Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Immigration and the housing crisis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Deub

beejee wrote: »
    I have a 3 bedroom house. I need 10'000 people living in it. It's that simple!

Simple, all right :p

Sorry I’ve read all your posts so far and I don’t get what you’re saying.
    Skilled immigrants are an issue, non skilled immigrants are an issue, Ireland can’t get more people,etc
    What are your points?
    Can you take one of them and go a bit deeper?

Even a child can figure this out.

The complete denial by some that immigration affects housing availability goes to show that there are a great many people who are placing ideology over reality. These people are dangerous.

How come some countries are able to have the same level of immigration but don’t have housing crisis?

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭contrary_devil

RobertKK wrote: »
    We need 100,000+++ workers extra in the construction sector, we don't have them here, we need more immigrants to come in and work in construction.

I don't get people who are anti-immigrant, the national party election ad the other night was a disgrace, saying we had too many... when the reality is we need more to fix the country, like building houses, working in health etc

If 100,000 extra workers are brought in where are they going to live and what happens to rents? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Fritzbox

Deub wrote: »
    How come some countries are able to have the same level of immigration but don’t have housing crisis?

Which countries, in the EU for example, are these?

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Clarence Boddiker

These countries have tend to have a serious crime crisis, Ghetto crisis, atomising society crisis, rape crisis, radical islam crisis and many many more crisis.

Its mind boggling to me that people want to completely dismantle their societies all for the sake of GDP.

Socialists especially, I don't know whether to laugh or cry when I hear Socialists appealing to GDP and capitalism, which is what it is, when they defend mass immigration.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,977 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

10,000 out of a population of 5 million would not be regarded as a crisis by the media in those countries.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

It's not the same level though is it? The equivalent increase in France or the UK would be about 15 million extra people in 20 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭beejee

Sorry I’ve read all your posts so far and I don’t get what you’re saying.
    Skilled immigrants are an issue, non skilled immigrants are an issue, Ireland can’t get more people,etc
    What are your points?
    Can you take one of them and go a bit deeper?

What is there to go deeper on?

Every freaking day you hear the woes of people dying on trolleys in hospitals, young people having their futures destroyed because of shameful rental costs. Just those two examples alone have one common denominator: the amount of people.

We need less people. So when someone posts information about social housing being taken up by increasing non-irish...whats to get?

We obviously aren't going to build anything better, year in year out the latest shower of cronies promise "this year it will be different!".

It's not happening. It's getting worse.

Ill begrudgingly accept that I pay taxes to provide basic necessities for Irish people in ireland. It's mutually beneficial, hence "social welfare" and not "individual welfare".

But I'm expected to not only keep the country and society going through my contributions, now I have to support the cost of a house for some dudes from Zimbabwe? I have to pay for some Brazilian to attend a hospital, or an Italian to grab compensation?

Why??!! What kind of a country operates on the basis of directly supporting people from all the world?

I don't. And that's what damages a society. When people feel robbed, they don't "buy in", and society degrades.

No need to go deep on it. Not at all. It's madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭str8talkingguy

Every freaking day you hear the woes of people dying on trolleys in hospitals, young people having their futures destroyed because of shameful rental costs. Just those two examples alone have one common denominator: the amount of people.

We need less people. So when someone posts information about social housing being taken up by increasing non-irish...whats to get?

We obviously aren't going to build anything better, year in year out the latest shower of cronies promise "this year it will be different!".

Ill begrudgingly accept that I pay taxes to provide basic necessities for Irish people in ireland. It's mutually beneficial, hence "social welfare" and not "individual welfare".

But I'm expected to not only keep the country and society going through my contributions, now I have to support the cost of a house for some dudes from Zimbabwe? I have to pay for some Brazilian to attend a hospital, or an Italian to grab compensation?

Why??!! What kind of a country operates on the basis of directly supporting people from all the world?

I don't. And that's what damages a society. When people feel robbed, they don't "buy in", and society degrades.

Surprised they haven't banned you for speaking some truth,its rare around here,but i wouldn't waste my breath if i was you,cognitive dissonance is very real.

If 100,000 extra workers are brought in where are they going to live and what happens to rents? :rolleyes:

Whist, you! Stop that deduction thing you're doing!

The population increased by over one million in the last 20 years or so. Even so there are still 200,000 empty houses.

• Registered Users Posts: 983 ✭✭✭greenfield21

How do people see the years ahead playing on this one though? Imo I think alot of people realise our economy is built on globalization so it would be hypocrisy to complain therefore the previous views will never gain any traction. A global recession might be the catalyst, it would definitely create a further swing to the right, crisis breeds populism etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

Who cares? People are people. Nobody has a God given right to live in Dublin and the only people I know who think that are Irish born wasters who have thinks like 'Job: full time mammy' on their Facebook profiles and have never worked a day in their lives.

Your reference to God is a red herring here, because God is no arbiter of anything in this matter.

The Irish state is the arbiter. A hard-fought, hard-won privilege.

Some of us have a right to live in Dublin by virtue of being Irish citizens. Some by virtue of their EU citizenship. Some by virtue of their British citizenship. Some by virtue of our international obligations, or our trade and economic policies, or whatever.

But your opening position that
    'Who cares ? People are people'
    is worthlessy irrelevant.

You can hopefully figure out where that leaves the rest of your ignorant tirade against people like me, who don't share your gullible one-worldism, yet we manage to not be wasters, have never signed up to Facebook, and have worked for all our adult lives here and abroad.

Surprised they haven't banned you for speaking some truth,its rare around here,but i wouldn't waste my breath if i was you,cognitive dissonance is very real.

I only heard about those eastern Europeans living as neighbours in social housing the other day. And then one of them is making a compo claim on top.

It just makes you feel like a fooking eejit, trying to do things the right way, while some other dope is on cruise control getting things handed to them left right and center.

But then the icing on top is that not only do I have to pay for those indigenous dopes, now theyre literally coming from anywhere on earth, getting the same things handed to them while people like me are basically told to "deal with it"!?

The straw that breaks the camels back.

And besides the social welfare scams, I have other serious concerns about immigration anyway. Oh great, a Canadian is making a ton in a foreign company that dodges taxes while pushing prices up for society. Well ain't I lucky, thank god for that Canadian living it large :p

• Registered Users Posts: 16,164 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

RobertKK wrote: »
    At least the Irish never emigrated en masse, imagine if we had a famine and people left...

Migration: It's only for white people!

I only heard about those eastern Europeans living as neighbours in social housing the other day. And then one of them is making a compo claim on top.

How were you able to verify the information in such a short space of time?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

You have zero capacity for logic or rational thought. You make connections where there aren't any and twist things around to fit your world view.

Ireland is one of the most sparsely populated countries in Europe and there are thousands of open positions for skilled people, many of which need to be imported because there aren't enough Irish people with the ability to do them.

But sure yes, let's just blame Johnny Foreigner.

now theyre literally coming from anywhere on earth, getting the same things handed to them while people like me are basically told to "deal with it :p

Well that's obviously not true now is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,281 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Many of these workers are on SERIOUS money. I heard e175k on averagevthe other day. Will dig out the link. Also these companies the Golden goose , need these staff. These are the immigrants we want !

The only ones we want. If we can likit immigration to 75k a year + sponsored by your company, 10 year welfare ban and the need for over 120k a year to naturalise your family and them be on a 10 year welfare ban also.

sabat wrote: »
    It's not the same level though is it? The equivalent increase in France or the UK would be about 15 million extra people in 20 years.

How did you calculate this number?

The only ones we want. If we can likit immigration to 75k a year + sponsored by your company, 10 year welfare ban and the need for over 120k a year to naturalise your family and them be on a 10 year welfare ban also.

We also want the ones who will work in shops and meat factories. And in the hospitality industry and care homes. And in hospitals and on the buildings.

How were you able to verify the information in such a short space of time?

I'm doing them, and myself, a favour by avoiding specifics.

You can believe it or not, there's nothing I can do about that. It's also not an isolated instance, far from it, but that's hardly a surprise either. People grab what they can, wherever they're from. The key difference is how readily it's made available to take, that's all.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Well that's obviously not true now is it?

Go on...

You have zero capacity for logic or rational thought. You make connections where there aren't any and twist things around to fit your world view.

Ireland is one of the most sparsely populated countries in Europe and there are thousands of open positions for skilled people, many of which need to be imported because there aren't enough Irish people with the ability to do them.

But sure yes, let's just blame Johnny Foreigner.

Complete shoite.

We also want the ones who will work in shops and meat factories. And in the hospitality industry and care homes. And in hospitals and on the buildings.

So to combine your post with other post...

Irish people: don't have the skills for all the "great jobs in demand", while simultaneously, magically, we won't work in cafes and nursing homes and factories etc.

What use ARE Irish people then? Are we just getting in the way of all these magnificent others?

It really is reaching absurdity now. No wonder nothing works in the place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭str8talkingguy

It just makes you feel like a fooking eejit, trying to do things the right way, while some other dope is on cruise control getting things handed to them left right and center.

But then the icing on top is that not only do I have to pay for those indigenous dopes, now theyre literally coming from anywhere on earth, getting the same things handed to them while people like me are basically told to "deal with it"!?

The straw that breaks the camels back.

And besides the social welfare scams, I have other serious concerns about immigration anyway. Oh great, a Canadian is making a ton in a foreign company that dodges taxes while pushing prices up for society. Well ain't I lucky, thank god for that Canadian living it large :p

Whats even funnier is the Irish here constantly complaining about other Irish looking a "forever home" but they don't realize all the "forever homes" are going mostly to immigrants.

Try imagining how these Irish feel to see the immigrants get first dibs on all council homes while indigenous Irish are moved around on the hap scheme to benefit the greedy Irish landlord,you will find half the posters here defending this ridiculousness are the landlords and their ilk raking it in from the hap scheme,you couldn't make it up.

Whats even funnier is the Irish here constantly complaining about other Irish looking a "forever home" but they don't realize all the "forever homes" are going mostly to immigrants.

Try imagining how these Irish feel to see the immigrants get first dibs on all council homes while indigenous Irish are moved around on the hap scheme to benefit the greedy Irish landlord,you will find half the posters here defending this ridiculousness are the landlords and their ilk raking it in from the hap scheme,you couldn't make it up.

Any proof of this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

It's absolutely disgraceful.

What adds insult to injury is the plethora of soft-headed eejits that will nervously joke about "sure where would we be without 'em" and "durrr, racism".

Immigration is not the only reason for housing problems, but it's so downplayed it might as well be the elephant in the room.

It's happening everywhere. Just earlier I was reading about states in America going ape-shoite about mass immigration from one state to the other, pushing rents through the roof and forcing the "natives" out. It's not a stretch to rightfully compare it to colonialism. Literal colonies of one group setting up shop in another groups "home", pushing them out.

This stuff won't last, and it won't just disappear quietly. A reckoning is in the post, and the greedy bastids that set this whole shambles in motion will foot the bill, whether it's 1 year or 10 years from now.

The numbers above, man, holy jaysus, even if they're only half correct...

What are you blathering on about :rolleyes::D

Irish people: don't have the skills for all the "great jobs in demand", while simultaneously, magically, we won't work in cafes and nursing homes and factories etc.

What use ARE Irish people then? Are we just getting in the way of all these magnificent others?

There is full employment in the country now. Being a rich country our own people get the better jobs and we rely on immigrants to do a lot of the so called unskilled work. This was our history in the past, going to England and America to do the jobs their natives did not like doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 780 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

How many work permits were issued last year and in particular to UNSKILLED (mostly from Brazil).

Why are we issuing permits for unskilled labour when we have multiple thousands on the dole?

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.