Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saoirse McHugh Confused?

• 28-01-2020 11:01pm

Just watching prime time,Saoirse contradicting the greens and acting like a renegade.

She will actually be dangerous to the greens contradicting their policies

• Registered Users Posts: 7,449 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Just watching prime time,Saoirse contradicting the greens and acting like a renegade.

She will actually be dangerous to the greens contradicting their policies

Same the other night.

The greens are head bangers but young people lap them up.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,438 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Saoirse contradicting the greens
    For those that didn't see it, do you want to explain what this was about?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,784 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Same the other night.

The greens are head bangers but young people lap them up.

It's the policies the people want, not the politicians

Victor wrote: »
    For those that didn't see it, do you want to explain what this was about?

It's on now so watch it

Shes totally against carbon tax, seemed unsure about the national herd position

• Registered Users Posts: 7,800 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

It's the policies the people want, not the politicians

Do the polls say the people want either?

• Registered Users Posts: 52,014 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The Greens in Ireland haven’t a clue.
    They’d break the taxpayers backs.

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭Iodine1

McHugh is simply a populist, hopping on any latest bandwagon going by. Tonight is typical "doesn't agree with carbon tax" a core green policy. Before she wouldn't go into gov with FF or FG, so who else is suitable? She couldn't answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Sure she has had Ming Flanagan canvassing with her.

Ming Feckin Flanagan.

Yeah, Ming who was also campaigning on behalf of the turf cutters.

Go figure.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

It is bizarre the amount of airtime that airhead gets. She was in one of the big RTE debates before the european elections as well where she also made an ass of herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 45 macapaca

After watching her there I'd say she'll muster up about 14 votes in the election God love her.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,660 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

bfa1509 wrote: »
    It is bizarre the amount of airtime that airhead gets. She was in one of the big RTE debates before the european elections as well where she also made an ass of herself.

1st time I'd ever seen her in a debate.

I had known she had done well enough in the Europeans, and had heard her mentioned on the radio as being in with an outside chance of becoming a TD.

As a result I thought she might have had a bit of cop on and intelligence, but it appears I was wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,105 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

She is not an airhead she is a genetic scientist with a masters.

I am not saying she is any good when it comes to being a politician, she isn't, but there is no need for the demeaning and sexist BS.

Ballso wrote: »
    Seems like the need to fill gender quotas these days is bringing in a much lower calibre of candidate
    Your right we need some of the old male guard like this lad lol.
    https://www.newstalk.com/news/monaghan-councillor-hugh-mcelvaney-breached-ethics-laws-sipo-finds-958001
    There are good and bad male and female candidates imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,106 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

gmisk wrote: »
    Your right we need some of the old male guard like this lad lol.
    https://www.newstalk.com/news/monaghan-councillor-hugh-mcelvaney-breached-ethics-laws-sipo-finds-958001
    There are good and bad male and female candidates imo.
    This guy has ruined watching Man City games for me and my brother. Any time Sterling gets the ball one of us calls out "sterling" in a thick Monaghan accent.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Primetime is interesting.

Rural Ireland has made great sport of building isolated one off housing and now we're worried about rural isolation.

She is not an airhead she is a genetic scientist with a masters.

Some of the biggest airheads I know have phds. College qualifications mean nothing.
    there is no need for the demeaning and sexist BS.

I think you mean equality. You better get used to it.

I don't know if you saw it, but Miriam completely levelled her in the interview. Is Miriam sexist too?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,507 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

NIMAN wrote: »

I had known she had done well enough in the Europeans, and had heard her mentioned on the radio as being in with an outside chance of becoming a TD.

As a result I thought she might have had a bit of cop on and intelligence, but it appears I was wrong.

Whatever chance she had previously she recently said she'd cancel the Westport to castlebar road, that will cost her a mountain of votes.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,660 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

She buried Peter Casey in that debate.

Some of the biggest airheads I know have phds. College qualifications mean nothing.

I think you mean equality. You better get used to it.

I don't know if you saw it, but Miriam completely levelled her in the interview. Is Miriam sexist too?
    Calling someone an airhead is sexist and demeaning imo as I said, call her out of her depth and useless fine she clearly is as I said.
    That would be equality, get used to what?!
    I watched it...did Miriam call her an airhead like you? Nope, so why would she be sexist?

She buried Peter Casey in that debate.
    That blithering idiot? It's not saying much, she was severely out of her depth tonight and in no way in line with her parties policies. What little hope she had of a seat is gone imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

She buried Peter Casey in that debate.[/QUOTE

Peter Casey got well over 340,000 votes nationwide.
    How many do you think she would get.??

washman3 wrote: »
    She buried Peter Casey in that debate.[/QUOTE

Peter Casey got well over 340,000 votes nationwide.
    How many do you think she would get.??
    If she slagged off travellers probably more would be my guess

• Registered Users Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

She’s basically an anarchic socialist. Says herself her ideal world is one where we return to local communities in self supporting environments with less / no industrialisation. Better for the planet, better for the soul and all that.

The Green Party has this fight internally between its fringe elements of various stripes and the practical get on with it Greens. Naturally she’s on one side of that debate.

She’s engaging (and actually quite funny at times in the way she’ll talk about things) and in fairness honest. A polished politician will squeeze out of a corner when asked something they don’t know, the honest ones look like they’re not informed rather than slippy. Take your pick.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

washman3 wrote: »
    If she slagged off travellers probably more would be my guess

Or if she called it as it is, as Casey did, and more importantly refused to back down when the PC brigade and D4 media tried to do a hatchet job on him, then she would definitely get more. I might even give her my vote then...;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Calling someone an airhead is sexist and demeaning imo as I said, call her out of her depth and useless fine she clearly is as I said.
    I watched it...did Miriam call her an airhead like you? Nope, so why would she be sexist?

You're just arguing that the same thing could have been said with different words, but becuase it wasnt said how youd like to see it, its sexist?

Heres the interview in question:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCKDtxbpAu8

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Farmer_3650

Shes just jumping on the bandwagon to support farmers to pick up votes. Just like ming was jumping on the green bandwagon. She was right in what she said about the westport castlebar road though. Its absolute madness.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

I am not seeing how calling someone an "airhead" would be sexist!! Are you implying that airhead is gender specific?

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭whitey1

macapaca wrote: »
    After watching her there I'd say she'll muster up about 14 votes in the election God love her.

Unfortunately you’re wrong....shell get thousands

• Registered Users Posts: 15,152 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

NIMAN wrote: »

Far as I know the vast majority of the vote she got in the Europeans were well outside the constituency she is standing in, so I doubt she had much of a chance even before her latest ramblings.