Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Group Whatsapp - Woman sentenced over child pornography video

• 04-02-2020 5:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭

This article https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2020/0204/1113077-omo-delpin-omorouyi-court/

What should be the policy if someone is on the receiving end in a group chat?
    • Delete the video on whatsapp.
    • Delete it locally.
    • Ensure that it is also removed from cloud backup.
    • Report/Block user to whataspp (What good is this?).
    • Leave group - maybe not.
    • Report it to the group admin.
    • Report it to Guards.

If her story is true then that sounds harsh, even if it was a suspended sentence.

Edit: But... it refers to the video as being of a very young child. Surely if you received that, you'd be bloody sure it was deleted from your device?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,642 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

If her story is true then that sounds harsh, even if it was a suspended sentence.
    Agreed, seems very harsh if her version of events is correct.

Sounds like a good way to get somebody you don't like in trouble - they might not take all the steps to fully delete.

As an aside, what a spectacular, magnificent name on the senior counsel for defence:
    Garnet Orange SC

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Seems ridiculously harsh

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Edit: But... it refers to the video as being of a very young child. Surely if you received that, you'd be bloody sure it was deleted from your device?

Why did she plead guilty I wonder?

Sounds like the Gardai went after this conviction to hurt the person the were originally searching the house for

osarusan wrote: »
    Agreed, seems very harsh if her version of events is correct.

Sounds like a good way to get somebody you don't like in trouble - they might not take all the steps to fully delete.

As an aside, what a spectacular, magnificent name on the senior counsel for defence:

Heres an idea, next time the Gardai lift one of the Kinahans or Hutch gang members for questioning, get Mary in the office to send him some child porn over whatsapp, and then charge him with possession.

Surely if you received it you would straight away report it to the Gardai, it & the person that sent it to you?

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Why did she plead guilty I wonder?

Sounds like the Gardai went after this conviction to hurt the person the were originally searching the house for

No it doesn't.
    It sounds like the phone was examined by someone trained to do so, who found child porn videos.
    Would you suggest the Gardai ignore child porn?

bubblypop wrote: »
    Surely if you received it you would straight away report it to the Gardai, it & the person that sent it to you?

Should do, but failure to do so is not a crime:

He said his client should have reported the footage to gardaí but did not. Judge Codd noted that this is not a criminal offence.

Actually pretty scary, if her version of events is true, and the article doesn't suggest it was disputed in any way.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,493 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I thought the law was "knowingly" in possession of it?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I wish people would stop referring to it as child "porn". That is likening it to consensual acts. Its child abuse images and videos.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Garnet Orange

Sounds like the name of a Blindboy Boatclub podcast.

"The Romancing of Garnet Orange"

One would have imagined had she not plead guilty she could have walked out without a conviction. On the face of it, there appeared to be no mental component to the crime (mens rea I think they call it in the legal biz).

Perhaps she was poorly advised by the learned Mr Orange.

At the end of the hearing John Byrne BL, for the DPP, asked Judge Codd to order the destruction of the mobile phone.

“It’s not possible to delete [whatever data is on it] with any degree of certainty,” he said.

If some unknown person sends you something like that, best thing to do is to destroy the device!! Only way to be sure.

Something seriously wrong with this.

If some unknown person sends you something like that, best thing to do is to destroy the device!! Only way to be sure.

Something seriously wrong with this.

Yeah, but you shouldn't have to.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

I thought the law was "knowingly" in possession of it?

Asked the same question over in Legal Discussions if you're interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

Sniipe wrote: »
    This article https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2020/0204/1113077-omo-delpin-omorouyi-court/

What should be the policy if someone is on the receiving end in a group chat?
    • Delete the video on whatsapp.
    • Delete it locally.
    • Ensure that it is also removed from cloud backup.
    • Report/Block user to whataspp (What good is this?).
    • Leave group - maybe not.
    • Report it to the group admin.
    • Report it to Guards.

No point reporting it to the Gardai if you've already deleted it and thus have no evidence.

KiKi III wrote: »
    No point reporting it to the Gardai if you've already deleted it and thus have no evidence.

This situation would tend to disagree with that. I wonder if they would have prosecuted had she reported it, deleted or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,512 ✭✭✭Wheety

Even if she deleted the video from the WhatsApp folder, a forensic examination of the phone would still find it. Could you still get in trouble then?

Although I'm not sure that happened. Guard could have just looked through the phone.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

You'd have to wonder why the DPP pursued this case.

One hopes that they at least pursued the sender of the material in tandem with this lady.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

KiKi III wrote: »

Actually reporting to Garcia is the best option. There was a similar case of one of the top British police officers who list her job and got sentence for not reporting it.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/uk-news/2019/nov/19/police-chief-convicted-for-having-child-sex-abuse-video-on-phone-robyn-williams

Yurt! wrote: »
    You'd have to wonder why the DPP pursued this case.

One hopes that they at least pursued the sender of the material in tandem with this lady.

Report I read said that he had been convicted in the US.

Should do, but failure to do so is not a crime:

Actually pretty scary, if her version of events is true, and the article doesn't suggest it was disputed in any way.

Failure to report is not a crime, but possession is, & she had possession of it.

Lads, maybe ye don't realise but when people do things wrong, they make up lies.

No it doesn't.
    It sounds like the phone was examined by someone trained to do so, who found child porn videos.
    Would you suggest the Gardai ignore child porn?

Definitely not ignore, but are Gardai obligated to bring every crime before the courts?

I would have thought she'd be questioned, then given a warning or something.

Can't believe she pleaded guilty when it wasn't her fault the phone downloaded the video.

Failure to report is not a crime, but possession is, & she had possession of it.

Lads, maybe ye don't realise but when people do things wrong, they make up lies.

Myabe you don't realise that sometimes they don't actually do anything wrong in the first place?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,056 ✭✭✭✭neris

Sounds like a guy who lives in a trailer down in rural alabama whos aspirations of the NFL failed miserably

Definitely not ignore, but are Gardai obligated to bring every crime before the courts?

I would have thought she'd be questioned, then given a warning or something.

Can't believe she pleaded guilty when it wasn't her fault the phone downloaded the video.

I'd imagine the was questioned & a file sent to the DPP, the guard didn't decide to charge her.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Sounds like there’s more to this case than we’ve been made aware of.

That is obviously a possibility of course, but neither the RTE or IT articles suggest any part of her story was disputed.

Hopefully there is something else that didn't become public, or it's a pretty scary outcome.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,236 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Judge Pauline Codd said that in January 2018 Omo Delpin Omorouyi was the innocent recipient of a video which began innocuously

The Judge should have advised her to plead not guilty and throw out the case.

Mr Orange told the court that his client's ambitions to work in child care are now gone, because this conviction means she cannot get garda vetting.

“That door has being shut to her,” he said. She has left a college course in social care and is now working in a fast food restaurant.

He said that she came to Ireland from Nigeria as a juvenile and that “appalling things” had happened to her in her past. In an assessment a psychiatrist said that “listening to her had a moving effect on him”.

Garda Killian Leyden said that the adult in the video has since being identified as a man in Michigan, US, and has been convicted.

Also

Mr Orange said that the case showed that “any of us could find ourselves the recipient of this kind of awful material.”

“This stuff is flying around online. It's a case of there but for the grace of God go I,” he said.

He said that his client should have reported the footage to gardaí but didn't. Judge Codd noted that this is not a criminal offence.

Why doesnt Mr orange know the law? Sounds like the worst lawyer ever

Mr Orange told the court that his client's ambitions to work in child care are now gone, because this conviction means she cannot get garda vetting.

“That door has being shut to her,” he said. She has left a college course in social care and is now working in a fast food restaurant.

He said that she came to Ireland from Nigeria as a juvenile and that “appalling things” had happened to her in her past. In an assessment a psychiatrist said that “listening to her had a moving effect on him”.

Garda Killian Leyden said that the adult in the video has since being identified as a man in Michigan, US, and has been convicted.

Also

Mr Orange said that the case showed that “any of us could find ourselves the recipient of this kind of awful material.”

“This stuff is flying around online. It's a case of there but for the grace of God go I,” he said.

He said that his client should have reported the footage to gardaí but didn't. Judge Codd noted that this is not a criminal offence.

Why doesnt Mr orange know the law? Sounds like the worst lawyer ever

Your Username makes this post very confusing.