Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All those contemplating voting for that bunch

• 04-02-2020 11:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭

BREAKING NEWS: “We will vote in favour of a ban”: Sinn Fein announces that it is “opposed to foxhunting”.

Sinn Fein has announced that it is in favour of a ban on cruel fox hunting and will give its backing to future legislation to outlaw it.

Responding to correspondence from the Irish Council Against Blood Sports, party president Mary Lou McDonald TD today stated: “Sinn Fein is opposed to foxhunting and we will vote in favour of a ban at the next opportunity.”

ICABS welcomes this announcement and is renewing an appeal to the party to also support a ban on cruel hare coursing.

Deputy McDonald outlined that the party is not currently in favour of a ban on the bloodsport which involves snatching thousands of hares from the wild, holding them in captivity and using them as live lures for dogs to chase.

ICABS has brought to her attention the results of a recent RED C opinion poll which shows that a 77 per cent majority of Irish citizens want coursing banned, with a mere 9 per cent disagreeing with a ban.

A petition urging Sinn Fein to back a coursing ban has been signed by over 66,000 people - https://www.change.org/p/sinn-fein-support-a-ban-on-cruel-hare-coursing

“Sinn Féin are currently developing a comprehensive policy on animal welfare, through consultation with our members and all stakeholders working and volunteering in this area,” Deputy McDonald revealed. “This work commenced before the election was called and will continue thereafter.”

In relation to greyhound racing, she commented that “Sinn Féin was extremely concerned by recent reports and investigations that exposed animal cruelty and the illegal doping of dogs in the greyhound industry and we believe that action needs to be taken to root these practices out of the industry.”

She said that the party is “not opposed to funding for the industry in principle especially given its importance to rural Ireland”. Regardless, Sinn Fein TDs have voted against €65 million in state grants to greyhound racing in the past four years and against €262 million in funding for horse racing.

Sinn Fein's statement in support of a ban on foxhunting follows a similar announcement in 2018, when the party confirmed that it would support legislation aiming to ban fur farming in Ireland. Responding to an appeal from ICABS at the time, Mary Lou McDonald stated: "After consultation with our Policy Department, I can confirm that Sinn Féin passed a motion at an Ard Fheis a number of years ago to ban mink farming. I am therefore happy to confirm that we will be in a position to support the legislation when it is introduced at second stage."

Last week, the Irish Mirror reported that Sinn Fein was preparing to present a motion at Belfast City Hall declaring that the “display of caged animals in enclosures is wrong and unethical”. A Sinn Fein councillor pushing for the closure of Belfast Zoo was quoted as saying: “The current treatment of animals for entertainment purposes should have no place in modern Belfast."

SEE ALSO

A RED C poll, commissioned by the Irish Council Against Blood Sports, reveals that a massive 77% agree that the government should BAN HARE COURSING. The opinion poll carried out in September found that just 9% disagree with a ban https://www.facebook.com/banbloodsports/posts/2513861852062691

Belfast Zoo facing closure as Sinn Féin says caging animals 'wrong and unethical'
    https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/popular-zoo-facing-closure-sinn-21400714

ACTION ALERT

Please join us in urging Sinn Fein to respect the wishes of the majority and reinstate its previous anti-coursing policy.

Sinn Féin
    44 Parnell Square
    Dublin 1, Ireland
    Tel: (353) 1 8726100/8726932
    Email: admin@sinnfein.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭solarwinds

"ICABS has brought to her attention the results of a recent RED C opinion poll which shows that a 77 per cent majority of Irish citizens want coursing banned, with a mere 9 per cent disagreeing with a ban."

Be interesting to see what the result of that survey would have been if it was conducted outside of the M50.
    77% of what number, how many and of what demographic were surveyed other than their own members on Nosebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

A lot of people who vote for them can be swayed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

In fairness I don't like fox hunting, although a pity SF didn't suggest banning the shooting of humans a few decades ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

In fairness I don't like fox hunting, although a pity SF didn't suggest banning the shooting of humans a few decades ago.

I don’t like shooting clays, or target shooting.

But for me it’s about freedoms and personal choices and protecting the rights of minorities, us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

And if you think that is bad enough.Heres SF on gun ownership and shooting from their own website.

Sinn Féin Justice Spokesperson Aengus Ó Snodaigh TD has said the Criminal Justice Bill 2009 will not address gangland crime but represents a welcome development in terms of prudent gun control. Deputy Ó Snodaigh said the Bill will help prevent the development of a gun culture in Ireland while ensuring that Ireland continues to be proudly represented by talented target shooters at Olympic type events into the future.

Speaking at Committee stage of the Bill Deputy Ó Snodaigh said, “The new firearms provisions contained in this Bill will not address gangland crime but they do represent a welcome development in terms of prudent gun control.

“The Bill bans high calibre handguns while allowing lower calibre handguns for use in sports recognised by the Olympic Committee to continue to be licensed. I believe both the sporting tradition and the public at large should welcome this Bill.

“I am proposing a number of amendments including that any future further prohibitions of firearms types by the Minister be brought before the Oireachtas Justice Committee so that the implications, if any, for sporting activities can be properly considered and debated in advance.

“By banning high calibre handguns and the so-called sports involving combat based simulations and by introducing a more comprehensive and effective licensing regime for all other firearms this Bill will help prevent the development of a gun culture and perhaps reduce the shameful instances of Irish people acting as mercenaries and interfering with democratic processes abroad while ensuring that Ireland continues to be proudly represented by talented target shooters at Olympic type events into the future.

“In addition I called on the Minister today to investigate the potential for forensic testing and recording of licensed firearms in the future and the possibility of pursuing a measure at EU level for the mandatory GPS chipping of firearms during the manufacturing stage.” ENDS

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭rockatansky

BREAKING NEWS: “We will vote in favour of a ban”: Sinn Fein announces that it is “opposed to foxhunting”.

Good, and rightly so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

BryanL wrote: »

But for me it’s about freedoms and personal choices and protecting the rights of minorities, us.

Well, in case I wasn't blunt enough.. I don't agree with killing animals unless you eat them but it is preferable to murdering humans which is what SFs paramilitary arm, the PIRA specialised in for a long time. So I think they should shut the fcuk up.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭solarwinds

Good, and rightly so.

Interesting view point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Sein Fein getting into bed with that lot. Well now there's a surprise.

Also ironic considering a whole host of the usual anti hunting / shooting / fishing screamers are frequently led and supported by their extremist brethren from the UK ...

If I remember correctly there was UK antis arrested by Gardai a few years back. Last thing we need is supporting more of that lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭BryanL

. I don't agree with killing animals unless you eat them

Well protection of corncrake, partridge and curlew in Ireland have all involved controlling predators. No foxes, rats, magpies or grey crows were eaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭p28559

“this Bill will help prevent the development of a gun culture and perhaps reduce the shameful instances of Irish people acting as mercenaries and interfering with democratic processes abroad ............

what utter sh*te....

perhaps this legislative genius could enlighten us as to how many Irish people have moved from interfering with pheasants to peasants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭transit260

- Legal Gun Ownership is exactly that - legal.

- We do not support a ban on hare coursing. We believe that Irish hare coursing practices should be regulated to ensure sustainable wildlife management and to minimise unnecessary suffering to the animals involved. We believe the banning of hare coursing would drive it underground and remove current regulations, which are essential to protect the animals involved.

- We are also not opposed to funding for the Horse and Greyhound industries. In fact we are fully aware of the importance of these industries in our economy and particularly to rural Ireland.

- All of this is without prejudice to the party’s continued position of opposition to cruel farming and animal harvesting practices, unnecessary and cruel animal testing, dog fighting, badger baiting, cock fighting and bull fighting and the infliction of cruelty to animals – especially for the purposes of entertainment.

- We believe that hunting and fishing should continue to be regulated in the interests of sustainable wildlife management.

I hope this clears up some confusion for people who are of the false impression that Sinn Féin are against country pursuits and the rural heritage that is Fishing, Hunting etc.

Sinn Féin are not not against Country Pursuits.

As a party we acknowledge the value these traditional rural pursuits including hunting, fishing and hare coursing bring to local rural economies and the role played by local associations in communities around the country.

Aside from this, the hunting community has a valuable part to play in sustainable wildlife management, as well as supplementing the work of monitoring certain species in coordination with national agencies.

We’ve had a number of statements on this over the years: Matt Cathy in particular led the way in countering the proposed EU ban on lead shot.

and now this has come from a local counselor,so what do you believe ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,441 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

BryanL wrote: »

You're not a minority. You have a minority interest. Massive difference.

How about protecting the rights of Irish wildlife?

The "rights" of Irish wildlife...intresting concept...:D:D:D:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,755 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Both Matt Carthy and Martin Ferris have issued strong denials on this subject to the NARGC and claim "opponents" are trying to smear the party. In fairness both have supported the rights of shooters/hunters over the years as far as I can tell. As for ICABS - they represent no-one outside a tiny lunatic fringe and it would be sheer folly for any political party to associate themselves with any of their hair brained campaigns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,441 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    The "rights" of Irish wildlife...intresting concept...:D:D:D:D

I was being deliberately ridiculous. You know in the same vein as someone who believes having a minority interest makes you a minority.

transit260 wrote: »
    - Legal Gun Ownership is exactly that - legal.

- We do not support a ban on hare coursing. We believe that Irish hare coursing practices should be regulated to ensure sustainable wildlife management and to minimise unnecessary suffering to the animals involved. We believe the banning of hare coursing would drive it underground and remove current regulations, which are essential to protect the animals involved.

- We are also not opposed to funding for the Horse and Greyhound industries. In fact we are fully aware of the importance of these industries in our economy and particularly to rural Ireland.

- All of this is without prejudice to the party’s continued position of opposition to cruel farming and animal harvesting practices, unnecessary and cruel animal testing, dog fighting, badger baiting, cock fighting and bull fighting and the infliction of cruelty to animals – especially for the purposes of entertainment.

- We believe that hunting and fishing should continue to be regulated in the interests of sustainable wildlife management.

I hope this clears up some confusion for people who are of the false impression that Sinn Féin are against country pursuits and the rural heritage that is Fishing, Hunting etc.

Sinn Féin are not not against Country Pursuits.

As a party we acknowledge the value these traditional rural pursuits including hunting, fishing and hare coursing bring to local rural economies and the role played by local associations in communities around the country.

Aside from this, the hunting community has a valuable part to play in sustainable wildlife management, as well as supplementing the work of monitoring certain species in coordination with national agencies.

We’ve had a number of statements on this over the years: Matt Cathy in particular led the way in countering the proposed EU ban on lead shot.

and now this has come from a local counselor,so what do you believe ,

NOT.ONE.WORD.OF .IT.
    They point out they support the ban on illegal blood sports ,that have been illegal for the last 200 years here. so thats like saying,we support the theory of night following day,and when was the last time we went to a feckin Bullfight in Ireland??:rolleyes: They say nothing at all ,as usual about a direct question of banning foxhunting by horse&hound.A simple Yes/No would do fine.

Of course, they wont ban coursing,too many of their members down in the Munster region are big into it and have some excellent dogs,and too much money is changing hands for them to lose out.Likewise fishing and hunting with the gun.

Its the usual, say whatever they want you to hear them say. Ban hunting with horse& hound up with the young and gulliable D4 set,say you are grand with the country cousins with the coursing,fishing and shooting,and feck those Squireens and West Brits on their horses.Shure they wouldnt vote for us in a fit...Sorry for me,their involvement in 34 years of troubles,still makes them too toxic to touch.

lawred2 wrote: »
    I was being deliberately ridiculous. You know in the same vein as someone who believes having a minority interest makes you a minority.

Sort of like anti hunting and anti gun nuts in Ireland then???Now THATS a minority who regualaty bleat about being such.;)

lawred2 wrote: »
    You're not a minority. You have a minority interest. Massive difference.

How about protecting the rights of Irish wildlife?

Just following on from the past comment, and perhaps I am being a bit pedantic but restrictions on hunting do not qualify as animals having rights. Non human animals don't have rights because could never be upheld. Animal welfare laws are very different from animal rights laws.

We all are minorities in our own way.

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Both Matt Carthy and Martin Ferris have issued strong denials on this subject to the NARGC and claim "opponents" are trying to smear the party. In fairness both have supported the rights of shooters/hunters over the years as far as I can tell. As for ICABS - they represent no-one outside a tiny lunatic fringe and it would be sheer folly for any political party to associate themselves with any of their hair brained campaigns

Martin "Martia Anne / 400 M16s" Ferris is retiring.So its no skin off his nose in this one.
    It seems that SF is all over the place with this question,and dont actually have a policy thats consistent across the board.

Sorry to disappoint about ICABS,but I can name a dozen plus politicans and celebs who have supported ICABS over the years.

Starting with the hobbit Higgins,he has been president of ICABS numerous times. Heres a whole list,of present and past names that have shown up supporting ICABS policies ttps://banbloodsports.wordpress.com/2020/01/12/general-election-2020-limerick-city-candidates-and-animal-cruelty-issues/ Like anything in politics ,pander to ther most to get as many votes possible...if there was a group calling for everyone to poke out their left eye with a pencil on the next blood moon in Ireland.you could be sure an Irish politican will be calling for the same in an election time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

And if you think that is bad enough.Heres SF on gun ownership and shooting from their own website.

Sinn Féin Justice Spokesperson Aengus Ó Snodaigh TD has said the Criminal Justice Bill 2009 will not address gangland crime but represents a welcome development in terms of prudent gun control. Deputy Ó Snodaigh said the Bill will help prevent the development of a gun culture in Ireland while ensuring that Ireland continues to be proudly represented by talented target shooters at Olympic type events into the future.

Speaking at Committee stage of the Bill Deputy Ó Snodaigh said, “The new firearms provisions contained in this Bill will not address gangland crime but they do represent a welcome development in terms of prudent gun control.

“The Bill bans high calibre handguns while allowing lower calibre handguns for use in sports recognised by the Olympic Committee to continue to be licensed. I believe both the sporting tradition and the public at large should welcome this Bill.

“I am proposing a number of amendments including that any future further prohibitions of firearms types by the Minister be brought before the Oireachtas Justice Committee so that the implications, if any, for sporting activities can be properly considered and debated in advance.

“By banning high calibre handguns and the so-called sports involving combat based simulations and by introducing a more comprehensive and effective licensing regime for all other firearms this Bill will help prevent the development of a gun culture and perhaps reduce the shameful instances of Irish people acting as mercenaries and interfering with democratic processes abroad while ensuring that Ireland continues to be proudly represented by talented target shooters at Olympic type events into the future.

“In addition I called on the Minister today to investigate the potential for forensic testing and recording of licensed firearms in the future and the possibility of pursuing a measure at EU level for the mandatory GPS chipping of firearms during the manufacturing stage.” ENDS

Do not forget he also wanted any legally held firearms to be kept in storage in Garda stations, and you would have to book it in and out at set times. Seeing how many of the gardai's own firearms have been stolen, lost, fallen out of cars or used by ex-members to shoot themselves, i do not think its a good idea.

That was so the SF armed wing could re equip themselves with ease,if they needed arms more like.;)

Yeah poor old Muammar Gaddafi, Whitey Bulger and his winter hill mob are not around to help anymore.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,619 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Lads,

We're wondering off topic in a big enough way to facilitate the need for a reminder to keep to the thread topic.

Lets try focus on party politics, agendas, manifestos, promises, etc. There is only a day to go.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Cass wrote: »
    Lads,

We're wondering off topic in a big enough way to facilitate the need for a reminder to keep to the thread topic.

Lets try focus on party politics, agendas, manifestos, promises, etc. There is only a day to go.

Thank fcuk, sick of it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭borrisboy

I shoot , hunt and fish and will be voting Sinn Fein !

And we have another lad here who is going to vote for the Green party...Each to their own poision.:P

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭borrisboy

Yeah and you stick to your poison !

borrisboy wrote: »
    I shoot , hunt and fish and will be voting Sinn Fein !

Even though they make no secret of the fact they don't like hunting, shooting and civilians owning firearms ?

The problem is any rural party or politicians tend to get pigeonholed as backwards and old fashioned in the media. What is really needed is a group of people who support sporting on a liberal basis, a libertarian minded group. I think rural people always looking for this investment and that investment is not always achievable but the political goal of being left alone should be achievable.