Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

POE camera to cloud without NVR?

Options
  • 02-02-2020 1:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 11

I'm planning a surveillance camera setup to a new house. So far, I plan to use the Reolink RLC-410 with POE connections.

I'm no expert on this, but from what I understand the more common solution for storage would be to connect the cameras back to an NVR and store locally. The NVR will be connected to the internet through the house switch, and therefore the NVR can be accessed remotely, for live feedback and to access recordings.

Is there an option within some NVRs to store triggered recordings to the cloud, for free? Or, is it possible to go without an NVR and connect the cameras back to the house POE switch and just rely on the free cloud storage?

Thanks the input

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,741 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

No idea.

What are the advantages of using a wired system over a wireless one?

• Registered Users Posts: 11 clarky280

Bluefoam wrote: »
    No idea.

From what I can tell, the cameras are cheaper and also you won't be unnecessarily using up lots of the Wifi network bandwidth.

clarky280 wrote: »
    From what I can tell, the cameras are cheaper and also you won't be unnecessarily using up lots of the Wifi network bandwidth.

It doesn't sound like a compelling arguement for them... Blink xt cameras are cheap, and don't eat up bandwidth... Have you got particular concerns about your data consumption?

Do you have a plan to trail wires thought your house?