Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Billie eilish - Major Grammy winner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

Suckit wrote: »
    I don't think it's a big a deal as they made out of her not knowing Van Halen etc. Who plays Van Halen now days? Where/when would she hear them enough to know who they are? It was some questionnaire all the radio stations ran with.
    RunDMC vs Jason Nevins was 1997/98, she wasn't born for another 3 or 4 years, and that would be the most recent.
    She had only heard of Nirvana because of the Foo Fighters and the grunge scene where she had seen iconic posters in the clubs she played early in her career (weird to say). Also, by the time Nirvana were making it big Van Halen were all but dead in terms of releasing new music.

Most writers, artists, and musicians are aware of prominent predecessors. As just one example, Norah Jones was hugely influenced by Billie Holiday, who died 20 years before Jones was born. It's not unreasonable to expect a Grammy-winning artist to have some familiarity with bands like Van Halen and Nirvana, who are both in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, or Run-DMC, who were foundational to the history of hip-hop culture, even if she was born after their heyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

This would be like back in the 90s people being furious that Kurt Cobain didn't know the Hep Stars or The Platters were. She's a teenager and Van Halen are rapidly turning into a musical footnote. I would go out on a big mad limb and guess that forgettable hair metal isn't a huge influence on the O Connels.

I prefer her sounding like she does and writing like she does, which I'd imagine is a lot to do with being free from this canonical yoke, than sounding less unique and knowing who bands from twice her lifetime ago are.

Also she's I think 18. Everyone's musical taste and knowledge was just fully developed by then was it? Didn't learn or discover anything past that? Ok.

She's lucky that she has her brother to work with rather than some exploitative goon that would turn her into a carbon copy of some manufactured sh*te.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭LineOfBeauty

She comes across as very cool and her music connects with a young generation (and gay guys, gay guys really love Billie Eilish). She's pretty great.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Homelander

I find it weird that people are saying it's completely normal for her to not know who Van Halen, Nirvana, etc are. It is mind bogglingly odd. For her to not listen to them or have any interest, sure, but to actually not even be aware of them? As a musician herself?

That's like a top film director saying they'd never heard of Jaws, ET, or Gone with the Wind and people saying that was normal because they were made before they were born.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Van Halen?

Seriously, Van Halen?

People are getting upset because a teenager has never heard of some one hit wonder, poodle rock outfit?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,766 ✭✭✭lertsnim

She wouldn't be for me now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Feisar

Van Halen?

Seriously, Van Halen?

People are getting upset because a teenager has never heard of some one hit wonder, poodle rock outfit?

She must think this is an original!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

She's lucky that she has her brother to work with rather than some exploitative goon that would turn her into a carbon copy of some manufactured sh*te.

She has a great relationship with her brother and he looks out for her. Her new video (which she directed) features him and is an ode to him.

She always wears baggy clothes because she doesn't want to be objectified. Smart girl.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

Van Halen?

Seriously, Van Halen?

Ye i agree now if you said Elvis than i would agree with them.I only know them from Jump and i was around in the 80s

This would be like back in the 90s people being furious that Kurt Cobain didn't know the Hep Stars or The Platters were.

Cobain had numerous musical influences, ranging from the well-known to the completely obscure, that he wrote about in his published personal journals. He listened obsessively to music. I think the odds of him answering "Who?" if someone named a famous band from a previous generation would have been pretty low.

The Hep Stars, a Swedish group from the 60s, are not a good comparison. Van Halen are a California band, and are still played widely on the radio there. And yet Billie Eilish grew up in California seemingly without any awareness of them.

I also don't buy the "She's only 18, so we can't expect her to know anything" line. Taylor Swift signed her first record deal when she was just 15 and her first album shows awareness of numerous influences that predated her.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Billy ****elish as the wise man Francis Higgins once called her. No one cares about the grammys by the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Homelander

Van Halen?

Seriously, Van Halen?

A musician who has never heard of Van Halen is just plain odd. I don't even listen to Van Halen, not a big music person in general, but it's absurd that someone in that field would not have heard of them or other similar bands.
    As of March 2019, Van Halen is 20th on the RIAA list of best-selling artists in the United States; the band has sold 56 million albums in the States[13][14] and more than 80 million worldwide, making them one of the best-selling groups of all time.[

Van Halen aren't exactly The Beatles, Beach Boys, etc. Maybe her parents didn't listen to '80s glam rock.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Of course she has heard of Van Halen but if you are trying to project a 'do not want to be objectified feminist' vibe then you are not likely to be seen to endorse a rock band from the late 70s/early 80s that objectified women and sex in pretty much every song.

There's something I really don't like about her image though..A couple of the tunes are alright, but yeah, something about her image is really off I think..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Forgetting about who she doesn't and does know for a sec...

... what is the merit in her output? I listened with an open mind to Bad Guy and heard nothing new and nothing special. Any of her fans care to point out what I'm missing?

The 'singing' is breathy double-tracked whispering. The muffled bass/percussion is like a dance music track from 2005 playing loudly in a room next door. There is absolutely nothing sophisticated going on by way of melody or counterpoint. It is not something I would dance to. It doesn't seem to have any emotional colour. I don't hear a statement in the lyrics. I don't know what to do with it. It is quite poor in fact, and I have no idea how the Grammys were awarded.

Is there anything I need to pay attention to or is it all just a record industry emperor's new clothes thing and everyone is afraid to call out?

Just another pop artist really. I suppose the miracle is that she has not spun off X Factor or some ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

She comes across as very cool and her music connects with a young generation (and gay guys, gay guys really love Billie Eilish). She's pretty great.
    Pop singer whom kids and gay guys like - how is she any different to the others?
    She has a great relationship with her brother and he looks out for her. Her new video (which she directed) features him and is an ode to him.

She always wears baggy clothes because she doesn't want to be objectified. Smart girl.
    I'd put money on it that she'll be all sexed up in a few years though, BBoC.
    topper75 wrote: »
    ... what is the merit in her output? I listened with an open mind to Bad Guy and heard nothing new and nothing special. Any of her fans care to point out what I'm missing?

The 'singing' is breathy double-tracked whispering. The muffled bass/percussion is like a dance music track from 2005 playing loudly in a room next door.
    Yeah I just don't see the difference between her and other singers. Apart from not dressing sexy. Is that the hook? It's like Ed Sheeran - what's so amazing about him compared to other sensitive singer songwriters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

There's something I really don't like about her image though..A couple of the tunes are alright, but yeah, something about her image is really off I think..
    What's wrong with it?

Raconteuse wrote: »
    What's wrong with it?

I dunno..I get a kind of demonic vibe off her or something..

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

Bury a Friend in some parts reminds me of People are Strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

would prefer my kids listening to Billie Eilish, Rather than the likes of all that other overproduced manufactured sh1te that barely passes as music these days

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I like her. Music is different and she must be the one woman in pop without her tits hanging out or running around in her pants all the time. I like the fact that her image is not as sexualized at least girls can look up to somebody who doesn't like they are on a pole for the night.

Van Halen, who cares, they were ****e, I can think of about one song. Nobody her age would know who Van Halen are, Nirvana or somebody who had influence, yes maybe you should know them but Van Halen were absolute ****e.

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

Of course she has heard of Van Halen but if you are trying to project a 'do not want to be objectified feminist' vibe then you are not likely to be seen to endorse a rock band from the late 70s/early 80s that objectified women and sex in pretty much every song.

'Hearing of' is hardly endorsing. WRT to your last sentence, I'm going to go out on a limb and say you only know one Van Halen song. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I only know who Huey Lewis and the News are because of the scene in American Psycho where he talks about them.

Me too but from the book, and I am almost old enough to be around when they were. They are crap and were used in that to show how shallow and bland he was. All the groups he liked were the most boring middle of the road crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Don't see what all the fuss is about.

Apparently her full name is Billie Eilish Pirate Baird O'Connell and she's never heard of Van Halen, Run DMC, or Huey Lewis.

I've a daughter about 5 years older than her and i can guarantee she's never heard of them either, well maybe Run DMC, but only maybe.
    I dunno..I get a kind of demonic vibe off her or something..

Vigilant citizen goes to town on her for satanism and mind control and whatnot....but then he kinda does that on everyone!

Raconteuse wrote: »
    I'd put money on it that she'll be all sexed up in a few years though, BBoC.

Yeah I just don't see the difference between her and other singers. Apart from not dressing sexy. Is that the hook? It's like Ed Sheeran - what's so amazing about him compared to other sensitive singer songwriters?

How much we talking? A big bag of cans' worth? :pac:

I'd say in a few years she might start dressing more "feminine" but I don't think she'll be running around stage in her knickers.

topper75 wrote: »
    Is there anything I need to pay attention to or is it all just a record industry emperor's new clothes thing and everyone is afraid to call out?

Right now, the music industry is eager to shower women with accolades to prove they aren't sexist. Ariana Grande, Lana Del Rey, Lizzo, and Billie Eilish dominated the nominations at this year's Grammys, with five of the eight best album nominations coming from women. That's not to say that there aren't many talented female artists — there are — but that showering Billie Eilish with awards doesn't necessarily mean that her music is the crème de la crème. There are other factors at play.

Plopsu wrote: »
    'Hearing of' is hardly endorsing. WRT to your last sentence, I'm going to go out on a limb and say you only know one Van Halen song. :pac:

Well it kinda is really when you are 18 and your fans are around the same age- it will have the same effect. Cue an upsurge in Googling for Van Halen by 18/19 year old.

I have several Van Halen albums thank you very much but you know what I mean...David Lee Roth is hardly a bastion of moral righteousness and hardly in keeping with the image she wants to project.