Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Firms urged to crack down on office football chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

I've heard it all now!!

Some people won't be happy until we are all be sitting in silence afraid that every possible topic will offend or exclude someone.

You won't be able to ask, how was your weekend? just in case not everyone had a good weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

All in favour of the crackdown. At least until the start of the next season. Liverpool fans are just insufferable now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭Sober Crappy Chemis

I’d imagine it would be a statistically non-existent number of office workers that have won the Premiership. Most ex-footballers don’t head into a 9-5 afterwards, ya know?

Grammatical pedantry doth butter no parsnips sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

buckwheat wrote: »

This is such rubbish it's hard to take it seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

Soccer, horses, gambling, cars, drink and a few other topics are all you want.
    Who wants to discuss imaginary relationships between overpaid soap actors who can't play soccer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Grammatical pedantry doth butter no parsnips sir.

We’re agreed so. Nobody in pretty much any office can claim to have won a Premiership, especially as per your standards, you’re only a real fan if you are from the same city or town as the team you support. That excludes most football fans so, again by your standards, there should be no crowing from pretty much anyone about amount of Premierships won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Soccer, horses, gambling, cars, drink and a few other topics are all you want.
    Who wants to discuss imaginary relationships between overpaid soap actors who can't play soccer?

Tits as well. Don’t forget them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Can we also curtail talk about celebrities, soap operas and OK! Magazine?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

We’re agreed so. Nobody in pretty much any office can claim to have won a Premiership, especially as per your standards, you’re only a real fan if you are from the same city or town as the team you support. That excludes most football fans so, again by your standards, there should be no crowing from pretty much anyone about amount of Premierships won.
    Is English your first language laddie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Is English your first language laddie?

Sure is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,614 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Yakult wrote: »
    Hey, I've no interest in the weather, but my work collegues talk about it a lot. I feel left out. I think that talking about the weather should be banned.

Maybe her middle name is Adolf, trying to decide what is acceptable or not in an office for discussion, I’m sorry but nobody has that right, she’s a headcase. If I’m her boss and she came to me giving out about people chatting about football or any subject I’d send her back to her desk and advise that if she doesn’t enjoy the talking, focus on something else...like...work.

A couple of people in my last job would spend hours (at least it seemed like it) wittering on about their kids, from school projects, teachers, football, behavior, ADHD you name it, it bored the face off me, it was head wrecking but I accepted it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭AllForIt

That BBC article reads like an April fool's wind-up.

Sure is.
    * It sure is.

Although, sure can sometimes be used at the start of a sentence.
    Examples:
    Sure even Blackburn Rovers have more premiership titles than Liverpool.
    Or
    Sure even Leicester City have more premier league titles than Liverpool.

Mansplaining finished.
    Parsnips buttered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

The main problem is that it is a gateway chat and can lead to back-slapping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,922 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

As a bloke, I have no interest in football. I have tried to keep up with it in the past with podcasts, MOTD and whatever. And I can safely say I neither understand or appreciate the strategy or the skill.

I don’t bother with it anymore and I don’t know anything about it. Some of my mates are big into it and follow the clubs from their home towns and naturally they chat about it in depth. I don’t feel excluded by them chatting about it. I am excluded from it because I don’t like it but that doesn’t mean they shouldn’t chat about it. It makes them happy so they should do it.

They should be aware of heir surroundings and not go on about it all day but I’m a big boy and I can entertain myself - particularly in work where I can... do work

On a side note, football is covered in media as both a serious sport and a soap opera. I think most people follow it for both and lots only really follow the soap opera drama plot lines like VAR, which manager is next for the sack, transfer fees and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

AllForIt wrote: »
    That BBC article reads like an April fool's wind-up.

It does. But the woman concerned has authored a book, Create a Gender-Balanced Workplace (published last September), and I assume is now trying to drum up sales with these ridiculous pronouncements. Thankfully, most people — male and female — can see how ridiculous she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

* It sure is.

Although, sure can sometimes be used at the start of a sentence.
    Examples:
    Sure even Blackburn Rovers have more premiership titles than Liverpool.
    Or
    Sure even Leicester City have more premier league titles than Liverpool.

Mansplaining finished.
    Parsnips buttered.

Your rite, but this is not the place for grammar Nazism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Just when you think we have reach maximum PC, there is a new eejit with a stupid article out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

The term management will be next in the firing line.

Does she honestly expect people to be acting like mindless drones when at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,614 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

What happens when somebody is talking about getting their Ford Focus getting repaired after their crash ? Should I complain....I’ve never been in a car crash, owned or driven a ford focus ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Too ****ing right.
    Hearing lads refer to the british team they support as "we"and "us", and into the next breath giving out about british people......gobshytes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

Did any of you see that ludicrous display last night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Did any of you see that ludicrous display last night?

Highlight of the match:

ezgif.com_resize_6_.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Utter fcuking bullsh|t.
    "A lot of women, in particular, feel left out," she told the BBC's Today programme.

"They don't follow those sports and they don't like either being forced to talk about them or not being included."
    This is what it comes down to; she wants the men to just talk about whatever the women talk about, and nothing else in case they feel left out.

She wants the office drones to not talk to each other, and just work. Without a bit of banter, people will just leave to a better office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

the_syco wrote: »
    Utter fcuking bullsh|t.

This is what it comes down to; she wants the men to just talk about whatever the women talk about, and nothing else in case they feel left out.

She wants the office drones to not talk to each other, and just work. Without a bit of banter, people will just leave to a better office.

She's basically trying to pathetically claim that a lot of women are somehow some sort of pathetic victims because they are somehow left out of somebody else's hobby discussion that they are somehow victims of offence about it so this dastardly criminal activity must be stopped. The vast majority of everybody does not a give a monkeys **** what anybody has to say about anybody else's own hobby. But this demented corporate wankjob wants to use the pathetic victim card to ultimately get what every corporation wants, to get its staff and in the end ultimately its customers to say and think exactly what they want them to.
    Make no mistake, the likes of this wan is a f**king dangerous gangster and this slip is no laughing matter.
    Well, it is because she was stupid blatant about it. But this police-think is the ultimate goal of every corporation on the planet.
    Once they succeed in ultimately deciding what they want you to talk about and ultimately think about, then they don't have to pay for advertising.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Gender stereotyping. Was that not a thing to be discouraged.

This is the best evidence yet western feminists have run out of genuine grievances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,051 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I still view this as one person going on a solo run with a half baked opinion. C'mon, what she said is patently ridiculous and seemingly no-one is defending it. I think your workplace chat is safe.

Arghus wrote: »
    I still view this as one person going on a solo run with a half baked opinion. C'mon, what she said is patently ridiculous and seemingly no-one is defending it. I think your workplace chat is safe.

That won't stop them feeling victimised. Look at all the over the top responses.

It's a great place to play the victim. They get to back each other up for being the victim and they're completely safe in the knowledge that nobody actually agrees with this woman in the article. Classic.

How did I guess you'd turn up in this thread with something to get your knickers in a twist about :pac:

Considering the posts that came before mine with exaggerations, wild speculation about fantasy banning, playing the victim. And you think I’ve my knickers in a twist. Lol.

But yes, this is the perfect for the back slapping victims to fantasise about all the things that will never happen to them. Its a very safe way to play the victim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

The problem with Arsenal is, they always try to walk it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The problem with Arsenal is, they always try to walk it in.

But OMG the legs on Brend Leno. Swooooon.............

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

1984 Orwellian

These numptys trying to control people's conversations really need to get help for their mental illnesses.

WTF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

The only solution to this ‘problem’ is to segregate men and women in the workplace. It seems that women find any behaviour or chat that males engage in is by its very nature offensive. Banter is not possible any more in a mixed sex environment because inevitably someone, (female), will be offended.
    So just don’t let the lads and lassies come into contact with each other and then nobody can be offended or left out. Then everyone will be happy............won’t they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,293 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Yes let's ban all chat about football, weddings, soaps, Reality TV etc. Everyone should only be allowed discuss work and nothing else. Honestly how could you expect to build any kind of team ethos or build relationships if you're going to ban people discussing common interests. Companies always ****e on about teambuilding and inclusive environment etc but this wan wants to turn everyone into a mindless drone.

In my office very few of us follow sport so it's not something we talk about much,, in fact often conversation is about things I have no interest in, should I go and cry to HR about feeling left out. Grow up people are adults and should be allowed talk about their hobbies regardless if everyone shares those interests or not.

Do you feel like an outsider when men discuss football or some other sports? Like you're not really part of the group?

I covered this earlier.
    As a bloke, I have no interest in football. I have tried to keep up with it in the past with podcasts, MOTD and whatever. And I can safely say I neither understand or appreciate the strategy or the skill.

I don’t bother with it anymore and I don’t know anything about it. Some of my mates are big into it and follow the clubs from their home towns and naturally they chat about it in depth. I don’t feel excluded by them chatting about it. I am excluded from it because I don’t like it (football) but that doesn’t mean they shouldn’t chat about it. It makes them happy so they should do it.

They should be aware of heir surroundings and not go on about it all day but I’m a big boy and I can entertain myself - particularly in work where I can... do work

On a side note, football is covered in media as both a serious sport and a soap opera. I think most people follow it for both and lots only really follow the soap opera drama plot lines like VAR, which manager is next for the sack, transfer fees and so on.

So, what was your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

There’s three women here who are big “GAA”, Gaelic football, and would talk about it a lot. Should this be stopped stopped?

I’d talk soccer, and rugby, with a few of the lads. I’d talk to another girl about rugby as she’s into it too. Should I only be “allowed” talk with her?

There’s one woman who’s a big Liverpool fan, she loves letting us all know how they’re getting on. Her main gripe is that the “United” fans in the office no longer follow the English premier league.

I think we’re all giving this nonsense too much attention. It’s a ridiculous suggestion that no “levelheaded” person would entertain.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

She sounds like a contrary auld cünt. Probably a Man United supporter.

You can give it up buddy. Alex Ferguson ruined your childhood and you're never getting it back