Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Deal breakers and turn-off's in dating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I didn't mean it like that, but whatever you're into yourself!

Riding in exciting places, I thought that was clear :pac:
    I'll just clarify, i meant looking at the ceiling in boredom, Susie got the idea!

I got it too! My attempt at humour has failed, I fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I'll just clarify, i meant looking at the ceiling in boredom, Susie got the idea!

The sex was that bad, huh?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

That is quick! What made the 2 of you bite the bullet and do it after a month?
    I'm generally a go with the flow, be grand type, oft to a fault. So I thought feck it, where's the harm. She was similar. At the start anyway.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Wibbs wrote: »
    I'm generally a go with the flow, be grand type, oft to a fault. So I thought feck it, where's the harm. She was similar. At the start anyway.

That ended ominously. I'll pry no more ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

Hammer89 wrote: »
    This is going to sound very odd but I swear on my loved ones that it genuinely turned me off her.

I jump on and off of Tinder every now and again and this one day I matched with a lovely and pretty woman in her 20s. I was out on the town when I first messaged her, quite drunk, and I remembered in her profile that she liked facts. So I was like, 'Hey what's happening. You like me facts? Me too. Did you know Bruno Mars's first name is actually Peter.' It turned out to be a decent ice-breaker because we start bantering back and forth over the coming days, before I successfully get her number.

I was chuffed with myself and was sort of getting excited about meeting up and whatnot. I deactivate Tinder with the intention of carrying on speaking to her on Whatsapp, but when I go to message her I realise she hadn't been online in four days. Don't ask me why but I got turned off that a woman in her 20s didn't use Whatsapp regularly. I deduced that she must not have a great social status if she hadn't been online in days, and haven't spoken to her since. Listen, I realise this is completely ridiculous, to the point where it sounds made-up but it's absolutely true.

This is honestly one of the most shallow, pathetic posts I've ever read. She dodged a bullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Wibbs wrote: »

i would be one those go with the flow types as well and a turn off for me would be those that have all these rules, like only replying to text after certain amount of time or worse all these rules around dating, like how many dates before doing a b or c and its the end of the world if one of these rules is broken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Difference between not having a job and just being a layabout/freeloader (no health issues). The latter would be a dealbreaker for most I'm sure, but the former can be for a number of valid reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

This is honestly one of the most shallow, pathetic posts I've ever read. She dodged a bullet.

I think it's a bit hypocritical to say she dodged a bullet. You're sort of making a solid judgement about me based on very little, which is what you're criticising me for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Difference between not having a job and just being a layabout/freeloader (no health issues). The latter would be a dealbreaker for most I'm sure, but the former can be for a number of valid reasons.

The never worked type would be a no, as would the type that's fired from every job shortly after starting, tbetween jobs and actively looking would be different.

Most fun things cost money though, so you do have to be realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Floppybits

The never worked type would be a no, as would the type that's fired from every job shortly after starting, tbetween jobs and actively looking would be different.

Most fun things cost money though, so you do have to be realistic.

Some of the never worked types have more money that some of the folks out breaking their back working.

imagine if somewhere on on boards she has written a thread about some lad ghosting her for no reason or that she doesnt use whatsapp often haha

Anytime anybody gets ghosted it's for no reason basically. For whatever reason, one person gets spooked by something silly or their instincts tell them to retreat a bit. I don't think it makes the ghoster a bad person.

I've been ghosted and you could send yourself demented trying to figure out why. Should I have said this? Should I have told her this? Did that joke offend her? Does she like my beard? Should I upload a picture when I'm clean shaven? All sorts. You just have to respect the fact the other person latched on to something they didn't like and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

I think it's a bit hypocritical to say she dodged a bullet. You're sort of making a solid judgement about me based on very little, which is what you're criticising me for?

Pot, kettle, black!

Ya must be taking the piss!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,186 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

This is going to sound very odd but I swear on my loved ones that it genuinely turned me off her.

I jump on and off of Tinder every now and again and this one day I matched with a lovely and pretty woman in her 20s. I was out on the town when I first messaged her, quite drunk, and I remembered in her profile that she liked facts. So I was like, 'Hey what's happening. You like me facts? Me too. Did you know Bruno Mars's first name is actually Peter.' It turned out to be a decent ice-breaker because we start bantering back and forth over the coming days, before I successfully get her number.

I was chuffed with myself and was sort of getting excited about meeting up and whatnot. I deactivate Tinder with the intention of carrying on speaking to her on Whatsapp, but when I go to message her I realise she hadn't been online in four days. Don't ask me why but I got turned off that a woman in her 20s didn't use Whatsapp regularly. I deduced that she must not have a great social status if she hadn't been online in days, and haven't spoken to her since. Listen, I realise this is completely ridiculous, to the point where it sounds made-up but it's absolutely true.
    i just did a poll in the office and we decided she went offline because you are bloke that know facts about bruno marrs, a bloke that knows anything about bruno mars is a manlet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,039 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I was under the impression that the “youth” weren’t using WhatsApp as much, they’re all using different apps.

Could explain the reason for being “offline” for that long.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Feisar wrote: »
    Pot, kettle, black!

That's the point!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

You judged a woman for not being online enough on WhatsApp and took from it that she didn't have enough social status. I think that's definitely worthy of harsh judgement. It's a sign of a very immature, shallow, sheep mentality.

Pro life tip - The most interesting people with the most exciting lives don't tend to be the ones glued to their phones 24/7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭creditcarder

This post is strange, but I'm not big fan of the criticism tbh. Everybody has their own deal breakers.

My deal breakers are criticism at a show of confidence as it's a sighn of perhaps abuse :P That's sort of my only deal breaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,972 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

This post is strange, but I'm not big fan of the criticism tbh. Everybody has their own deal breakers.

My deal breakers are criticism at a show of confidence as it's a sighn of perhaps abuse :P That's sort of my only deal breaker.

Should that be "criticism as a show of confidence"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,549 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Should that be "criticism as a show of confidence"?

Probably not, criticising a confident person can be done to lower their self-esteem as a form of emotional abuse. Controlling behaviour can then follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I was chuffed with myself and was sort of getting excited about meeting up and whatnot. I deactivate Tinder with the intention of carrying on speaking to her on Whatsapp, but when I go to message her I realise she hadn't been online in four days. Don't ask me why but I got turned off that a woman in her 20s didn't use Whatsapp regularly. I deduced that she must not have a great social status if she hadn't been online in days, and haven't spoken to her since. Listen, I realise this is completely ridiculous, to the point where it sounds
    made-up but it's absolutely true.

great ice breaker:rolleyes: a lot of pop stars gave different real names. jesus that was lame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭2 fast

Talking about how many girls he has scored at MACRA & proceeding to order 4 courses while you just have 1... read the room lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭creditcarder

Probably not, criticising a confident person can be done to lower their self-esteem as a form of emotional abuse. Controlling behaviour can then follow.

True, but I was more talking about a little bit of insecurity on the woman's part rather than an emotional abuser per se. Like, if a dude starts manspreading (as one example) and an argument starts about something unrelated, then it could be a pattern imo.

You judged a woman for not being online enough on WhatsApp and took from it that she didn't have enough social status. I think that's definitely worthy of harsh judgement. It's a sign of a very immature, shallow, sheep mentality.

Pro life tip - The most interesting people with the most exciting lives don't tend to be the ones glued to their phones 24/7.

There's a difference between harsh judgement and calling a stranger a shallow and immature sheep Lainey. One of these qualifies as prejudice, the same prejudice as making a concrete assessment about a woman's social status with a potentially flimsy bit of evidence. That's why I'm calling hypocrisy. Call me a wanker until you're blue in the face, but to go after my character is something else in my view.

pgj2015 wrote: »
    great ice breaker:rolleyes: a lot of pop stars gave different real names. jesus that was lame.

Russell Brand over here.

What fact would you have given?

Did you know Istanbul used to be known as Constantinople?
    Did it yeah?
    It did yeah.
    Great.
    Thanks. What's your number so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fireball81

Many years ago in London in the slug & lettece in Fulham.(it used to be referred to as the slut and legless), was on a date and later in the evening when we both had a few drinks on board, i asked if she liked anal....didn't go down very well at all surprisingly.

Never saw her again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,857 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Fireball81 wrote: »
    Many years ago in London in the slug & lettece in Fulham.(it used to be referred to as the slut and legless), was on a date and later in the evening when we both had a few drinks on board, i asked if she liked anal....didn't go down very well at all surprisingly.

Never saw her again...

I guess she took it the wrong way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

Do you really care what people think that much? and are you seriously that concerned with social media and how popular someone is?
    Grow up, lifes too short for that carry on.

A deal breaker for me was recently enough I was messaging a guy on tinder, he seemed fairly decent so we swapped numbers and started texting. Everything was going well until I asked him how was his weekend, he told me he spent the saturday playing board games with his folks, - I dont have a close family and find it cringy and awkward when I hear people talk about hanging out with their parents but I am willing to overlook this as I know that I is me with the problem but things just went down hill from there. He said he regularly plays board games with his folks and also has board game tournaments with his friends, told me about how two of his friends got girlfriends and they had to include them into their board game tournaments and how it changed everything. He then started listing out names of board games and asked me if I knew them. I showed interest, its good to have a hobby but just said I didnt play them and I hadnt played a board game since I was about 8, thinking he'd leave it at that and move on to a different topic, he asked me what game was it then tried to guess the name of the last board game I played.
    He's 38, just came across as a bit obsessive and immature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Ah here, I have a big old bush but I don't think there's any need for that. If people prefer the look and feel of shaved that's their choice. It's their box like.
    Would prefer that the ladies box is trimmed or shaved; dislike getting hair caught in my teeth!
    They're one of all time best things that's ever existed in any universe, think of all she's done for you and you can't even look her in the eye :mad: :(
    It could be worse. If lads look at their 3rd eye at the wrong moment, we go blind :pac:
    Don't ask me why but I got turned off that a woman in her 20s didn't use Whatsapp regularly.
    You can hide your “Last Seen” activity from WhatsApp by changing your privacy settings. Can be used so that women aren't spammed by lads who she is ghosting that suddenly see that she's online.
    I showed interest, its good to have a hobby but just said I didnt play them and I hadnt played a board game since I was about 8, thinking he'd leave it at that and move on to a different topic, he asked me what game was it then tried to guess the name of the last board game I played.
    Sounds like you don't share interests. Just move on. Personally, I'm 38 and play board games with a group of lads (ages of the group are between 30-55) every Thursday. Current game is war/strategy based. Weekends are for recovering from the hangovers :P
    Would not having a job turn people off? I think I'd be very hesitant to go there.
    100% turnoff for the most part. Am seeing a lot of women in the 28-34 age category that don't list having a job, but have a "shopping" hobby :eek:

If she's a college student, it can depend. If she has a bit of info in the profile, swipe right, but if she list herself as a student, and the profile is bare, I swipe left.

=-=

Kids are a no-no, as I don't have the patience to deal with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

A deal breaker for me was recently enough I was messaging a guy on tinder, he seemed fairly decent so we swapped numbers and started texting. Everything was going well until I asked him how was his weekend, he told me he spent the saturday playing board games with his folks, - I dont have a close family and find it cringy and awkward when I hear people talk about hanging out with their parents but I am willing to overlook this as I know that I is me with the problem but things just went down hill from there. He said he regularly plays board games with his folks and also has board game tournaments with his friends, told me about how two of his friends got girlfriends and they had to include them into their board game tournaments and how it changed everything. He then started listing out names of board games and asked me if I knew them. I showed interest, its good to have a hobby but just said I didnt play them and I hadnt played a board game since I was about 8, thinking he'd leave it at that and move on to a different topic, he asked me what game was it then tried to guess the name of the last board game I played.

He actually sounds a bit intriguing and the fact that he's into family really impresses me.
    Send him my way :D

To thine own self be true

He actually sounds a bit intriguing and the fact that he's into family really impresses me.
    Send him my way :D

He's going to confuse real life and board games and murder you with a revolver in the billiard room.

Russell Brand over here.

What fact would you have given?

Did you know Istanbul used to be known as Constantinople?
    Did it yeah?
    It did yeah.
    Great.
    Thanks. What's your number so?

I wouldnt give a fact, Im not 10. fact lol

pgj2015 wrote: »
    I wouldnt give a fact, Im not 10. fact lol

Well it worked so the criticism is a bit weird. It's like saying something is a stupid idea for an invention after it's sold a billion units.

the fact worked, ok then. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

Have to say scrolling through AH it becomes more and more clear to me that any guy who is against feminism would not be for me.

I wouldn’t mind so much if he was somewhat indifferent but if he actively hates feminism and everything it stands for, he’s not the guy for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Shane Howling Signboard

Going to the Gym is not a personality.....honestly those who go on and on about the gym are just masking their lack of interests/personality

KiKi III wrote: »
    Have to say scrolling through AH it becomes more and more clear to me that any guy who is against feminism would not be for me.

I wouldn’t mind so much if he was somewhat indifferent but if he actively hates feminism and everything it stands for, he’s not the guy for me.

on the other side of the coin, a 3rd wave feminist, Una Mullaly/LON, obsessively blaming "the patriarchy" for everything type, being triggered by nonsense like man spreading etc would be a big no no for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

S**t tests and general toddler/stroppy behaviour

• Registered Users Posts: 34 TheManthatsDan

I have actually discreetly put my fingers in my ears during because the noise was putting me off so much! :D

Where were his fingers?

on the other side of the coin, a 3rd wave feminist, Una Mullaly/LON, obsessively blaming "the patriarchy" for everything type, being triggered by nonsense like man spreading etc would be a big no no for me

I don’t think you’re Una’s type anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I absolutely agree that a girl should ask a guy out and offer to pay for the meal.

Ficheall wrote: »
    I absolutely agree that a girl should ask a guy out and offer to pay for the meal.

Guess I’m just a bit of a hypocrite in that regard. What can I say? I’m not perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Guess I’m just a bit of a hypocrite in that regard. What can I say? I’m not perfect!

And that’s why a lot of guys have issues with ‘feminists’, it’s the hypocrisy.

I don’t think you’re Una’s type anyway.

im devesated :D ....again i dont have problems with being a feminist, its just the looney offended ones, victim card playing, whinge on twitter types....work with a woman who'se just a pain to deal with as she's like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Turn-offs:

Smoker
    Low level of education - usually wont have same interests as me
    Doesnt want kids
    Too dolled up all the time
    Seems like a hunzo
    Doesnt like doing active things
    Little ambition
    Doesnt like to go out and do things like drinks/brunch/etc

How many dates would you have before going on holiday with a new romantic acquaintance?
    I think my most recent was 5 dates (spread out over two months, as I was traipsing around the US and Canada for a month of that), and the one before that 3 (all within a week).

It is important to find out asap whether she is the type of lady to be surprised by the airport security asking her to remove her electronics and liquids..

Low level of education - usually wont have same interests as me
    What's a "low" level of education?

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    And that’s why a lot of guys have issues with ‘feminists’, it’s the hypocrisy.

I’m not going to argue with you Dougal. Yes, I’m a woman who identifies as feminist and also likes some old fashioned traditions as regards dating. It’s a bit hypocritical but very few people are ideologically pure and completely consistent in all their beliefs. I can only aspire to it. Like most humans, I’m a whole mess of contradictions and I’m okay with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

What's a "low" level of education?

It's subjective

I dont think it should be up to either the man or woman to pay for the meal, ive happily put my hand in my pocket and insisted I pay for myself.
    As for the woman making the first move, ive tried this and my female friends have tried this too, it rarely ever goes well. Either they act like the girl is a crazy psycho for showing a little bit of interest, they get a big head and think they can treat her like ****, it's like they think theyre are god or something, its mad or they immediately decide she must be a slut that's desperate for the D.
    I dont know what it is with allot of men but theres a good reason why women dont make the first move.