements as constantly calm simply does not match the reality.

https://www.bl.uk/votes-for-women/articles/suffragettes-violence-and-militancy
    I didn't deny people weren't unruly, even violent, they don't have to be though, and many protests are calm - as they should be. it is however a conscious and personal choice how to behave or to take directions or not from Police. It seems totally redundant... is every personal choice going to have to be taught

• Registered Users Posts: 14,160 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Teaching children about the environment, the green economy and how to take action against government to stop environmental harm are considered essential parts of preparing future workers for what campaigners say is the third industrial revolution.

Why would anyone have a problem with this? We're currently on a trajectory to destroy every bit of nature on the planet, some of us aren't ok with that.
    It's such a woke lefty thing to not want to destroy and pollute everything though isn't it.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

biko wrote: »
    Greta and Extinction Rebellion must be crying tears of joy.

Eco-protests on the curriculum in every school.

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/nation/politics/green-activism-mandate-in-schools/news-story/9ae6bdadd9235b999aa1cde5278da4ff
    Lessons in climate change, the environment and how to protest will be compulsory subjects at all schools worldwide as part of the Paris Agreement, under plans being developed for this year’s UN climate summit in Glasgow.

Teaching children about the environment, the green economy and how to take action against government to stop environmental harm are considered essential parts of preparing future workers for what campaigners say is the third industrial revolution.

Don't think there is any issue there with the first bit as climate change and environmental studies are already taught in many countries including Ireland.

Leaving that aside - I really cannot see government agencies / educational institutions jumping to the UNs demand to instruct students how to "protest" / "take action against their own governments"

Maybe while they're at it - they could be taught how to overthrow the rest of the existing order / denounce their parents in a sociopolitical purge movement similar to China's great cultural revolution where Mao called on young people to "bombard the headquarters", and proclaimed that "to rebel is justified".

We know how that worked out ...

I'm sure greta will be delighted considering she is already on record calling for 'civil disobedience' and for people to 'rebel' :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Japan removes it's wind turbines, not commercially viable.

To commercialise wind power generation, the operational rate of a turbine must remain at 30 to 35 per cent or more, according to the ministry.

But the rates of the turbines off Fukushima were only around four to 36 per cent.

https://www.nst.com.my/world/region/2020/12/650410/japan-removes-two-last-wind-power-turbines

• Registered Users Posts: 23,677 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Damned if you do, damned if you don't

Study finds pandemic’s cleaner air added heat to warming planet
    Earth spiked a bit of a fever in 2020, partly because of cleaner air from the pandemic lockdown, a new study found.

For a short time, temperatures in some places in the eastern United States, Russia and China were as much as half to two-thirds of a degree (.3 to .37 degrees Celsius) warmer.

https://nypost.com/2021/02/03/study-pandemics-cleaner-air-added-heat-to-warming-planet/

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Rich kid from wealthy nation tells us how it is.

"Blame all the adults .... it's all yer fault ..."the house is on fire" ... "blah blah blah""

Chrst but but the arrogance is palpable. Video on how to alienate your audience in one fell swoop.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Gaoth Laidir

All that, and at the end she says "I'm not telling you what to do..."

I must say she's very well spoken for someone her age and non-native English speaker. The language used is more akin to that of a professional speechwriter than a non-native teenager. It's pretty clear that she has a team around her orchestrating her every move, including writing her rants for her. And people still fall for it...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Great to see that many here haven't forgotten the age old advice to shoot the messenger.

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭nolivesmatter

Great to see that many here haven't forgotten the age old advice to shoot the messenger.

The "messenger" is the main issue here.

You know, this movement would never have taken off if only Greta would have gone to school during the week and demonstrated on Saturdays.

It's easy to get kids to join in a movement with means they miss a day of school.

I think I will start a movement too - "Get drunk against racism" and anyone who doesn't get hammered is racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

The "messenger" is the main issue here.
    What we really need is a dedicated "Climate Change" thread, so that the messenger is not the main issue in virtually all climate change discussion on the forum.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

• Registered Users Posts: 533 ✭✭✭dirk_dangler

Greta is now 18, an adult, i expect the kid gloves treatment will end now and some in the media will call her out on who her paymasters are and who is pulling her strings.
    She is about to see first hand how cruel and unforgiven the real world can be

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

IMHO Unless Greta seriously missteps then no one in the media will be calling her out. She's untouchable to an extent, and very few would be bothered to critique her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭CtevenSrowder

All that, and at the end she says "I'm not telling you what to do..."

I must say she's very well spoken for someone her age and non-native English speaker. The language used is more akin to that of a professional speechwriter than a non-native teenager. It's pretty clear that she has a team around her orchestrating her every move, including writing her rants for her. And people still fall for it...

Swedes broadly speaking are all fluent in English.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

IMHO Unless Greta seriously missteps then no one in the media will be calling her out. She's untouchable to an extent, and very few would be bothered to critique her.

I don't think she will be going to India any time soon after this incident exposed her as being too naïve to be in the paid celebrity influencer business. The Indian police have made arrests on the back of that and a shady NGO has been exposed in Canada.
    She will need to run everything by PR now before she wrecks the brand monetisation.

The 18-year-old left-wing eco-activist shared — and then quickly deleted — a message that detailed a list of “suggested posts” about the ongoing protests, according to the posts that were saved by Breaking 911.

The list gave a series of tips on what to post, asking her to also repost and tag other celebrities tweeting about it, including pop star Rihanna.

source

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Thats not very nice

• Registered Users Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

Why do some people think it is legitimate to damage other people's property?

At a guess, because they have never had to work for anything they have.

I feel sorry for the right wing crazies who are intimidated by a young woman. She has probably achieved more in the last few years, then they have achieved or will achieve in their entire lives.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Woman who painted the Greta pic will be on news talk,

Her other work includes a pic of Cardi B, a woman who has repeatedly boasted on social media about drugging, robbing and having men raped by her friends so they won't go to the cops.

The Cardi B painting got a shout out on instagram by Cardi B so it's her proudest work.

These points have nothing to do with Greta but the painting was done solely to get a reaction, being vandalized = fantastic.. = attention.

To the identity of the actual vandals I would assume some local knackers more so than some right wing swat team.called in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I don't think she will be going to India any time soon after this incident exposed her as being too naïve to be in the paid celebrity influencer business. The Indian police have made arrests on the back of that and a shady NGO has been exposed in Canada.
    She will need to run everything by PR now before she wrecks the brand monetisation.

I don't think getting advice on how to manage social media is a bad thing. PR folk have been around for centuries. Getting advice for online is nothing. We're paying them to help government ministers.

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Yakov P. Golyadkin

JJayoo wrote: »
    To the identity of the actual vandals I would assume some local knackers more so than some right wing swat team.called in.

'Local knackers' referencing a boogeyman of the far right? You're almost certainly assuming incorrectly.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,281 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Woman who painted the Greta pic will be on news talk,

Her other work includes a pic of Cardi B, a woman who has repeatedly boasted on social media about drugging, robbing and having men raped by her friends so they won't go to the cops.

The Cardi B painting got a shout out on instagram by Cardi B so it's her proudest work.

These points have nothing to do with Greta but the painting was done solely to get a reaction, being vandalized = fantastic.. = attention.

thats it, knowing how this game works its likely either just some local scrote or even the artist herself did the vandalism... but incoming narrative about the 'far right'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Can't see junkies or people out looking for mischief going all the way to specifically find a portrait of Greta so they can vandalise it. More likely insecure ****wits and/or spill over from the anti-mask brethren.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,137 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Can't it be both?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Can't it be both?

Oh can definitely be both but there are some amount of knackers knocking around.

Omg what about the huge Biden painting in Ballina.....that has been up and untouched for a few weeks...omg how are they protecting it from all the far right???????????

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭OneLungDavy

I feel sorry for the right wing crazies who are intimidated by a young woman. She has probably achieved more in the last few years, then they have achieved or will achieve in their entire lives.
    In case you ever wondered why Greta was put on this pedestal in the first place, here you have it.