Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GE Exit Poll 10 pm

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

He might be better served trying either mediate the issues if appropriate instead of hawking himself around on every picket line going for photo ops.

And others might do well to remember that in disputes there are two sides to every story.

If the criteria for being a ‘proper politician’ is to appear on every picket line going, well there aren’t many proper politicians in Dáil Éireann.

I would respectfully suggest that ‘politicians’ realise that there are two parties in every dispute and that they would be much better employed and better value for money if they were less high profile on every picket line and more active behind the scenes trying to resolve the issues.

Then don't vote for him.
    You have that option because 100 years ago mouthy socialists took one side in a dispute.
    They created the Irish Citizen's Army to protect the workers in a dispute with 2 sides where the other side had the forces of the State wielding truncheons.
    That same Citizen's Army fought to create Dail Eireann that now has an awful lot of useless politicians in it.

I would respectfully suggest the Rising that led to the founding of this State owes a hell of a lot more to the likes of Mick Barry than anyone who saw two sides to the story and tried to mediate.

I will continue to vote for the mouthy guy on the Opposition benches and you can continue to vote for the useless bankbencher bound by a whip system who goes around every four years kissing babies for photo ops.

That's the beauty of democracy. We both get to be represented.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,152 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Is it too much to expect her to be close to her phone at all times in the current political climate??

Don't get me started on the letter writing!!

If she had spent the day talking to the likes of Mick Barry about forming a coalition of the left government, I could see the need for a little lie down in a quiet dark room.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,558 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Then don't vote for him.
    You have that option because 100 years ago mouthy socialists took one side in a dispute.
    They created the Irish Citizen's Army to protect the workers in a dispute with 2 sides where the other side had the forces of the State wielding truncheons.
    That same Citizen's Army fought to create Dail Eireann that now has an awful lot of useless politicians in it.

I would respectfully suggest the Rising that led to the founding of this State owes a hell of a lot more to the likes of Mick Barry than anyone who saw two sides to the story and tried to mediate.

I will continue to vote for the mouthy guy on the Opposition benches and you can continue to vote for the useless bankbencher bound by a whip system who goes around every four years kissing babies for photo ops.

That's the beauty of democracy. We both get to be represented.

I think you are conflating a lot of stuff into a mishmash of an analogy which in which you seem to elevate Barry into some kind minor deity akin to
    Daniel Cohen-Bendidt back in the day.

You misconstrue my points badly I’m afraid.

My point being that Barry instead of siding with one coterie of the electorate all the time would be better value for money to remember he needs to treat all the electorate fairly and look at both sides of the issues in dispute.

I will never vote for a “useless backbencher” as you describe it,and I will certainly never vote for a “mouthy guy” in opposition who as the texter to RTE said was only interested “in anarchy”.

That’s the real beauty of democracy.

You can make up your own mind...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

I am loving the deflection from politicians on why they lost out.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/shell-be-taking-maternity-leave-no-point-electing-her-female-politicians-who-lost-seats-highlight-online-abuse-38960833.html

I am not doubting that their are neanderthals out there that abuse them because they are woman but allot of people couldn't give a **** what is between someones leg when voting or criticizing them.

Lisa Chambers got caught up in the Dimmy Tooley crap and wonders why people were reluctant to vote for her. She may have seemed like she was the brexit go to for MM but the voters didn't.

Regina Doherty is all that is smug and egotistical about FG, is on record saying that men would only use paternity leave for golfing. Then has the nerve in this article saying we need to look at how we deal with people. I mean come on you only have to look at the below to understand she is talking out of both sides of her mouth.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/blogger-considers-legal-action-over-garda-caution-at-airport-1.3145958

I think you are conflating a lot of stuff into a mishmash of an analogy which in which you seem to elevate Barry into some kind minor deity akin to
    Daniel Cohen-Bendidt back in the day.

You misconstrue my points badly I’m afraid.

My point being that Barry instead of siding with one coterie of the electorate all the time would be better value for money to remember he needs to treat all the electorate fairly and look at both sides of the issues in dispute.

I will never vote for a “useless backbencher” as you describe it,and I will certainly never vote for a “mouthy guy” in opposition who as the texter to RTE said was only interested “in anarchy”.

That’s the real beauty of democracy.

You can make up your own mind...

If my analogy is a mishmash surely you could have countered with something other than disingenuous hyperbole?
    It is a historical fact that mouthy socialists kicked off the Irish revolutionary war. I stated that Mick Barry is in that tradition.
    I made no comparison to event in France in the 1960s, I clearly referenced The Irish Citizen's Army, The Great Lock Out, and 1916. James Connolly was a mouthy socialist who placed a key role in the events that led to the formation of this Irish Republic. That may not sit comfortably with your personal political beliefs but it is true nonetheless. The mediators had been getting nowhere for decades. They were nothing but pawns in the Whig Vs Tory dance in the HOC.

I happen to believe mouthy socialists still have an important role to play in our democracy. You do not. We each get to make up our own mind as to whether our democracy is protecting all the citizens.
    You may believe it does. I believe it doesn't. I am as entitled to have my viewpoint represented as you are. Obviously enough voters in CNC agreed with me.

When it is the government itself who is at fault then who is best placed to hold them to account than a member of Dail Eireann?

Congratulations on your impressive ability to only ever vote for members of a Cabinet before it is ever formed btw. An impressive skill.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,526 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Is it too much to expect her to be close to her phone at all times in the current political climate??

MM did eventually get MLM on the phone and they spoke for 15 mins.

• Registered Users Posts: 69,184 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The 'letter writing' has to do with entering it into the public record I think. A way of having consultations recorded.

If my analogy is a mishmash surely you could have countered with something other than disingenuous hyperbole?
    It is a historical fact that mouthy socialists kicked off the Irish revolutionary war. I stated that Mick Barry is in that tradition.
    I made no comparison to event in France in the 1960s, I clearly referenced The Irish Citizen's Army, The Great Lock Out, and 1916. James Connolly was a mouthy socialist who placed a key role in the events that led to the formation of this Irish Republic. That may not sit comfortably with your personal political beliefs but it is true nonetheless. The mediators had been getting nowhere for decades. They were nothing but pawns in the Whig Vs Tory dance in the HOC.

I happen to believe mouthy socialists still have an important role to play in our democracy. You do not. We each get to make up our own mind as to whether our democracy is protecting all the citizens.
    You may believe it does. I believe it doesn't. I am as entitled to have my viewpoint represented as you are. Obviously enough voters in CNC agreed with me.

When it is the government itself who is at fault then who is best placed to hold them to account than a member of Dail Eireann?

Congratulations on your impressive ability to only ever vote for members of a Cabinet before it is ever formed btw. An impressive skill.

Mick Barry is no James Connolly, my friend.

No one in Dail Eireann is a James Connolly my friend.
    And it is a lesser place for it.

But some at least aspire to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

I dunno, I thought Richard Boyd Barrett's dabbing was a novel introduction into the house.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If Mick Barry was around in 1916 he would have denounced Connolly for throwing his lot in with Nationalists.

As Connolly said after the rising: "The socialists will never understand why I am here; they will all forget that I am an Irishman.”

Mick Barry is no Connolly, he's just another zealot.

Bambi wrote: »
    If Mick Barry was around in 1916 he would have denounced Connolly for throwing his lot in with Nationalists.

As Connolly said after the rising: "The socialists will never understand why I am here; they will all forget that I am an Irishman.”

A socialist can't be a nationalist now? Well gosh.

And as a point of order it could be argued that it was the Nationalists (some of them anyway) who threw their lot in with Connolly. Connolly and the ICA were going to Rise Up whether or not the others joined in.

But it's good to see that there are people who can be venerated by both Communist Party of Ireland and those who find left-wing politics anathema.

Perhaps in your haste to criticise Mick Barry you missed where I said he was in the tradition of Connolly - not that he was a Connolly.

If anyone here thinks Connolly wouldn't be out on the picket lines today or would be willing to go into govt with FF or FG they obviously know nothing about the man bar a few quotes and a sanitised version of who he was and what he believed in.

Connolly wanted a socialist Irish republic as he believed that was the only way the working people of Ireland would be treated fairly. And anyone who shares that belief is in the tradition of Connolly.

And yes, he was prepared to do the armed version of going into coalition with FF/FG (back when both were Sinn Fein) to achieve his goal. It's a shame that like every other 'small party' who did that he ended up getting s*it for thanks and his role downplayed. Wonder if he would repeat that decision if he knew how the Irish Republic was going to turn out?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Bambi wrote: »

you cant be a nationalist and a socialist, somebody better go back and tell an entire political movement from 1920's-40's germany so... theyll be fuhrerious

Except those 'socialists' were about as socialist as Bertie Ahern.

But nice Godwin.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Do you have to be schooled again about Hitler and nazis "Eric"?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Yes because executing people who weren't the right religion or skin colour is a very socialist thing to do - you need to read a few history textbooks my friend

Mentioning Bertie, don't often agree with him, but he was correct today in saying FF and FG should have Greens and SD also in the Govn't to reflect change and take on some radical ideas.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Suckit wrote: »
    How did Helen McEntee (among others) get voted in again. She seems to be incapable of speaking her own thoughts. Even today she was back repeating "the onus is on Sinn Fein to form a government, they wre elected by the people..." Could somebody please coach her in FG's latest line.
    She is bd enough without having to repeat the repeated.

Another example of people voting for the party and not the person.
    Someone has been in coma for the last two years. She been a very good spokesperson on Brexit and a lot of people in Meath like her is the simple answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Water John wrote: »
    Mentioning Bertie, don't often agree with him, but he was correct today in saying FF and FG should have Greens and SD also in the Govn't to reflect change and take on some radical ideas.
    SDs might tag along. Roisin just wants Slaintecare anyway and I'd say they'd both happily give Health to her.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

If he wants to be in the Socialist Party he can't

• Registered Users Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Yes because executing people who weren't the right religion or skin colour is a very socialist thing to do - you need to read a few history textbooks my friend

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Persecution_of_Christians_in_the_Soviet_Union

stop pretending socialist = good and not bigoted, theres lots of evidence.

but the point was that nationalism and socialism are compatible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

And as a point of order it could be argued that it was the Nationalists (some of them anyway) who threw their lot in with Connolly. Connolly and the ICA were going to Rise Up whether or not the others joined in.

But it's good to see that there are people who can be venerated by both Communist Party of Ireland and those who find left-wing politics anathema.

Perhaps in your haste to criticise Mick Barry you missed where I said he was in the tradition of Connolly - not that he was a Connolly.

If anyone here thinks Connolly wouldn't be out on the picket lines today or would be willing to go into govt with FF or FG they obviously know nothing about the man bar a few quotes and a sanitised version of who he was and what he believed in.

Connolly wanted a socialist Irish republic as he believed that was the only way the working people of Ireland would be treated fairly. And anyone who shares that belief is in the tradition of Connolly.

And yes, he was prepared to do the armed version of going into coalition with FF/FG (back when both were Sinn Fein) to achieve his goal. It's a shame that like every other 'small party' who did that he ended up getting s*it for thanks and his role downplayed. Wonder if he would repeat that decision if he knew how the Irish Republic was going to turn out?

Ah here. If Connolly came back now he would be amazed at how prosperous and equal we are as a society. Yes under successive FF and FG governments! The country isn't perfect but the problems of people are minor compared to what life was like in Connolly's time.

Who would they be, my friend?

• Registered Users Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Nevin Parsnipp

Have no time for these Dudes who keep harping back to 1916 !

We are in different times now and while we will always respect the people who won our freedom we have to recognise that the world of today is a far different place.

The qualities required to shake off the employers yoke in the early part of the last century are not the qualities of leadership required now ...people need to look forward ...not backward .....and be prepared to accept that Unions can sometimes be the biggest threat to the prosperity of working people .

Think change my friend ....think change ....

Have no time for these Dudes who keep harping back to 1916 !

We are in different times now and while we will always respect the people who won our freedom we have to recognise that the world of today is a far different place.

The qualities required to shake off the employers yoke in the early part of the last century are not the qualities of leadership required now ...people need to look forward ...not backward .....and be prepared to accept that Unions can sometimes be the biggest threat to the prosperity of working people .

Think change my friend ....think change ....

Correct, Parsnipp, trying to equate people like Barry with the folk of 1916 shows the paucity of understanding of the difference between these two periods.and the ideals of those under discussion.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

is_that_so wrote: »
    Someone has been in coma for the last two years. She been a very good spokesperson on Brexit and a lot of people in Meath like her is the simple answer.
    I've been watching and I haven't seen anything. She doesn't seem capable of thinking for herself. Another entitled runner.

No experience.... with anything at all iirc.
    She featured at a few free concerts with Leo and the gang. Those appearances have been the height of her career as a TD thus far.
    What count did she get in her Meath East consituency? 6th? 7th?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Water John wrote: »

As a mudguard he really meant.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,129 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Suckit wrote: »
    I've been watching and I haven't seen anything. She doesn't seem capable of thinking for herself. Another entitled runner.

No experience.... with anything at all iirc.
    She featured at a few free concerts with Leo and the gang. Those appearances have been the height of her career as a TD thus far.
    What count did she get in her Meath East consituency? 6th? 7th?

Seems a very capable woman. Never put a foot wrong on the Brexit gig. Well got locally too.

Second to SF in first preferences. Passed quota on 7th count following O'Doherty's elimination.

She has a Masters in Media and Communication. If she isn't giving anything away it's because she doesn't want to not because she has no opinion

She was sent out simply to hold the line and say nothing. The FG TDs haven't met yet. Most party reps doing the same thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

elperello wrote: »
    Seems a very capable woman. Never put a foot wrong on the Brexit gig. Well got locally too.

Second to SF in first preferences. Passed quota on 7th count following O'Doherty's elimination.

She has a Masters in Media and Communication. If she isn't giving anything away it's because she doesn't want to not because she has no opinion
    I've not seen anything to allow her to really put a foot wrong. She may be capable, but again, she has not really shown much.
    She hasn't put that masters to any use at all.. She has been there three years now, maybe now would be a good time to prove she's not just relying on the sympathy vote.