Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to apply to be a Mod

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,959 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

That's understandable, abruptly deleting posts without explanation on a popular thread when a long-term poster unexpectedly closed his account. And in spite of numerous queries shutting down that thread also. The craic is mighty lads.

One of them banned the one with the history of using the internet as a tool for abuse so, that was pretty funny, in fairness.

I like Buford and Rippetoe. Those are men you could drink about 8 beers with.

https://www.facebook.com/letterkennyproblemsofficial/videos/554190018712376/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Don't post in this thread again.

Why not? For expressing my opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,678 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

questioning mod actions on thread? that's a no-no

It wasn’t even that. There were “clarifications” sought on what is permissible on the site.

In this instance, someone claimed something that another poster contradicted by “linking” to the original poster’s post history.

This post, possibly along with others, was then deleted incredibly quickly. No reason was given.

People then “queried” as you why the post(s) had been removed and, if possibly, it was in breach of the forum “rules” to, directly, link to a member’s post history to “catch them out” in a, possible, fib.

The thread was then “locked”, no explanation or, indeed, clarification was provided.

It really was, incredibly, strange.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

It wasn’t even that. There were “clarifications” sought on what is permissible on the site.

In this instance, someone claimed something that another poster contradicted by “linking” to the original poster’s post history.

This post, possibly along with others, was then deleted incredibly quickly. No reason was given.

People then “queried” as you why the post(s) had been removed and, if possibly, it was in breach of the forum “rules” to, directly, link to a member’s post history to “catch them out” in a, possible, fib.

The thread was then “locked”, no explanation or, indeed, clarification was provided.

It really was, incredibly, strange.

Particularly intriguing when the outed poster was fond of linking older posts to catch other posters out.

Do you reckon he knows the boys from Distilled Media Group Limited as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Are we even allowed mention his name? Feck it, I'm doing it anyway.

I heard if you say Srameen three times while looking in a mirror then all your posts get deleted from Boards.ie

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Guy Person wrote: »

I heard if you say Srameen three times while looking in a mirror then all your posts get deleted from Boards.ie

The legend of Srameexit continues! :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

The legend of Srameexit continues! :D

That's it! no invisible nomination letter for ye now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I’ve over 100 posts now and am interested in becoming a Mod. Does anyone know the best course of action to take? Do I contact an admin or even a boards.ie employee?
    Many thanks

As a rocker myself, it's my duty and responsibility to let you know that if you become a mod I'll have to fight you.

That's it! no invisible nomination letter for ye now!

Can you at least tell us if it's against the rules to link another post to catch someone out?

I’ve over 100 posts now and am interested in becoming a Mod. Does anyone know the best course of action to take? Do I contact an admin or even a boards.ie employee?
    Many thanks

Get a Lambretta and listen to Quadrophenia! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,154 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

enough already with mocking others! :mad:

Deja Boo wrote: »
    enough already with mocking others! :mad:

Calm down, it's only the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

If you say Wibbs three times while looking in a mirror Wibbs himself will appear and steal your watch.

If you say Guy Person three times while looking in a mirror then you are a very sad individual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,154 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Calm down, it's only the internet.
    point out your own faults on a public forum before going after someone elses, and let's see you say that... we dont know anyones circumstances

Deja Boo wrote: »
    point out your own faults on a public forum before going after someone elses, and let's see you say that...

There's a difference between faults and lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

no more discussion of former users please.

If you say Wibbs three times while looking in a mirror Wibbs himself will appear and steal your watch.

If you say Guy Person three times while looking in a mirror then you are a very sad individual.

If you masturbate 3 times while looking in a Mirror you get arrested.
    Was a mad day in Dunne's Stores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭I Am The Law

Many thanks

Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Many thanks

Be pro Fine Gael or keep your opinions to yourself. You won't get by on good looks alone.

If you masturbate 3 times while looking in a Mirror you get arrested.
    Was a mad day in Dunne's Stores.

Tesco are the same, ruined my otherwise pleasant shopping trip.

Aggressively arguing with another poster is a sure way to get taken off a wannabe Mod list.

A few posts have been deleted that were heading down that road.

If I was a mod I'd ban those who were trigger happy with the 'report post' key :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

If I was a mod I'd ban those who were trigger happy with the 'report post' key :p

The cheek!

The cheek!

It depends what cheek is shown what the outcome will be.

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Aggressively arguing with another poster is a sure way to get taken off a wannabe Mod list.

A few posts have been deleted that were heading down that road.

Good job I have no "ambition", eh!

Is this the kind of modding we can expect now though, Ted? Future-seeing or preventative-modding, as I have just named it. Where the mod can sense the possibility of aggression and bat it away because, and I'm assuming this part, someone got herself into hysterics over something she doesn't understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Your time would be better spent volunteering in local charities than volunteering your time for free for a commercial company.
    Sorry, don't the moderators on this website get paid to do it? People are pretending to be the internet police as a hobby?

Good job I have no "ambition", eh!

Is this the kind of modding we can expect now though, Ted? Future-seeing or preventative-modding, as I have just named it. Where the mod can sense the possibility of aggression and bat it away because, and I'm assuming this part, someone got herself into hysterics over something she doesn't understand.

Preventive is trying to stop something happening- to try and stop thread derailing.

And there was no need to get another dig in.

Any more discussion, please PM me

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Preventive is trying to stop something happening- to try and stop thread derailing.

And there was no need to get another dig in.

Any more discussion, please PM me

You mean the pointless thread started by the banned guy as a joke? To stop that derailing? Long as we're clear.

No further discussion necessary, I know where I stand now, cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

You need to know a lot about a subject, like pencil sharpeners, or poaching an egg, or who came second for best actress in the Oscars the most times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,964 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

..... HIMself ??? Are you sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I think you need a scooter with loads of mirrors and a parka first, probably a sharp suit as well.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,678 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭bilbot79

You need to assert yourself first, show them you can do the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Well all mods are transponsters. So step one, become a transponster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

And no that does not say transpornstar. But if you want to give that a go?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

And no that does not say transpornstar.

I keep getting sent videos of them in the soccer club WhatsApp group...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Step 1: Purchase loads of coke and hookers
    Step 2: Introduce yourself to a mod by showing them said Coke and Hookers
    Step 3: Keep providing to mod for a few weeks
    Step 4: Become mod
    Step 5: $$$$$$$$$$$$