Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Billie eilish - Major Grammy winner

• Registered Users Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I've a daughter about 5 years older than her and i can guarantee she's never heard of them either, well maybe Run DMC, but only maybe.

Is your daughter also an international recording artist..?:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

squawker wrote: »
    would prefer my kids listening to Billie Eilish, Rather than the likes of all that other overproduced manufactured sh1te that barely passes as music these days
    Is she really so different to that?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,508 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Van Halen. They weren't as a big a deal over here, but they were much bigger in the states, to call them a forgettable one hit wonder isn't true. They sold over fifty million albums in the US.

Fifty Million.

But, I don't really care if Billie Eilish has never heard of them. It's hardly that surprising that an eighteen year old girl has never heard of, basically, a Dad Rock band. How is that important? Surely all that matters is if her music is good or not?

After all this back and forth I guess I'll have to listen to her today and try to come to my own conclusions.

Or grew up in California?

(Although I don't think it's that big a deal that she hasn't heard of Van Halen).

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

That's not to say that there aren't many talented female artists — there are — but that showering Billie Eilish with awards doesn't necessarily mean that her music is the crème de la crème. There are other factors at play.

All award shows have an agenda.

I think she's fairly good, something a bit different at least. I seen her at glastonbury (on the telly) and she was decent enough live.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Had a listen to some of her more popular songs, let's say if I'm doing the laundry I wouldn't change them. For her interviews she seems very down to earth and good to her fans

She's not.....yet!:D

Right now, the music industry is eager to shower women with accolades to prove they aren't sexist. Ariana Grande, Lana Del Rey, Lizzo, and Billie Eilish dominated the nominations at this year's Grammys, with five of the eight best album nominations coming from women. That's not to say that there aren't many talented female artists — there are — but that showering Billie Eilish with awards doesn't necessarily mean that her music is the crème de la crème. There are other factors at play.

Whatever about the other three, Lana Del Rey's last album received pretty much universal critical acclaim and was widely considered as being among the best of the year, she should have and would have been nominated regardless of any supposed "agenda".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Is she really so different to that?

too my ears yes, its original

I also like her attitude that you don't have to dress like a hooker to raise your profile

• Registered Users Posts: 14,508 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Whatever about the other three, Lana Del Rey's last album received pretty much universal critical acclaim and was widely considered as being among the best of the year, she should have and would have been nominated regardless of any supposed "agenda".

Ah, but there's always an agenda, don't ya know ...

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

Well it kinda is really when you are 18 and your fans are around the same age- it will have the same effect. Cue an upsurge in Googling for Van Halen by 18/19 year old.

I have several Van Halen albums thank you very much but you know what I mean...David Lee Roth is hardly a bastion of moral righteousness and hardly in keeping with the image she wants to project.

Oh, you meant the drug use, alcoholism and sex funfair of their 'private' lives rather than their music. TBH I would be more surprised that she didn't know Run DMC, who I believe were a very big deal and closer in genre to her.

I dunno..I get a kind of demonic vibe off her or something..

But if not dressing like a hooker is one of the highlights to her, tis a fairly low bar. Let's see how long it'll last too.

Mediocre or sometimes catchy, over produced pop music for kids otherwise, which is grand - nothing wrong with it, catchy is enjoyable, but nothing new (literally).

However, genius, great, very talented... lads, what are some of ye on?

Vigilant citizen goes to town on her for satanism and mind control and whatnot....but then he kinda does that on everyone!

I've never been called a vigilant citizen before..I'm blushing..

Look, we all know what's going on here. She has a huge dimply ass and she has invented this 'not wanting to be objectified' guff to explain it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Feisar

Arghus wrote: »
    Van Halen. They weren't as a big a deal over here, but they were much bigger in the states, to call them a forgettable one hit wonder isn't true. They sold over fifty million albums in the US.

Fifty Million.

But, I don't really care if Billie Eilish has never heard of them. It's hardly that surprising that an eighteen year old girl has never heard of, basically, a Dad Rock band. How is that important? Surely all that matters is if her music is good or not?

After all this back and forth I guess I'll have to listen to her today and try to come to my own conclusions.

I work with lads who don't know RATM!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

Look, we all know what's going on here. She has a huge dimply ass and she has invented this 'not wanting to be objectified' guff to explain it.

:D:D

Or grew up in California?

(Although I don't think it's that big a deal that she hasn't heard of Van Halen).

It's Van Halen though, not the Beatles!

Sure they may have sold a shítload of albums back before she was born, but they haven't really stood the test of time (probably something to do with them being absolutely shíte):D

When's the last time you heard one of their songs? Or Huey Lewis or Run DMC for that matter.

To be honest I think her not knowing Van Halen is more about how we consume media these days than anything else. Years ago it was whatever was on the radio or TV, now one can head down the rabbit hole and never come up.

Sure they may have sold a shítload of albums back before she was born, but they haven't really stood the test of time (probably something to do with them being absolutely shíte):D

When's the last time you heard one of their songs? Or Huey Lewis or Run DMC for that matter.

I listen to PlanetRock and Van Halen is played quite a lot plus I have them on various playlists but yeah on mainstream radio not much maybe the very odd time you hear 'Jump' which in no way reflects their music at all.

Feisar wrote: »
    That's far less surprising - they'd be considered "alternative" by many in this country. It's not like they get daytime radio play. They're also based thousands of miles away.

Van Halen were huge, very mainstream, and massive in her home state, but their glory days were over long before her time so I don't see the big deal.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Arghus wrote: »
    ...to call them a forgettable one hit wonder isn't true. They sold over fifty million albums in the US.

Fifty Million.

Which puts them in the same bracket as such artistic titans as Meatloaf and Shania Twain.

In fairness to Meatloaf, he's probably more of a two hit wonder than a one hit wonder.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Feisar wrote: »

That's funny. Last week I had Killing in the name off on at work. 2 guys in the office were not impressed. Asked my what was that shlte. I calmly explained that the band was Rage against the machine and I was explaining the political backdrop behind the band. Went on deaf ears. Neither had heard of them. Neither had heard of Pearl Jam either and one of them heard of Guns n roses. These guys were 26 and 23. Into Kendrick and Hip hop stuff, Portmalone etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Don't see what all the fuss is about.

Apparently her full name is Billie Eilish Pirate Baird O'Connell and she's never heard of Van Halen, Run DMC, or Huey Lewis.
    She's 18, she's hardly gonna be a fan of grandad music.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

To be fair lads and lasses, Van Halen are fairly ****e.

There was the second part of my post that you even quoted, where I said I don't see the big deal.

You said your daughter hasn't heard of them - was simply saying that you're not comparing like with like, as Van Halen were huge in the U.S and from California where she's from.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

There was the second part of my post that you even quoted, where I said I don't see the big deal.

You said your daughter hasn't heard of them - was simply saying that you're not comparing like with like, as Van Halen were huge in the U.S and from California where she's from.

I’m 54 and I only know one Van Halen song. And it’s that corny shïte, Jump.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Right now, the music industry is eager to shower women with accolades to prove they aren't sexist. Ariana Grande, Lana Del Rey, Lizzo, and Billie Eilish dominated the nominations at this year's Grammys, with five of the eight best album nominations coming from women. That's not to say that there aren't many talented female artists — there are — but that showering Billie Eilish with awards doesn't necessarily mean that her music is the crème de la crème. There are other factors at play.

Since when is 5/8 dominating :D

It's one off half!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Relikk

Christ, that is awful. Mind-numbingly boring, never gets going because it's so simplistically bare bones and her "singing" style is sleep inducing.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

That's funny. Last week I had Killing in the name off on at work. 2 guys in the office were not impressed. Asked my what was that shlte. I calmly explained that the band was Rage against the machine and I was explaining the political backdrop behind the band. Went on deaf ears. Neither had heard of them. Neither had heard of Pearl Jam either and one of them heard of Guns n roses. These guys were 26 and 23. Into Kendrick and Hip hop stuff, Portmalone etc.

The dudes are 26 and 23, not lads in their late 30’s or early 40’s who once listened to a band associated with body odour, long hair, spots, and wearing a Che Guevara T-shirt.

Ah come on, Rage Against the Machine are pretty awesome in fairness.