Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2019/2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Knex. wrote: »
    We're gonna win the league. We're gonna win the league! Sometime after (but not too long after) June 17th, we're gonna win the league!

Interesting that the City vs Arsenal game is scheduled on the first day back. Conceivable then, if City lose that, Liverpool can win the title at Goodison? Is that right? I've kinda forgotten the permutations during the break!

If that is right - that game's definitely at a neutral venue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,912 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Cheering on the Arsenal :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Whatever happens, it's important, as fans that we win with the grace and dignity that we're known for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Been two and a half months since the Atletico game. Today is the first day since then that I actuall look forward to football and chat about it again.

Watching when UK ruled Europe on ITV4, 81 next (whenever the next episode is). Mad semi final against BM that year.

In the 80 final the Forest captain only knew the Hamburg captain and Kevin Keegan. He had no idea who the other fellas he was playing were. Times have changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Whatever happens, it's important, as fans that we win with the grace and dignity that we're known for.

514573.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

The BBC have 4 premiership games to show, free to air.

How fitting it would be for Liverpool to win their first title in decades on the Beeb rather than Sky, just like the good ol days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,787 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

garra wrote: »

How fitting it would be for Liverpool to win their first title in decades on the Beeb rather than Sky, just like the good ol days.

Was it not ITV/UTV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭poppers

garra wrote: »

Cannot see SKY allowing a potential league decider to go to any other channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,912 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

All Liverpool's games will be on Sky or BT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,258 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

martyos121 wrote: »
    514573.jpeg

i was gonna jump the gun and say he was defeated in the end. but alas, city dont have the power of time travel! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

All Liverpool's games will be on Sky or BT.

We only have to watch the 2.......:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,286 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Was it not ITV/UTV?

BBC, ITV only came into it in the late 80s before Sky took over in the 90s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Have Amazon the license to all the matches until the end of the season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Fieldog wrote: »
    Have Amazon the license to all the matches until the end of the season?

I doubt they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

We only have to watch the 2.......:D:D

just one after the arsenal do us a favour

BBC, ITV only came into it in the late 80s before Sky took over in the 90s

So in 89 ITV had the live games?

I just have a small memory of Ron Atkinson doing the punditry back then.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Also, from now on, can we never again say the league is won, we won it months ago, wrapped up at Christmas etc etc ... until we actually have the bloody thing won! :P

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Also, from now on, can we never again say the league is won, we won it months ago, wrapped up at Christmas etc etc ... until we actually have the bloody thing won! :P

I'll not believe its won till I see The Lean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

35 years today since that awful night in Brussels. I remember tuning in to BBC Radio as the tragedy was unfolding and Emlyn Hughes who was summariser was in tears. Awful awful night. RIP the 39.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,286 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,821 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

So lads what game do you think we will win it at ?
    I'd love it to be Palace at home but I think it might be Villa

Hopefully Goodison

Be some craic if we didn't win the league haha

6 wrote: »
    Hopefully Goodison

No chance Arsenal are beating City ,

Probably not.

I think there might be some unusual results over the next two months though. No fans in stadium, no matches for players in 3 months.

6 wrote: »
    Probably not.

I think there might be some unusual results over the next two months though. No fans in stadium, no matches for players in 3 months.

I was thinking about this will we see some shocks our will the top teams who have the better players win by even more if the rest haven't had a chance to work on things ,

Could our lads have kept fitter than guys who are less professional in lower teams ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,545 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Looks like Liverpool games will be at neutral venues.

Is there any point of this?

I think locals will gather at Anfield when they win the title, regardless.

murpho999 wrote: »
    Looks Liverpool games will be at neutral venues.

Makes no sense what if they lose games ? Surely that's an unfair

Well I don't think an empty home ground offers much advantage.

Then again, Man City have a good home record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Goodison simply to get it done and dusted with. Originally, I’d have chosen the Palace match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

monkey9 wrote: »
    Goodison simply to get it done and dusted with. Originally, I’d have chosen the Palace match.

The Everton game is being spoken about as Neutral venue not Goodison.

Doesn't matter where it happens for me as long as it happens

8-10 wrote: »
    The Everton game is being spoken about as Neutral venue not Goodison.

Doesn't matter where it happens for me as long as it happens

Oh well wherever it's being played then. I just want to get it done as quick as possible. I realise a Merseyside derby title win involves Arsenal beating City, but sure let's not rule that out.

Looks Liverpool games will be at neutral venues.

We're just too good. No team has been this far ahead in the history of football, the pandemic hasn't worked so this is the final attempt. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Has someone upset Nick Tanner?

I thought it was a lighthearted "look how much we used to get back in the day" post but the tone seems a lot harder towards the end.

https://twitter.com/nicktanner799/status/1266323806370574338

Has someone upset Nick Tanner?

I thought it was a lighthearted "look how much we used to get back in the day" post but the tone seems a lot harder towards the end.

He's complaining about money grabbing by wishing he was playing now so he'd get paid more money.

It's all relative, footballers were very well paid in those days compared to the rest of the population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,663 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

monkey9 wrote: »

If the grounds empty, I don't realyl hink it matters where we win it.

As long as it;s somewhere nearby and not London or Newcastle.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Gaillimh1976

Part of me would love us to lift the trophy at a neutral Old Trafford

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

He's complaining about money grabbing by wishing he was playing now so he'd get paid more money.

It's all relative, footballers were very well paid in those days compared to the rest of the population.

They were, but at 35 or whatever were set adrift into the world with no education in lots of cases, work experience or clue how to function outside of the football bubble. It was a real problem then for top level players, which explains the after dinner circuit and so on. Obviously affected lower level players too, and still does in a lot of cases, but at least there wasn't a big fame bubble for those guys.

It's another aspect of that old trueism "youth is wasted on the young". Fecking kids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Look, if we don't win it at Anfield or Goodison, I think any Liverpool supporter who says anywhere else other than OT is being quite the Silly Billy.

My number 1 preference would be Anfield obviously, but Old Trafford would be a bit hilarious.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

We should all change our usernames to contain an *.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,710 ✭✭✭Speak Now

5starpool wrote: »
    We should all change our usernames to contain an *.

The league cup will be the only asterisk free competition this year :D actually no we'll need an one for that as well as the team were on a different continent when they got knocked out :D

Look, if we don't win it at Anfield or Goodison, I think any Liverpool supporter who says anywhere else other than OT is being quite the Silly Billy.

My number 1 preference would be Anfield obviously, but Old Trafford would be a bit hilarious.

Out in Stanley Park, jumpers for goalposts, rush goalie it really doesn't matter to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Anyone got a link of the paddy power video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,710 ✭✭✭Speak Now

On their Twitter feed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Blanco100

What video is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,022 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

https://twitter.com/paddypower/status/1266314653862432779

Merseyside Police have issued a statement saying they have no objection to any Everton or Liverpool game at home and are ready to police them.
    Yay the police.
    The Mayor won't be happy. Does the Mayor control the police or does that only happen in Batman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,678 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

The theatre of dreams...